Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rewrite


Alternative Titles

Japanese: リライト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2016 to Sep 24, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: 8bit
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.781 (scored by 39,474 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #43022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #690
Members: 101,884
Favorites: 382

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 24, 2016
Okocha119 (All reviews)
You know what could have saved this series? A “Rewrite”.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

… Yeah, I know, lame joke. Plus it's not like it's true either. After all, this project was without a doubt doomed from the very beginning.

So, here's the deal: Adaptations are made with different goals in mind. Sometimes, when light shines down from the heavens, the creators of the original work get together with a crew of talented animators and a passionate production team (writer, director, sound director etc.) that have a vision in mind of what the project should be like in order for us to end up with the best animated version that is read more
Sep 24, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Since Rewrite is a visual novel by Key, a lot of people will compare it to the likes of Clannad, Angel Beats, Air Cannons, etc. But, I propose some new comparisons.

1. Shitcom, because both are pretty shit comedies.
2. The sensation of hitting your head against a brick wall for six hours.

If you enjoy either of these, then Rewrite might be the perfect show for you. Otherwise, I consider it one of the worst anime of 2016: a fucky jambalaya of overdesigned characters, dumb memes, and a plot that was probably written by someone putting a bunch of sticky notes on a dartboard and writing in read more
Sep 24, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Rewrite, one of Key’s most prominent visual novels getting an anime adaptations? This almost feels surreal, right? I’ll get straight to the point. While the idea of Rewrite finally getting an anime has been a dream for Key fans for many years, it may also be somewhat a tarnished reality as we realize what we’re really getting. After finishing the show, it’s more than just tarnished. Much more.

On paper, Rewrite follows a lot of standard Key formulas you’ll recognize easily if you’re already familiar with their work. The slow paced story from the beginning, generic character personalities, and supernatural phenomenon are just a few to read more
Sep 24, 2016
Caassaac (All reviews)
Not long ago, when I first wanted to write reviews for this site, I asked a few people for tips and tricks to make my writing more engaging and interesting. I don't know if I took all the advices into consideration as they were, since english is not my native language, but I remember one in particular: Zephsilver, a great reviewer here on MAL, fervently told me that I need to pay special attention to the introductory paragraphs. They're the first thing people see so it's primordial to make them interesting so that they keep reading.
So here I am, searching for something to write about. read more
Sep 30, 2016
MiRaD (All reviews)
Before starting the review I would like to say that I have read most part of the Visual Novel, and I love it, but I will not compare them and I will not argue about the number of episodes, because the review section is supposed to tell about the anime only, and why you should watch or not watch it according to my opinion.

Rewrite is set in the fictional city Kazamatsuri where treeplanting and afforestation have caused the city to become overgrown with trees and flowers in much the same way that other cities are filled by buildings. Tennouji Kotarou lives here. He's a high read more
Sep 25, 2016
BrDrawolf (All reviews)
Have a great story and long stories like Key usually get them done, are priceless to see in animation, this one, even with its own factors, it's one of them...

The characters are the basis in all stories, and in this one the characters have a great color because each one tell its own story and with that, the story change itself to its true colors.

The sound and art are nostalgic to the novel, even the 3D sprites, and the usual BGM, so you gonna have a great environment with the luxury of a visual novel material in animation.

The story, good this animated route, it explain read more
Sep 25, 2016
Adi (All reviews)
A lot of anime each season tends to adapt material from a different medium. Manga, light novels, videogames, and sometimes even visual novels. Of all of them, a visual novel is arguably the hardest to adapt. Why, you ask? Since visual visuals novels tend to have branching narratives with multiple possible storylines and alternate endings, it’s difficult to simply “choose” one to adapt or adapt the “right” one and pull out a good anime from.
Decisions made by the player during the game compound on top of one another and can eventually change which storypath the VN goes down and lead to an alternate ending. read more
Sep 25, 2016
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Sometimes I can't help but wonder why certain things have to be animated in the first place.

Already back when it was first announced that Rewrite was going to be adapted, I was getting some very mixed feelings. On one hand I was happy that one of my all-time favorite visual novels was finally getting an anime against my expectations, but on the other hand I also knew that making a good adaptation out of it would be incredibly difficult. This is partially because the visual novel is extraordinarily long and partially because all of its routes directly contradict each other and therefore wouldn't make much read more
Feb 20, 2017
HellsMalice (All reviews)
Really good anime, as usual for a Key VN adaptation.
Though of course like any other visual novel, unfortunately the reviews have run amok with morons endlessly bickering over how the VN was adapted. Can't please 'em all I guess.

Anyone interested in this anime, go for it. Definitely give it a watch. Unless you're one of the bizarre new race of try-hard anime critics who couldn't judge something well or properly if their lives depended on it, you will enjoy this anime.

I have a strong feeling season 2 is much better, just given that they decided to adapt a specific route from the Rewrite VN, and read more
Oct 15, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Well well well, Romeo Tanaka. We meet again. It hasn't even been a year since I reviewed that last atrocity with your name on it, and now you're teaming up with a company that people only remember at this point because After Story still ranks high on MAL after all this time in order to get recognized by anime fans who will never play your supposed masterpiece Cross Channel, and thus will only remember you as the guy who made Humanity Has Declined and a load of shit that no one cares about. I sympathize with you. I really do. The anime industry is a read more
Nov 24, 2016
Wasshio (All reviews)
The idea of having an anime original content is something that can be rather double-edged when it comes to adaptations. It can either be something that can go and help with the narrative point of view of the series, or it can make things easier for the series in question for certain reasons.

