Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Manaria Friends


Alternative Titles

English: Mysteria Friends
Synonyms: Rage of Bahamut: Manaria Friends, Shingeki no Bahamut: Manaria Friends
Japanese: マナリアフレンズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 21, 2019 to Mar 25, 2019
Premiered: Winter 2019
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: Cygames, Happinet
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: CygamesPictures
Source: Game
Duration: 15 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.711 (scored by 13,191 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #49922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1447
Members: 68,071
Favorites: 163

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2019
Pipe (All reviews)
Yes, Manaria friends is a short series but can we like it? If you pay any attention to some critics, social media and other types of voluble anime enthusiasts will tell you that “Manaria Friends,” a side story of Shingenki no Bahamut, is a bad anime. What a boring aberration, they will say. They will tell you that it is a big disappointment and dishonors Bahamut series, I disagree.

Manaria Friends is set in the Shingenki no Bahamut world. Cygames used a gaming social event to create a manga/anime where we can appreciate the relationship between Anne, a human princess, skilled and genius with the read more
Mar 24, 2019
Karhu (All reviews)
Genesis impressed me, Virgin Souls bored me, and Manaria Friends made me go full UwU.

Rage of Bahamut is quite mysterious. Despite seeing 3 anime series from the franchise, I still have no idea what the thing is supposed to be about. This time around all it has is cute girls doing cute things + cute monster girls doing cute things, spiced with fair slice of yuri undertones, over-the-top comedy elements and some sort of weird-but-kinda-cute remarks about being self-conscious over your dragongirl hybrid body. All this presented in the iyashikei (=healing anime) format.

Our "plot" itself is rather simple. Princess who feels she is somewhat read more
Feb 10, 2019
MainstreamBean (All reviews)
Preliminary
In short, this anime brings nothing of substance and is just plain boring. Not sure why I see everyone else handing it out a perfect 10.

We primarily follow along two characters named Grea and Anne, as they live in this somewhat generic fantasy world. Anne is a lonely princess, and Grea is a blushing dragon. They attend a school, and... I guess they go places together. Their relationship is either two friends just hanging out, or some sort of yuri bait. There has been no character progression anywhere as far as I can see, except for this paladin dude who is entrusted to protect the read more
Mar 24, 2019
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
For a show about a psychotic lesbian stalker and her oblivious victim/pet, Manaria Friends turned out to be a lot more mellow and hollow than I would have wanted or liked. Manaria Friends is a show about nothing, it is a show where princess Anne and Grea say each other's names to themselves at least 3 times per episode and yet is too afraid to commit to an actual confirmation of their relationship beyond subtext and teasing.

Coming into the show expecting to see the relationship of future Empress Anne and Grea is a task in its futility. As said earlier, beyond some occasional psycho read more
Feb 10, 2019
eb2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really cant find any fault in this to be honest and seeing such a low rating for such an amazing anime is hard to take in. This is that one underrated show that didn't get the attention and praise it deserved and is definitely worth the watch.

Story/Characters 10
The story isn't really that intense or serious (atleast so far), since it revolves around the daily lives of the main characters, Grea and Anne, who experience different things as their friendship slowly deepens. The bond of friendship between Anne and Grea is just beautiful and so calming to watch that it'll turn your mood from good read more
Feb 11, 2019
pomrapea (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is surprisingly good in a way I didn't expect it to be.

In term of story, It don't have an overarching story and nothing major happens because it doesn't has to. It's just a slice of life in it purest sense.
The plot summary can be describe briefly as "Anne and Grea are student of magic school and they are flirting in every episodes".

Characters so far don't have any development at all which is fine , again, it doesn't has to. Because the two main characters have a great chemistry between them and that's sort off the point of this anime, that's why I don't read more
Mar 24, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
What if I told you that there’s a school for gods, humans, and demons? Mysteria Academy is such a school where these races can all unite together to study in peace. Cygames, known for their innovative game projects, bought the Rage of Bahamut social game into anime form a few years ago. Now it’s Manaria Friends’ chance.

Notoriously known for its production issues, the series was delayed for several years since its announcement. It’s a bit unusual considering the show isn’t even full length (12-15 minute length episodes). Yet, it took nearly 4 years for this to make it onto the TV screen. Given its context, read more
Feb 15, 2019
BadAshley (All reviews)
Preliminary
You're here because of the "tail meme."

Shut up, you are.

What is this anime about?

So there's a princess, Anne/Anna (her name doesn't matter). She goes to a quirky magic school (shut up) despite having enough magic power to already nuke a continent. Why? Because she wants to bang a ridiculously hot Dragonoid girl, Grea.

That's it.

What, you were expecting insight into the Rage of Bahamut universe?

No, this is HDGDMT--hot dragon girl doing mundane things with Annie/Anne, whatever, the other chick who really wants to bang her and neither of them mind but this isn't a hentai.

The best part is that the anime doesn't care, they know what read more
Feb 18, 2019
desumin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Magical Princess girl flirts with Dragon Girl - The anime.

The premise doesn't sound that bad on paper, I'll be honest. Since that's the main draw of the anime let's talk about why it doesn't work. Plain and simple: Grea and Anne - or whatever the princess' name is - are boring and generic as all hell and WILL bore you to pieces.
This anime is also really misleading. I was waiting for some plot to happen because situations are presented where it looks like the characters are in some serious danger. I thought "Maybe the characters start off flat and boring but get more nuanced read more
Mar 24, 2019
Ryuseishun (All reviews)
Call it yuri bait, call it boring, call it whatever the hell you like. There’s only so much that shows of half-length episodes can bring to the table each week.

