Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Musaigen no Phantom World


Alternative Titles

English: Myriad Colors Phantom World
Synonyms: Musaigen no Phantom World
Japanese: 無彩限のファントム・ワールド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2016 to Mar 31, 2016
Premiered: Winter 2016
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation, Crunchyroll
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.971 (scored by 140,261 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #309
Members: 311,810
Favorites: 978

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2016
Veronin (All reviews)
Over the past few years, I have been a witness to the rapid decline of KyoAni. First came Chuu2, a middling but otherwise inoffensive rom-com. Then came Kyoukai no Kanata, an absolute disaster of writing, and the creaking of KyoAni's creative efforts could start to be heard. And now, several more mediocre series later, we have Musaigen no Phantom World, a title so vapid and effortless that I believe KyoAni has finally reached the point of being irredeemable. KyoAni is over. It is over, and it's not coming back.

If not for the KyoAni name—now worthless— nobody would have cared about what Phantom World has to read more
Mar 30, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
If there's something strange
in your neighborhood
Who ya gonna call?
PHANTOM BUSTERS!

Musaigen no Phantom World is what I like to call the King of Stereotypical! What do I mean by that? Well, let us begin the lecture! Take notes, young lads!

High school setting?
Light novel adaptation?
Main character is a male, and the only male?
Main character is also pretty darn useless?
Harem of girls with different tropes?
One has big boobies?
One is flat?
One is a loli?
The girls are only known for said one note features?
Accidental fan service?
Nothing actually happens?

See what I mean? This show is full of cliches! In fact, it's a read more
Mar 30, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Nearly every year for the past few years, we’ve been getting a new series by Kyoto Animation. The studio alone invites attention as they are a powerhouse studio for high quality production in terms of technical visuals. But when it comes to storytelling, there’s a mixed bag there. Just ask Kyoukai no Kanata. However, this is Myriad Colors Phantom World, a series about a group of teenagers dealing problems with Phantoms, creatures that comes in forms of all different shape and sizes due to imaginative perception. What I like to describe this show is a festival of fan service and nothing more than a punch read more
Mar 30, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
There are many things I found interesting and not so interesting about Musaigen no Phantom World. Perhaps one of the most notable things about the damn show is that it's entire story, characters, and other plot related things are overused. During my time watching this show, it felt like I have literally seen this type of show with the same concepts, plot and similar characters way too many times.. It was too typical, better yet generic. Now, don't get me wrong the show itself is pretty decent, good amount of fan service, watchable and has its moments of where it stands out sometimes, however I read more
Jun 8, 2016
The_Walker (All reviews)
Musaigen no Phantom World is an anime that is both highly overrated and highly underrated. Wait a minute though, how can that be? Aren't those mutually exclusive? Not at all. To understand what is going on here, we must delve into some basic history of Kyo-ani.

For the past few years, Kyoani has been keeping this pattern of shows that feature cute girls with some supernatural elements thrown into a fairly straightforward story plus an overall lighthearted atmosphere. Amagi Brilliant Park, Kyoukai no Kanata, and to a lesser degree Chuunibyou are examples of this trend. And now comes Musaigen to add to read more
Apr 3, 2016
kurokitty-mimi (All reviews)
Many of my favorite reviewers rejected this series right away, which made me think negatively of it as well. After so much talk online following episode one’s airing, I grew curious, and decided to watch the first few episodes. It helped that I recognized Kyoto animation’s gorgeous artwork, and kept in mind my love for the Free! series, also done by Kyoani. I was hooked after episode one! Can I also just say that I love the school uniforms?

The characters are probably 50% of why I enjoyed this series so much. I resonate so much with Haruhiko as a person, and his little freak outs read more
Mar 30, 2016
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Aside from Erased’s score, this seems to have trousled the most bones in the Winter 2016 season, and it’s hard to see why. Look, I know everyone thinks “waaahhhh kyoani is rip!!!” But, come on. It can’t be that bad… right…? Ri--oh GOD she won a game of Limbo by bouncing her tits? WAAAHHHH KYOANI IS RIP!!!

