Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Flying Witch


Alternative Titles

English: Flying Witch
Japanese: ふらいんぐうぃっち

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 10, 2016 to Jun 26, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:25 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.591 (scored by 67,270 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #587
Members: 167,265
Favorites: 926

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 30, 2016
delta5 (All reviews)
Flying Witch is possibly the best iyashikei (healing) anime ever made. If you love Aria, Non Non Biyori, and the Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou OVAs, then this is a must-see series. Flying Witch stands out because it makes even Aria look action-packed. Every moment of every episode unfolds naturally and organically; there's a very subtle but unmistakable message that humans (witch or otherwise) are truly inseparable from the earth, plants, wind, and sky. There's no overt conflict, no overly energetic comedy bits, and really no plot. I have no idea how an entire episode dedicated to the coming of spring, taking a few walks, and picking read more
Jun 25, 2016
DeusExMavro (All reviews)
Do you want a show that is serene, tranquil, and perfect for relaxation? Maybe you are tired of how action-packed and over-the-top most anime are? Perhaps you want to relieve yourself of all the worries in real life and just enjoy the ride?

Regardless, I invite you to enter the world of Flying Witch. It is not heavy, exciting, or full of action. In fact, it meanders through quite uneventful situations. However, it is truly the pinnacle of slice of life as far as feeling good goes. It's a beautiful concoction of peaceful music, a laid-back setting, and genuinely sweet characters doing everyday things with no read more
Jun 29, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
Flying Witch, a show that pretty much speaks for itself judging by the title. Yes, it’s literally a series about a flying witch named Makoto and her friends. Yes, it has magic in the series because what else would witches excel in? And yes, this is the type of magical story that will entice you in such a comfortable charm that you won’t ever forget.

The series is adapted from the manga of the same name and essentially, it’s a hybrid of slice of life and fantasy. We follow the life of Kowata Makoto as she returns to living in a rural town with her friends read more
Jun 26, 2016
Skysweeper (All reviews)
The title "Flying witch" suggests there will be flying and magics. I think both happen maybe once in each episode and that's it. But it's not a bad thing, it's just regular 'slice of life' anime.

Story follows young witch Makoto living with her relatives in some nice countryside. The vibe really reminds me of "Non non biyori" - almost no people in the background, just main characters doing everyday things. Well, sometimes 'everyday things for a witch', but it's not flashy fireworks show. I really liked that, the magic rituals shown are simple - no lights, no wind, mainly drawing magic circles, using small items read more
Jun 25, 2016
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Sha, la,la,laaa, dakedo, exactly what directions does this anime going for????????That's the question which only writer Chihiro Ishizuka and anime director Katsushi Sakurabi can answer, as I watch the last episode of this anime, and all I can say is that it was pretty fucking boring to say the least:

Storywise, it has a setting and a genre, but it's plot about a witch in training was pretty much an complicated form of Parachronism, where one wouldn't understand as to why would a witch in training even live with a family who doesn't even practice witchcraft, let alone that such entity is an abomination to ever read more
Jun 25, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Take it easy, relax, and join in the fun. Flying witch's is perhaps one of the best titles to get snuggle up and "comfy" with.

Flying witch was indeed a "comfy" title. Without a doubt "comfy" is the best word to describe the series. Flying Witch is a fantasy title that follows the 15-year-old witch Makoto Kowata and other supporting characters in her daily life. Because the show is considered "Slice of Life" the story and plot are slow. The slow pacing of the story-telling is actually a good thing, it makes it easy to follow along, and in addition to that, you can read more
Aug 18, 2016
MidniteAndBeyond (All reviews)
Flying Witch Review (NO SPOILERS)



Heh. No spoilers. As if this show actually has anything to spoil, in the first place. Ok, then. Flying Witch is one of those shows that I see a screenshot or a short clip of and I think the artwork looks so stinkin good, that I just gotta go see the entire show. And unfortunately... that doesn't always lead me to the best of shows... If I were to describe Flying Witch in one word, it would be "nothing". That's the gist of it. NOTHING happens in this show. So you're thinking "Oh, then it's a slice of life show?" I read more
Jul 2, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
Despite the title "Flying Witch", the show doesn't really feature a lot of Flying Witches or crazy witch battles. Instead, the show is just a super-relaxing slice-of-life series with a touch of magic. If you've watched titles such as Non Non Biyori then you can expect the same atmosphere from this show.


[Story]
Flying Witch is basically about a 15 year old witch named Makoto who moved into a rural town called Aomori to train as a professional witch. This is where the slice-of-life atmosphere begins.

The atmosphere of the show is super-relaxing. It's like you want to move out of this god-forsaken noisy/polluted city and read more
Mar 14, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
In the past, I've had a lot of good experiences with anime about witches. Kiki's Delivery Service, Shuumatsu no Izetta & El Cazador de la Bruja were all great or better. This time around, we're looking at Flying Witch. This one is based off of a manga by Ishizuka Chihiro wth the anime being handled by JC Staff. Yes, the same studio as Final Fantasy: Unlimited, Azumanga Daioh, Honey and Clover, & Potemayo. We've looked at their works a lot and with widely varying degrees of quality. Let's see where this one falls.

