Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu: Die Neue These - Kaikou


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Legend of the Galactic Heroes: The New Thesis - Encounter
Japanese: 銀河英雄伝説 Die Neue These 邂逅

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2018 to Jun 26, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2018
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 21:00 (JST)
Producers: Shochiku
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 13,967 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1756
Members: 44,898
Favorites: 109

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 26, 2018
Lindle (All reviews)
Legend of the Galactic Heroes - Die Neue These stands in the unenviable position of being a remake of one of the greatest and most beloved anime ever made. The original OVA series commands a passionate and loyal cult fanbase, to whom the slightest fault or deviation is tantamount to a personal insult.

Considering the baggage this show is carrying, it can be difficult to judge it by its own merits. Which is a shame - viewed in a bubble in which the OVA series does not exist, Die Neue These is not a bad anime. In fact, it's quite a good one. It is, however, read more
Jun 26, 2018
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Background:

Life is funny sometimes. I've been in the anime community long enough to see the popularity of series rise, fall, and sometimes even rise again. I'm somewhat of an anime paleoconservative in that I love many anime that are no longer popular or even acceptable to like in the current year. Hell, I've spent the last 8 years trying to convince folks that Elfen Lied isn't that bad! Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine having to defend LotGH from getting unfairly shit on, but here we are!


Overview:

This is MAL, so I assume everyone reading this has either seen or knows a lot about read more
Apr 24, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I watched the original LoGH I often found myself asking the question "damn, where all the bishies at?" I look no further.


Note: Watching New Thesis without seeing the original LoGH is possible, but not the best idea. The characters' won't come with much depth and especially the lack of introduction in the beginning will make the series seem worse than it is. The pacing is fast and will feel rushed especially for new viewers. If we tolerate with these things, watching New Thesis instead or before LoGH is certainly not the worst idea either. After all, the first 24 episodes of LoGH are read more
Jun 26, 2018
TrdFergasn (All reviews)
This review was written by someone who has not seen, and honestly couldn’t care less about the original 1998 OVA, Legend of the Galactic Heroes.

I’ll start by saying this anime is extremely unique in it’s presentation in that it doesn’t even feel like an anime. It doesn’t really use the medium to it’s fullest, it’s not overtly creative, and nothing about it is particularly inventive except for the fact that it ISN’T inventive at all. It feels more like a play, an opera, or a wartime drama. You know, it feels like something I’d have been assigned to read in school; an epic that read more
May 2, 2018
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Why aren't you standing?"
"This is a free country. We have the freedom to not stand if we don't want to. I'm only exercising that freedom."
"Then why don't you want to stand?"
"I exercise my freedom to withhold my answer."
‒ Yang Wen-li, in the audience at a government speech

Does this sound familiar to anyone? You find yourself in a "free" country where you have the freedom to agree with the political leadership or a masked group will come break your windows in the name of patriotism. The Free Planets Alliance even has "free" in its name. See how much it helps.

Throw your beret in the air! Legend read more
Jun 26, 2018
VileKurata (All reviews)
Out of all the anime of 2018 Legend of the Galactic Heroes The New Thesis is the most overlooked and underestimate anime of the 2018 thanks to the anime elitist crowd bashing the series for its Kuroko no Basket character designs.

For a short while, I was part of that crowd as I like to make fun of the new series by memeing they face on social media website however when I eventually cut all ties with the elite crowd I decided to give it a proper chance and when I finished it I was shocked of good it was for the most part. Sure it may read more
Jun 26, 2018
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Crafting a masterful anime is similar to cultivating a delicate flower, it requires a willingness to accept circumstances the way they are, and not the way we wish them to be. Lithops, a flower with a low dependence on water, can have their skins burst if they are oversaturated with excess liquids. In the same breath, an anime that strives for over-the-top action sequences (e.g. run-of-the-mill Shounen anime) but neglects the political, economic, and social struggles that accompany those events, falsely establishes a dichotomous situation that rarely, if ever, exists. The original Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu (Legend of the Galactic Heroes) understood these read more
Jun 26, 2018
Eanki (All reviews)
The New Thesis will have to stand or fall on its own merits. The fact that the series takes great pains to introduce and endear its main characters tells us the series is intended to be enjoyed on its own without previous knowledge of the source material and the OVA.

One of the things I ask myself with every time I encounter a remake/reboot/reimagining is “Why? What does it offer that wasn’t done before?”

Admittedly, I haven’t finished watching the OVA, nor have I read the source material. So I can’t in good conscience tackle the issue about what the story offers more than what was told read more
Jul 18, 2018
Bruno_roen (All reviews)
Legend of the galactic heroes: Die Neue These or Legend of the kuroko no basket is one of the worst remakes that ever in my life

First of all you should never make an extremely inferior remake to the original

Second: When you do a remake, you should at least improve some things, and be of almost equal quality to the originial, or be better. The remake should not be completely identical, so you will not see anything new. For example: Remakes like dragon ball has a slightly better animation, and it also removes several unguarded eps, and improves the pacing. But it's not an incredible remake, read more
Jul 14, 2018
gabrielrroiz (All reviews)
A good point to start a ginga eiyuu densetsu (named as logh from now for brevity sake) review is the questioning on why the lives of powerful people are just so fascinating? Where does this amazing interest comes from in seeing generals, emperors, dictators, enacting strings of power, intrigue, tragedy. In following the lives and death of individual with such ambition, chosen to change the destiny and history of people, societies, worlds. Such allure comes from way more than the facts being actually being shown, Rubinsky discussing his plans becomes way more than a character we know barely nothing about, explaining his ambitions, and Job read more
Jun 28, 2018
Yorkshire_Megan (All reviews)
Contrary to almost anyone’s expectations, Legend of the Galactic Heroes: Die Neue These is a new adaptation that doesn’t just exist in the shadow of the OVA adaptation; it has earned the right to stand alongside it.

