Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dagashi Kashi


Alternative Titles

English: Dagashi Kashi
Synonyms: Dagashikashi
Japanese: だがしかし

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2016 to Apr 1, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:16 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: feel.
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.711 (scored by 92,891 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #46972
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #330
Members: 218,108
Favorites: 625

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 1, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
Dagashi Kashi
By Kokonotsu Yen (9 Yen, 50 Cent's Japanese half cousin)

I'll take you to the Dagashi shop
I'll let you lick the watapachi-pop
Go 'head girl don't you stop
Keep going 'til you hit the Toppo, whoa

I'll take you to the Dagashi shop (yeah)
Hotaru, one taste of what I got
I'll have you spending all you got (come on)
Keep going 'til you hit the Hi-Chew, whoa

You could have it your way, how do you want it?
You gon' sip that Ramune, or should I put some Pocky on it?
Temperature rising, okay, let's go to the next level
Shikada-dashi jam-packed, hot as a tea kettle

Yeaaah, so, Dagashi Kashi: a show that read more
Apr 1, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
So Kokonotsu... do you wanna try becoming adults?

Say yes you beta bastard, say yes!

Anyways, Dagashi Kashi! This series was the one I was most interested in before it aired. Why? Because of that busty babe on the picture! And now, after watching it, I can confidently say that Dagashi Kashi was actually the complete opposite of what I thought it would be. I thought it was going to be a story about young Kokonotsu, an aspiring mangaka, and his struggles of dealing with Hotaru, that sweet sexy thang, who wants Kokonotsu to take over his dad's candy shop instead! Well, sure... that's kind of what read more
Apr 2, 2016
x_silversurfer (All reviews)
Tl;dr 4.4 out of 10. no oppai, no plot, lots of talking about snacks.

This show starts completely different than it actually is. We start with a young aspiring manga artist who works in his dad's rural snack shop. It's a boring little shop with few customers. One day a pretty girl walks in and announces she's someone important and then goes on to challenge the main character in some snack themed contest and then does it again and again and again and so on.

The story pretty much derails after the first two episodes and falls into a formulaic feedback loop:
Start of episode: boring snack shop. read more
Apr 3, 2016
kurokitty-mimi (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER FREE!

Many people argue that Dagashi Kashi is nothing more than one big advertisement for Dagashi. This may or may not be true. Perhaps if you are Japanese and had grown up on Dagashi, this series is probably so slice-of-life that it’s boring. As someone genuinely interested in the lifestyles of Japanese citizens beyond anime and pop culture, I found this anime quite educational! Not only had I never heard of Dagashi before watching episode 1, but it also gave me a look into Japanese childhood, and growing up in the Japanese countryside. I also love the silly characters, especially Hotaru. If read more
Apr 5, 2016
jaw1811 (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the time of writing this review, I have dropped this anime, with no plans to ever return and finish the remaining five episodes. This anime is boring. It is basically a Japanese candy commercial in anime form. Each episode is typically divided into two parts, with each part focusing on a different candy. There is also a weird crazy girl that knows too much about candy, and she is usually the one that introduces the candy of the episode.
The plot of this anime is relatively simple: Kokonotsu wants to be a manga artist, but his father wants him to take over the family read more
Apr 2, 2016
TrollMuncher (All reviews)
Dagashi Kashi is for me the rare show that turned out to be different from what I expected, in a wholly positive way. No fanservice or wish fulfilment going on here, just unabashed dagashi nerdiness and fun slice of life.

The premise is simple: An energetic girl comes to a town out in the countryside and tries to encourage our protagonist, Coconuts, to take over his father's dagashi shop. The story is full of nice people, the characters are pretty much all likeable and behave naturally throughout the show. I find Coconut's father, You(his mom's name must be "Me") to be an especially fun character, he read more
Mar 31, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Dagashi Kashi feels nostalgic. It’s nostalgic in the sense that makes you feel like a little kid again. Remember the first time you’ve walked into a candy store and picked out your favorite sweets? It’s that type of familiar feeling. Dagashi Kashi evokes a bit of childhood memories when I walked into a candy store for the first time. And believe me, this show likes to do a lot of funny things related to candy.

The series follows the episodic adventures of Kokonotsu Shikada. His encounter with Hotaru Shidare lands him in stories that drops him into the world of dagashi. Why? It’s because Hotaru read more
Apr 4, 2016
Defias76 (All reviews)
Dagashi Kashi is that kind of anime that you either hate or love as soon as you are done watching the very first episode. Yet I'm still surprised how low is the show rated here on MAL.
Instead of pointing out pros and cons, let me comment on some aspects that people complain about.

"The show is advertising Japanese sweets.". I mean... it is called *Dagashi* (sweets) Kashi, so the talk about sweets and their history is to be expected, isn't it?
Even the synopsis says, quoting: "...And so begins Hotaru's mission to *enlighten* the boy on the true joy of delicious and nostalgic dagashi!"
Then read more
Apr 2, 2016
plisetskytrash (All reviews)
Dagashi Kashi is a really simple and easy to follow anime. Main plot is about Hotaru convincing Kokonotsu to take over the family candy shop. And almost 95% of this plot is about candy. Every episode explains literary everything about one or two particular candies but in a fun way.

Other than candy and some really good humor there is also well-placed hinted romance. But it’s more about friendship and young people planning their future. The characters are also well-made, interesting and fun to watch. I’m not a big fan of main female characters because they’re often poorly done but Hotaru is really special. Her read more
Apr 3, 2016
Wailordking97 (All reviews)
Dagashi Kashi is a "sweet" series. The series centres around a boy known as kokonutsu. His father tells him one day that he has to run a small shop which is his families legacy. Kokonutsu does not really want to run the store and is left to look after it. Suddenly, an insane purple haired girl who was the main reason people watched the series appears. Her name is Hotaru Shidare. She is one of the main characters. Hotaru is the daughter of a business owner for the famous Shidare Dagashi corporation. She had been sent to retrieve Kokonutsus father to get him to join read more
Apr 4, 2016
Jeongi-nim (All reviews)
Dagashi Kashi is basically a show featuring different kinds of Japanese snacks and candies along with light-hearted comedy and some fanservice.