Story:

We open with our heroine, Makoto, moving in with some relatives so that read more
Jan 14, 2017
zenmodeman (All reviews)
Flying Witch is a good series to illustrate the appeal of slice of life (SOL) in its purest form. It is an iyashikei series, a healing anime that attempts to soothe the viewer. Although other series could do this with some sort of conflict or story to cover, Flying Witch is Iyashikei at its simplest with little to no conflict. It sticks to the basics without adding anything new, but it executes itself well enough to be worthwhile. But before we can see what Flying Witch did right, we must first answer why series of this nature with no conflict can be interesting. read more
Jul 2, 2016
BlueKite (All reviews)
Spring 2016 is a season full of highs and lows. I mostly dealt with the latter, making myself too submerged in the negativity. But here comes Flying Witch, a show that has become known by now as a healing experience. Watching the show never fails to improve my mood. Everything about it just screams positivity and sunshine from the calming atmosphere, joyful characters, and the laid-back story. The often atmospheric moments such as scenery shots accompanied with beautiful calming music is truly bliss. The story of a young witch training in unfamiliar yet welcoming territory reminds me a lot of Kiki’s Delivery Service, one of read more
Jul 2, 2016
HellshakeBrando (All reviews)
I'll start off by saying kudos, Flying Witch. It really took me by surprise how much I ended up enjoying this show.

I pick up a number of shows per season, and Flying Witch was the one I knew least about. I got a very relaxed vibe from the first few episodes so I stuck with it. By the end of its run I was in awe how much this magical slice of life had won me over.

The colorful cast of characters we meet over the course of Flying Witch is definitely the standout ingredient here. Your typical slice of life is bound to have 1 read more
Dec 14, 2016
AgentJames (All reviews)
Flying witch is a laid back slice of life anime with one of the most charming characters i've ever seen. It follows the story of Kowata Makoto who's a witch in training. All of the episodes cover the everyday life of this girl and her family and friends.

What i like about Flying Witch in general is how relaxing it is. Now it is just a typical slice of life anime at first glance but each episode you start to enjoy it more and more until you can't get enough.

What makes this a masterpiece is the combination of charming characters, gorgeous art, and over the read more
Jul 24, 2016
_LorDNiCo_ (All reviews)
REVIEW: Flying Witch

"How is this rated a 7.69!? This is a great slice-of-life anime. In my opinion. Why? Well, read my review and you'll see why!

Story: (8/10) Here's my take on the synopsis. Makoto, being the witch she is, the story practically revolves around her alongside her cousins, Kei and Chinatsu. With the start of each episode, as a witch in training, Makoto explores Aomori, Japan with her two cousins to expand her surroundings. By exploring together, the crew encounters many things. May it be companions, magical beings, creatures and places unperceivable from the human eye! With the help of her surroundings and as a read more
Jul 19, 2018
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
I'm glad that I watched this. I can't recall exactly the shows, But I've had some shows that kind of feel the same or are alike and they're just not that great.

The Slice of Life and Magic is a nice pair up in this. It's honestly nice and calming with no threat about anything. It honestly baffles me that I never once found myself bored with this show. Normally, These shows can barely hold my attention for long.

I do find it kind of disappointing that there is little in the ways of magic happening. We see very little of anything happening. I do also read more
Sep 18, 2016
Ruttone (All reviews)
Spoiler free.

Flying Witch...where i have to begin?
Fan of the "usual magic" anime series should think twice before watching this work, because it has almost nothing to do with the common magic that we are used to see. It has magic, that's sure, but it's different, more classic and, in some ways, more deep.

Story: 6
Why only 6? Because that series doesn't have a story, and doesn't need it, in my humble opinion.
The events of the various episodes are well managed, so the time will flow easily while watching.

Art: 7
What can i say...the "visual" part of the anime is not memorable, but it fits perfectly the pace read more
Jul 7, 2016
xeno156 (All reviews)
Flying Witch is possibly one of the most relaxed, tranquil anime bestowed upon this world. This show was a gem among stones this season, with nothing else keeping me particularly hyped for the next episode. Despite this show having a basic plot and absolutely no movement in the story (not physically anyway) this was absolutely one of my favourites this season.

Story: 8
Flying Witch is about, well, a flying witch. Her name is Kowata Makoto, she leaves the city of Yokohama to live with her relatives in the small town of Aomori to train as a witch. That's about it, each episode depicts the antics all read more
Mar 6, 2019
raimodsu (All reviews)
Sometimes you just wanna sit and relax watching some traquil animes, without the exagerations, explosive fights, over-the-top romance and all the other traits that most animes have, if you want a fun light slice of life anime, with characters that act (most of the time) like a tipycal anime character, you've found it!

Flying witch is, basically, another slice of life anme, but, on top of that, it has witchcraft... sometimes. It's fun and if you like slice of life, you'll probably like this anime a lot, i did.

Story: 7/10
[NO spoilers] The story of this anime is not very deep, it works read more
Jan 17, 2018
M0k0cch1_13 (All reviews)
If you're looking for an 'iyashikei' (healing) anime, this is definitely a good choice - no drama, all fun, and you feel refreshed once watching it.

The Story - As the show is a slice of life anime, the episodes aren't very story driven; episodes don't lead on from one to another, meaning there's a fresh new story each time you watch. The magic element really sets this show apart though - there's no war going on, the protagonist isn't on some long-winded quest or anything. Instead, it's about a young girl and her training as a witch. Simple, but it works.

The Art - Watching read more
Sep 7, 2016
sofaspud (All reviews)
If you’re looking for a show with an especially deep or original story or a particularly inventive take on witchcraft, this is not the anime for you. That said, this doesn’t mean that Flying Witch is a bad or uninteresting series. If there was one word I would use to sum up Flying Witch, it would be “easygoing”. This is one of the most relaxing anime in a long time, a simple show about simple pleasures.

Each episode of the show is a small slice of the life of Makoto, a girl who moves to live with her extended family to finish school while also completing read more