Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Eve no Jikan


Alternative Titles

English: Time of Eve
Synonyms: Eve's Time
Japanese: イヴの時間

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 1, 2008 to Sep 18, 2009
Producers: Directions, Code, Trick Block
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Rikka
Source: Original
Duration: 18 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.161 (scored by 59,493 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #757
Members: 128,745
Favorites: 1,136

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2009
Ladholyman (All reviews)
Time of Eve is a rather peculiar show to review. For one thing, it is only six episodes long, clocking in at around 15 to 20 minutes each, but the finale extends for about 30 minutes. Usually, short anime are not able to properly convey the right combination of character development, plot, and conflict.

Time of Eve, however, does all that and more. I must say that it is probably the best science fiction anime since Planetes, and definitely worth your time.

Let's start with the art animation. Those familiar with Yasuhiro Yoshiura's previous works, such as Pale Cocoon and Aquatic Language, will find themselves quite at read more
Oct 29, 2008
Qin (All reviews)
This is indeed a great show. After three episodes, I think it to be one of the 2008’s highlights. Eve no jikan is beautifully and atmospherically animated, with nice voices, interesting characters and relationships, and a developing plot. The story, which involved humans living with androids, wasn’t the most original in the world,but it didn’t make this anime any less attractive.

Eve no Jikan is directed by Yasuhiro Yoshiura, who is often compared to Makoto Shinkai in terms of how well his short animations look. This time in his latest work Eve no jikan, Yasuhiro Yoshiura once again proved his artistic talent. The read more
May 3, 2010
TheLlama (All reviews)
Imagine a world where artificial intelligence exists in the form of robots, and, eventually, androids. They obey their master's every whim; helping out with chores at home, storing status of household members; everything dutifully and without hesitation. They are totally soulless; mere machines in the shape of humans.

Or are they?

What if these androids had a soul of their own? A feeling, curious mind capable of receiving sensations, learning them, recognizing them, adapting to them? That is the thought Eve no Jikan tries to bring forth, and boy, is it a provoking one! While not really permeating the series in a very visible manner, it does read more
Mar 8, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

I've decided to treat myself and review something that doesn't suck! My coronary arteries requested me to take a break from reviewing anime that sends my blood pressure north of 200!
Today I look at Eve no Jikan, which is a very highly rated series here on MAL, although somewhat obscure.

Plot: 8/10

Eve no Jikan takes place in the near future, when humans are constantly being served by androids. These androids have not only developed complete artificial intelligence, but the ability to feel emotions just as complex as humans do. Despite the fact that these androids are fully human mentally with artificial bodies, they are treated like read more
Apr 26, 2010
ParisainGoldfish (All reviews)
I've been kicking this around for who knows how long, and I'm pleasantly surprised to say that Eve no Jikan is probably one of the most engaging, expressive shows I've seen to date. And that's no small feat, given it's extremely quick runtime. The atmosphere is unique and brilliantly well crafted, and I'd say it's safe to say that I will eagerly be anticipating any future works from Studio RIKKA even more now that I've seen this.

Story; 10. The questions presented through Eve no Jikan are nothing particularly new, yet nothing entirely exhausted either. Humanity, discrimination, acceptance; the cast of Eve is used to portray read more
Jan 5, 2010
debonair (All reviews)
Science fiction is a genre that often pushes the boundary of believability. Few have opted for a more grounded approach and even fewer have succeeded. In fact, not since Planetes has there been an anime that successfully integrates science fiction into its plot without testing one’s suspension of disbelief too much. Not till Eve no Jikan at least. With a seamless blend of futuristic and slice-of-life elements, Eve no Jikan is relevant, realistic and innovative.

On an ocular level, it is nothing short of spectacular. Director Yoshiura Yasuhiro pushes the envelope of aesthetics by combining 2D characters and 3D backgrounds to produce a polished product that read more
May 27, 2009
MikariStar (All reviews)
Preliminary
As of the time I wrote this review this series had not yet finished but I already know it will become one of my top favorites. It's science fiction, something I really like, but that's not all; it has a quality that's becoming rare in anime, a certain charming originality despite it dealing with the common sci-fi topic of the line between androids and humans, and the ability to keep people interested without making it looks like it's trying too hard.

Part of the charm of this series is how the sci-fi environment flows into the lives of normal teenagers. As it should be, they don't read more
Dec 2, 2008
slicepop31 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let us look at this series. Eve no Jikan, here you have a series that offers a needed take on the ideas of AI and digitalization. The series offers brilliant art designs with a seamless, flowing soundtrack that blends in with the world creating a mysterious, calming atmosphere.


When I first saw this series I was remniscient of Ghost in the Shell's work found in Stand Alone Complex. This series is similar to Gits in the respect that it offers new perspective into the realm of AI, but where GiTs focuses on a team of elite investigators this series focuses on school students read more
Feb 18, 2015
vigorousjammer (All reviews)
Story - 7/10

When it comes to the story in Time of Eve, I felt like it was a pretty original take on an existing formula. That formula being the common "androids are people too" trope that has been present in many sci-fi productions. However, the way the show approaches this concept, having it set in a cafe that doesn't discriminate between humans and robots, works really well. It frames the characters and their interactions in every episode in much of the same way something like the classic sitcom Cheers does.
That might be a bit of an odd comparison, though, as Time of Eve is more read more
May 8, 2010
Nilvius (All reviews)
"Since robots don't have a soul, how could they comprehend music?"

