Persona 5 the Animation: The Day Breakers


Persona 5 the Animation -THE DAY BREAKERS-

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Persona 5 the Animation -THE DAY BREAKERS-
Japanese: PERSONA5 the Animation -THE DAY BREAKERS-

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 3, 2016
Producers: Aniplex, Atlus
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Game
Genres: ActionAction, SupernaturalSupernatural, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.161 (scored by 2157521,575 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #29242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2359
Members: 42,449
Favorites: 80
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 3, 2016
metadata (All reviews)
As always Shoji Meguro has done a wonderful job composing. With his music playing, during well-directed - yet lacklusterly animated - scenes, I couldn't take my eyes off of the screen. Even if you aren't interested in Persona, I'd suggest to just watch this for that fight scene.
This special doesn't serve as much more than an introduction for a videogame - Persona 5, as you might have guessed - and logically we don't get a deep, nor resolved plot (we only see a short subplot). While the setting and themes are really interesting, the story (of the special) isn't much new. However, within 24 minutes read more
Sep 5, 2016
Kashmius (All reviews)
As a person who started with Persona 1 on the Playstation One, I have been a major Shin Megami Tensei fan since. I hold it as a series dear to my heart. The series is a Japanese Role Playing game that follows its themes around demonic entities and mythology. Persona is a sub-series of the Shin Megami Tensei franchise that pretty much is just that but with a high school setting. In recent entries there have been the additions of social links and dating. The series has only recently gained a larger following as it's been very niche for quite some time until Persona 3 read more
Sep 4, 2016
Sausious (All reviews)
This will be coming from someone who is overwhelmingly hyped for Persona 5, and a large fan of Shin Megami Tensei in general.

As a standalone OVA the story is a bit less than you'd expect. It has its interesting points and a decent, if a predictable, twist. It certainly sets up a good atmosphere that never fully breaks, but that's about it. There's no real pay off in the end as it sets us back to the Velvet Room at the end, making it a "possible" path rather than one that we should just assume happens in the future game.

The characters are alright, if you've read more
Sep 3, 2016
Limienerd (All reviews)
This is a not necessary but still pleasant anime to watch. This comes before the game so watch this before playing P5 if you want to be a perfectionist. This is the first Persona 5 entity to experience.

Most of this episode is focused on one character but it does all give you the basics of how the story will work for Persona 5 while not giving too much away that you can guess from promotional material.

The art and and animation is rather varied is this. It goes from decent/good and has certain moments that absolutely stunning but these are few and far between. The story read more
Sep 18, 2016
ArchStanton (All reviews)
This anime is basically an advertisement/preview for Persona 5 and as such it does its job well. We get to see the characters in action along with how they access their new shadow realm (it's an app!) all with the beautiful art style and character designs developed for the game. The animation's not quite as good as that in the game, but it's still well above average. The plot is pretty basic and takes place within the game without ruining any of the plot for us. Apparently people can put in requests for help to the Phantom Thieves online. One guy, a lockpick and thief read more
Sep 4, 2016
JoshuaJones16 (All reviews)
Well seeing the fact that I am big ass Persona fan and it is the only game I am hyped for besides Pokemon Sun and Moon, I decided to review the special. This is covering the anime for the new 5th installment (not counting Golden, FES, Persona 3 portable and the other spinoffs) in the Persona franchise which I love almost as much as I do Pokemon

For those that don't know this is basically the special to showcase the gist of the new Persona 5 game WHICH YOU SHOULD ALL BUY!

.....Kidding Kidding. I'm kidding don't take it seriously....Well don't take 30% seriously.....Moving On!

anyway back on read more
May 2, 2018
SebastianM20 (All reviews)
Honestly, i don't know why there are some many 7s or even 8s. This OVA is just one adaptation of one of the sidequest you can do in the game source (and a uninteresting one in my opinion). As a stand alone product it fails because you need to have played to game to understand it and as content for the players it's pretty boring because it focus too much on irrelevant characters and tries too hard to make the heroes looks cool without them doing anything remarkable until the only (and final) battle. By the way, the ending doesn't make any sense at all, read more
Oct 12, 2017
Leenat40 (All reviews)
Whilst I don't exactly know if this short came before or after the game itself, it's really not a good starting point for the people who don't know about the game.
But for those like me (who played the game) it is a delight to watch and listen to. The music really did hold it up for me. I loved hearing those iconic tunes again. Tho i believe they could have used "Rivers In The Dry Land" or atleast don't have the really awkward cut of 'Last surprise" in the "Boss Battle"

The review is still too short, so can I just start a discussion of read more
Jun 21, 2018
LSSJ_Gaming (All reviews)
So as you have seen, I am not a fan of A-1 Pictures's adaptation of PERSONA 5 as it trims out a lot of substance from the game. However this is probably the only good A-1 Pictures Persona 5 media.

This here is the Day Breakers. This is an adaptation of one of the Mementos quests from around the Casino portion of the game. This however expands on it to give a good idea on what the game is all about. This has no real bearing on the plot, however it does set up a good spot to get comfortable with before you start the game. read more