Junjou Romantica
Junjo Romantica
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Junjo Romantica
Synonyms: Junjyou Romantica, Junjou Romantica: Pure Romance
Japanese: 純情ロマンチカ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 11, 2008 to Jun 27, 2008
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Shounen AiShounen Ai
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 9907699,076 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8132
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #657
Members: 171,606
Favorites: 4,976

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 10, 2011
OtakuTrey (All reviews)
For anyone that is unsure about giving this series a chance, then you should read this to see if its right for you or not. (look for *)

IF! you switched half the guys for girls people would say this is one of the best romance anime's to date. That is how good this story, and anime are!

Okay here is a little background on me, I am a Straight male with no interest in men or for even watching a BL series, However there might be a few people out there who's Girlfriends really want to watch this so..... they FORCE you to watch this (which read more
Jan 29, 2009
iamjoe (All reviews)
Oh, an anime that certainly puts the fab back in fabulous and the gay back in yaoi.

Junjou Romantica is a yaoi anime, as anyone with eyes would know. What it is, is a well loved yaoi anime and a pretty crappy normal anime. Yes fangirls, feel free to hate on me now, it's okay. Just one word of warning: you will never get any of these men. They're gay and fictional. Now go cry about it.

The storyline is plain old unbelievable. You expect me to believe that there are so many gay guys who are all inter-related, yet most don't know the rest read more
May 25, 2008
meowmeow21 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So since no one has gotten a chance to review this anime I guess I will do the honors of being the first. I stumbled upon this anime while searching for random videos of youtube and I have to say I never expected it to be as good as it turned out to be. I just cannot stop watching this anime its completely and utterly addictive. Sorry this isnt going to be very dramatic and new york times like.

Story:
Definitely a yaoi girls(or guys) dream. The story is filled of 3 main plots all involving 3 different couples. There is the teddy bear obsessed writer read more
Jul 31, 2014
ihateeveryone (All reviews)
You want to know what really helps shape a relationship for me? An abundance of rape, sexual assault, and non-consensual acts being performed to your partner. God, what a literal pure romance that is. Thankfully, Junjou Romantica was sure to base one of its relationship entirely off of non-con and definitely wasn't afraid to add in some of that to the other relationships as well! Definitely the type of romance any gay man would dream of.

There are three different "love" stories in this anime, and all three manage to be equally as terrible as the other. For one thing, let's talk about the fact that read more
Nov 11, 2008
Whoomp (All reviews)
In Junjou Romantica you get to follow 2 couples (and a potential third) with Usagi and Misaki being the one that gets the most exposure. Then there is Hiroki and Nowaki which is basically the same thing as the first couple, younger guy + older guy, but reversed positions between the sheets. If you ask me I think that just focusing on Usagi and Misaki would have been better cause the others just feelt tacked on for the sole purpose of having more bi-shounens ( or "pretty boys" if you like).

The music is nothing special, it doesn't help to add to the mood but it read more
Aug 1, 2008
natsuocosplay (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS IS THE ONLY PERFECT 10 I THINK I'LL EVER GIVE!

I really think that this is the best yaoi I have ever watched and will ever watch. There is pretty much no comparison to how amazing it is. I mean, sure, it only is really attractive to yaoi fans to watch it, but I think that other people could learn to love it… at least the story.

STORY – It’s totally amazing how they have two storied going at different points. There will be episodes about Usagi and Misaki, and then there will be an episode about Hiroki and Nowaki. The story line for Usagi and read more
Mar 12, 2012
Klabautermann (All reviews)
Dear yaoi fandom,
there is such an impressive quantity of yaoi out there that are actually really good. Been there, seen it. So why in the world do you love Junjou Romantica so much?

Starting out as a hardcore fan of the series, I gave myself a few years of growing up before I realized this anime deserves to be proverbially spat on with passion. Shamed and enlightened, I saw the Truth and it set me Free. Dramatic as it sounds, fellow reader, the Truth IS: this anime (especially manga) is an utter fuckup.

Probably the biggest problem with today's yaoi that is present here; the 'uke' read more
May 12, 2015
Pastabeanchuu (All reviews)
So bad it's good!
If you are looking for a terribly written shounen ai anime with the most cliché characters and a ridiculous story, Junjou Romantica is the anime you need to watch! (it has dub-con, be warned)

This is a must-see if you are a fan of the genre and want a good laugh. If you really want to watch something good (and I assure you, good yaoi does actually exists), I suggest you run far away from this.

The characters and situations are as stereotypical as they can get in a romance anime. So stereotypical and cliché in fact, that it actually read more
Jul 23, 2008
Janks1415 (All reviews)
A bloody brillant show. It was incredibly cute, with so many adorable moments I could've choked on the fluff. It was also very humorous, with some really random, hilarious moments, leaving me laughing out loud. All the characters personalities were incredible, and I loved all of them. It's rare for me to find a show where there's maybe only one person hate, so this show was really good in that sense. Each character is so different and unique, so everytime a new character was introduced it was refreshing. The plot itself wasn't one of the best, although it always managed to make me either crack read more
Nov 17, 2013
nazunya (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, so don't expect it to be perfect... It'll be short.
I'm going to try to get through this review without fangirling, okay? Haha, kidding.

I found this show randomly on RightStuf. the plot sounded pretty good, but I was a little hesitant at first, since it was a yaoi. I honestly expected it to be awful at first. I'm glad it played out the way it did.

