Zutto Mae kara Suki deshita.: Kokuhaku Jikkou Iinkai


I've Always Liked You

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: HoneyWorks: I've Liked You Since Long Ago, I've liked you for a long time.: Confession Committee, I've had feelings for you since a long time ago.: Executive Confession Committee
Japanese: ずっと前から好きでした。~告白実行委員会~
English: I've Always Liked You
German: I've Always Liked You
Spanish: I've Always Liked You
French: I've Always Liked You
More titles

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 23, 2016
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Qualia Animation
Source: Music
Genre: RomanceRomance
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 1 hr. 3 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.241 (scored by 7935479,354 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #27392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #995
Members: 186,774
Favorites: 534

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 4, 2016
MrBouBou (All reviews)
"who is she going to confess her love to?", "who is she in love with?" ,"everyone in love", "I know she is in love with someone".....as they keep thinking like that they start hurting each other with words they don't mean it.

The movie is your typical sweet RomCom, which talks about a group of friends being secretly in love with each other and we can't forget the love triangle. The story wasn't any new but to me, every single one has its own charm just like this movie which has its unique way of getting them to struggle until they find their way to master read more
Oct 4, 2016
Ectisity (All reviews)
Story:
If you've read a lot of romance manga you probably won't consider the story as very original. The entire movie is about different characters trying to build up the courage to confess their love. However, I do not believe that there are many animated stories of this kind which makes it unique in it's own sense. Sure, it doesn't have any super original plot point or anything that makes it very unique, but the story is well executed for what it is and if you're into more pure love stories, I believe you'll like the story in this one.

Art:
I rarely care about the art read more
Oct 16, 2016
Airenee (All reviews)
This might be the first time i write a review but i take really serious in giving some comments about this movie.

Story : 6/10 || Enjoyment : 6/10
In my opinion, this movie is a nothing special romance movie compare to others. I don't dislike this movie but for me, this kind of movie is too mainstream school set romance plus it is a movie with a cliffhanger ending which i hate the most. Besides, the duration of this movie is too short and messed up the plot.

The good about the movie is the charms of the characters with cool auras. Not to forget this read more
Oct 6, 2016
thecozykitsune (All reviews)
I'm always a sucker for a sweet, innocent, slice of life romance; and this, my friends, really hit the spot.

There are many many slice of life romance anime out there, but not all of them tend to go very well in my opinion.
A lot of the time i end up very frustrated while watching because of misunderstandings or lack of chemistry or something along those lines. That wasn't the case for this movie though.

The characters were all extremely likable, there actually wasn't a single character i was annoyed by (which rarely happens).
The art was lovely, which is something i'm very picky with.
And the music was read more
Oct 9, 2016
crispyn64 (All reviews)
Why Is Love So Hard? - An "I've Always Liked You" Review

I did not like I’ve Always Liked You. To put it bluntly, this 1-hour and 3-minute long movie is shallow, generic, and all-around meaningless. Its sole purpose is to showcase the moments of high love confessions, in ways that are neither clever nor original. Just like many other stories in the genre of romance, I’ve Always Liked You uses these confession as a sort of “payoff”, yet it doesn’t offer up any kind of worthwhile setup for them. The characters are also unmemorable and lack any compelling motivations or adversities. While the animation and read more
Nov 11, 2019
AiwiloNik (All reviews)
I gotta admit, I'm a sucker for a good romance. I like it in basically every shape or form: I like it with a sad ending, a happy ending, with comedic ambiance, with serious atmosphere and one of my favourite types is the cute, heart-warming one.

But this one?

This one I hated.

I can't even describe how excruciating it was to watch. The plot was completely decentralized, unnecerarily jumping from one character to another. I guess the writers wanted to include as many stories from the music videos as possible but because of the limited time they had for this movie, it ended up being about read more
Oct 5, 2016
Jen_Chi_No (All reviews)
I am pretty new to the forum:

Anyways, I am just going to do my best in reviewing this just released anime.
Well this anime is your typical High School Love Story. Childhood Friends and etc.

The Story is quite typical to a high school love story as mentioned above but I still gave it a 9 despite the fact that it's quite ordinary because I am into this kind of anime, so can't resist giving a 9.

As for the art & sound/BGM, it totally gets an outstanding which is 10 because the art & sound/BGM are what I can describe as "exquisite" and "total masterpiece". read more
Oct 8, 2016
DomTheBomb7 (All reviews)
Story: It's nothing new or original; just a very straightforward story about crushes and high school love. Not that it HAD to be an original or innovative romance, but when the plot is THAT cut and dry, it's hard not to be bored out of your mind as you're watching it. I wouldn't even say it executed the whole romance aspect particularly well.

Art: I actually did enjoy the art. It was very pleasing to watch and had a lot of attractive colors.

Sound: The sound and music were fine. Nothing really stood out, but it generally was appropriate for a movie about romance.

Character: This is read more
Oct 26, 2017
CHLO_JO007 (All reviews)
Reviewers point of view: I was having a romance marathon and thought why not add fuel to the fire. I saw both movies, but am only putting in my opinion for the first one. I did not read the novels. I don't listen to vocaloid.

Story: Put nicely, the plot is basic and rushed. I know the movie is only an hour, but I felt like it put in stories that it couldn't handle. I didn't try to remember most of the characters' names (I'm also VERY bad with names) so if I was asked to describe all the love stories, it would sound like read more
May 23, 2020
Mxyiee (All reviews)
To avoid spilling some spoilers, I'll make this review as simple as possible...