I want to feel bad for whoever originally conceived Myriad Fuck-ups Phantom World. I think the concept of this series is pretty great: some virus breaks out and causes the brain to function differently, therefore causing supernatural beings, known as "Phantoms", to be seen by people. Children birthed and read more
Oct 30, 2016
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Phantom World was a huge disappointment and in my eyes, the worst anime that Kyoto Ani has put out during its entire run featuring boring characters, no sense of direction or plot with its narrative and huge bouncing tits that give me PTSD of the time in which I watched the Eiken OVA.

For starters, it feels like none of the characters were made to be precisely that: characters. It feels as if their entire personality and appearance was made, with the sole purpose of being as marketable as possible to the otaku audience since none of the characters are unique in terms of design nor read more
Apr 5, 2016
Zielt (All reviews)
Let's put the negative review aside.

I can say that KyoAni is trying to improve in somewhat action-oriented animation prodiction. And I found Musaigen no Phantom World to be enjoyable, of course it's really different from their earlier works, but it's a good presentation of what they're trying to do.

I want to point some of the things that actually I considered to be a good change.

1. Their presentation of animation style in action is actually really good. You can't deny that the characters movement while fighting is really smooth than most of action anime. Also the added effects in fight scenes might need to be brushed read more
Apr 2, 2016
Datrium (All reviews)
Musaigen no Phantom World

A world where the line between reality and dreams are combined into one and all of the subconscious thoughts have a physical form, which are defined as Phantoms. Since not all Phantoms aren't good, there are groups of Phantom hunters who specialise in the sealing of these entities with their know abilities. This story follows the life of one group of Phantom hunters starting with a guy named Haruhiko Ichijou and his phantom friend Ruru, who grow by adding more members and gain more experiements throughout the series.

The anime itself was beautiful with the different choices of colours and the battle read more
Mar 30, 2016
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Don't judge a book by it's cover...

Well for one LA won't say from this premise that it isn't intense or anything, if not all the episodes from 1 to 11 are ALL episodic character episodes, be it gaining new members and developing the new characters or are "themed" episodes with no overarching plotline.

The "themed" episodes does feel like filler and yes it is, however the themes Musaigen no Phantom World gives does connect to the "Phantom" or weird occurrence within that episode, as for the character development, LA will say that the character development does help the characters from being stereotypes and being more read more
Mar 30, 2016
Wasshio (All reviews)
Considering we're talking about Musaigen no Phantom World, I want to give my own piece of my mind about this series. Of course, there's been a lot of talking about this for my experience, from MAL forums towards Facebook, some YouTubers, etc. It's kind of the say that it's a show that I wanted to rather share a thought rather than reviewing it, but considering I'm writing in the review section I might as well give myself a thought of the spectrum.

Musaigen no Phantom World has been one of those shows that (maybe) many people were looking forward to, mainly because of the well-known anime read more
Apr 2, 2016
Xururuca (All reviews)
Why KyoAni? (Spoilers)

Story: 5/10

Musaigen no Phantom World has that generic concept that teenagers doing some magic and going to school bla bla... But in noragami style! Let me explain, teenagers that have some superpowers are hunting imaginary things called phantoms. Some of them dangerous creatures, some of them limbo dancing telephone poles, some of them pervert UFOs... Interesting, right? But actually nothing happened. It's an episodic anime so most of the people hates it (and the fanservice) but I don't care if it's episodic or not. I liked some episodic animes before (OPM, Joukamachi no Dandelion...), so for me the important parts are characters read more
Apr 2, 2016
Silyon (All reviews)
The human brain is possibly the most complex biological entity on planet Earth. It evolved over millions of years into something capable of not only surviving despite having no physical advantage over our predators but also into something capable of deciphering the numerous secrets of the universe.

