Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ajin


Alternative Titles

English: Ajin: Demi-Human
Synonyms: Ajin
Japanese: 亜人

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 16, 2016 to Apr 9, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Polygon Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 113,248 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #248
Members: 240,787
Favorites: 1,638

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 11, 2016
Midg3tLuv (All reviews)
“Ajin” is the “Batman: Arkham Knight” (PC) of anime.

This show is broken. The show visually assaults your eyes. Visuals are important in visual entertainment. Dismissing visuals in visual entertainment is like dismissing food at a restaurant. You may be influenced to go somewhere because the service rocks, but you won’t go if the food is horrible. The visuals are incompetent at best. I’m going to put this in terms that many people on this site will understand. Some gaming companies restrict games to 30 frames per second (FPS) because they want their game to be more “cinematic”. People complain that games below 30 FPS is read more
Apr 8, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
"Don't judge a book by its cover": a metaphorical phrase that I'm sure many of us are familiar with, being one that has long transcended both generational and ethnic background to be used across the globe. A phrase that has taken on several reiterations depending on the time period and linguistics of the land, but still maintains the same direct message. It's simple, to the point and always relevant when entering the world of any storytelling medium. As much as many of us would like to think, that we could quickly discern the contents of a show simply off of the art cover read more
Apr 11, 2016
lawlmartz (All reviews)
Ajin- What Tokyo Ghoul Wanted to Be... and failed miserably at!

Ajin- also the most unfairly ignored series of Winter 2016. There, it's been said. If you were one of the few people who can see past a childish, baseless, and unwarranted dislike of 3D CGI based anime on principle- good for you, because Ajin delivers a quality sci-fi/superpower tale, regardless of the form it's rendered in.

Because it's first on everyone's mind- the first thing to address here is the animation. Yes, 3D CGI can be scary. We've all seen monstrosities of bad animation like the ASS dragon from Fate Stay Night, the original Ghost read more
Apr 10, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
It’s pretty much like a horror movie. Ajin uses a lot of ideas borrowed from horror lecture and fiction. These include ancient monsters (the Ajins), government hunting them down, and a dark story about how a young man’s life changing forever after getting involved with them. Based on the manga of the same name, Ajin is more or less a thrilling story.

To clear things up straight, there’s actually a film trilogy as well based on this series. The second and third film has yet to be released (at the time this review was written). The TV anime adaptation reflects on a deeper storytelling with read more
Apr 16, 2016
misterferrari (All reviews)
What would you do if you have been arrested and tortured over and over again for being who you are?

That's one of the questions that Ajin implicitly poses.

Besides discrimination, it also touches in several other very interesting matters like terrorism, corruption and the human nature.

It has an extremely charismatic "villain", I put "" because you can't be sure if he is the bad guy or are the good guys, the government and the police, the ones that are wrong. (In my opinion the latter is the right answer and the villain should just kill them all!)
I love animes with this ambiguity, like Death Note, read more
Oct 30, 2016
VaasMontenegro (All reviews)
Ohh Ajin, hahaha... where do I start this great anime.

Well, let's just start, with, Yeah, the CGI is cringy to watch as f*** according to those watchers who've seen Ajin. But, boy oh boy, the story is a Roller Coaster ride filled with twists who is the real villain at the first half of this anime, to the another twists if the protagonist is a hero or an anti-hero.

I can't help myself on how this anime reminds me of "Tokyo Ghoul", both have to face their fate on how they die and how they survive in the process, how they learn that they have powers read more
Apr 29, 2016
A_T_U_L (All reviews)
First and foremost I would say - " Don't get thrown off by its art style and you would see something good".

I was also first hesitant to watch this anime because of its art style(which is somewhat like 3D animated movies)but I tried its first episode and after that I just went on to continue.

"Its has ACTION,element of SUSPENSE and a lot of THRILL, if that's what you like go for it. It's worth your time."

Sound tracks are ok and Character development is fine.

After the anime I am now following the manga because I can't bear the suspense but they release a chapter a read more
Apr 18, 2016
TheArtofAnime (All reviews)
Before I actually start this review, I dropped this show after the first episode because the art work was cringe worthy and I felt like I was watching frames skip consistently. HOWEVER, a friend talked me into trying to watch it again and I succeeded in finishing the world of Ajin.

Story (5/10): There's nothing revolutionary here, not that we really need anything so. We're put into a world that is simply Human vs. Ajin, you've seen it before in Tokyo Ghoul, Attack on Titan and the like, but what we have is something a little different. Unlike in Tokyo Ghoul where we're told the read more
Apr 22, 2016
discountdaddy (All reviews)
This anime was, at first, not really tempting for me because of the art. But I was still pretty interested. This show was my first horror anime. And honestly, this is my favorite anime.

Story: The story is what took the cake for me. The way it was delivered was just amazing and frankly the way they explained everything was very logical. There weren't many plot holes and the ideas were very good.

Art: At first, the art is pretty annoying. Then you get used to it. That's pretty much all I have to say about the art.