DNT had an almost impossible task set before it. It had to please both OVA fans (who are as demanding and resistant to change as a fanbase as any that exists) AND try to draw in a new viewerbase in a modern anime environment not receptive to lengthy space political epics. Considering this context, it’s practically a miracle that DNT hasn’t been torn to shreds from the first read more
Jun 26, 2018
PaladinAlchemist (All reviews)
I think it’s a good sign that I’d like to see this adaptation cover the full story. Director Tada Shunsuke took on quite the undertaking in adapting something already beloved by many (myself included) that already has a fantastic adaptation - trying to make a product that did not alienate older fans, but modernized the story enough to gain new ones.

Given that Die Neue These only covers a small part of the full story that is Legend of the Galactic Heroes, it’s hard to review. It’s a bit like trying to judge a Lord of the Rings adaptation when the hobbits haven’t even gotten read more
Jun 26, 2018
InfiniteRhapsody (All reviews)
This adaptation has been overlooked and frowned upon by many, but as someone who finished 110 ova (my fault is that i never finished other things in the series) I understand the disappointment other people feel when it comes to their designs, but let me tell you something. As someone who has also read the books - the actual original source, their appearances fit more into those categories. Not to mention most of them look the same age because they are, and there is not much change between 25-35.

Anyway, back to the story. For those who haven't seen first adaptation, you can watch it read more
Jun 26, 2018
Shadmankc (All reviews)
Legend of the Galactic Heroes: The New Thesis- Encounter is a remake of the 1988 ova series 'Legend of the Galactic Heroes' that spans for 110 episodes and according to people who have read the novel, it is a much more accurate adaption of the original novel series. There are a few things to consider from this information. First of all, the show is a remake and automatically tries to make money of off nostalgia from the old fans as well as gathering new fans for the franchise with use of new technology. Sadly it also suffers from the curse of being a remake. Which read more
May 19, 2018
lootin (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a newcomer to the series I watched first 3 episodes of the OVA then I switched to this remake. I can understand why people say original series is a masterpiece but I think this remake is greatly underestimated.

In my opinion it has superior voice acting, character design, composition, sound effects and of course visuals. Since it is a remake you should expect all this but it is all done so masterfully that I found myself enjoying the remake more than the original (witch I continued to watch until episode 8).

And then there is obvious use of CGI which is so good it adds read more
Jun 26, 2018
Thevsamovies (All reviews)
Did you come here for GALACTIC HEROES? Well get ready for a full two of them, because everyone else in this show is seemingly incompetent!

Welcome to "Military Space Politics - The Anime!"

I understood what the show was trying to do in the beginning. It started off with a good opening battle, and then pushed out all the backstory so that it could focus on the WAR in the end. But just because it's understandable doesn't mean it's a good way of telling a story. The story was actually the WORST part of this anime. It was just.. mediocre. The beginning was way too read more
Jun 26, 2018
Somz (All reviews)
Story - 5
Characters - 5
Audio - 9
Visuals - 9
Personal enjoyment - 10

Legend of the Galactic Heroes is a much praised series, and the praise is well-deserved. Having spent 110 episodes (excluding 50+ episodes worth of prequels + some movies) on introducing, establishing and developing its characters, its world, customs and politics, LotGH truly is outstanding.

Enter 'Die Neue These'. Enjoyment? For me, a 10/10 easily. But this is not an alternative version, a prequel, a sequel or a summary. This is a stand-alone piece of literature, a retelling of the same story.

The upsides? A nice way to refresh your memories of the OVA, topped with spectacular read more
Jun 26, 2018
NoizyFrog (All reviews)
I did not read the original novel or watched the OVA from the late 80s, but I heard a lot of praise for those works, as Legend of the Galactic Heroes (LotGH) is apparently one of the greatest anime of all time. Now, in 2018, we got a new take on this hot classic property and I thought it would be a perfect entry point for me.
It is hard to find any value in this anime: characters are not interesting to pull all the attention; action is dull; mind games are weak; depiction of war lacks necessary authenticity or meaningful commentary; rivalry is done better read more
Aug 4, 2018
0207xander (All reviews)
The reason this show was not successful is not because it was bad. Personally, I actually enjoyed it and would recommend it to people if the original did not exist. But it does. And to make a long story short, this show is just a slightly inferior version of the original.

What made this show unsuccessful was the conceptual planning of the show as a remake and certain creative choices by Production IG.

See, the problem in remaking the first 12 episodes in Legend of the Galactic Heroes is that these episodes are objectively the least interesting and eventful part in the show. They quite literally took read more
Jun 28, 2018
MioSakomoto (All reviews)
So after watching all 12 episodes, i decide to write a review. Where to start?

I watch original LOGH, all 110 episodes plus movies. I really like it, it was a bit slow paced but it really didn't matter since it was quite well done that i cant find anything against. It was true space opera, better in my opinion even then StarWars.

New Thesis, hm, i somehow loved those ships in original, but redesigned ones here in NT were not bad, overall animation, characters and ships were quite good here, but story is fast paced. To fast. They compress original twenty six episodes of first read more