If you're looking for an anime with interesting and unique plot with lots of unexpected development, then I would not recommend this to you. This is a normal romance school anime. A one-hour-length film with an overwhelming number of characters. A flat story where I haven't felt intensity or something unique that will instantly hook me into the show. In other words, if you're planning to watch this movie, then lower your expectations and just enjoy the whole thing. Also, the effort given for this show is not a waste at all since read more
Oct 9, 2016
Minouette (All reviews)
Story: I've noticed that a lot of the reviews have downvoted the story, but I personally didn't have any real qualms with it. It was cute; it didn't try to go too deep, but that was really to be expected from a (less than) hour movie. The story follows the love stories of three high school girls, as they try to figure out how to confront their feelings. Very shoujo. I would've preferred if the story had focused primarily on one romance, the one between Natsuki and her crush, but it was rather refreshing to see the different character interactions from characters that had appeared read more
Jun 8, 2017
-HippySnob- (All reviews)
Any connection what's in the story leaves a sour taste at the end of the movie.

What's more great is that any related scenes can't highly approved onto certain degree scale of a typical romance.

I expected Honeyworks was behind of this movie As I checked down the artstyle alone. Part of the movie lacking a point of view, and a plain atmosphere. At least the same MC which in reverse, From Shounen to Shoujo, They can't convey the spirit of a certain feelings on someone.

Every music videos by Honeyworks was indeed good compare to this adaptation of the movie, Cause what's truly lacking are the read more
May 2, 2020
badabass (All reviews)
An okay movie, its worth a little to fill your blank heart or even waste your time. The story feel classical to me with the concept: the young lover and their complex love story. Trying to get the confession story get a long run, making all clear route get complicated even if their flag really understand to seen. This show even try to make the main thing get a long run while the white hair guy trying to steal. But, thats just only a plot device to make the story feel interesting. For me, its impact a little, only a little feels got some kind read more
Dec 21, 2021
algoPotaku (All reviews)
The animation of the film is very good, the songs are the best of the film the lyrics, please listen and analyze the lyrics of the songs. The movie is very good, so I do not close the story of two characters. But giving that very good has a phrase "The only love that lasts is unrequited love." I got very very in the chest just for that phrase it was worth seeing an hour of a good drama.
I really liked how the film deals with the different protagonists and situations that are generated with them. Also keep in mind that the movie lasts 1 read more
Nov 21, 2021
PurpleReaper9 (All reviews)
One thing to note: Tokyo Autumn Session also influenced my rating.

Where do I even start? I came into this movie, from one of my favourite OP song, called 'Maidens' by CHICO with HoneyWorks.

I started watching it without much thought or any expectations. And boy oh boy, surprised just scrapes the surface of what I felt while watching this.

I went through a variety of emotions; from wanting to bang my head on the wall to wanting to cry.

While it may feel cliched and somewhat boring to many, I loved it; the characters, their emotions, and the execution. The art, music also more than read more
Oct 8, 2016
Cheri_Bonnefoy (All reviews)
Watching this shouldn't be about originality, it should be about whether you've enjoyed it or not. A lot of the anime are about the same but it's not like nobody doesn't enjoyed it. I may not have watched a lot of shojou movies or anime but I have a lot of shojou manga and this has by far, won my heart over.

I love the characters, I love the story, and it may not have many twists but it shows relatable characters, romances and all. It doesn't have to be fantasy, full of turns, deaths and what not to make it interesting. If you read read more
Jun 17, 2017
AkiraAmon (All reviews)
NO SPOILERS !

There doesn't always have to be a deep intellectual story in every single anime/movie. Sometimes it's fine to just kick back and watch anime just to smile and laugh.

Like I implied, this movie didn't have a deep story but it was fine because the other aspects of the anime made up for it. The story was pretty cliche where a girl/guy likes another girl/guy and they don't know it..you get what I mean.

Even though I had close to no love life in high school this movie made me smile because how the actions of the characters brought positive emotions in me. All the read more
Jun 11, 2017
AnihcP04 (All reviews)
First off, "Zutto Mae Kara Suki Deshita" is, to anyone who doesn’t know, based off the stories and characters of a song series by a creator named HoneyWorks. So as a stand-alone movie, or to anyone who hasn't encountered HoneyWorks before, it may appear as a buttload of cheesy anime high school rom-com right off the bat. However, to someone who had HoneyWorks songs and PVs on replay before (still do on occasion), it was immensely enjoyable albeit its attempt to squish all those personalities, unrequited loves, sibling loves, and love triangles into a mere hour.

The story in which the movie revolves around is just read more
Nov 14, 2016
Sammy_Lee (All reviews)
I personally absolutely loved this movie. But, I believe that I have a bias. This entire movie was based off of the events that took place in the song "Confession Rehearsal", by HoneyWorks, which can be heard in the background of the buildup to the finale. (There were other subplots that were based off of other songs such as "Solution to Jealousy", "Confession Rival Declaration", or Inokori Sensei, all written and performed by HoneyWorks) Because I knew the plots and characters so well I think I was more blown away by the execution, which was GORGEOUS!! I know it's not a very original plot, nor read more
Jul 5, 2021
YuuOtosaka_08 (All reviews)
I really love this, I was crying tears of joy in the end
the story is so good the animation is great the music/song is perfect
all the characters are great especially Natsuki (⁄ ⁄•⁄ω⁄•⁄ ⁄) every female characters reaction is just so goddam CUTE
that i could die anytime of heart attack
I enjoyed every second of this anime that i wish this will never end cause its just sooooo GOOD for me

I accidently watched "Suki ni Naru Sono Shunkan wo.: Kokuhaku Jikkou Iinkai" first cause i didn't know that this two was related and that was a big mistake cause its the Sequel of this movie, this read more