Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Owarimonogatari


Alternative Titles

English: Owarimonogatari
Synonyms: End Story
Japanese: 終物語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2015 to Dec 20, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 26 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.451 (scored by 105,739 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #382
Members: 227,251
Favorites: 1,445

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
The Monogatari franchise has been a creative narrative with some of the most intriguing dialogues found in the light novel medium. Owarimonogatari isn’t so far different either as the series takes on three separate arcs that is molded into 1-cour adaptation of 12 episodes. Adapted by studio Shaft, which is well known for an avant-gante style of artwork, the series makes it bold return. And any fan of the Monogatari franchise should be excited because this latest work will leave some classic memories.

For storytelling, Owarimonogatari is divided into three parts. They are known as “Ougi Formula”, “Sodaichi Riddle”, and “Sodachi Lost”. All three parts draws read more
Dec 19, 2015
Captain220 (All reviews)
In the heat of all the millions of One Punch Man reviews, I've decided to take on the task of reviewing this series onto myself. This will be quick and spoiler free, yay!

Oh Monogatari, a strange one you certainly are. The way I see it is that there are 2 types of reviews for this series - the people praising it for being a complete masterpiece of the modern age with no flaws what so ever and the people that hate it for... what again? Oh that's right, it's "devoid of a functioning storyline and character development" as pointed out by some pleb on this read more
Jan 16, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
The final season for the Monogatari series...I never thought I'd reach this point. This obviously isn't the final show for the series. There's still the 2nd cour for Owarimonogatari, a bunch of Koyomi arcs and Kizumonogatari.

(There will be SPOILERS in my review)

[Story]: (9/10) (SPOILERS)
Owarimonogatari is a sequel to Tsukimonogatari but it does not take place after Tsuki. The first 3 arcs chronologically takes place after Onimonogatari and Nekomonogatari: Shiro and the last arc chronologically takes place immediately after Onimonogatari. The show features Ougi Oshino, an underclassman introduced to Araragi by Kanbaru Suruga.

I thought Second Season was going to be the only Monogatari series read more
Dec 20, 2015
samui26 (All reviews)
To start with the good news, Owarimonogatari is a breath of fresh air in this rather stale year in animes. The bad news? While its second half provides hints of what was the aftermath of Kizumonogatari film to be aired next year, it is one of the worse arcs in the Monogatari universe.

Story and Character: 6/10

The Sodachi Lost Arc is an oddball even by Monogatari standards. It started with solving the supernatural right away then proceeded with detailed explanation behind the titular character in the arc. The pacing is slower than normal albeit more even which gave enough time to layout the foundation of this read more
Aug 14, 2016
Artrill (All reviews)
(9.0/10)

A pure, distilled version of what made both Season 1 and Season 2 so fascinating, Owarimonogatari works on almost every level.

If I were to write a review of the entirety of season 3, i'd include Tsukimonogatari, however, that's a separate review, so feel free to look at my review for that if you haven't before. That being said, I will be factoring my enjoyment of that arc with my overall enjoyment of the third season.

This will be my wrap up before i delve into the OVA and the movies.

_____________________________________

[PART 1] : Extraction


The shows first three arcs serve as a big overarching story read more
Dec 20, 2015
ChaoticThinker (All reviews)
Story + Overview 10 / 10
The Monogatari Series is an Anime on it's entirety broken down into themes that contain one or more Arcs. The arcs themselves are shuffled on such a unique way by Nishio Ishin (NisiOisin) the author behind the series that takes mystery to a whole new level.  Each of themes or seasonal themes I'd rather call them call upon a subject. Owari meaning End, Conclusion and Monogatari meaning Story, Tale. So we know this particular season deals with closure.

Art + Animation 10 / 10
This anime like the entirety of the series is done by SHAFT Studios and now that i have read more
Sep 21, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

I’ve always grown up loving math; I’ve always grown up performing well in math. I’m still unsure if both of these are mutually exclusive or not, but I like to think that some connection exists.

The fun of mathematics comes from the complexity. Using variables, taking integrals, and memorizing formulae turn the field from crunching numbers into a brain-powered game. Of course, there are certain areas that can be tiresome – I’ve always had trouble with graphs and graphing – but it wouldn’t be math without a difficult derivative or two.

Owarimonogatari may not feature sines and read more
Dec 22, 2015
vegetablespirit (All reviews)
Love it, hate it, indifferent to it, or once-loved-then-hated-now-extremely indifferent to it, Owarimonogatari (literally 'end story', though the series doesn't conclude here) will most likely meet your expectations of the long-running light novel adaptation. For me, that means occasionally witty dialogue shoehorned with ecchi, traces of pedophilia, and genuinely interesting ideas muffled by execution. And yup, it's got all three. NisiOisiN really knows how to keep his writing consistent!

See, the joke there was that Monogatari is as inconsistent as can be, and widely varies in quality from arc to arc. Got it? No? I'll wait.

…OK? Let's move on.

While technically a four-arc series, there are read more
Dec 22, 2015
MatheusSantos (All reviews)
Owarimonogatari 1/Formula Ougi/ Sodachi Riddle/ Sodachi Lost:

Surreal.

The premise is intelligent and greedy, because it presents a new character at the time of 45 seconds — even with the arc coming a bit before the start of the Second Season.

The run begins, someone is shown and someone that has already been shown must be presented as a beginner now. Really interesting, the mysterious mood, the subtle air, it’s all part of a little mystery’s set that hasn’t even been mentioned before and that it's now featured — or so it has seemed.

The insertion of said Ougi, the memory of said Oikura. It’s mentioned like a dichotomy, read more
Dec 24, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
I was highly disappointed with Owarimonogatari. In my opinion it was a major step down compared to the rest of the series/stories. I thought if I gave it more time that maybe there would be a better chance of me liking it and changing my rating, however to my disappointment it did just the opposite.

