Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tales of Zestiria the Cross


Alternative Titles

English: Tales of Zestiria the X
Synonyms: Tales of Zestiria the X
Japanese: テイルズ オブ ゼスティリア ザ クロス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 10, 2016 to Sep 25, 2016
Premiered: Summer 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: ufotable
Source: Game
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 92,067 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19932
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #463
Members: 217,600
Favorites: 730

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2016
KuroKagami (All reviews)
I admit it, I watched this because ufotable never disappoints me when it comes to animation. I wanted to have some eye candy, and I had. The problem with Tales of Zestiria is that nothing is memorable, the animation is pretty decent...but, what about the story, the characters. Where's the spirit?

Story 3/10

The story is about a boy who lives in a magical world and he becomes the "chosen one" to defeat evil because...yeah, that's something totally original. The story is so bad I don't even feel sympathetic with the creatures that live in this world. The world is your typical read more
Sep 25, 2016
Stark700 (All reviews)
After watching just the first few minutes of this show, I can safely say that Ufotable has once again proven that they are worthy of handling CG. Beyond the visuals, Tales of Zestiria the X is more than just another Unlimited visual porn.

The series is based on the video game of the franchise although it has its own set of principles. Early impressions of the show establishes a set-up as we meet the main protagonists – Alisha, Sorey, and Mikelo. From the setting, there are many conflicts, mostly those that revolve around the supernatural and unnatural phenomenons. In addition, the story indulges with its read more
Sep 25, 2016
Deisiya (All reviews)
Tales of Zestiria the X was an anime that I, well not only me but most had been waiting for a very long time. Knowing that it was an anime from the studio Ufotable, that is known to have flawless and picturesque CG, I was very exited and thrilled about how they were going to execute the series. I haven't played the game of it, nor seen the play-through of it. Therefore it was an entirely new series for me.

The art/animation was perfect, the battle animation, the landscapes, very realistic to almost mesmerizing detail... that I had to hand down to them, it was read more
Sep 15, 2016
Immortalbear (All reviews)
Preliminary
Have you ever had a hotdog? Its a quick and easy to prepare meal that can be enjoyed by anyone. Most people that eat a hot dog need something filling that does not take a lot of time out of their day, as they have other things to do than savor food.

Well imagine if everyday as a natural routine, you bought a hot dog from a vendor. Then one day, when you bought that hot dog, you met a world class chef who offered to make a world class meal for the price of a hot dog. However, out of habit you instinctively say read more
Nov 4, 2016
jc9622 (All reviews)
I learned two things while I was watching Tales of Zestiria the X.
1: Ufotable is one of the few studios in the world who can adapt a video game properly and with extreme care
2: Their visuals and animation never ceases to amaze me.


[Story]: (6/10)
Tales of Zestiria doesn't really have the best story out there. It's nothing innovative, it's nothing new and it's been done before. I played the game and I wasn't really impressed with the game's story and it's the same case here. It wasn't shit or anything. The story was just decent, at best. It's just a story of "Good vs read more
Mar 21, 2017
AppuruGummi (All reviews)
(Before i start reviewing this show, i will clear out something, my english is not perfect, so if i commit mistakes, i'm sorry).

Well, i started this show because i LOVE the Tales series, and i finished the game a week before this came out and getting kinda dissapointed with it, and after knowing that this will be different than the game's plot, i decided to give it a chance.

Story: 6/10
Well, the story from the beginning is kinda clitche, Sorey (MC) becomes the sheperd and goes on a adventure with his seraph friends to save the world, i liked that they made the world actually read more
Aug 1, 2018
Otaku329 (All reviews)
Tales of zestiria the X is in my opinion an average anime........for some the story might be a little boring and i am one of them they kinda failed to make moments from which we expect great hype and brilliance to be up to our expectations although it was improved later on in the season 2....

It made me hoked to it because of great animation quality...No doubt Ufotable makes one of the best animations.... The plot was improved greatly afterwards not be afraid it was not that boring it simply failed to express that epicness which we were expecting !!!


characters: 8
It has some interesting characters read more
Nov 5, 2016
Omegas82128 (All reviews)
Short review: This anime has awesome graphics and shit story.
Detailed review: I have been offended by many anime but never has an anime made me so angry. When it started, I thought to myself this anime might be just amazing. Oh boy was I wrong. It probably has one of the best graphics out there and they just go to waste as the story seems to be written by a teenager who is full of his own shit. I think the main audience for this show were stupid teenagers? But that's still no excuse for such horrible plot and story writing. The anime tries read more
Nov 3, 2016
Gwailo (All reviews)
Note: I watched the show first, played the game, and then rewatched some episodes afterwards. Therefore, most of my commentary is going to be based on how well the adaptation conveyed information with respect to in-game elements (skits, townsmen info, etc.).

The biggest concern I had with this show is with the pacing, since I didn't know how much of the game this first season would cover and with 2/12 episodes dedicated to Tales of Berseria. S1 barely covers the first few hours of the game; Sorey does not have his "full party" yet, and has only learned of the main antagonist towards the ending. I'm read more
Mar 4, 2018
KnightSirius (All reviews)
Had to write a review on this one because it came from such a greatly respected studio...

Visuals - 9/10

As expected from Ufotable the visuals are absolutely stunning. They are easily one of the top 3 studios for quality visuals. The only reason thing that could have been improved visually was the CGI dragons which felt a bit odd most of the time. Obviously this is ridiculously hard to get right though.

