Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gyakuten Saiban: Sono "Shinjitsu", Igi Ari!


Alternative Titles

English: Ace Attorney
Synonyms: Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney
Japanese: 逆転裁判 ~その「真実」、異議あり!~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2016 to Sep 24, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.481 (scored by 28,660 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #61112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1151
Members: 89,548
Favorites: 332

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 24, 2016
GhostStorm (All reviews)
" Judge....What are you doing!? Do your job! Bring an end to this miserable charade!" - Manfred Von Karma ( 2001 or 2005 if you live in America)

Very well. I'll bring this whole case to close my dear readers, because my magnificent vengeance...........eh well it still won't be satisfied after reviewing this. A lot of people may defend this anime, but they would be out of their mind, no sane man would. That's why I'll do my best to make sure this anime, gets the verdict it deserves. GUILTY!

You read more
Feb 6, 2019
Lindle (All reviews)
Ace Attorney, alongside Pokemon and JJBA, is one of my absolute favourite media franchises. I have spent countless hours playing the games over and over, producing fanworks, and discussing them at essay-length. So, as much as I appreciate the need to be objective and focused in my review, I feel that it needs to be said:

I hate this anime. I hate it so fucking much.

Sono "Shinjitsu" Igi Ari is an adaptation of the first two games in the series, and right off the bat we've hit a huge stumbling block. Each of these two games would be more fit to a full 24 episode anime read more
Sep 24, 2016
Bellipon (All reviews)
Let's tackle this tightrope walk, called "Gyakuten Saiban: Sono "Shinjitsu", Igi Ari!"

I don't want to make any excuses for a bad adaptation because, for me, it didn't feel like one. Was it on the top of anime adaptations from other source material that I've seen so far? - No
Was it horrible enough to bring me to the edge of dropping the series? - Hell no

You see, the games themselves are complex in a way you wouldn't expect them to be when you look at a summary of what you basically do. To transfer this from a platform that allows you to do investigation yourself, finding read more
Sep 25, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
The courtroom is a wonderful place full of controversy and despair. Both the prosecution and defense have their own reasonings for choosing their sides, and the verdict in the end is never the most desired outcome. But we're not here to talk about everyone's right to a fair trial, we're here to talk about everyone's right to a fun trial with A-1's adaptation of the first two games of Ace Attorney. Put on your attorney's badge and get on your tiny bike. It's time for objections and nonsensical court cases!

Story: Naruhodo Ryuuichi is a new defense attorney who just got his read more
Mar 17, 2018
LovinglyGaslight (All reviews)
To quote Franziska Von Karma, this anime is "A foolishly foolish idea born from the foolish mind of a foolhardy foolish fool". Being a large fan of the games, I was highly enthused to hear of an anime adaptation coming, however upon its release I was only met with a painful and bland imitation of the original games, and even separately so, this anime is still rather one-note and drab.

To the Anime's credit, I was rather pleased to see a good chunk of the anime's script was directly adapted from the games, this atleast lead to a coherent and unique narrative; and the sound read more
Mar 30, 2018
LSSJ_Gaming (All reviews)
"It's only natural for living creatures to fight to protect their own lives. But what makes us human is that we fight for others.But who do you fight for? How hard must you fight...? That's the true measure of what human life is worth."- Phoenix Wright 2004

I am a big fan of Capcom's Ace Attorney series. With 6 mainline games, multiple spinoffs ,one crossover, an appearance in Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 and Project X Zone, it is safe to say this series is popular. The Ace Attorney franchise also has various manga, 2 Capcom licensed doujin collections, and now an anime. But read more
Sep 11, 2019
Sebastian333 (All reviews)
If you are a meticulous literature story/lore person and take everything seriously, this is not for you. Stay away from it. but if you want to find light and warm entertainment and not a very serious person, I HIGHLY SUGGEST YOU THIS SERIES!

For starters, I never play the game before, I don't know any single thing about whats Ace Attorney. The only thing I remember was around 8-10 years ago I occasionally saw thumbnails of the main character at youtube and several meme site.

Anyway, last week I came across the dvd dual audio and decided to watch the series, in English by the way. I read more
Jan 27, 2017
ItIsIDio (All reviews)
Game design and animated series are two very completely different things. It may seem like a really absurd statement, but since Ace Attorney is an adaptation of a game, you need a good understanding of its game design, as to understand what would work on screen, since video games are executed in ways fitting to their gameplay. Sometimes, to make a game more engaging, you have to remove some realistic elements. Knowing this, I have decided to play the game myself, to understand why Ace Attorney is presented the way it is, some time during the time I was watching the anime. So I'd like read more
Feb 7, 2018
socialworkkid96 (All reviews)
Preliminary
A lot of these low reviews come from people who haven't played the games, but I've played them—all of them—and this is the definition of butchering a series. I'm surprised the fandom was as forgiving of this adaptation.

Nearly all of the problems from this stem from the difficulties of turning games that take more than 30 hours of pure gameplay to finish into a single season of a TV show. What made Ace Attorney memorable were the characters and the interactivity. Converting it to anime automatically loses the interactivity, so you lose the suspense or the feeling of being connected to the action. Then because read more
Sep 25, 2016
TrashDax (All reviews)
OBJECTION! I received new evidence regarding this anime. The prosecution has been approached with the following review.