[Story: 8.5] Naturally, Time of Eve is far from being the first series influenced by Isaac Asimov's works. However, unlike most of the science fictions about Robotics (and Asimov's eponymous Three Laws of Robotics), Eve is done in a more slice-of-life style, rather than having the common action-focused plot. Nevertheless, as with its genre, the themes within the show can be easily surmised to revolve around the blurring of the boundary between machines and humans. While Eve doesn't really put a new spin to the genre, the characterization is more than enough and is done read more
Jun 20, 2013
Mazzmoney (All reviews)
Review out of 100. 35 for Story, 35 for Characters, and 30 for Production Values.

Story: (27/35) Great Setting, and had a lot of potential, but not enough time to answer all the question you might have. Very good for the time it did have though. (27/35)

Characters: (26/35) Like the story, they were good, just underdeveloped. Again, this is because of the time it had, but it did good for a show with a run time of 1 hour and 45 minutes.

Production Values: (24/35) Good, but nothing that will knock your socks off. It was an independent production, which makes it all the more impressive. read more
Mar 21, 2010
Shayngo (All reviews)
When does a robot become more man than machine, when does a soul inhabit its shell? It is the fundamental question explored throughout Eve No Jikan

In modern times it is easy to distinguish between a machine made for humans to use, and living things which should be treasured and not taken advantage of. During the era of Eve no Jikan however, there are very few distinguishing characteristics between the two, so few that either can be mistaken for the other.

During such an age there are robots which take care of everything from housework to taking the children to school. As more and more robots enter read more
Jul 25, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Eve no Jikan is another request that I'm going into without any idea of what to expect. All I know is that it involves androids and it was created by Yoshiura Yasuhiro, the critically acclaimed director of Pale Cocoon, which... I also haven't seen. Well, let's take a look at Eve no Jikan and see if it gives me an interest in his other works.

Eve no Jikan has a very basic story. Androids and robots have been integrated into society. One day young Rikuo is going through his house android's activity log and finds a strange message about the "Time of Eve." This leads him read more
Jan 21, 2017
CivilianHero (All reviews)
Time of Eve is a ONA series consisting barely 6 episodes, each of around 15 mins, with the exception of the finale being 30 mins in length. It was adapted from the movie of the same name and has a couple of extra scenes as compared to the movie. This is the review of only the ONA and not the movie, which I have never watched.

The story takes place on earth in a future wherein robots have become a common feature in everyday household. They are used primarily as maids or servants of the house and do menial jobs like shopping and cooking. The story read more
Jun 14, 2010
sooshi (All reviews)
Androids don't have souls or feelings, or do they.
I always thought that low episode shows are not that great, but watching this changed it all. Eve no Jikan is one of the most exciting science fiction animes ever.
Story 9/10
Set in the modern world were androids are so advanced that they look exactly like us the only difference is The Ring and of course the robot kind of behavior. And in this time there is a group of people who treat the androids like human claiming they have feelings like us otherwise called Android-holic and of course there is the opposite group who hates read more
Jul 17, 2010
mollymortensen (All reviews)
Eve no Jikan is the story of a cafe. In a world where Androids are commonplace, this is one spot where they are to be treated no differently than humans. As a matter of fact you will get in trouble if you treat them differently.

One can't watch this OVA without thinking of Asimov. Even the three laws were included and were done reasonably well. The story line itself was the opposite of Asimov however, focusing on character development over plot line.

Eve no Jikan does it's characters very well, each episode focusing on a different party who comes to the cafe. Where this show was read more
Oct 6, 2013
akailuna (All reviews)
Eve no Jikan is one of those animes you watch if you enjoy getting to know different realities from our own, like a peek into another dimension.

Unfortunately, there's not a whole lot to be discovered about Time of Eve's world. There will be no explanations on how the androids are built, or how they came to be; not even the underlining subject of theirdiscrimination is approached. The show instead focuses solely on the characters, the patrons of this cafe that gives the anime its' name, and each episode tries to surprise you with the background of each person. Although there will be no mindfucks to read more
Jun 22, 2013
HunterTennouji (All reviews)
A series about androids in the human society. However, different from the normal "man vs machine" movies, it's more like "machine becomes man". A very touching story that tells about how social stigma forms against androids and how to overcome them.

The animation is smooth and different from other animes that their proportions are more real-like, instead of the normal big eyes or long arms. What set Time of Eve apart is the camera angles however. The camera moves around alot, depending on the mood. For example, when tension builds, the camera shakes and shifts between characters at a fast rate. Although the show has an read more
Dec 4, 2009
Overcooled (All reviews)
Eve no Jikan is quite a gem...It boasts superior animation and CGI and a very intriguing story. Although the plot tells the tired tale of a futuristic city with androids, and the concept of androids wanting to be human, Eve no Jikan still brings something interesting to the table. The story, admittedly, is a bit slow at first. It's a subtle story based off of character interactions that are supposed to make you think, so this pacing is not for the impatient.

However, the story really comes alive after episode 2. I found myself just flying through the episodes, eager read more
Aug 12, 2018
PicklePride (All reviews)
Eve no Jikan tells the heartwarming story of segregation in a futuristic society and how a boy named Rikuo experiences both sides of the issue. It is reflective of our modern world as well as cultures from centuries before. I believe this short series would be one of my favorites if I wasn’t so perturbed by a detail that was never resolved. I can only describe it as a significant plot hole left behind by careless writing, and it distracted me for the entirety of my viewing. I will spoil a little of this anime, but let me explain; Rikuo’s connection to the android world read more