Story: 8/10

The plot of Junjou Romantica revolves around three gay couples going about their everyday lives. It's very simple, but can get confusing since it never focuses on just one couple. It's a character driven romance, read more
Aug 21, 2010
rojocharmander (All reviews)
Since you already have the summary above I'll just jump into my review :)

Story:
While I was watching this, I began to wonder how long had it been since I'd gotten so enchanted by a particular story in an anime. So much that watching it put me on the edge of my seat and had me deeply concerned over the fate of the characters. Well Junjou Romantica did all that and more, it left me breathless, and my heart over flowing with joy. The story is absolutely class A work, it doesn't focus on just the sexual relationship the characters have, it actually gives us a read more
Apr 18, 2010
BrynjaBloodmire (All reviews)
Let's start this off with overall Junjou Romantica was a very good anime. The story was intresting enough to keep you watching, with a few slower parts. Though it did leave me with a feeling of just watching a chick flick. It was diffinitaly full of drama.

Some of the characters were deep, others not so much. The animimation of them were done well, and the voices matched the characters. But there were times when the words didn't match the mouths moving. And the timing was off by a noticeable amount.

I'd suggest this anime if your in the mood for drama an romance. Junjou Romantica is read more
Aug 16, 2009
Ellenore_shade (All reviews)
Well this is my first review and I hope someone finds it helpful.

The Story:
Junjou Romantica was an incredible yaoi themed anime. It created a story of not just high school romance but adults after school. However the storyline from there is at the best basic. Out of the three storylines written into the overall story only the main story develops. The two basic characters Misaki and Akihiko are two lovers who conquer all expectations of both of them and continue to be together. The end of the plot. Yes there are hardships for the two but the ideas are unrealistic and could cause confusion read more
Jul 5, 2016
juneboba (All reviews)
Preliminary
The only reason this even has a 2/10 rating is because I enjoyed Nowaki and Hiroki's narrative—1 point for each character.

Usami is a romanticized rapist and manipulator—there's no other way to spin his character. He was very manipulative and predatory and it was just really distasteful. There was nothing likable about him. I really did enjoy Nowaki's and Hiro's stories however. Had the story only been about the two of them, Junjou Romantica would have received a 8/10 rating from me. But it wasn't so I decided to drop it. I just can't support a series that tries to make rape and abuse a normal read more
Jan 13, 2011
KuraKaze (All reviews)
Story 9/10

Junjou Romantica is one of my favourite BL stories of all times. It is not a "yaoi" story that is filled with pointless sex scenes. In fact, there is no explicit sex shown in the anime at all. Any sex is mostly short and glossed over, and used to add to the mood of the story.

The story deals with 3 couples that are semi- interconnected (while living their own lives). These 3 couples have very similar romances and faces similar problems, but each one deals with them differently. The focus of the story is mostly dealing with the character's personal feelings and thoughts, read more
Sep 1, 2013
Hachiko75 (All reviews)
So this is my fourth yaoi, but first one where it is an actual story with more than two episodes. I would have rated it a ten, but I did not care for the third couple in the terrorist arc. It, to me, was no different than a little girl having a crush on her teacher. This boy, I'm sure he had feelings for him for a long time, but to just up and chase him the way he did. Ugh! He just came off as confused and desperate to me. I didn't like that couple.

But the other two I love! I like that Misaki read more
Feb 15, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
This year for our Valentine's week romance review, we're looking at Junjou Romantica. This one is based off of the best known work of Nakamura Shungiku. The manga has been going since late 2003. The anime, at least the first series of it, aired in 2008. And that was brought to us by Studio Deen. Yes, the same studio that brought us Gravitation, Twilight Q, & Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinju. I have a feeling one of those is going to bear far more similarities to this than the others. But maybe I'm just making assumptions based on the genre overlap. Is this one read more
Aug 9, 2010
Winterwolkje (All reviews)
Junjo Romantica is a great yaoi anime, I say yaoi anime on purpose. As an anime, it's so-so I guess, but I'm a huge yaoi-fan and I loves this anime. It's one of the cutest shows I've ever seen.
let's discuss it:

Story: 7/10
Well, the story isn't that great, I admit. It's pretty obvious what will happen and it's not really progressing. You're just following three couples and how they are changing in the relationship, overcoming obstacles and sometimes becoming the obstacles themselves.
The main couple is Misaki/Usami, "side couples" are Hiroki/Nowaki and Miyagi/Shinobu. I liked that they all sort of know each other (except Shinobu).
The reason read more
Jul 24, 2008
MissOffline (All reviews)
This is one of the best anime I've ever seen in the BL/yaoicategory. It made me burst of with laughing from the hilarious moments, almost crying from the sad moments and smiling from the sweetness.
The story is not good, but that doesn't matter to me since I enjoyed this series so much anyway.
I think the voices could be better, some of the voices just don't fit the characters. I had to be used to the opening to like it but I don't really like the ending, so that could be better to me (although this part depends on ones taste).
Otherwise this is a masterpriece to read more
Apr 29, 2015
Utsusemi1 (All reviews)
I just finished watching this.. literally. I had to review it before I watch the second half (Season 2) so I can separate it at least for you guys.

This is my second BL anime - Sekaiichi Hatsukoi being the first. For a sense of similarity I wasn't bored or disappointed at all. There are a lot of people who compare this to SH and with good reason - it's practically the same. BUT what you are watching is not just the same story with different characters, they are separate in their own right and the back lay for settings and themes is totally different.

I'll read more