Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

One Punch Man: Road to Hero


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: One Punch Man OVA, One Punch-Man OVA, One-Punch Man OVA
Japanese: ワンパンマン OVA「ロード・トゥ・ヒーロー」

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 4, 2015
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Web manga
Duration: 24 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.831 (scored by 103,551 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #568
Members: 175,483
Favorites: 282

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 5, 2015
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
One Punch Man: Road to Hero Review


Story (6/10) Fine
More Specifically (6.5/10)

The story for Road to Hero is simple and fine it's basically showing the struggles Saitama had to go through back when we assuming he's doing his Training through out the years he said he did to became the beast we all know him as and with the fact that he still has his hair this entire episode you can come to this conclusion fairly quickly. It also shows how he got his outfit and a couple of other interesting things.


Art and Animation (8/10) Very Good

The Art and Animation for this read more
Dec 6, 2015
nickwantadonut (All reviews)
"Road to Hero" depicts Saitama in, what I assume, is his very early tenure of being a part-time hero. The story takes place in Z-City, where a group of thugs calling themselves Niya Niya Loans are forcing local businesses to close their doors when they can no longer afford "insurance" that Niya is offering them. Saitama becomes involved whenever his tailor, located in the now nearly abandoned shopping district in Z-City, informs him of the situation.

This is a standalone arc that offers some brief insight into Saitama and his humble beginnings. There isn't nearly as much action in this OVA compared to the actual series, read more
Mar 13, 2016
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
I fail to see why people will give One Punch Man's "Road to Hero" a low rating, but will have apprehensions with Sword Art Online, Attack on Titans, and Naruto - three shit anime in my honest opinion.

This is actually a really good episode: It gives a decent introduction to the origins of the suit which Saitama-san wears, and has fairly intriguing plot twists which are used to show that Saitama-san isn't just a simple run of the mill block of wood. In essence, this is an origin story which provides a certain perspective of Saitama-san and how he transformed into the hero he is read more
Dec 6, 2015
iAmSayo (All reviews)
*This review was removed since I forgot to add the spoilers introduction, I will now re post it, but view it at your own discretion since it contains key info for this OVA*

One Punch Man is an anime that took it's popularity rising like a storm, and many fans claim it's literally saving anime. Here we have an OVA which has all the essence of the main series.

This OVA contains Saitama telling a story to Genos about the origins of his superhero suit and how important it is to him.

At the start we can see Saitama, who still has hair in a jogging outfit defeating read more
Feb 25, 2017
FenixBlade911 (All reviews)
Meh. This one was meh. It wasn't bad, but not exactly outstanding either. It isn't particularly relevant to the main story, but it was fun to watch another ridiculous adventure of Saitama.

There were no battles that were as good as the ones in the original series, but this is fair since the story takes place when Saitama is just starting out. That being said, it still has all of the charms of One Punch Man. There's humor, especially when it comes to Saitama's indifferent attitude and plain looking face, characters that progress the story well as well as bright and fluid animation.

Is it read more
Dec 26, 2015
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)

We get to see Saitama with hair. The second best thing about this OVA. There's also a great punchline that reminds you of the series' highlights. Other than that, this OVA is closer to the worst episodes of One Punch Man

We don't have people running around, screaming and flexing their muscles. Praising a show for a lack of things doesn't get you anywhere though. That's like praising a show for not having plot holes, or for not being racist.

The story is pointless. We learn how Saitama gets his suit, and there's no satirical bite to how ridiculous heroes customes are. Saitama being appalled at a read more
Jun 24, 2016
esaoud (All reviews)
I love OPM and gave it a 10. But the fact that this meh OVA got rated so highly leads me to believe the cries of OPM being overhyped are sort of true.

Seeing the backstory on Saitama was kind of cool, but the story lacked basically everything that made the series amazing. There was no cool new discoveries about this world OPM is in, no real threat to much. It was just really meh.

Even the the usually on point humor of One Punch just didn't strike as much of a cord as usual.

The OVA was fine and still OPM, but I can't read more
Dec 9, 2015
For_Reign (All reviews)
This is an OVA, or side story, that has nothing to do with the current plot line so I understood what it would be like before it watched it. It was kinda interesting in the start to see that he had hair and that from the beginning it had to do with his past. His past on the road to becoming a hero; hence the title of the OVA.