Story:
These court cases are taken from the Ace Attorney games, but as I never played them, I have no idea how much they left out or added. Whatever, the laws of the court in this anime are pretty weird. Apparently every suspect is guilty untill proven innocent, and even when proven innocent, as long as you can't present the actual culprit, the verdict is still guilty. This is of course absolutely ridiculous and makes it nearly impossible to take this anime seriously. The rest is standard "main character showed read more
Apr 24, 2019
ObjectionCeption (All reviews)
Really good anime that does the games justice. (Did I really just make that joke?) The music was great, the characters were very entertaining, and the story was extremely engaging. Episode 13 in particular was really heartfelt and shed some light on the Phoenix/Ryuichi's backstory. Highly recommend to fans to the series, as well as newcomers who want to get into Ace Attorney.

It starts out like the first game, where we see a young woman get killed in her own apartment, and the murderer stating he'll pin it on Larry Butz, Phoenix/Ryuichi's best friend. As you may guess, Phoenix must prove Larry's innocence to read more
Jun 27, 2016
Bozzzz (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

First of all, this anime is an insult to courts of law and judges. I know it doesn't reflect reality but using murder cases in this anime where they just seem to compete in who can make better statements is bad taste. Noone seems to care who is innocent (Naruhodo does but he just believes they are innocent and doesn't ask for any explanations).

OST in this anime is good. Nothing extraordinary but didn't make me skip the OP or ED. Animation is poor. Too much still shots and visual effect is court are flashy but not very well done.

Usually anime characters in read more
Jul 1, 2016
LordAgustin08 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review and I'm gonna try to make it the best I can. Of course, this is spoiler free.

Story 3/10:

Since I've ever heard about this anime I thought I'd be awesome, I don't consider myself as a diehard fan of Ace Attorney, but man, I was very dissapointed when this anime got to the case 3. It was very awful, especially when it reached case 4. I've watched 12 episodes of this anime. Enough episodes to say that the story is a total mess, it doesn't make sense sometimes and they skip very important parts of the story. Sometimes you couldn't realize read more
Apr 10, 2019
Apple_Twinkle (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me start off by saying that I have not played Ace Attorney. I know some things about it from friends that have played the game, but characterization, plot, story elements and the like are foreign to me.

Story - Strong 6 - Weak 7
Obviously there are only a few cases a season, and this show would have benefited from the long running format of TV anime. But it was decided to make this a seasonal show and so be it. It think the show does its best to speed through the elements it has and while they aren't always done well, I'd say they're entertaining. read more
Oct 7, 2018
CappnRob (All reviews)
Ah, Ace Attorney. The wonderfully wacky yet also emotionally gripping visual novel/puzzle game series from Capcom. Full of great character designs, iconic music, over the top situations and dramatic stakes, it should make for a great anime adaptation, right?

Well, no, not "great", at least not when the god-kings of shovelware anime, A-1 Studios, is the guys behind production.

I won't beat around the bush: this anime is not -terrible-, but its got some serious flaws both in adaptation and as a stand alone product.

Let's get to the biggest blemish to see: the art and animation. It is f u c k i n g terrible most read more
Sep 26, 2016
Werty800 (All reviews)
I didn't expect much out of this anime to begin with. Everyone wanted it, but from the very begginig I knew, that adapting the Pheonix Wright games was not the smartest idea. For the most part the story was pretty predictable, but I had hoped, that at least it would be a decent adaptation. I was wrong.

NOTE: I boosted scores by about a half or so, because of the second to last arc, that actually was really good in every aspect. Most of the stuff I'll write below does not apply to that arc.

You might like this anime if:
-You are a fan of the Pheonix read more
Sep 24, 2016
nanakox21 (All reviews)
STORY (7): This anime has good storylines. It takes 3-4 episodes to cover each case. In some cases, it feels like it can drag on but they touch on the details. It can also be pretty intense in court (between the Prosecutor and Defense) -- especially when both sides have to yell object and prove their case. During the examination of each witness, each of them brings something different. In some cases, they would leave us second guessing ourselves, but it can also be predictable.

CHARACTERS (7): They are numerous characters that are introduced in this series & they have so much personalities.
- Phoenix Wright read more
Sep 24, 2016
Yuna67876 (All reviews)
I cannot believe that now this is over. Before I start this review I will say that I have personally not played the Ace Attorney series but I have seen playthroughs of the games.

Story: If you have played the Ace Attorney games than this an adaptation of the first two games. I feel that this was a good adaptation of the game but their was some stuff that I totally feel I agree with the community with. The Changes that were made to Ace Attorney that came throughout the series made this interesting because it changed the anime up a lot. The changes read more
Nov 27, 2016
fujitsukishima (All reviews)
I would've given this a 4, but a 3 because I am an avid Ace Attorney fan for six to seven years, especially with the fact that this anime did not really do the main games any justice. Even, the walkthroughs on YouTube are better to watch. The anime is only decent if you really want to kill time, but it does not cut it for me.

The games do have several puns and memes, so this anime was a letdown for me because the execution was poor. If anything, I only like the opening because of my Feenie x Edgeypoo fangirl heart.
Nov 23, 2016
ShelbyWAO (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to do a quick review of an anime I dropped, please note I haven't seen all of the episodes or played the games, but I'm sure I have a basic understanding.

Story (4) - An attorney getting clues and defending someone? Sounds, great honestly. I would give it an 8 but, the execution is god awful. It's nothing more then a being mess with no attempts for jokes or character development, it's more of a thing that happened then the characters just move on. They forget about that the next episode.

Art (2) - I love is art style of a video game, but read more