Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Concrete Revolutio: Choujin Gensou


Alternative Titles

English: Concrete Revolutio
Synonyms: ConRevo
Japanese: コンクリート・レボルティオ~超人幻想~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2015 to Dec 27, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.821 (scored by 16,347 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1270
Members: 55,420
Favorites: 171

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 29, 2015
twilightbrigade (All reviews)
this show is really,really great and totally awesome in my opinion XOX i dont know how the hell everyone rate the anime really low.before i start the review i have to say that i'm not really cut out for some long review and i'll keep it as short as i can.sorry write a long review is really a pain in the ass.

what i will focused on is the story,
this story is about Jirou who work in superhuman bureau(divison which work on protecting superhuman) and how he faced every case and solved it.but later he rebel against the superhuman bureau,the reason about his rebel still unclear read more
Jan 1, 2016
ZephSilver (All reviews)
The 2015 seasonal lineup have given rise to several shows surrounding superheroes and their antics. From the well-known juggernauts like One Punch Man, to the more paradoxical ones like Punch Line; superhero stories seem to be on an all time rise, which can be a direct respondent to the recent boom for superhero films surging in the west. With the success of The Avengers, currently one of the highest-grossing movies of all time, and Marvel's ever-expanding cinematic universe, as well as DC Comics, who has also thrown their hats into the ring to follow the trend, this phase isn't expected to die down anytime soon. read more
Dec 27, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Original anime is quite a rarity these days. Most of the shows that you encounter on a normal seasonal basis are adaptations of manga, LN, or VN, as things really only get an anime when it's really popular. And then you have original anime, where there is no source material and only itself in order to tell the story it wants to tell. So, thanks to Bones, we have Concrete Revolutio. A show that...you know what, fuck it, a single word cannot describe this mess.

Story: In a fantasy version of the world, there are beings that live among humans known as read more
Dec 27, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Looking for a show about heroes fighting bad guys to save the world? Or maybe something really flamboyant with all type of gags? Perhaps interested in a series with all kinds of supernatural beings thrown into a big chunk of story all packaged ready to open? Concrete Revolutio might be your answer. At its core, the series is a wild ride with everything it tries. And given what it delivered, this show is quite a bit of fun.

A few things to know. Concrete Revolutio is an original series and not based on any work. The show is produced by Bones and directed by Seiji Mizushima, read more
Jan 1, 2016
m-i-c-h-a-e-l (All reviews)
Concrete Revolutio was the one show this season I wasn’t expecting to be as good as it was. This series was a pleasant surprise of Fall 2015. And as it has already been stated, the MAL average here is far underrated. This is definitely not a show you should judge based on first looks.

The artwork is fitting for the superhero theme of the show. In fact, the backgrounds are colored in by tiny dots, almost as if it were printed out from an actual superhero comic book. Other background elements are drawn with very basic shapes and colored solid, also as if it came from read more
Dec 31, 2015
sachi_shimazu (All reviews)
Phantasmagoria: an optical illusion produced by a magic lantern or the like in which figures increase or diminish in size, pass into each other, dissolve, etc.

This series' name is a perfect illusion to what it tries to create. It is a series of seemingly disconnected stories that at first try to just show what most stories within a superhero saga don't do, the consequences of an action. We see superheroes as beings who can do no wrong, but what happens when what we think is right, what we think we're protecting, turns out o be the wrong thing. That's what Concrete Revolution: Superhuman Phantasmagoria attempts read more
Jan 14, 2016
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I'm not going to deny that there was once a time when I liked Baccano and Durarara. After all, I watched them during a time in my life when the only anime I was familiar with were harem romance shit and I still thought Guy Ritchie and the first Iron Man movie was cool. Over time though, I've fallen out with them harder than people who once thought Clannad was a masterpiece of making you cry now see the show. There's only so long you can enjoy anime and other visual mediums for its quirkiness and being "better than the pack" before you start craving read more
Jan 8, 2016
somaisbatman (All reviews)
Concrete Revolutio is not the kind of show that you can find to be totally average. Nope, since episode 1, this show's been incredibly polarizing, leading to many people dropping the show because it didn't immediately fulfill their expectations. But after finishing the season and reflecting on it as a whole, Concrete Revolutio is something very exceptional.