I kinda had certain expectations while I was watching so I went ahead and got myself a bit disappointed in the end. It was still good, don't get me wrong, it's just that I expected a little read more
Apr 22, 2017
comiclove (All reviews)
A prequel OVA bundled with the tenth published volume of the manga, this covers one small story set during Saitama's path to becoming a hero (hence the title). While not particularly outstanding, it was still pretty okay thanks to consistent art/sound quality.

[Story - 6]

The story's pretty basic - It follows the time when Saitama helps a shopowner keep his store open by going out to bust a counterfeit-debt group. While this story is rather mundane, and is actually pretty easy to skip over, it was still engaging thanks to Saitama's antics, along with the typical comedy expected from OPM.

[Art - 8]

The art here is still read more
Mar 8, 2016
bananapotato (All reviews)
I don't understand those people who are so critical about rating/ reviewing an OVA. It's an omake, of course there's not gonna be a whole lot of action and excitement in it.

I think Road to Hero is an awesome OVA. We get to a little bit of Saitama before he became the strongest man in the universe (presumably). There's not much back story on Saitama in the original series so seeing him interact with another person before he became this overpowered hero is a nice little bonus. We get to see how his iconic yellow jump suit came to be.

The humor was read more
Dec 26, 2015
Symantra (All reviews)
Hard to review specials or OVAs if you ask me.
Story: 6
Road to Hero is basically a one episode OVA about a single event that happened before Saitama became the One Punch Man that he is in the original series. It contains a couple references and details that will fit in with the main story, but otherwise it's just another filler chapter that doesn't really have a particular impact or reason to exist. Just the story behind Saitama and how he got his suit.

Art: 9
Sound: 9
Same as the main show. No changes to art style, sound, or music. Even has the same opening and ending! Rated read more
Oct 18, 2017
Springball64 (All reviews)
This OVA was thoroughly enjoyable, being able to provide useful backstory for a show that I loved, and answer any unknown questions that I may have had about some characters, whilst keeping it in the enjoyable OPM package.

Story: The story was quite enjoyable, although I did find it to be a bit dragging, and less gripping than the actual show was, as is the case with most OVAs. This OVA did definitely provide some useful backstory though. 8/10.

Art: The art stayed of a similar quality, although it did not have as many epic moments to shine as it did within the actual show. 7/10.

Sound: The read more
Jan 9, 2016
UponAShallowBay (All reviews)
A bit of Saitama's, the One Punch Man's, history on the road to heroedom. Just as bizarre and funny as any other episode, it shows the origins of his suit, the beginnings of his crime fighting, and more of his penchant for oops moments. It even explains the origins of monsters a bit, dispelling some of the other theories I had about how they came about. It has less action than the other episodes but I believe it's an important part of OPM to watch because it emphasizes what this show is about: a simple man, simply drawn, who's a hero for fun, who becomes read more
Dec 9, 2015
EclipsedArchon (All reviews)
Overall I give it a 6/10

Road To Hero covers one important aspect of the main character Saitama's backstory that I'm sure many fans were interested in learning about. The story is pretty similar to the usual conflicts found in the main series, but on a much less grand scale.

The episode was relatively interesting and enjoyable, but lacked the impact and tension found throughout the rest of the series. It wasn't a bad episode by any stretch of the word, but it didn't quite live up to the expectations that the series built for it.

If I were to rate this episode without ever seeing the rest read more
Dec 26, 2015
711nono (All reviews)
*Yawn is it over yet? One Punch Man: Road to Hero is a poorly executed OVA that functions as the origin story to Saitama's superhero suit.

And why are we supposed to care? Seriously it's his FREAKING SUIT. They could have done so many things with this Ova but no a suit. Seriously the characters were boring the story was bad and it was just plain boring.

The sound and art give it a little redemption but not enough to save it.

Overall the only reason you should be watching this is if you are a completionist. Seriously it isn't read more
Jul 31, 2016
Chappie7815 (All reviews)
The One Punch Man OVA Road to Hero gives viewers even more insight on a story that concerns and shapes the main character within the show. It takes a personal look at how Saitama obtained and earned his signature costume suit. But does the show hold up to the original, or does it still deserve to be considered an OVA? Let's take a look.
(Shorter review for shorter series)

Story: 6/fair
Landing in the realm of a snippet that could have been used in the specials, this segment of Saitama's backstory does give us the relish we craved that the original series skimped on, and for that read more