While the low rating is quite understandable considering the context, Manaria Friends (also named Rage of Bahamut: Manaria Friends) is apparently a spinoff of shorts whose settings are based off of, if not in the same universe as, the Shingeki no Bahamut franchise that is produced and supervised by Cygames. It is by no means connected to the canon story of the aforementioned parent series, and its focus is mainly on two female leads, one of read more
Feb 24, 2019
Swagacorn1623 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the first time writing a review but some of the other reviews simply don't give this show justice.

Story- I think that the story is a 4/10 overall when taking account the whole series in an overarching fashion and each individual episode together. There is no overarching story to the show which is important to know going into this anime. This makes it unfair to judge the anime on storyline because they didn't intend the show to have a linear story. However, each episode has its own unique story with clear beginning middles and endings for the most part.

Art- The art style read more
May 14, 2019
Ezekiel_01 (All reviews)
Anime Review No.1 2019 Version

Manaria and Friends or "Mysteria Friends" still baffle me on what purpose it was made. Nobody asked for this. People wanted to have more high quality epic quest and explosive action but we get the total opposite it still set in the same universe of the title it base around however the only motivation I will have to watch it is that it's related to Shingeki no Bahamut which by the
way a good show and must watch if you have the time after reading this review.


Art ( 6/10) Above Average

Right of the bat that show is already promising in read more
Mar 25, 2019
JiangHaoyi1979 (All reviews)
Ok, so first of all is it Manaria Friends or Mysteria Friends??? Cu'z either way the title doesn't make any sense given that this was taken from a game, and by the looks of it , the game itself it's basically a galge game and what we're watching was the animated version of the game. Not surprising since that producer Cygames with the cooperation with Happinet were mostly in the game business and animation was only secondary to them, it didn't help at all with Sentai Film works on the helm of the production , since what we see was more like a yuri relationship read more
Apr 5, 2019
Gilliesss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Manaria Friends is the perfect example of a bland show, except this time it has fantastic visuals to match it. Probably one of the prettiest shows of winter 2019, Manaria Friends manages to instantly grab your attention with its brilliant use of lighting, and keeps this up for the most part for all 10 episodes. The episodes are only 15 minutes each, so you'll find yourself finishing them fairly quick.

Despite the stunning art, there isn't really much to this. Most episodes revolve around the two main characters, Grea and Anne, and supporting characters get very little screen time. Each episode features a new problem these read more
May 23, 2019
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
I am uncertain why I give this series such a high score. Probably because of the fact that I've been revising for an entire week constantly without watching a single anime up until today? Or on the other hand it maybe because this show is essentially a serene Yuri series. I don't know precisely how I feel about this anime, but I do realize that it feels somewhat soothing and chill.

Story : 7/10
Nothing much, I don't even know what the plot is. Or is there even one? Throughout the whole series, all the episodes are just "ok" and I don't really see anything interesting read more
Apr 18, 2019
spacecraft555 (All reviews)
TL:DR Review

There's always one problem with this anime. "What's the plot?" "What's the plot?" However, there isn't a plot; but maybe that's a good thing. Every episode is like a short story with some kind of conflict that is solved in the 14 mins each episode. Manaria Friends only focuses on Anne and Grea, so I really wouldn't call it "friends" This anime, however, does not get enough credit for its animation. The shadow detail in the first and later episodes fascinated me. One other problem this anime has is, I already noted this, that each episode is 14 mins long. That's almost half a read more
Apr 12, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
There’s something fascinating about the way fantasy anime has trended away from grand epics and adventure narratives in the past few years, instead favoring slice-of-life stories that use their fantastical elements as mere window dressing to a paired-down human story at their center. Sure, most isekai will still have enough Tolkien-inspired monster fighting to keep the sakuga nuts appeased, but the actual meat of their stories will still be focused on its characters just living their lives in this unusual, enchanting world. And even the small handful of high-profile fantasy adventure shows that have come out recently (Made in Abyss comes to mind) are still read more
Apr 1, 2019
CriticalSmash (All reviews)
A very cute series that is a nice slice of life anime to watch on a slow day. I wish there were more episodes but you can tell from the beginning that this show wasn't meant to last. It lacked substance but it was filled with interesting characters. This show is simply about the friendship between two princesses. There is not much to this show but it's a little cute ride.

The music was nice but forgettable. The piano playing was nice as was the singing from the student council president. So the voice acting is on point and truly enjoyable.
Mar 25, 2019
Otorez (All reviews)
Manaria Friends, also called "Mysteria Friends" can be described as the perfect illustration of a "fantasy highschool slice of life with soft romance genre".

Indeed, it features an extremely calm, peaceful and magical world where humans, elf, semi-humans and other ferric creatures. They are all students living in the Mysteria Academy which teaches them how to use properly their powers and classical subjects we could study ourselves (such as literature, history, biology, etc). The anime will focus on Anne, a human princess and Grea, a wonderful and attractive semi-human semi-dragon. Talking about dragons, I'm currently listening (for a few days actually) to Skyrim's Theme... is that read more
Mar 24, 2019
ZB_Blades (All reviews)
Preliminary
Manaria Friends, Mysteria Friends, Shingeki no Bahamut whatever is finally out after having been stuck in production hell for years in a will it, won’t it type situation. The big question though, was it worth the wait?

Originally I thought this was going to be a full length standard anime series. You know the 12 episode 24 minute format. Instead the show was downgraded to 10 episodes at about 15 minutes a piece which is disappointing especially from a story perspective. Then again the Shingeki no Bahamut universe was known more so for having cool and fun characters rather than a cohesive story. Manaria Friends stays read more