Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Comet Lucifer


Alternative Titles

English: Comet Lucifer
Japanese: コメット・ルシファー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2015 to Dec 20, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: 8bit
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.961 (scored by 30,187 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #71882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #978
Members: 77,725
Favorites: 79

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 20, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
No, it’s not what you think. Comet Lucifer is hardly about devil or angels or in fact anything that pertains to religious themes. And the “Comet” part isn’t some catastrophic event like a comet hitting the Earth to set up it look like some apocalyptic world. Taken for granted, I’d see this as a show as a hybrid fusion of sci-fi, mecha, and drama. However, Comet Lucifer doesn’t exactly hit all the right angles with its genres. In fact, its storytelling is barely tolerable and in general, a disappointment.

As an original show, Comet Lucifer essentially had a lot of potential. The first few episodes introduces read more
Nov 9, 2015
Garpachi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Comet Lucifer, at the time of this review still an ongoing anime with six of its twelve episodes previously aired, is in one word, disappointing. And unfortunately, it is disappointing on nearly every level of critique.

To begin, Comet Lucifer starts with a somewhat interesting, even if cliché, set-up to its plot. Our MC, Sogo, travels into a mine in search of a rare crystal that his mother once mentioned and stumbles upon one of particular interest. Thus he meets Felia, the girl who the anime has clearly set up as the main love interest. And there you have a basic read more
Dec 21, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
What would happen if I told you, a series that had a lot of potential to become one of the few hidden gems turned out to be one of those shows that wasted it's potential with a big fart bomb where it spouts out "Fuck You and the Audience"? Yeah, that's pretty much Comet Lucifer in a nutshell. A series that could have turned into something rather decent or enjoyable despite the flaws it had through the episodes, came out with something so insulting that it just pisses the audience and just stabs them like a knife. That's how most people felt in a way read more
Dec 20, 2015
snapeftw (All reviews)
I don't normally write reviews, but I couldn't resist doing one after watching comet lucifer. lets get into it.

Story: Honestly, I barely even know what the story is. Here is my attempt at explaining it: his boy, Sogo, finds this girl named Felia(and its never really thoroughly explained how... she just kinda comes out of this gem) and takes her in. For some reason (also never really explained) the government wants to capture Felia. Sogo goes on adventures trying to protect Felia and help Felia adjust to this new world.

i have quite a few problems with the story of this show. First of all, read more
Dec 20, 2015
citizen169 (All reviews)
Comet lucifer is a Mecha/slice of llife/Romance/Fantasy anime. You probably could cram in a few more genre's. At only 12 episodes, this obviously results in problems.
story: 4/10
writers essentially said "let's make it up as we go along." That pretty much sums it up. Then they noticed it was almost over and crammed in an ending. And added the final villain because the show kept hinting but never showed one. Who started getting development halfway through the last episode.
Art 8/10 Unique and pretty good.
Sound 7/10 Decent but not very memorable. It was just "there".
Character 4/10 very cliche and forgettable. Mostly consistent though.
6/10 overall
watchable. read more
Dec 26, 2015
resinweber (All reviews)
Preliminary
"I am Mora, I will never explain anything and will go robot and back at random moments. And lose all the time."
"I am psycho killer, I will kill room full of people, but then imprison one guy in a room with open ventilation shaft. And then go into robot to kill this guy with giant knife."
"I am military guy. I want to fight robot. I will hire psycho killer and pathetic hacker and kidnap a girl. And jump into robot asap."
"I am Sougo. I do not care who Felia is. I never question Mora. I never care why my hand lights up when he becomes read more
Dec 20, 2015
tiger578 (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS.

This is my first review, mostly because this show was awful enough to warrant it. I thought about dropping it a few times, but I decided it would be best to just push on through to the end. Man was that a bad idea.

[b]Story[/b]
The main reason I watch anime is for the story. Tell me a good story and I'll love you and probably buy some merch. This story was rushed, didn't flush out ANY real details (because it was rushed), and by the end you were scratching your head wondering what the hell you just watched. read more
Jan 29, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
You know one anime myth that really needs to die in a ditch? Original shows can always be counted on to be better than adaptations. How in god's name does that make any sense in any sort of capacity? First off, you're basically saying that every manga, novel, visual novel, and light novel out there is shit with that statement, and whilst I definitely agree that finding something good in the latter two categories is about as hard as finding a good Crash Bandicoot game after he left Naughty Dog, any hack writer wanting to create an original work of art can make the same read more
Jul 23, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

(WARNING: This review spoils various parts of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy, an epic poem that he constructed in the 14th century. His work is regarded by many as one of the greatest pieces of literature ever created. If you do not wish to have Dante’s magnum opus spoiled, read no further. Or, as Dante may write, “turn back to see your shores again.”)

Comet Lucifer is like Satan.

Before completing that simile, we need to define Satan first. In Dante Alighieri’s masterpiece, Divine Comedy, and, more specifically, the Inferno, Dante travels through the depths of Hell and read more
Dec 21, 2015
FireclownZZ (All reviews)
First review I'm writing on this site. Honestly, this shit was predictable but also all over the place. Besides the art, which is pretty great, the story was rushed and definitely generic. Most Disappointing of 2015 for me personally. I already felt like I was getting tired of these particular types of anime but man did this one leave a sort of bad taste in my mouth. Even if you love this genre you will still find this anime to be average at best even painfully so. I honestly felt like i should've dropped this series a while ago. I writing all this and yet read more
Dec 20, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Ah, adventure. The act of embarking on and going to an unknown place fills many with excitement, as the prospect of finding the unknown has thrilled the human psyche with lots of determination to find what's out there. And so, with Fall 2015 coming to a close, we have Comet Lucifer, an original anime by 8bit, which…well, it’s an adventure all right.

