3-gatsu no Lion


March comes in like a lion

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: March comes in like a lion
Synonyms: Sangatsu no Lion
Japanese: 3月のライオン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2016 to Mar 18, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Theme: GameGame
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.411 (scored by 217541217,541 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #283
Members: 555,658
Favorites: 12,973

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 18, 2017
Veronin (All reviews)
Sangatsu no Lion's first five minutes contain a scene I might characterise as one of the best in animation. A boy listlessly wakens, drinking out of necessity, dressing out of obligation, and leaving his sterile apartment out of confusion, an existence so fragile it could perish with the wind. He doesn't say anything. He doesn't tell people about his problems. He just moves on with his life.

At first I did not understand why this scene had such an impact on me. I thought it could have been the beautiful music, or perhaps the captivating artwork so characteristic of Shaft. That wasn't it. What overwhelmed read more
Apr 10, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My opinion:
To be honest, I’ve always found reviewing slice of life series to be difficult and unpleasant, doing it is just tedious.
In recent years the anime production standards have steadily dropped culminating with the winter 2017 season which is filled with generic otaku-targeted shows, and thus 3-gatsu no Lion distinguished itself by having a more “serious” tone and being better, compared to the vast number of shitty series that aired at the same time.
I usually avoid watching slice of life because, in most cases, the story is nothing special and the pacing is slow, leaving me unsatisfied and on the brink of falling asleep in read more
Mar 18, 2017
Sterps (All reviews)
3-Gatsu was originally an anime I started watching because I love Shaft's other animes, but a few episodes in I started watching to follow along on Rei's journey.

8/10 Story:
The story resonates with me a lot. It's like a combination of figuring out life in the present and how to deal with your past at the same time. The story is more than just about shogi, it's more about the player. How he decides what pieces to use, what pieces to move, and try and overcome his next opponent/obstacle. It also applies to his life. He has his new family which currently guards him and read more
Mar 18, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
The way 3-gatsu no Lion (March comes like a lion) is written is like a poetic adventure. Only thing is, the main protagonist is in his own story and we (the audience) gets to see what they experience. From that experience, the main protagonist Rei tackles through obstacles in his life, building relationships, and growing as a person. Adapted by the manga of the same name, this is a show that really takes slice of life to a unique perspective.

The creator of the series is Chica Umino. Some people may recognize her work such as Honey and Clover. As such, character designs represented in this read more
Nov 11, 2016
lieznerf (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the most underrated anime of Fall 2016. Overall rating [9.3/10]

Story [10/10] - This is not your typical anime with exposition, climax, and resolution. It's like you are reading a book. And in this case, a very good one. The experiences come fast and furious for the main character, but the center of his universe is definitely 'shogi'. Also, you don't have to be a shogi expert to watch this although it has a 'game' tag on it. You will love how the story goes from silent to being dramatic, and from that to being so comedic. One time you will be crying, read more
Nov 12, 2016
HajimeNozomiUwU (All reviews)
Preliminary
[Reupload]

For starters, this anime could be close to a masterpiece. Why you ask? Well I'll tell you. It's animated by Shaft, who are known for extreme narrative and story abnormalities. Now that may sound bad, but the story so far has been directed beautifully. The way the story dives into the sadness of our MC's past really tugs on the heartstrings, but at the same time his current life is filled with happy moments that are heartwarming. The mix of drama and slice of life can get confusing or even annoying but I think that's just what makes this show really good.

What is important to read more
Oct 17, 2018
SteekHutzee (All reviews)
Sangatsu no Lion is a completely pointless series, revolving around a few more than flat characters.

I'll try to be as spoiler free as possible while pointing out what I think worked and what not.

Story: 3
In a few words, the story in Sangatsu no Lion is "playing shogi". For as much as I would like to say that it talks about a kid growing, fighting his fears, learning how to relate to other people, eventually understanding how to live one's life, all of this is just barely touched, focusing more on "what if I moved the pawn in A7 instead of B2?". In 22 episodes, absolutely read more
Jul 3, 2020
Buruorenjiedo (All reviews)
'3-gatsu no Lion' had a promising start but then lost it at the end of Season 1.

*please note that this is only a review of season 1, i gave season 2 a 5/10*

Story: 3 (Poor)
I have to say that the beginning was very engaging. The idea of shogi and the struggles you could face mentally was a new concept to me. However, as the show continued, it became quite boring and repetitive, and that very quickly. Dialogues between the characters were becoming bland and it seemed like the creators focused on the gameplay dialogues "move pawn to etc.", rather than the dialogues in crucial moments. read more
Nov 10, 2016
YorouzoyaHouse (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ever since Akiyuki Shinbo joined as director in 2005, Shaft has been on a rampage, pushing its avant grade cinematography (and head tilts) to the limits. And now that they've made a name for themselves (and the fact that they're all out of source material on the monogatari series), they have started to calm down. Compared to last year's Owarimonogatari (and the subsequent Kizumonogatari movies this year), they have a Slice of Life entry this fall season by the name of San-gatsu no Lion (or March comes in like a Lion). Based on a well received ongoing manga, the story revolves around Kiriyama Rei, a read more
Sep 13, 2019
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
This review will cover both seasons of March Comes in Like a Lion.

Well here we are my 100th review.

It has been long and emotional road of great and awful animes but somehow I made it to 100 reviews. I personally wouldn't made it so far without your helpful and constructive feedback that you have given me over the years.

