Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen


Utawarerumono: The False Faces

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Utawarerumono: The False Faces
Synonyms: Utawarerumono: The False Mask
Japanese: うたわれるもの 偽りの仮面

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2015 to Mar 27, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: White Fox
Source: Visual novel
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.261 (scored by 3839438,394 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #26352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1680
Members: 96,032
Favorites: 350

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2016
Rhapsody- (All reviews)
Second Season > First Season.


No, it's not a joke.


I guess if you're here is because you watched more of the first 12 chapters, right? Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen, something that seemed to be a spin-off, was actually a sequel to Utawarerumono, hence many had expected something very similar to its predecessor and, in that sense, were disappointed, but... What so special is the first Utawarerumono?

Both series are of the same: a "medieval fantasy world" where peace is apparent, although there are frictions between various kingdoms, and where one day, appeared someone without memories whose fate will influence many people and the fate of read more
Mar 28, 2016
HikariKyuubi (All reviews)
This is a review written after I saw it entirely. So, it'll diverge a lot in relation to those which had been written around the beginning. Is my first review, mainly cause of the controversial feeling about this anime.

Story: People may say that it hasn't a story, I say the otherwise. The first half can be a low-development kind. For those who compared directly with the first Utawarerumono, it really is slow and without a outter story development. Though, the second half goes on a exponential curve of "Give me the next episode!". So, we have character and environment presentation and later the rampage of read more
Mar 27, 2016
Alva_UwU (All reviews)
Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen is one tough anime to review. I started watching it without having seen the first season (I probably should have done that, but in the end I felt like I was able to understand the story without it) and had some mixed feelings while watching it. Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen is an anime that starts out as a slice of life and fantasy type of anime and ends as an action and drama type. I'm having a hard time deciding if that was a good thing since it made it good in some areas, but bad in others. As stated before read more
Mar 29, 2016
Suffaru3 (All reviews)
Everything about this anime is fantastic.In my most honest opinion,it is a good succesor to the 2006 season.The art is outstanding,story is very comprehensive and deep and expands its roots from the first season.The characters all have their own background behind them and very interesting and well-tought ones at that.While watching the first season will triple your excitement about this anime,you don't need to do that in order to see the fantastic story.It is honestly very rare for me to feel this way about an anime and encourage others to watch it as well,and not to give it a bad rating after watching only 25% read more
Apr 9, 2016
Silfie (All reviews)
Warning: Review may contain spoilers.

Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen is a good example of why a second season is sometimes a terrible idea. I can't help but wonder if most of these "reviews" even watched this anime.

The "successor" to the charming first season of the series, which was a series with likeable characters that saw well-paced development, followed with a strong narrative and art/sound direction for the time and was an overall joy to watch.

Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen, however, falls flat on all expectations short of art direction and soundtrack. Characters lack any real depth, they don't grow, bond or build a real relationship, we can read more
Apr 5, 2016
popoklemos (All reviews)
- Be advised, don't read this review if you have not finish the anime as it contains spoilers -

Firstly, I would like to say that I like Utawarerumono, but I haven't play the Visual Novel at all. Contrary to the high scores that most people give to this anime, I would have to say that this anime is one giant mess, whether it's because of the original material or the director, there is nothing great about the sequel to great series of Utawarerumono.

The main issue with this anime is its story which I really dislike, especially with how the anime starts and ends. In my read more
Mar 27, 2016
ifalna (All reviews)
*
I'd say there might be mild spoilers, but then again, there is almost nothing to spoil :'(
*
Before I start my rant I will state that I have enjoyed the art and soundtrack in this series (my reaction to the piano track was overwhelmingly positive) . Let us start with the fact, that I have liked the first Utawarerumono series quite a lot. That was mostly because of the narrative, character development and the relation between Hakuoro, Eruru and the rest of the gang. That being said, Itsuwari no Kamen tried to draw some obvious parallels and teased us in a couple of scenes, read more
Apr 18, 2016
Liveless (All reviews)
This is a lax review that falls more to the compartment style (and being my first review).
After enjoying the first season of Utawarerumono, i wanted more! So i turned to Itsuwari no Kamen. Luckily i didn't watch the original show when it aired now 10 years ago because the wait and disappointment would have crushed me even harder than it just recently did.

Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen starts off with setting identical to the original, but quickly changes to your typical slice of life fantasy setting. MC starts building harem of sorts and nothing reminiscent of plot or traces to first season is to be seen read more
Mar 26, 2016
Krisient (All reviews)
So, after watching the whole thing, even though i did not watch the first season, i do recommend it since because there are some ties regarding haku and kuon, so this is coming from a person who had not watch the first season, but do understand a few things from the first season, and who heard about the visual novel of this.