When an anime tries to tackle something as complex as the human psyche you would think it’s an anime with a serious tone and serious characters. Well, not necessarily, today I am taking a look at the Winter 2016 anime which revolves around the human brain: Musaigen no Phantom World or Myriad Colours Phantom World in English.

Plot and characters

The read more
Mar 30, 2016
_Hans_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm mixed about Phantom World. While it had its moments, I can't definitely say I enjoyed this show. Should you? Well take a look here to find out.

Pros
- ABSOLUTE STUNNING ANIMATION (Kyoto Ani are Gods)
- Good OST
- Interesting Characters (All the girls at least)
- Use of Ecchi (Pool episode was hilarious)
- Amazing Action scenes

Cons
- No plot whatsoever, Mystery of Week. (Some people won't mind this but I'm not one of those people ಠ_ಠ )
- Boring and uninteresting Male protaganist. (This is from the same studio that gave us GODLIKE MC's like Kanie from "Amagi Brillliant Park" and Houtarou from "Hyouka")
- Use of Ecchi (Some of read more
Apr 14, 2019
XeXeeD_Hunter (All reviews)
the animation is awesome, with great characters but the plot is bit off but overall this anime is good, it is not that boring which some people say, each episode features new phantom which is related to the characters with different abilities, so i think its 9/10 it has 13 eps with 1 special ep but still if u r waiting for s2 I don't think it will happen soon enough




7/10: story
becoz here's no real plot/progression. Each episode features some new phantom, they catch the phantom. End.

9/10: art
animation is super good

9/10: character
every character is unique and not at all boring

9/10: enjoyment read more
Apr 4, 2016
AdrielAnimeBro (All reviews)
Hey guys Sup?

So Today I'm going to Be Reviewing an Supernatural Action Anime, an Anime About a Dude that have Supernatural Abilities and also have a Harem as well, an Anime so good that it should have more than 3 Seasons, an Anime With Beautiful Animation and Epic Fights, Today I'm going to be Reviewing Phantom World!!!!

Now Note this Is 100% My Opinions not Facts at all aright.

Now let's get started shall we?

I really Like Supernatural Anime like this One and I did like the Concept of it as well, however the Sexuality is Pretty much almost in every Episodes tbh tho. Now I don't read more
Apr 14, 2016
Magnamist (All reviews)
Musaigen no Phantom World (aka Musaigen) was pretty much universally hated for some reason, even acheiving the great status of being the worst rated KyoAni show on MAL. Which is a shame, because it wasn't that bad at all.

Musaigen is about a kid (Haruhiko) who knows a lot of useless info but is pretty weak physically, along with his side kicks (who are all female). They all have special powers and are able to see figments of human imagination, which can affect physical objects and living things after an accident with a company that was researching them. These special powers vary in power, and read more
Apr 16, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
You know, if this was done by another studio, I would have dropped this show in an instant. Since this was made by Kyoto Animation and I admit, I'm a big KyoAni fag.....I mean fan, I decided to watch all 13 episodes. After 13 weeks of watching this show, I'd like to send a personal note to the studio and it's going to say something like this:

"What in God's name happened to you KyoAni?!!"


[Story]: (2/10)
"You can't believe everything you see, or can't see, for that matter."
Phantoms, beings that blur the line between illusion and reality, wander around right under the noses of unsuspecting humans. read more
Apr 2, 2016
Millawls (All reviews)
WARNING. This show contains:

Fanservice
High School setting
Slapstick violence as “humor”
Accidental perversion
Violent, big boobed female main character
Fanservice
Special power only the MC has for… reasons
Side character to create comedic relief
Side character to fill the viewer in on what is going on
Side character to create fanservice
A loli
Only 1 male character
Light Novel adaptation

You have been warned.

Musaigen no Phantom World is your typical high school, battle harem type of show that’s slowly taking over the industry. Shows like these are easy to spot, since all the female characters are in the foreground of the “poster” and the only male character in the background.

Story 6/10

After an incident that happened over a read more