Story: Amagi Sogo is a boy who lives on the world of Gift, a world that looks like a more magical version of our planet and has a bipedal armor (aka mechs) that make the world more technologically advance than our own. read more
Dec 23, 2015
KittyNom (All reviews)
If you do not wish to read all of this banter, just skip to the very last paragraph for a simpler review of this anime.

Well this anime was quite a boring adventure. I had quite high hopes for it because it seemed like it would be all cute and happy, but in the end all I got was an anime with close to no plot and chaotic boringness.

Story [5]:

If you asked me what the story was about, I would have no idea how to explain. The plot was so chaotic and only at the last episode did I understand a TINY bit what I had read more
Mar 2, 2016
walker6 (All reviews)
The series composes a small cast of characters although their roles are all important. Sogo is the easy-going type who can easily make friends with just about anyone. His loyalty is also evident throughout the series as he puts others’ lives above his own. Unfortunately, the guy is really dense and a lot of his actions are questionable at times. Characterization regarding Sogo is generally mild as we barely see his background story. Instead, the show focuses more about his actions in the present alongside Kaon. And that brings up the second point. Kaon can be interpreted as the ‘girl next door’ type. No, I’m read more
Jan 3, 2016
Piezuri (All reviews)
Preliminary
[REPOSTING CAUSE IT WAS REMOVED]
Ok, straight to the point. This. anime. is. shit. It is completely and utterly terrible. I forced myself to watch at least 5 episodes. What can I say, it was very hard.

Story : 3/10

The idea is stupid. Basically the story so far can be resumed too : "Girl falls on guy, guy finds magic stone, magic stone becomes loli, loli chased by evil organization." The guy who came up with the idea "hey let's make an evil group who have a mech army on their side and a bunch of super trained soldiers chase after a bunch of 15 year olds" read more
Jan 2, 2016
Niudoru (All reviews)
I feel like I expected a lot more from this anime than I got out of it. For all those who remember the plot of Guilty Crown, I didn't find anything special from the story, to me it was extraordinarily similar, more so at the very end. But there are certainly things that the anime does well, as the story is not the only element the anime has to give. The characters were unique in their own ways, as we see the usual protagonist, and his childhood friend. Some of the characters did appeal to me at times, and character development often took me by read more
Dec 23, 2015
samui26 (All reviews)
Comet Lucifer's first episode pays homage to some lost animes in the nineties. The premise for this show is an old trope but the execution that time felt sincere. Also, the first major scene involved well-choreographed fights and beautifully integrated CGIs. While not perfect, it managed to capture the pure fun (and dumbness) of these type of shows and ended with its audience wanting for more.

Then it went downhill from there.

Story, what story?: 3/10

To be fair with Comet Lucifer, it presented a very simple premise in the first episode. There is this teenage guy who wants to save his girl from read more
Mar 24, 2016
IIEarlGreyII (All reviews)
Well this series was fairly bad. Somehow I had heard good things about it, but I can see it was a mistake to watch it. I honestly feel like I wasted my time. The visuals, character design, and sound were all fairly good. The plot however makes almost no sense, and keeps seeming to change. The characters reactions don't really match what is going on, and more than once something happens that just seems out of line for the concept they were going for. I would not recommend it.

The sad thing is with the right direction this could have been really good. If they had read more
Jan 4, 2016
MatiusLenin (All reviews)
The first episode promised a great series. As the episodes pass you realize that all your hopes have been crush.

You're a loyal follower till the end, towards twelve episodes full of disappointments, a romance based on forced moments.

Spend next five episodes but nothing happens.

Hard to start with a couple and end with another. Focus the plot on a love confession that never comes and another love appears only because the script dictates.

A backstory ill conceived, the last three episodes are filled with a summary of what the story should be.

I will not buy the figures of characters that I hate. and you (the creators) have read more
Jan 2, 2016
Geochi (All reviews)
Tl;Dr it's a rehashed butchered version of Eureka Seven.

Normally I dont do reviews but Comet Lucifer (CL) is a special case. CL, regardless of its cliche set up and characters, started off great. There was a lot going for it. It could have been one of the greats but instead flopped and started grabbing elements from other series. It tried too hard to be something it wasn't and often times resembled Eureka Seven. I feel like the story was rushed and was bs'd half way through. Mid series you have characters rambling over stuff with no rhyme or reason or even little logic to justify read more
Dec 27, 2015
dragynfaerie (All reviews)
Long review short: Comet Lucifer is an example of wasted potential. What could have been an epic fantasy/adventure turned into nothing more than an insipid kinda romance.

They won't let me get away with my review being short. *sigh* I hate that. Anywho, the artwork is good. The colors are bright. The writing in the first 2 episodes was tight and interesting. It's like they fired the guy with the plot and the other writer(s) floundered from episode 3-12. I had hope for a few episodes, but it was for naught. When the affable guy turns into a killing machine and the ditz pulls shotguns read more