Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Final Fantasy 7: Advent Children
Japanese: ファイナルファンタジーVII アドベントチルドレン

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 14, 2005
Producers: None found, add some
Studios: Square Enix
Source: Game
Duration: 1 hr. 41 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.911 (scored by 107,927 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #452
Members: 152,345
Favorites: 1,077

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 8, 2007
Ceray (All reviews)
There aren't many video game players that I know of who haven't heard of Final Fantasy, and there aren't any RPG maniacs that I've met that haven't heard of Final Fantasy VII. The seventh installment of the never-ending Final Fantasy series is the most famous, and for a while I had no idea why, since I had never played the game. When the sequel, Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children was announced, I had no idea what it was to be about, but since I was consumed with Final Fantasy X, X-2 and the Kingdom Hearts series, I decided to give the movie a shot.

Final Fantasy read more
Jun 10, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
I've never actually played FFVII. I know, blasphemy, right? But it's impossible to live on the Internet and not know these characters, and the animation looked so pretty, how could I resist?

(This review contains spoilers for the FFVII game, but not the actual movie.)

STORY - I recall looking up FFVII's backstory and plot once or twice on Wikipedia, but most of what I know is based on sniplets of casual conversation, fanart, random other things on the Internet, and the (bastardized) versions of the characters' stories in Kingdom Hearts. That said, Advent Children's story was mostly "Wait, what?" to me. Even for movies based off read more
Oct 6, 2007
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children

Anime(?): AC is a digitally animated film that was released in 2005 by Square-Enix (famous for the Final Fantasies, duhr!), and directed by Tetsuya Nomura (Kingdom Hearts, FFVIII, FFX, duhr!). The original version was released in Japan in 2005, and it finally made its way Stateside in April of 2006 thanks to Squenix NA and Sony.

There have been several super-deluxe ultimate editions released, as is Squenix's habit, and I'm not even going to bother covering those.

Story: I would assume that you know this, but maybe you've been hiding under a rock. Basically, it's two years after read more
Oct 14, 2008
Zyro (All reviews)
Final Fantasy VII, the game, will have a special place in my heart for the reason that it was the first RPG I ever completed. It holds powerful sway, so much so I've beaten it 100% many times, worked hard to raise gold chocobo's and even defeated the "unbeatable" Weapons.

Sitting down to Advent Children I came into it with mixed thoughts. On one hand I knew it would never capture the charm of the game, but since it had all the same characters it must have some good parts. Was I right? No, I was horribly wrong.

I watched this movie both subtitled with Japanese audio read more
Oct 11, 2008
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
Quite frankly, there is little to no story with this anime. And the argument you have to play the game is ludicrous. James Cameron has said that you don't shouldn't have to watch a sequel without any viewing the previous installment. Should Terminator 2 really not have had any plot and just leave it to the first movie for it?

It doesn’t really advance Tifa and Cloud’s relationship either nor does it really develop the characters. Most the characters featured are just Cloud, Tifa, Reno, and the bald turk. Cloud just doesn't have the charisma to really carry the movie. And Sephiroth is still 100% read more
Jun 19, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
I was kinda sad due to the lack of references made to Aeris. She is my favorite FF7 character after all. I am, on the other hand, furious due to the fact that Tifa got a considerable amount of screen time, and the rumors that the boy was their son. He does not look a thing like Cloud or Tifa, but you know there is such a thing as "when there's smoke, there's fire" right?

Cloud is even more handsome in this movie, since his features were enhanced. Actually everyone looked great. I was glad to see Barret, Vincent, Yuffie, Cid et al. I was kinda read more
Mar 1, 2011
GoodEnoughForMe (All reviews)
To this day, I still don't see what people see in Final Fantasy: Advent Children. Other than some pretty neat fight scenes and stylistic action, this is a shell of a movie, and one that any kid with a penchant for action could have written.

In one sense, it leaves writing a review for this film very hard to write, because the flaws of Advent Children are so basic and readily apparent. This is a movie completely lacking in the major attributes that can make or break (as they do in this case) any film. There is a laughable storyline, no character development whatsoever, and a read more
Sep 19, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
There’s absolutely nothing smart, deep, or subtle to be found in this movie. Which is precisely the way it should be. Advent Children is about as clever as an unplugged blender.

This anime takes places two years after the successful 1997 game, Final Fantasy VII. So if you havent played or heard about them, do not fear for Advent doesnt require any background or even a story to make it enjoyable. And that alone is an accomplishment.

Synopsis:
*Midgar has been reduced into ruins and its people are suffering from a mysterious illness. There isn't any cure, and it brings death to those who are effected by read more
Jul 1, 2009
Gekkido (All reviews)
Let me start this review by saying that it was never my intention to write one, specially one about Final Fantasy Advent Children. Also, I'd like to state for an obvious reason that I've played and finished the original game in which this movie was "inspired" on, Final Fantasy VII.

By the time the game was launched it was revolutionary in all its aspects. Both visually and the way the plot was developed consistently throughout the game. Every character had its importance and unique plot giving the player/viewer a chance to relate himself to many different personality traits while subtly, leading both the story and character read more
Apr 18, 2008
Duelistbluerose (All reviews)
It REALLY helps to have played the original FF7 game in order to appriciate and understand this movie. And, no, Kingdom Hearts does not count! The plot of FF7:AC assumes you've played and picks up 2 years after the game ends. Some guy friends of mine have said they liked the movie even without playing but they were completely lost. Honestly, if you're an action fan you'll like this movie...... about 80 of the movie is raw action and jaw-dropping fight scenes.