Music 7/10

Music was pretty generic and is more suited to a game, reminded me greatly of Dark Souls III wouldn't be surprised if it was the same composer(s). I enjoy this sort of music but read more
Oct 12, 2016
Shingster (All reviews)
First of all although i have played the game that serves as the source material for the anime i haven't completed it. Additionally the anime expands a lot of what was only shown and mentioned in the game and diverges a lot from it so at this point whether or not i finished it is a bit mute.

The main story of Tales of Zestiria revolves around the story of the Shepard and more precisely the story of the newest Shepard who in this is the main character Sorey. The Shepard is supposed to a powerful figure that has the power to interact with read more
Sep 30, 2016
Asunakob (All reviews)
Tales of Zestiria the X ... When I found out they're making an anime based on the game I really liked , naturally I got pretty excited although I wasn't expecting anything phenomenal but the anime was better than what I expected . Of course it doesn't live up to the game but it is pretty good by itself . Let's talk about the anime , the story covers almost half of the game which is expected since they confirmed second season's production . It's consisted of 3 episodes about the upcoming Tales of Berseria and other 9 episodes are based on the Tales Of read more
Sep 27, 2016
BrDrawolf (All reviews)
I need to play the game to see the anime? Absolutely, NO! Even if you played, they did the anime so marvelous that players and non-players get a new experience without drop of the plot! Even you gonna have a demo in anime of the next game!

Let's start talking about the story, this is a Tales of story, a story with certain characteristics of RPGs based in a world of magic, swords and warriors, if you are familiar with the games or the animations, you will be like in home, as I said, the anime has another path to follow taking the important parts with read more
Sep 25, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Ufotable. The name of the production company has an army of fans in its wake from the kind of quality that their adaptations have been able to produce. From story to soundtrack to the oh so god-like animation with a seemingly unlimited budget for just how well produced is looks, very little can be said about Ufo that hasn't already been said before. And so, we come to their newest project, Tales of Zestiria the X, a game adaptation from one of the "Tales of" games about a boy's journey to purge the world of malevolence.

Story: The world of Zestiria is plagued read more
Sep 25, 2016
Madness17 (All reviews)
The more time passes, the harder it gets to create an anime that truly stand out in their genre and most of them end up being very similar to their predecessors, only less memorable. With that in mind, Tales of Zestiria doesn't even try to set itself apart from all the other fantasy anime and ends up being a story that has been done 1000 times before and 1000 times better.

Let's start with the story. Firstly, the setting couldn't be more generic. At first, it seemed interesting, because it was a village where these mythical beings known as Seraphim live and had some mystical ruins read more
Apr 26, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've talked about Namco's Tales franchise twice before. With reviews of the Phantasia and Symphonia anime. Zestiria is one of the more recent games and the first series of its anime ran late last year. It was brought to us by Ufotable. You may recall them as the same studio that worked on the Symphonia OVA I looked at, and Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight. How did they do with the first series of Zestiria? Let's have a look. Please note, this review includes the one episode prequel: Saiyaku no Jidai.

Story:

We open with Princess Alisha sending a soldier to investigate a strange cloud overshadowing a city read more
Oct 2, 2016
Need_for_Steed (All reviews)
I've was patient with this series. I really was. But after everything, the show still didn't have a clear plot or direction. It didn't even have an atmosphere, something that the equally poorly paced God Eater (also produced by ufotable) at least had.

What pisses me off the most is that the rules of this world seem to be written by a six year old: "So there's these ruins, and then there's this hero who can see spirits but only he can, and then there's this princess who really likes him. And then he goes off to kill dragons and stuff." There's not much behind read more
Sep 25, 2016
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: Tales of Zestiria takes place in a world where long ago, humans and supernatural beings called seraphim lived alongside one another. Over the years, humanity lost the ability to perceive the seraphim and they grew scarce as the negative emotions of humanity, a corrupting force called ‘malevolence,’ took root in the land. Legends speak of ancient saviors called Shepherds who would bridge the gap between the two beings however none have appeared and the world grows darker by the day. The story begins when Alisha Diphda (Kayano Ai), princess of the Highland Empire, encounters a young read more
Sep 25, 2016
animegirlism (All reviews)
After 12 long weeks, Tales of Zestiria the X finally came to an end, or rather unfortunately, because it was fantastic. Even before the start of the Summer 2016 season I knew that I could expect much of an Ufotable fantasy, action and adventure anime. I did not play the game so I won't be able to tell you which one was better, the game or the anime adaptation. But what I can do for sure is write my impressions and thoughts on the anime in this review. I know I am a week late with it but I hope you still enjoy!

PLOT AND STORY read more
Jun 23, 2018
KyasutoNaito (All reviews)
TALES OF ZESTIRIA THE X SEASON 1 ANIME REVIEW

WARNING: SPOILER

OVERALL: 10/10

PLOT: 10/10

One of the most intriguing topic is human nature, for me. Thus, this anime series is unexpectedly good. I thought this will only consist of a normal adventure-action anime tag along with a loli character, a bishounen, you get what my point is. But it is perfect. It has a great combination of reality and fantasy. It contains of deeper views of human emotions, how they think, how they react, how fragile they can be. How a simple misunderstanding can lead to such agony and pain. How weak humans are when it comes to read more