Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Divine Gate


Alternative Titles

English: Divine Gate
Synonyms: ディバゲ
Japanese: ディバインゲート

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2016 to Mar 25, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Game
Genres: Action, Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.751 (scored by 46,497 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #89452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #867
Members: 123,023
Favorites: 229

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2016
CecaniahCorabele (All reviews)
During this period, the anime industry suffers "Material lacks". Ideas are getting narrower but productions are getting wider. Many companies suffer to bankruptcy, and to anticipate this they must broaden the marketing ground. In order to broaden it, they throw many adaptations to stabilized the situation. Because of it, there is dozens adaptation appear in various sources. One of those sources is game. But the truth is until this period, not many game adaptation live up to its expectation.

Divine Gate, is a smartphone game developed by Acquire. While the animation is in the hand of Studio Pierrot. As the series went, there are some flaws read more
Feb 25, 2016
fMegrez (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a player of the original game "Divine Gate" who has at least some knowledge on the original story, I had some hope on this series before. Unfortunately, cramming such a convoluted story (involving dozens and dozens of characters, five different worlds, and having probably storylines that couldn't be counted by one hand) that would be otherwise more fitting for a multiple-storyline novel into a 12-episode anime proved to be an absolute disaster.

Story: 1/10

In a nutshell, the story is a kudzu plot full of irregular jumps. Allow me to briefly outline what happened in the first 7 episodes.

1: Introduction and Aoto's flashback
2: Aoto accepting the read more
Mar 25, 2016
Dangst4r (All reviews)
*spoiler-free*
What happens when you bundle up all your favorite anime ideas and tropes and dump them into one anime? While I would say this anime, it is really hard to discern what even happened in this anime to find out, but dissecting it anyways!

Story: All in all, the story is well a mess. Constantly shifting focus from episodes to episode, there really is no clear main character nor main goal in the anime except for the idolized Divine Gate. But a lot of the time, the Divine Gate really just feels like its there and then everyone else is just sobbing about how they want read more
Apr 7, 2016
TJBlue27 (All reviews)
(First review and all that so forgive me if there's some stuff I missed or didn't explain correctly).

Where to begin with this absolute abomination of an anime.

The story is a convoluted mess. The writing is appalling. The dialogue is awful, and the attempts at being poetic, especially in the first episode, were so cringe worthy it hurt. The story seems to jump between episodes, often giving little explanation as to what the characters are doing, why they're doing it or why the audience should even care. The characters are especially unmemorable, each having their own motivations for finding the 'Divine Gate'. Unfortunately, their reasons are read more
Apr 28, 2016
Rahzek (All reviews)
Divine Gate is the absolute worst show I've ever had the displeasure of watching to completion, let's go over a rundown of our characters and what they're trying to do.

Before you go any deeper let me explain that this isn't a review, this is a complete summary of this series and why you should never, NEVER watch it.
I'm not going to bullshit you with any of the plot or on their names either, it's really going to be as bad as it sounds.

The Divine Gate is basically an all powerful wish granting device and it was used previously to inadvertently tear apart the borders between read more
Mar 25, 2016
GreyGaming (All reviews)
Okay, this anime was the cancer of the Winter 2016 season. How bad could this be you may ask? So bad that I wanted to drop it but continued anyways to write this review so you people would know never to watch this. Well lets continue on with this review.

Story 1/10:
Well this was one of the worst things about this anime. I didn't even understand what the heck was going on during the entire story. Nobody understood what happened in this story from what I could see on the comment sections of KissAnime. It's so hard to follow this story at all. It just read more
Feb 18, 2018
Shodowdragonclaw (All reviews)
Obviously this show went over a lot of people heads. It was actually an amazing anime. The fact that it was able to surprise without losing consistency and keep on point all while being clear what's going on was a fantastic asset.

The incorporation of gods and the references to famous medieval people was brilliantly done.

The show also incorporated the use of Happiness and Despair to a perfect degree. A lot of original Ideas came out of it. No other anime that I have watched has used a plot like that before.

The only real criticism that can be had here is the deus ex read more
Apr 10, 2016
BGdealer (All reviews)
I really have never found such an amazing anime in the past four years of watching daily. This show made me KEK harder than I've KEK'd in a long keking time. This review will be spoiler free.




Story: With an immediate sense of who the characters are at heart and their troubles in the past Divine Gate really gets you excited quickly. Any parts of the story that seem unclear are explained efficiently with the flashbacks in the episodes to come as the flashbacks are few in number and are highly informative. The story follows multiple characters and their own personal grief and what they have read more
Apr 16, 2016
ChiexChie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I watched 7 episodes and I couldn't continue this. For me this anime was bad, maybe very bad.

- The story itself could be good, if they used it better maybe they could make something average, maybe even good. The idea was nice but they failed in developing it. I couldn't tell what they wanted to do with it because it was so chaotic.
- The art was.. how to say it.. it wasn't bad or good.. it had some 3D effects too... but I didn't really enjoy it.
- About sound - I liked both opening and ending. The seiyuu and sound tracks weren't bad too..
- read more
Mar 26, 2016
AllenHavens92 (All reviews)
Divine Gate is, by any means, not "divine" at all.

The story is your run-of-the-mill "let's obtain the MacGuffin" (that being the Gate) plot line, which really has no impact all the way through the end. The first half is establishing the back stories of the main characters that has no payoff. There was hardly any "search" for the Gate in the first place. The ending was just a jumbled mess with an anti-climax that I didn't bother caring about anyway. Plus, there is a literal "deus ex machina" in the finale (if you've seen it, you'll understand).