There's little plot in the movie because you get the game plot woven in. In the first 5 minutes you get an intro read more
Oct 12, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

FF7 Advent Children gets a lot of hate online, and some of it is quite justifiable. The story in this movie isn't very good, it doesn't further develop 7's beloved characters, and it isn't really a great continuation to the epic storyline. Why did I rate it so high? I will explain.

Story and characters: 5/10 warning spoilers!

We see that Cloud is still crushed by Aeris's death and isn't living with Tifa, because he's being a whiny bitch(I actually liked Tifa in the first place). The world is being ravaged by a mysterious disease and our heroes have all mostly gone their separate ways. The plot read more
Jan 22, 2008
Qwerkzy (All reviews)
It was alright. It's nowhere near the masterpiece that I thought I was going to watch, based on my friends' excited, rather fanboy-ish reactions, but I can't say that it was a waste of my time. I definitely do recommend it, but with the following disclaimer: don't believe the hype, just enjoy the action, but don't expect anything too lasting.

The story, first off, is a trainwreck. I'm not going to regurgitate the details here since I'm not supposed to and I trust the reader has access to Wikipedia, but let's just say it's an insult to the FF7 legacy, and read more
Sep 16, 2008
zaburai (All reviews)
This movie got so much hype before it was launched but of course by todays standards that means it will amount to rubbish.

I was looking forward to this as generaly FF games have an excellent story to it and I thought if it wasgoing to be in a movie it would be awsome but again, it was a dissapointment, the story was very bland with terrible lines and overal very boring. One strange thing I have noticed is how did Cloud get the virus? How did anyone get the virus?

Now to the character development....and thats it, there isn't any. You learn nothing new about the read more
Aug 22, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Final Fantasy VII might just be the most influential instalment in the entire FF franchise. It's not my personal favourite and the polygonal graphics certainly don't hold up well compared to most of the other instalments, but it did have an epic story with a grand scale and some fantastic characters. Naturally, Square-Enix decided to take advantage of the game's legacy with a prequel game, a sequel game and some film/OVA adaptations. Most of which were not good. This brings us to Advent Children, quite possibly the best received of all of those tie-ins. The film came out in 2005 with a slightly longer, complete read more
Jan 11, 2009
TheBritishBear (All reviews)
Final Fantasy VII IS SUCCESS. Final Fantasy VII IS DOMINANCE. That’s the first thing that will gush through the mind of FFVII fantards who haven’t played a single RPG since. Not that Final Fantasy VII is rubbish (I love it personally). But what I find rubbish is the sequels it spawns. Apart from Crisis Core, every FFVII sequel has been rubbish. Dirge of Cerberus was a bad attempt at a First Person Shooter, Before Crisis isn’t released here and Advent Children… well, this is why I am reviewing it.

Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children is the sequel to the critical acclaimed ‘Final Fantasy VII’. Set two read more
Aug 15, 2008
Chanellia (All reviews)
in one sentence : surely an insonmia healer , watching this movie made me sleepy since 10 minutes.

story :
blurred . purposeless . wierd . minim intrigues .

art :
breathtaking . it's flawless and very eye-candy . futuristic yet fantastic .with semi-matrix style wrapping the good looking characters .

directing,cinematography :
slow motion made my brain slower and slower , it made me fell asleep just in minutes while the movie is hours . the director copied Andy and Larry Wachowsky's directing style a.k.a. a la the Matrix wrapped in Final Fantasy's background.

character:
A movie filled with eccentric character with beautiful appearance ,as usual . But , only read more
Jun 20, 2012
Soifon369 (All reviews)
I am utterly amazed at how many negative and mediocre ratings and reviews this has gotten on this site... Are these people just nostalgic over something that didn't get added from FFVII the game?!

This movie is epic... period... watch it, love it.

Story:
A continuation of FFVII 2 years later, shows the world recovering from everything that happened in the game. Connects to the game storyline perfectly, and accurately represents it all. Great development, and the concept behind the remnants of Sephiroth was a great idea and made for something really special, and even set up for another story to be told beyond this in FFVII's read more
Aug 1, 2009
RobertPaulson (All reviews)
Well then, lets sit down, take off our nostalgia goggles, put on our thinking caps and review "Final Fantasy 7: Advent Children."

Remember when you first found out there was going to be a FF7 movie and was like, "Awesome!" Then you heard the title was "Advent Children" and nervously thought, "Well that's a stupid name." That was your early warning.

Really its amazing what you get away with when you've established a strong fan-base. Just ask Kyoani.

I think there might have been a plot, but even after repeated viewings with the "complete" version, this is still unclear. Apparently children are involved, but their relevance to read more
Dec 8, 2015
Ryusaki1989 (All reviews)
I am a big Final Fantasy Fan and i played Final Fantasy VII around 1000 hours(feeled).
The Movie Advent Children is set 2 years after the events of Final Fantasy VII and there we already have the problem. People who did not play the game will hardly understand the plot or what certain elements in the story mean. It was a great idea to made this movie but sadly it is in fact only for Final Fantasy fans.

Graphics are very good.
But many characters from the game are barely shown.
So the viewer can not really build an connection to them and will eventually have read more
Jul 2, 2012
Z-Wei (All reviews)
If you look at the other reviews for this movie such as Rotten Tomatoes, I can understand why they gave it such a bad score.
Not everyone plays video games or may not even know what the Final Fantasy series is. (Please, I hope everyone knows).

To be honest, I watched the movie before playing the actual game. But I knew almost all the characters (instead for Vincent and Zack) since they all appeared in the Kingdom Hearts game. It is quite complicated to know whats going on in the movie if someone has never played the game before. But for me, I read the read more