Naturally I decided to do something special to make this occasion and So I decided up a anime that I truly loved and that anime in question is 3 Gatsu no Lion or March Comes in like a Lion in English. First aired in 2016 the series read more
Sep 6, 2018
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
SHAFT previously installed a pretentious series that suffers from a massive diagnosis of what I like to call dialogue schizophrenia, making a guy with ahoge hair look cool while he continually sexually assaults lolis; it reined in unlimited amounts of money, yatta yatta (muting the preface point with that because this studio is the bane of my existence).

Still riding on the Bakemonogatari cash cow, I'm sure that they realized that adapting one of Chika Umeno's works (the mangka behind Honey & Clover), along with adding the overzealous, overly angular, dialogue heavy monologuing with a sexually ambiguous, teenage misfit boy that this would be a self-defining read more
Sep 14, 2019
Narumi01 (All reviews)
Story 5/10
Since the show has a good rate I forced my self to watch it but I didnt feel anything from the show but a little motivation that shimada and rei may give me. The progression of the story was slow alot of characters r presented but they didnt do much or play a real role for the show and aswell their developpement was poorly made (like misumi, takahashi, tsujii, hanaoka...) Animals speech are pretty not necessary since they speak for nothing... Mostly jokes r really really bad i never laughed after watching those 22 epsiodes but i guess comedy isnt the aim of read more
Jul 10, 2019
Hikari-Kuro (All reviews)
Dear MAL members, do not be fooled like I did by the high score that this series obtained.

Spoilers ahead

I came across this anime which not only obtained an overall high score, but also received plenty of high scores by other reviewers. Hence I was excited to watch this series. However after finishing all 22 episodes, I was left disappointed and wondered what did this anime have that deserved the high scores it obtained?

Unlike run with the wind, whereby they made running interesting, this anime made shogi look difficult and boring to someone who does not know about the game. The rules and how the read more
Mar 7, 2019
Gippy (All reviews)
It's difficult to review slice-of-life shows through a critical lens. It's the one genre that is seemingly immune to poor reviews, simply because as long as the show is comforting, then it'll get a good score. I particularly like it when slice-of-life intersects with progress. Last year's Comic Girls did that, as well as Barakamon a few years back.

One of my first favorites when I became an anime junkie was Hikaru no Go, which also centered around a competitive board game. With 75 eps and a controversial ending, it has largely faded from memory today. But it was enjoyable, and Hikaru had significant growth throughout read more
Jul 26, 2019
Batnoir (All reviews)
This review is for people who don't like Slice Of Life anime and find them boring and unbearable to watch but want to venture into the world of Slice Of Life anime.....This is NOT the anime to start!!

I ventured into this anime hearing good things about it from all sources such as people recommending it online ,the fact that it won at the cruchyroll awards and also that fucker The Anime Man praising it

Plot/Story
When it comes to anime , im all about the action and higher meaning even sprinkle a little symbolism... But the story, for me, was too dull. I mean its slice read more
Jan 14, 2020
Apple2k (All reviews)
Sangatsu no Lion is filled with important life lessons that is taught to us in style. It has great music, quality animation and a fantastic art style. All of this added with the writing makes for an experience to say the least. I want to also mention that the first episode of this show made my heart ache pretty hard and it didn’t take long to understand why. I felt like I understood Rei’s character quickly because I was Rei at one point. I did everything not because I enjoyed it but because it was necessary, I was unsure of what I really read more
Sep 17, 2019
Tinybox (All reviews)
“The further you go, the steeper it becomes, and there won’t be anyone around you.” – Rei Kiriyama

I feel I lack the vocabulary and eloquence to adequately express how special Sangatsu no Lion truly is, but i'll attempt to do my best nonetheless.

Depression is a silent battle. Constantly waging war against yourself. What happiness you can grasp is constantly sinking into an ocean of nothingness. You are nothing, you have nothing.

Sangatsu no Lion does not shy away from showing it's viewers the reality of the soul crushing torment that depression is. The protagonist of the story isn't a faultless man embarking on read more
May 8, 2020
YuiHirasawa- (All reviews)
WARNING: SPOILERS BELOW

March Comes in Like a Lion. The show that disappointed me in a multitude of ways. Having already seen (and reviewed) the second season of Sangatsu No Lion, this review will be rather short. Indeed, I feel as if everything that the second season does and fails to do, the first season does in almost exactly the same fashion, albeit in a way that manages to be less engaging, more frustrating, and ultimately less deserving of a high rating. Indeed, it’s very hard for me to see this season as anything more than an average show that I wanted to love and was read more
Sep 19, 2020
henriqueTsu (All reviews)
I'm Brazillian, so I'm not very welcomed with writing in another language, I ask you to be patient with my grammar and my English :). To summarize, Sangatsu no Lion is a seinen, very similar to a slice of life so if you don't have quite alike from this genre than it's better to think twice before watching it. The story maybe not be the best one, but it's great and delivers us the best of its premise. The art (as you may see) it's outstanding, we find beauty in her simplicity. The moments of tension are well animated, for example, when the characters are read more
May 27, 2021
hohohaha (All reviews)
Sangatsu no Lion has a nice story, art, sound, the characters are interesting. It's a show I would rewatch over and over again.
Strange how the main character, Kiriyama Rei, is in high school, but my expectation of a gloomy high schooler was turned down. The story intertwines high school and adult life in a very subtle and clever way. I couldn't help but be fond of each characters' stories, not one character is boring out there. Plus, shogi is an interesting strategy sport, as I also play xiangqi (Chinese chess), it definitely excites me.
Constantly, the need to change and people's expectations of read more