Story: 9/10
Concrete Revolutio's unconventional narrative style is probably what initially scared many people away from the show. You see, the storyline is not linear. The date that episodes take place in will be shown at the start of the episode, but at first episodes do not seem to be read more
Dec 29, 2015
parabolloyd (All reviews)
Please give this anime a chance to develop. It will reward you big time in the end. Just like the other viewers, I was confused at first with the constant switching of time frames but you will soon appreciate how story was told as you reach the end. It is a unique experience where in the question "Why Jiro left the Superhuman Bureau?" is introduced in the beginning and you go back to the past to search for clues to answer that question. The constant flashbacks will give you hints on how the protagonist end up with his stand on the anime's main theme (justice, read more
Aug 25, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

One of my father’s favorite superheroes is Superman. But, to me, Superman is always one of my least favorite.

He can lift cars. He can literally deflect bullets. He can regenerate by exposing himself to sunlight. But what kills him? A rock. He is boring and, ironically, weak. Lame.

You know what is not lame? Concrete Revolutio: Choujin Gensou. Kryptonite will not be taking down Concrete anytime soon.

STORY

The anime world coins Concrete as a split-cour anime. Its first half plays in one season. A season-long break is taken. And then the second, final half plays during the read more
Jan 15, 2016
Corocis (All reviews)
Choujin Gensou is a show with a good concept with a lacklustre presentation, while questioning political and social aspect of superheroes.

This ain't your average super hero themed show, it tackles on rights of being, politics and social changes that occur when you have super human beings living among the norm.

The fight scenes are nice, but that isn't why this anime is attractive. Dealing with hard topics such as mentioned above is interesting, applying the same principles across all other superhero works and review what political and social backlash these superheroes should have brought.

The show has episodic nature yet it has consistent build up to a read more
Jan 1, 2016
Revenir (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before watching Concrete Revolutio, there's much to like and catch your eye. Bones is always an interesting studio, the artstyle pops, and it's about superhumans. But the real problem is what comes after.

Concrete Revolutio follows an organization that seeks out superhumans and protects them in order to maintain public order. This show's plot isn't necessarily beat up some guy abusing his power and terrorizing the city which is a good thing. But it starts to fall wayward soon after its start.

The big issue I have with the show is that nothing is properly connected. This is not because of the occasional transitions between the current read more
Feb 20, 2017
XanWasting (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well. Concrete Revolutio. yeah.
So, let me say the most important thing first. Although I gave this show 8/10, I did not enjoy it at all. This show is that type of a work that has very high value, yet no one really enjoys it (akin to shakespearean plays). The characters are interesting, the animation is vibrant, the problems and solution it proposes are reasonably well thought out, and yet it's utter pain to watch, with a band-aid in form of vivid colors and mechas.

Incidentallly, there's just one thing that ruins the enjoyment, which is the pacing/way of storytelling. It's that LET'S-FUCKING-JUMP-ALL-OVER-THE-TIMELINE-BETWEEN-PEACEFUL-DAYS-AND-THE-END-GAME-FINALE-FULL-OF-TREATCHERY-AND-STRIFE kind of deal that read more
Jun 28, 2016
ghosts-forever (All reviews)
Concrete Revolutio is a story about justice, but not in the traditional sense. The story does not use justice as a means of black and white character motivation or to move forward a sequence of events. It does not involve someone seeking revenge for the murder of their family, or a magical little girl fighting for love and justice.

Concrete Revolutio instead gives a story about seeking out answers that no one can give you, specifically about justice and what seeking justice truly means. This means that the characters analyze justice for themselves, and in the end, come to a conclusion about whether or not read more
Apr 8, 2016
LovelyPain (All reviews)
Warning
This review is solely based on my own opinion and is in no way intended to insult or discourage anyone from watching this anime. We all have our own likes and opinions and should not allow someone else's word to overpower our own.

Before I start this review I think it's safe to say that this anime can be adequately described as a 'hit or miss' anime. Meaning that you're either going to absolutely love it or absolutely hate it. There will be no in between (unless your special and believe that this anime was just 'fair' like me)

Story: 10/10
Without spoiling any important information from the read more