Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans


Alternative Titles

English: Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans
Synonyms: Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans, G-Tekketsu
Japanese: 機動戦士ガンダム 鉄血のオルフェンズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2015 to Mar 27, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 17:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 39,826 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #883
Members: 83,519
Favorites: 895

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 13, 2016
Zielouse (All reviews)
This is first and foremost a Gundam series that breaks the mold of the Gundam franchise. With that said, it was too ambitious for its own good. Iron Blooded Orphans removes the complex gray line that is war the past series had. It is straightforward plot where the good guys beat the bad guys in a one sided race. They even have the theme of "family" embedded in the story which falls off on its own with so many cannon fodders within their group. There's nothing that's really holding the members together except the few members that actually get screen time, bu even for read more
Mar 27, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
The Gundam franchise is a massive universe. As another installment, there can be a lot of optimism for Iron-Blooded Orphans. I have to admit, getting into this show at first made me nervous. Some of the recent Gundam related series such as Gundam AGE and Gundam: G no Reconguista received very mixed reception. Furthermore, Iron-Blooded Orphans is spearheaded by Mari Okada, a director who is well-known for adding in melodrama into the story. But for this show, I can safely say that it’s definitely something worth investing time into whether you’re a fan of Gundam or not.

For timeline purposes, the show takes place after the read more
Mar 27, 2016
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans/機動戦士ガンダム 鉄血のオルフェンズ Review

Story (7/10) Good
More Specifically (7.75/10) Good+

The story for Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans like majority of the gundam plots attempts to juggle two main plots at the same time. One being about the characters and their goals they want to achieve and the second being the political side of things and they intertwine with each other. One would say if you want to follow the Gundam story plot formula both of these story plots need to be present and as synced with each other as you can possibly get. Like majority of Gundam alternate universes this universe read more
Mar 28, 2016
plisetskytrash (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans is an original series not based on any other work like manga, novel or a game. It's quite a rare to see original anime these days and most of them are poorly made. But this one may surprise you.

An easy-to-follow story with flow and focus, exciting space combats, strong both male and female characters, some well-placed plot twists and a little bit of romance and comedy just to spice things up. But above all this story present the human side of characters while not neglecting the plot. We can see strong friendships, trust, how they all deal with tragic read more
Mar 27, 2016
YizelTro (All reviews)
First, i'm going to be honest that i have never watched Gundam before. i have played the game with my cousin or friends a few time in the past but i don't really know much about Gundam. So after i saw this adaptation, i wasn't really interested in it, but because of the popularity, i got curious and i tried to watch it and! i was expecting something like Aldnoah Zero but WOW! it was beyond my expectation. Well, personally, i prefer Aldnoah Zero, but this anime is great too in my opinion. The brotherhood is real!!!

I don't really know much about the story but read more
Mar 29, 2016
alcas001 (All reviews)
IF THIS ANIME IS NOT THAT GREAT IT WOULDN'T HAVE A 2ND SEASON...THIS IS THE ONLY ANIME I ENCOUNTERED TO END IN THE SAME YEAR AND START THE 2ND SEASON AT THE SAME YEAR...

well if your a realist dont watch anime...especially if your not into gundams...

to the person who says that the characters are uneducated kid, you are stupid...u didnt read what yukino ojisan said...some kids know how to read some are not thats why they are in combat like the main character mikazuki...he also explain why an uneducated kid like mikazuki can control barbatos is because of alayana system that he has.... the characters read more
Mar 27, 2016
KLRock (All reviews)
First off, I have to say that i dropped this series after the first couple of episodes. I didn't like Mika, I thought he'd be a stereotypical stoic character, but he's MUCH more of an interesting character than I had previously believed.

Story: 9- The story is fairly simple, but how it is handled is done masterfully. Very few shows have me hooked and can keep my attention for the majority of the series.

Characters: 10- First off, Mika isn't the only main character, because, at least in my opinion, Orga is also the main character. EVERY character is interesting, besides maybe Ein, and not one of read more
Mar 27, 2016
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Gundam: Iron Blooded Orphans is another Gundam series set in an alternate timeline, this one being the Post Disaster timeline. Set in a future where hostilities between human settlers on Mars and the Earth Sphere are escalating due to Earth's influence on Martian affairs through the private military organization Gjallarhorn, the series is prominently focused on a private Martian military group called Tekkadan who are given the job of protecting Kudelia Aina Bernstein, the young daughter of a Martian political family who seeks to travel to Earth to persuade the Earth Sphere government to grant independence to Martian settlers and inform them of Gjallarhorn's corruption. read more
Apr 5, 2016
zerokill (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans (Hence forth referred to as IBO) is another addition to the Gundam universe. It has many of the themes and plots that surround Gundam. It has politics, mechas, explosions, and questions about humans and differing beliefs. IBO is a nice addition to the franchise, just that. While the topic it chooses to explore involve exploitation of children, workers rights, and the unification of different factions, it falls short of actually fully exploring everything in detail.

IBO asks a lot of questions to the viewer, but it doesn't actually make the viewer think too much about the reasons of a character's action, read more
May 10, 2016
Kyantoweru (All reviews)
Iron-Blooded Orphans (IBO) is the most recent installment in the Mobile Suit Gundam Universe, but avoids the tired and stale aspects of the more recent predecessors. IBO paints the disturbing reality that child soldiers face in a war torn era - it is a provocative yet grief-stricken series that highlights everything wrong with placing a gun in a child's hands. While the story itself is a highlight of the series, IBO's most glaring problem is in character development where it is hard to support the convictions on many of the characters due to incomplete background knowledge of their circumstances.