Story-10, i heard some things in the visual novel, and the first half, 12 episodes or so, were more like, character introductions and such. You know, that getting to know character to build more emotion to the characters. After the first half, then read more
Mar 29, 2016
AgntTwelfth (All reviews)
A lot of people complain about the fan service, but you have to remember what they were adapted from. This series has it's share of service, but the story is deeper than it seems, just like the first series it has mystery and a strange beautiful world that confuses and mystifies the MC. Sure this one could've been better, but all in all it is nothing more than a big build up to the next part. It has your suspense, wonder, fantasy, fighting and more, give it a shot before you judge it based on screen caps. The art and sound are one of my read more
Apr 26, 2016
kuroclown (All reviews)
This had so much potential to be good, perhaps the game or manga[if there is a manga] would be better than the anime at delivering the finished piece of this utawarerumono story, but there is one glaring terrible thing of this series

The main character; i'm not saying his personality or anything is bad, it's how he's presented. He's constantly extolled as a character that gets things done, but what the story shows him really being able to do is fix a mill and teach the princess a lesson and even those weren't that great because with the mill he simply removes the stopper and with read more
Apr 2, 2016
widowmaker (All reviews)
So first of all if you have not watched the original Utawarerumono anime you probably need to do that first or else there will be points in this story that you will definitely find yourself lost because this is a continuation of the original Utawarerumono story line.

I found this anime quite a bit more enjoyable than the first. You get more in depth with the characters and the tone is much lighter that in the original anime. I do like how well the story progressed through each and every character ultimately building to the conclusion which in itself is another beginning.

Most read more
Jun 21, 2016
Quickie (All reviews)
Story: 4

Bland, specially within the first half of the anime and that’s 12 episode of runtime wasted on weak attempt to develop the characters. At best, the plot is mediocre. It again wasted the rich foundation the prequel built and the very detailed world already built. The show also failed to take advantage of a crucial plot event that should have made momentous changes to the story.Overall, very disappointing story but another element truly dragged it down.

Art: 8

Fluid animation and nothing hurts the eye, though nothing to give you wow factor either. Characters designs receive thumbs up and in my opinion it is superior compared read more
May 3, 2020
Mr_Yaz (All reviews)
Preliminary
✪ Genre: action (swordplay) [episodes 14-24], comedy [episodes 1-13], drama, high fantasy, military, seinen with elements of superpower and sci-fi (human experimentation) [episode 17]


✔Positive Aspects✔

◧ Soundtrack: decent work, mostly comprised of Japanese folk music, and orchestral, film score-like tracks, usually embellishing the action sequences. It could have been more captivating, though.

◧ Comedy: the comedic sequences spanning the first 13 episodes were inarguably the only enjoyable part of this series.


✘Negative Aspects✘

◧ Animation: even though the colors are more saturated and more vibrant compared to the previous 'season', I had a hard time telling apart the adolescent/young adult female characters, and, at times, even Haku and read more
Mar 27, 2016
sazerarrow2 (All reviews)
Story
the story starts with Kuon which is the female main character of this series . The story overall was awesome if you loved the first season as it expanded on the story of which how the experimental beings from the first season or the people grew and became the prominent people we know in the story . It explains why Yamato is so advance and why Yamato is able to have the masks like in the first season even though its not nearly as strong as the original mask . Though the ending maybe abit of a disappointment but its still an read more
Mar 26, 2016
whitetragedy (All reviews)
I'll start off by saying that I'm a big fanboy of the Utawarerumono series. I've watched the original anime series and it was so good that it made me play the Visual Novel version. (Which brought me into the Visual Novel world - this was a few years ago) So it's natural that I was overjoyed when I heard Itsuwari no kamen was getting animated. I also came in with some expectations.


With that said, here's my slightly biased review of Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen.

Story:6

The first few episodes were beautiful, it allowed first time viewers to get used to the world and the people in it. read more
Mar 26, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
In 2006, the world was graced with a fantasy world of animal themed people surrounded by mystery and war. The series known as Utawarerumono has since then become a bit of a cult classic with its mix of fantasy and science to formulate the world's backstory, in conjunction with the present day story with what is essentially a completely new world. And so, 9-10 years later after the first Utawarerumono, we have Itsuwari no Kamen, the false faces, the second installment of the Utawarerumono trilogy.

Story: Twenty years after the end of the first Utawarerumono ended, the world has been relatively read more
Oct 4, 2016
IP3an (All reviews)
This anime is a failure as a sequel, so much so that it made me make an account to this website just so i could review it. "A bunch of girls in a bathtub" would be another name for this anime. The anime is about random girls who just decide to move in with the MC for no reason at all take baths about twice per episode, talk about boys all night long, and meet new girls to take baths with. The MC has 0 skills there is nothing special about him he barely even shows up since the story just kinda focused the entire read more
Jun 9, 2016
-GLOtaku- (All reviews)
Where did it all go wrong?!?
The first season of Uawarerumono was great; the characters were developed well, the story was compelling, the action was good and it was enjoyable.
The second season on the other hand is like rotting meat left in sewage compared to a nice juicy steak (with the first season being the steak).
It starts off well, my hopes for it meeting the standard of the first season were high. Then it took a massive plunge like an obese man flopping off a 30 metre high diving board.
At least 10 episodes have no, or completely unrelated content in regards to the main storyline. The read more
Apr 2, 2016
Trumpcard (All reviews)
Utawarerumono: Itsuwari no Kamen is the successor of the original 2006 anime Utawarerumono. Both are 25-episodes anime and both are set in the same setting.

First and foremost, I would advise you watch the first season before attempting to watch this one. Otherwise, you will not understand half of what happens in the second half of the anime. You might think this is obvious since this is a second season but you'd be surprised how many people dived straight in that anime without watching the original first...

To start off with a side note, I am baffled by the amount of people who claim this anime is read more