Sound/Music: The voice actors were really in character and the read more
Apr 10, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
In fiction, threats to humanity usually end in one of two ways. Either humanity bands together to wipe out the threat out of fear, or humanity gets taken over the threat and lives in fear trying to protect themselves and their very survival. In many shapes and forms, this concept has appeared in anime from Parasyte, to Attack on Titan, and all sorts of other shows that tackle similar concepts. And today, we have Ajin, a show that once again throws this idea at us again, this time with people that are unkillable. Oy vey, just kill me now for this read more
Sep 5, 2016
arleneim (All reviews)
A surprisingly good anime comparing to what we are getting in these days. I don't know how original the plot is but to me it's completely something new and enjoyable. If you guys are looking for something that will keep you on your toes and got confused time to time, you have found it. I can easily recommend this series.
The characters are complex enough to keep them interesting, especially the antagonist. I can say i favor him more than the main character. Pacing is fine enough, the story is intriguing, action is on the roof, mainly towards the end of the season. Try it read more
Aug 7, 2016
Cyberz (All reviews)
Judging from its current popularity, and how it is ranked, I'd say it is severely underrated at this current time.
I'll first address what most people take fault with in this anime. The art.
Admittedly, when I first started watching, I was put off by the CG animation, as it is not something I am used to. That however is not saying that I didn't quickly warm up to it. The style of animation allows for character movements to be incredibly realistic. I am however willing to admit that the backgrounds could do with some touching up.
The story is engaging, and easy to follow, read more
Jun 13, 2016
Nazo-The-Weeb (All reviews)
Here is my review on the anime, Ajin
First thing to note about this anime. This anime is semi 3D, and is really good. There are plenty of characters introduced throughout the episodes being both good, and evil. The artwork is amazing, having deep and inky colors, awesome dynamic lighting, necessary motion blurring, absolutely no art mistakes to be seen, and is just loads of fun to watch. Audio is as good, being rich and deep, the audio quality and sound effects are quite unlike anything else in the anime’s category and have a cinema-like feel. The intro and outro songs are both amazing, with the read more
Aug 19, 2017
acotede (All reviews)
Better animation could not have saved this show. Looking past absolutely terrible graphics, you find a surplus of characters developed so poorly that there is no reason to be invested in the (mediocre) plot whatsoever.

Ajin tries to be a grungy sci-fi about a handful of poorly treated immortals who can control a “black ghost” or IBM. Unfortunately, the main character, whose name I have already forgotten, is so all over the place in the course of this short season that he could do literally anything and it would be deemed “in character.” We get almost no context for why any of the characters are read more
Apr 15, 2016
asmaangfo (All reviews)
Okey, so this is my first written review. Ever.

The reason I chose to write this is because I've seen a lot of negative reviews about this anime.

First of, I started watching this without being biased one way or another.
In other words, I had never heard of this anime or read anything about it, nor the manga.
I was just happily scrolling my netflix one thursday night and Ajin came up.
The story sounded great so without looking it up or reading anymore than what was on the recap on netflix, I pressed play.

The plot, EXACLTY as great as I thought it would be. I love it, just read more
Jul 11, 2016
Xiuhnan (All reviews)
This is a great anime, it has a good story and its executed very nicely. I'm not realy a fan of the art, but thats just my opinion, the characters are a bit forgetable, but not the worst. I definetly recommend this anime to those who like action and mystery, aswell as a hint of psycological thinking. The music is also quite nice, as I love the opening and ending.
Synopsis:
This story begins with beings called Ajin, they are eternal beings that simply revive after they die. Our protagonist, Kai Nagai, wants to become a doctor and help other people. This all goes wrong when he read more
Jul 2, 2016
GoldenDevilGamer (All reviews)
Ajin was one of those anime that received polarized views even before it started airing. Some were interested with the thrills is could give, while others were turned off by the use of CGI and the use of a familiar premise. However, if one could ignore or adjust to the CGI present in this series, they would be able to experience something much greater. Ajin is one of the best thriller anime to come out in recent time, and is easily of of the best of the winter season this year. It’s cinematic presentation with a heavy amount of thrills is a fantastic experience no read more
Nov 8, 2016
Dillan- (All reviews)
The first thing that you will notice about Ajin is that it’s not aesthetically pleasing. It uses choppy 3DCGI similar to that of Knights of Sidonia albeit the latter meshed better with its cold futuristic alien-like setting. While here it blemishes the what could have been eerie atmosphere. Fortunately it wasn't enough to detract any meaningful enjoyment from this thrilling, monster-horror war, laminated with a logical cast of characters with easy to grasp motivations.

While I say the art is bad, it's mostly just the awkward character designs and the janky animation. The direction is good but there is never a moment that leaves you feeling read more
May 30, 2016
peropify (All reviews)
"Humane? Ajin aren't humans so the word humane doesn't apply to them."
The theme of humanity is a recurring one in this anime, consequently bringing me back to my highschool English days as I watched movies like Blade Runner and Frankenstein. The show does an amazing job showing the monsters and humans in both human and Ajin parties - and the word "monster" is not as clear cut as once thought out to be.

Story - 8
Don't be fooled by the comparatively low score for the story - it is great, it's just that I haven't read the manga yet, and the second season is just read more
Oct 19, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Let me start by apologising, somehow I got the mistaken impression that 91 Days was a horror anime, which it isn't. I'ts a historical thriller. For those of you who were looking forward to my reviewing that, I'll review it in November, but for the moment, let's talk about an actual horror anime. To be specific, let's talk about Ajin. A supernatural horror mystery from Polygon Pictures. Based off of the manga from Sakurai Gamon. I have no idea what to expect from it. I haven't heard anything about it. Let's delve into it.

Story:

The titular Ajin look human, act human and think of read more