To begin, with the story, there were so many things that could have been done to make the show better and actually worth watching. The best example I will give would be having a huge cut of the dialogue, reflecting on the past, flashbacks, and obviously talking. I felt like read more
Nov 19, 2016
Laputan_Machine (All reviews)
This series is beginning to wear on me. Bakemonogatari, with all its hints of a rich, expansive world of seemingly unrelated yet subtly interconnected occult stories, showed a great deal of promise. Yet, as things wind down toward a conclusion, the high feeling I had at the resolution to that initial story is being slowly sapped away from me.

Owarimonogatari certainly has much to offer visually, with a few key moments demonstrating how Shaft's techniques have been refined over the years. The first episode in particular is perhaps even more visually interesting and engagingly written than anything in Bakemonogatari, but unfortunately that creative drive seems to read more
Mar 1, 2016
Apdo1 (All reviews)
Many people who gave this monogatari series or owarimonogatari a lower than average rating, let me say this. The meaning of "owari" or the prefix name of this monogatari means the resolution or the end of something. By this sense, many of the monogatari that we saw with its prefix name tells you, and predetermine what you are about to see, within those monogatari series that will entails as its main theme or topic of the anime's discussion or introductory standpoints, until it meets it resolution or the end of that specific monogatari series. And if you notice something about this owarimonogatari series. Both shinobu's read more
Dec 23, 2015
ShadowBunny (All reviews)
Now this installment of the Monogatari series was fairly odd, since it tried to incorporate new characters as well as one old character that we don't know too much about. The show is split up into two stories, both being six episodes long. Although both stories are under the same title (Owarimonogarati) they don't really have anything to do with each other.

FIRST STORY
For the first story we are thrown into a very long first episode, you're pretty much watching a movie so make sure you're comfortable. The episode is pretty slow considering it takes place in one room for the entire time, but they read more
Dec 20, 2015
hoeze (All reviews)
Here we are with my fanboy review of another installment of the monogatari series. This series definitely stands out from heaps of other anime with very few series being like it. At first people might go into this series thinking its supposed to be something super artsy with hidden messages and metaphors everywhere but honestly all it does is take a fairly generic story and take a new approach with it. People criticize this series for its lack of character development and plot. A lot of these people watched 3 episodes and quit. Character development in this series is actually very interesting. The main read more
Apr 7, 2018
Aynu5h (All reviews)
In general, "The Cycle of Histories" is not a title for everyone, but it has its own zest. Before you look at the "Owarimonogatari", you need to look at the previous 6 stories, otherwise there will be no point in understanding the whole essence of this work. The "owarimonogatari" consists of 12 episodes, of which 1 is a hourly spell, the next 5 are sort of as flow from it, telling about Ougi Oshino and are more or less a separate story. But the last six are already full-fledged stories, by the way the first 6 series occur after the actions of the second 6 read more
Jan 8, 2017
FalseShepherd13 (All reviews)
::Alright here's a quick summing up of my thoughts. Consider it a short review. No need to waste your time with long-ass pretentious writing that doesnt cut to the chase::

So I just saw Owarimonogatari. And it was quite the fun time. The writing is just as impeccable, and it goes without saying that the franchise still is able to maintain my undivided attention despite 65 episodes of conversations stretched across several cours.

Ougi Oshino proves to be a surprisingly interesting character. Back when I first started Bakemonogatari and I saw the front cover for Owarimonogatari, I thought Ougi would just be another member of Koyomi's read more
Aug 12, 2016
GrayRealm (All reviews)
It is another monogatari title. Meaning you'll see a lot of characters that look at you with their head tilted, abstract backgrounds resembling post-modern art, and it'll once again involve Araragi Koyemi plus some of the characters you've seen in the past.

Now... my feeling of the anime were, in the end positive. Detailed breakdown is below.

Impression/details in no particular order.

The overall story is fairly weak for a monogatari series, and feels very drawn out. The first story ark in monogatari has a very strange choice of a subject that is very unusual for monogatari series, and felt out of place. The character of the first read more
Jan 3, 2016
SentiOnikawa (All reviews)
Owarimonogatari is yet another installment in the adaptation of the Monogatari LN series. This follows 3 stories, two of which focus on one character exclusively and resolve in a way that's both satisfactory and at the same time, kind of disappointing. The VA's of the focal female characters are doing their own openings with exception given (yet again) to Maaya Sakamoto. Decent Black strikes the nerves a funny bit the first few listens, but it soon becomes catchy and you find yourself obsessively looking it up on youtube. Mathemagics on the other hand, has a rather James Bond-esque feel to it that works really well read more
Dec 28, 2018
Injenss (All reviews)
What else can be said about the Monogatari series at this point in the game? It's been around for what feels like forever, presenting one of the best examples of dialogue, character and story-driven excellence in anime. Owarimonogatari is literally just a handful of prolonged conversations. The action within it can be summarized with one slap, a retaliatory punch, a brief fight with a samurai, a face grab and a touch to the chest. That's it. If any other anime that is supposed to be a mystery/action show tried getting away with that, it would be panned as boring. read more
Apr 3, 2018
godofmankind (All reviews)
*THE RATINGS FOR THIS ARE SPECIFIC TO THE PART, BUT THE REVIEW IS FOR THE OVERALL SERIES*

[STORY: 10/10]
The Monogatiri series comes together well to create a masterpiece of a story. This show is much deeper than alot of people think. It is filled to the brim with philosophical arguments and great storytelling. The focus isn't mainly on action, though it does have some visually stunning action scenes. Alot of the time, it will just be conversations between characters, but this is the blood that keeps this series alive and flourishing. Without it, you'd have a normal show with above average production. This type of show read more