{Story} - IBO's story is most certainly read more
Apr 29, 2016
Cyborg_Dragon (All reviews)
Before I get into the review this is the first Gundam series I have watched. I have watched a few mech series in the past none of them being Gundam. In all honesty I watched the series because I liked the opening by Man With A Mission "Raise Your Flag". In the end its probably my most liked series featuring Mechs.

Story 10/10

The story is about a group of child soldiers wanting to make the company they create become big. To make their company big they take a very hard first job that will either destroy their company or make it. Their job read more
Apr 4, 2016
SaltyShoebill (All reviews)
SPOILER WARNING!!!!

This is will be my first sh*tty review, so If you don't like it, don't READ IT. Thank You.

Watched All episodes of Gundam IBO, and... I'm disappointed of this. That ending... Isn't even an ending @-@

The only good parts of this anime is their mechs and their fights, and Badass Mikazuki "Killer Machine" Augus. The plot of first part was better than the second one, honestly. McGillis and Gaelio relationship are only the best point out there.

The bad parts is the charas design that really weird and more akin to AGE rejected designs than 00, too much "QUALITY" animations and terrible pacing (3-4 episodes read more
Apr 2, 2016
TheBax (All reviews)
They misspell tomato on the wall of the cafeteria in episode 18. There, I saved you from watching the series.... kidding.

This series seems to annoy hardcore Gundam fans, so if you are one of those people... don't watch Iron-Blooded Orphans. But if you just enjoy the mech genre in general, this series could be right up your alley. Spoiler-free below.

Story - 7
With less politics and more focus on the conditions of people (namely people oppressed by Gjallarhorn, people from different planets, people without a planet) Iron-Blooded Orphans is pretty tame compared to other Gundam shows, but still has good fight sequences and a decent story read more
Apr 2, 2016
Mas0chist (All reviews)
Mobile suit gundam iron blooded orphans takes place in another alternate universe of gundam. Where kids are mercenary's and shit and the story is they have toget this princess girl to earth. See the problem with this series is that it just isn't intriguing and that it literalsly shouts at you throughout the whole eries. When characters and children die WAR IS BAD CHILDREN SOLIDERS SEE HOW HORRIBLE IS THAT where l really did not care most of the characters feel like they came out of a michael bay film.

The art and sound are alright the show looks decent and the read more
Mar 30, 2016
Caddie_revo (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is fantastic. I have always been a fan of the "Mecha" genre. Over recent years though I had become quite tired of Gundam. It became repetitive and the universe honestly became quite dull and filled with a pattern that was honestly lacking.

That being said "Iron Blood Orphans" has been a pleasure to watch. The animation is slick. The movement of the "Mechs and Gundams" really creates an interesting sense of combat and fluidity which changes depending on environment. It has a style which blends well with the stories and personality of the pilots without going to overboard or in depth. The read more
Jun 2, 2016
AH1cm (All reviews)
Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans is a series that is obviously trying to do something "new" with the often predictable story of Gundam-genre shows. To this end, it succeeds in some places and fails in others. It is a ponderous, often slow-moving character-focused anime that actually does not focus very much on mobile suits at all.

Set in an alternate universe not explored before in Gundam, IBO follows a group of rebellious "space rats", children who are essentially corporate slaves, as they overthrow their corporate masters and work to establish an independent economic sphere on Mars.

I say that IBO is attempting to do something read more
Apr 2, 2016
abovetheveil (All reviews)
For a Gundam fan I don't watch enough if I'm honest. I've watched Gundam wing and Gundam OO and now this. One thing that stays the same besides the plot lines is my enjoyment. So if you're not a Gundam fan, I can't say how helpful this review will be. Anyways, let get to the nitty and gritty.

I would say it was one of the more generic Gundam series. It was nothing special in terms of character development but I felt I matured with these kids. I watched over them as they navigated a harsh world with naivety, determination and tough skin. So even if read more
Jan 31, 2017
RoughVoice (All reviews)
Iron-Blooded Orphans is my second entry into the Gundam Universe whereby the first one was Build Fighters. Taking it as a story on its own as I do not know about previous Gundams, this story is AMAZING. It makes utter sense when looking at it from a reality perspective. The characters are quite well developed despite sometimes the story, in general, has some shortcomings. The art varies from high detailed to low details in a very nice way that makes it look cute and accurate at different points.

Why I enjoyed this Anime so much? If you never watched Gundam before but knows a bit about read more
Apr 3, 2016
squier9up (All reviews)
Brawniness men, female protagonist who leads the revolution army, conspiracies within the enemy, this equation makes a good story and a lot of necessary deaths. The story moves fast so expect surprises and not drag out.

The intros and eds fit perfectly and sometimes it'll play into the ending song. I don't think I skipped the ending too many times because the song was really good and how dramatic it was when it ends an episode. The episodes felt a bit longer and fulfilling than normal due to that.

If you enjoy a good plot, a journey 'til the very end for a cause, romance, you'll like read more
Mar 29, 2016
Sercale (All reviews)
I'm a huge fan of mecha series and even more of Gundam Series. I was disapointed of the last one they've done. So I had doubt about this one but IT WAS GREAT. They didn't do like the last one and accelerate thing so it can enter into a 25 episode series. They had let thing go and everything was in place. The annonce of a season 2 proove that there are still thing they didn't tell us about the story,caracter, mecha, etc. If you wish for a good Mecha series watch it till the end. The only downside of this is, maybe, the fact read more