With characters, the only thing I liked about them read more
May 13, 2016
nanakox21 (All reviews)
NOTE: This MAY contain spoilers!

Story 6/10: There's a lot of action and fighting scenes for the characters on their quest to search for divine gate who wishes to change their past. It was okay, but there are times where it seems that they have dragged on for too long.

Characters 7/10: There was a lot of characters that are introduced in the series. They have cool powers called "Drivers" & they are based on the elements (like Earth, Fire & Water). Akane is honest and straight-forward. His Driver is the power of FIRE. Aoto is very distant and monotone. His driver involves the power of read more
Mar 30, 2016
psychiccupid (All reviews)
The first anime I've ever seen that had nothing to do with boobs. Thank God. Doesn't really end, tho, and isn't perfect, so only 8. I'd write more but I just really need to point out that it is the first anime that is the most equal, the most feminist friendly, and was just absolutely fun to watch an anime that didn't pander towards Otaku. Don't get me wrong, the plot is a bit lacking, and the characters are a little flat. I didn't even realize the last episode was the last episode? But nonetheless, if you want something decent that you can safely watch, read more
Jun 15, 2016
KingCarlo0420 (All reviews)
Overrated. The anime was made half-baked, the characters are super annoying, I can't see the point of the story, and it's uninteresting. I only watched this because the graphics are nice, well.. looks can be deceiving.

One more thing, it fails to give the enjoyment and thrill viewers are looking for when they are watching a new anime. It's a waste of time, truly disappointing. The anime really wanted to impress the viewers, rather than to express, that's why it was really overrated.

Every episode, my only reaction is "What the heck??!"

I really hate this anime, everything is annoying, particularly the dialog of the characters. It's read more
Mar 31, 2016
MiRaD (All reviews)
I'm a person who rarely gives a grade below 6, but in this case I had to.
From what I understood there's a gate, called the Divine Gate that if you reach it you can modify the whole world the way you want it
The story is fair, if it was told the right way, it could be good, but they made it so bad.

This anime is an action, fantasy and sci-fi, so it is mainly an action anime, which is not good, the fighting scenes are short and most part of them are pretty bad. Basically the most important part for this anime to be good read more
Mar 26, 2016
Fantassy (All reviews)
Seriously... I really expected too much from this anime and i've never wrote so bad about an anime in my life i think.
Anyway, this anime is about 3 kids trying to search for the divine gate hence the name because they have their own problem.

The story is bad but not normally bad, it's really really bad, i didn't understand a single thing throughout the whole anime.. And the ending so disappointing, it's like they wasted 12 episodes in my opinion.

Story :
Like i said before the plot is bad, it became bad after the first couple of episodes (2-3), many thing left unexplained and the ending read more
Mar 26, 2016
psychoc4t (All reviews)
Do you wish to watch an anime with a story that doesn't make any sense? do you want to watch an anime that confuses you all the way through? do you want an anime where the ending doesn't resolve anything? do you want an anime where things happen and exist with no context, reason or explanation? do you want an anime where even when they a wrapping up the plot in the final episode nothing is being wrapped up at all except for the entire anime in more confusing shit? do you want an anime where the only thing worth watching each episode are the read more
Mar 25, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Ohhh does the video game anime adaptation curse strike again with a boring confusing vengeance!

So what lies behind this Divine Gate?...grandiose bullshit...just grandiose bullshit.

Divine Gate is an anime adaptation of a smartphone game and LA will immediately put this anime adaptation under the various amounts of horrible video game adaptations before it and it god damn well shows it.

Diving Gate from such a simple premise, they manage to f*ck it up royally. Let's get the first problem out of the way, this anime is up it's own ass pretentious grandiose bullshiting it's characters and plot all together, what does LA mean by this?, well most read more
Apr 29, 2016
Cyborg_Dragon (All reviews)
I watched this show when it was simulcasted and have been too busy with other things than to be writing a review for this. I would like to state this show is pretty much a waste of time to watch. if you have seen a trailer it might look pretty animation wise but does not cover the hot mess this show is.

Story 2/10

The first two episode where ok story wise but what followed those two episode where the following problems. The only story the viewer are interested in after watching the first two episodes is the story of Aoto. However they decided to read more
Mar 27, 2016
jungle321jungle (All reviews)
This show is great if you are looking for a show which will give you more questions than answers and will leave you debating if you should even put in the effort of watching the next episode.

Plot lines are rushed for example episode seven seemed to be three episodes squashed into one. Some characters are introduced and then almost completely dismissed while other character appear multiple times yet don't seem to have names.

All for a mediocre at best ending.

To me it seems that the only purpose of the show is to draw you in with an interesting backstory and then leave you utterly confused read more
Jul 2, 2016
GoldenDevilGamer (All reviews)
Every season, you’ll have at least one anime that is terrible and has a good amount of people watching it. This season, it’s Divine Gate. There are anime that no words can describe them. Divine Gate fall into that category, not because it’s good, but because it’s halfheartedly made that I can’t explain how lazy it is. Its narrative is uninteresting, the characters are outrageously poorly-written, and the plot is all over the place. When the best thing about your anime is the OP, you know there’s something wrong with that anime. It’s better off as smartphone game, because the anime is nothing short of read more