The plot line about his father wanting him to succeed the candy shop so that he could work in Hotaru's company made little importance to the show (the last 2 eps}, so the anime has almost no story and are focused more on the snacks, candies, and gags.

The characters are good. Hotaru is quite an interesting ball of energy and weirdness along with Kokonotsu's father and are balanced by the more normal (but not boring) Kokonotsu and Saya. Tou, Kokonotsu's best friend, was the guy read more
Apr 2, 2016
mcrider (All reviews)
The title and the plot of the anime just screams Japan, All that the anime focuses on is "DAGASHI", which would mean "Candy" in English, as childish as that may sound, its a lot more deeper than that, the way candy is shown to give nostalgic feelings to people about their child hoods and take them back to those days just by looking at the packaging is something every one in any place around the world can relate to.

The anime has a very silly side to it, a lot of gags and awkward moments that just make the "comedy" tag worth it.

I don't know a read more
Apr 2, 2016
YanSinJurai (All reviews)
Well this is my first review and I'm writing this because I thought that many people rated it too low.

About the story, it was pretty okay. You have a bunch of teens living in the countryside and doing the usual stuff. They sometimes go to the "dagashi" shop and talk about the origin of the sweets they eat. There is not much more to it. So, if you like deep anime with a serious plot, this is not it. It's more a "product" anime that you watch for your own enjoyment or to kill some time.

About the art, I'm sorry, I am no expert and read more
Apr 1, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Candy has never been this delicious hasn't it...right Hotaru?.

This anime is a slice of life comedy through and through from it's setting of a rural town to the local candy store which is the setting for most of the anime screentime. The comedy like it's "slice of life" genre has simple yet some fanservicey punchlines from the minimal cast however even with 5 main cast members, their chemistry together makes the comedy all the more entertaining and relatable.

Although the comedy revolves around traditional Japanese candy that may deter or confuse some people, it still has substance in comedy and relatablity. Candy has always been read more
Jun 18, 2016
Dickcheese (All reviews)
Hi my name is David Cheesborg and I'm here to review this show.

Story 5:
In response to this query, I pondered with what little intelligence I could muster. I can only conclude, with this morally challenging question of "story," and how it was. Well, my fellow cartoon consumer, it's trash. Zippity zap, bing bong, fling flop flip. Just know that this is not a cartoon where the story isn't the main focus: it's the snacks.

Art 8:
The art is what is should be, and I would assume it stays true to how the author wanted it to look like. They have managed to use actual, real life, read more
Jul 25, 2016
YuzukiX (All reviews)
[SHIGERU MIYAMOTO SPONSORS THIS SPOILER ALERT BANNER]

It's all about a mangaka teen who's father wants him to take over his dagashi store (think London corner shop) called Kokonotsu. A while later he meets a girl who looks exactly like the one from his manga, except this one has a sweet tooth for anything Japanese and edible (or non-edible, for that matter), and an extremely inappropriate sense of humour (which is what we all like) which derives from the fact that she doesn't really know where the boundaries stand or the concept of an innuendo. And then shit happens for 12 episodes.

[STORY]
The whole of the main read more
Apr 4, 2016
V1nn13z (All reviews)
You rarely see an anime that actually teach you something (specially Japanese culture), or that's probably just me 'cause I rarely watch anime...

Anyway, the whole anime is really nice. Really light, and doesn't force you on the main plot. I like how it's being playful and gave a tickle on the fan-service/ecchi side.

You really could just jump between episodes if you're a bit lazy (or just want to re-watch) since it's really doesn't have a major plot. The plot is there so the main girl have at least *some* purpose. In my opinion, if there's no major plot, only a girl with a love of read more
Apr 2, 2016
AllenHavens92 (All reviews)
With a sweet story and deliciously hilarious comedy, Dagashi Kashi has to be my personal favorite of the Winter 2016 season.

What’s great about the plot is how simplistic it is: conversations about traditional Japanese snacks (referred to as “dagashi”) in a rural setting. That is pretty much all there is. However, it’s how this is executed that makes it great. Also, fun fact: the dagashi mentioned in the show are the real product, so there is even accuracy to it.

The other great aspect about the show is the characters. Ever get tired of shows that have this massive list of characters that it makes it read more
Oct 13, 2016
Ollleksa (All reviews)
This anime remind me summer when I was in eight-nine grade in school. Even not summer, but my writing about "How I spend my summer."

For me, it was that type of compositions when you sit at evening and try to find something worthwhile and not too embarrassing. Because nothing worthwhile didn't happen. Heroic deals - not for you, supernatural things always happens in other countries, apocalypse was canceled. All what you do: just went outdoor, met your friends, walk nearby with silly thoughts and do dummy things. You can't write about it, it was fun for you, not for anybody else.

And "Dagashi Kashi" is read more
Nov 12, 2017
nbyung09 (All reviews)
This anime is criminally underrated here, probably because it has every qualities to get a low score on myanimelist. (episodic manner, non-plot-heavy, fan-services, mysterious Japanese snacks and commercial-ish) It is not the type of anime that everyone would like, but I am glad that I never trust the score of MAL and believe in my intuition when I picking up anime.

For the story, as a Slice of Life anime, it never intends to tell a story. Plot almost doesn't exist to begin with. Therefore it is kind of irrelevant and unfair to judge the value of this anime with its plot.

For the read more