For Rewrite's case however, where does it stand around with this? ever since they made the announcement of the anime series coming around, they did announced the staff members, mainly the director being Motoki Tanaka (aka the director behind series such as Kiniro Misaic and the Grisaia series) along with the addition read more
Sep 24, 2016
Blec (All reviews)
This is one of the worst adaptations I have ever seen, and easily the worst Key anime to date. 8-bit, Tensho, and the entire staff should be ashamed of what was produced here. This Rewrite adaptation is in the similar vein as M Night Shyamalans "The Last Airbender" adaptation where you have characters with the same names and some of the story elements, but presented without soul and crushed down until it possesses none of its quality. The original source material wasn't perfect. In fact I would deem it inconsistent and flawed, but it was refreshingly different from other works from read more
Oct 17, 2016
kuroneko420 (All reviews)
As someone who has played the Visual Novel, this adaptation is disappointing. It is not impossible to create a perfect depiction or adaptation of a VN, a fine example would be Clannad which just happens to be another Key VN.

I am not saying it has to follow through the VN's story completely, I am fine with many new plot twists because new content actually excites me. However it is obvious that 13 episodes is not long enough to condense the story of a VN no matter how much you twist and turn the storyline. I wouldn't hold my breathe for the announced 2nd season either.

My read more
Sep 25, 2016
soggysadboi (All reviews)
Rewrite. The second highest rated Key Visual Novel on VNDB, only surpassed by Clannad. Something more than well worth reading, in my eyes.

That's not what this anime is, at all. Not only was it hardly an adaptation with its gratuitous anime original content, but they managed to ruin any small thing they did adapt.

Therefore, I'm going to review this while trying to put aside my thoughts of the original material.

Story: 3/10.
-What is the premise? What am I watching? Where is the plot?- All questions asked throughout Rewrite's duration. None of which were answered. The fact is, this series had no direction. read more
Sep 24, 2016
Treima (All reviews)
I had to write a review for this. Because Rewrite is my favorite Key work of all-time. Because it deserved better than this.

If you are wondering if this anime is worth your time, I say this: if the premise catches your eye, or the character designs, or anything at all, I absolutely implore you to check out the original visual novel. It's deep. It's beautiful inside and out. It's got a message that cannot be ignored. None of which can be said about this travesty of an adaptation. 8bit did not know what they were doing, and do not deserve five hours of your time read more
Sep 24, 2016
RoxRobstah (All reviews)
The first two episodes are funny school life characterization stuff that was genuinely enjoyable to watch. Then the mystery, supernatural, and action elements begin to become more prevalent, and my interest dived.

This anime is plagued with issues. Some of them have to do with having too much source material to adapt and thus make the anime feel rushed or overall poorly paced. I will not be talking about those issues.

Even if an anime is poorly paced, there is a limit to how much an anime can jump from one scene to the next with wildly different tones without it being jarring. One scene can seem read more
Oct 9, 2016
Sande (All reviews)
Rewrite tells the story of Kotarou who has the ability to rewrite parts of his body giving himself superhuman strength or speed. The show follows him as he joins the Occult Club to research supernatural phenomena along with several girls from his school. He is also followed by a mysterious ribbon-wearing girl named Kagari who kills him in one of his dreams, causing Kotarou to consider her a threat.

The anime is split into two story arcs with the first being the better one out of the two. In the arc, Kotarou learns a lot about the girls during their club activities. At times he is read more
Oct 8, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
KEY Anime Adaptations plus those KEY Original Anime have been disappointing me for the past few years because of poor handling of said series and the goddamn pacing. I get that producing a 2-cour series is expensive than 1-cour but due to how KEY's story structure is set-up, 1 cour is NEVER going to work.


[Story]: (5/10)
A lot of KEY fans who read the Rewrite VN hyped this series even though the red flags were already raised and flying. I do understand why though. Firstly, it's a KEY work. Their works are usually really great with great story and amazing characters. Secondly, I just started read more
Sep 30, 2016
DarthBob (All reviews)
This review is split into two sections:
- The first section is devoted to those who are new to Rewrite and are contemplating watching the anime adaptation. This section is entirely spoiler free.
- The second section is dedicated to those who have already read the Visual Novel. This section contains major spoilers.

First Section (for people new to Rewrite)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
An Introduction: Key is a company that is renowned for its visual novels, most of which enjoy critical acclaim. Almost all these VNs have anime adaptations, which enjoy varying degrees of fame – be it Clannad, which holds the position of one of the top few anime of MAL, read more
Jan 17, 2017
xVaDeRx (All reviews)
If anyone has read some other review that he has done he will know that clarifies whether or not it contains romance and this is no exception.
Rewrite is a full-fledged harem but it gives more importance to the mystery than to the same romance but of course the romance is more than present, each heroine has its own small story that helps us understand why its actions but not this Deceive them since centering more on the mystery leaves you more doubts than answers so if you are of people who hate not knowing what happens best think twice before seeing it, entering more into read more