Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata ♭


Alternative Titles

English: Saekano: How to Raise a Boring Girlfriend .flat
Synonyms: Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata Flat
Japanese: 冴えない彼女〈ヒロイン〉の育てかた♭

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 14, 2017 to Jun 23, 2017
Premiered: Spring 2017
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 79,616 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8252
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #634
Members: 171,270
Favorites: 1,141

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2017
ItsFilipe (All reviews)
This is the second season of Saekano and like it should it starts of after the ending of the first one.
I liked the first season but to me it didn't seem to be anything special or worth remembering, i mean you had the best girl fight like you have in any harem show nowadays, but this second season just raised the bar so high that it kept me waiting and hoping that thursday would finally come so i could watch this show.
Story - 9
-This story is very straightforward, you have the MC, Tomoya and his circle trying to make read more
May 13, 2017
harshtruth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Man, I can't believe I suffered through 4 episodes just to write a review but apparently you have to...thanks MAL

Well, well, well wasn't this an unfortunate mistake. If there's one thing I hate, is anime series that are pretentious and lure you in with false promises of an enriching story (granted this was pretty much NOT that). The story continues off the 1st season where...oh who cares, the plot is in the description...I'm just here to tell you it's awful. Some find this show enjoyable but I'm not here to argue taste, you have yours and I have mine.

This show is as shallow as it read more
Jun 22, 2017
BlackCicero (All reviews)
After stumbling across this series and binge-watching the entirety of Season 1, with regard to this season, I think I was able to get more enjoyment overall from the show. I felt like this season there was more focus on the character dynamics between Tomoya, Megumi, Utaha and Eriri. As a result I felt like they were able to get much more character development than I felt they did in Season 1.
I feel like Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata is one of the better anime in the Harem genre and it doesn't really have many of the failings one might find when watching anime with Harem read more
Jun 22, 2017
PyraXadon (All reviews)
The road for a ‘Creative’ is a long and difficult one. The pressure of meeting deadlines, constantly improving yourself, and ultimately making something that you want is a struggle that many artists find themselves in as they try and share with the world the vision that they have. And so we find ourselves with the second season of Saekano, as we see the conclusion of what the doujin circle ‘Blessing Software’ has to offer.

Story: Picking off from the first season, Saekano Flat (which I will refer to as ‘Flat’ for the rest of the review) continues the story of Tomoya Aki and read more
Feb 24, 2018
Heika- (All reviews)
first, i will talk about the art. the art is amazing. how the animator draws the eye, the curve of the body, and the animation is remarkable. The characters's eye reminds me about Grisaia's art. Though the studio is different. Nice art, A-1 Pictures.

about music is still far compared to season 1, which gives the Icy Tail a chance for them to perform. But in season 2 they do not appear even once.

About the character, the main character is too weak and can make the audience feel the anger is quite extraordinary. especially when he refused to come to pick up eriri when she was read more
May 15, 2017
Apdo1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
To keep it simple, I like this show. It's not one of those typical harem show that would've suffice the needs of all horny men as a fap material, and of those that like to be teased by an animated sexy and cute 2D girl where real sex never really happen in this show, despite how turned on the MC should've been in those situation. In this case, Saenai Heroine no sodatekata is one of those rare show where the MC lacks the libido, or aka, sexual lust for 3D women; even if they're a cute blonde loli tsundere whose reputation and status as a read more
Jun 9, 2017
iilxaeju (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review exists purely for the purpose of aiding those who watched episode 9 and are wondering why you feel the need to throw up at the nearest toilet seat. So if you arrived here after watching the particular episode, or is the unfortunate soul that decided to start watching this show, you have come to the right place. Now you may be wondering what exactly happened in episode 9 to force me to create a myanimelist account and write a review for the first time in my life, but I will get to that in a moment. Before we get to my most hated read more
Mar 25, 2018
ShukugawaMeguri (All reviews)
maybe that makes this anime interesting is the story line, yes of course where the scene of eriri & utaha want to leave the group of game maker where the scene is in show that actually eriri & utaha not want to leave the group game maker where the scene that makes me touched why so long group walking must release two members that are so valuable. I think in addition to the side of the story I also want to review about the art project, which I think this part is difficult to do from this anime I judge from the making of the read more
Jun 24, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata was good... Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata ♭ was better.

Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata's first season was something of a introduction to the dojin team of blessing software of Eriri, Utaha, Tomoya, Michiru and Megumi and finished once the entire team being recruited with half of their first game being done and it was a decent look at the visual novel industry by the eyes of fans turned creator-like anime. Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata ♭ progress further from this by going through the character arcs that was sorely needed from the first season.

Let's start with Utaha Kasumigaoka where her arc has parallels to read more
Nov 30, 2019
Vi- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, I am going to point the positive, neutral and negative aspects of this anime in topics.

Negative:
. Avoidable drama scenes. In addition, most of them are very similar to others from this same anime (even from season 1).
. Romance scenes that wont go anywhere. They tease you over and over with those scenes which wont go anywhere. They make you always think that something will happen but would always deny it. This over and over becomes annoying. It's different from those where they play it in a way that you wont be expecting something coming from it, but if it happened that would be read more
Jun 22, 2017
AhmedFisherman (All reviews)
Whaaaat? Are you telling me that Saekano has now an actual plot and that it's not just your average ecchi harem comedy anymore?
Yeah, you've read it right, the secon season of Saekano was a good surprise, the first episodes continued where the first season left and as it continued the characters have shown some development, especially the girls. Even Katou abandoned her flat self for some time, and this is huge.
This season is way better than the first one. Yeah, there are still those ecchi shoots and there's still lots of fanservice, but the story has its important role now. The last episodes really read more
Aug 15, 2019
felixlovesanime (All reviews)
While the first season was about how to be a team, this second season is ironically about how to be an individual.

Before the second season begins, the ragtag doujin circle named Blessing Software has had old-school fun as they take on one and only agenda: creating the finest doujin dating sim at Winter Comiket. However, as soon as the second season rolls, things start becoming more ambitious and therefore, more complicated.

Before, the male protagonist Aki Tomoya was simply a diehard otaku charging on a mission that --admittedly-- was more self-satisfactory than collective. All the girls surrounding him were "artists first, friends second" in his eyes read more
Aug 9, 2019
DaxtotheMax (All reviews)
This keeps up to par with the last season and introduces new development by building off of what happened last season. Megumi is still kind of salty, Eriri is worn out and Utaha has something new to focus on. Despite all that, our MC wants to get everyone back together for another game, Cherry Blessing lives on. Rivalry is still apparent in this one but with different characters in different ways.

These characters have been driven apart but learn to still be friends and such, decisions as well as sacrifices must be made in order for them to be happy with their lives after the read more
Mar 19, 2018
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

In Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata ♭, Utaha is a writer. Or, as she may say, a creator or creative. And I view myself in the same way.

I started writing officially as a critic, reviewer, and essayist about three-and-a-half years ago now. I’ve written hundreds of pieces, thousands upon thousands of words. It’s technically not my career (as much as I dream it to be), but I see it as an extension of myself and not just any other fun aside of mine (because of the seriousness with which I pursue this field). Thus, I exist read more
Jul 8, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Ok, so I've just ended the sequel of Saekano, and thought it might be cliche at one point it does have some development of sorts, and here'show I rate it:

Good 7, Story:
It may have it's share of cliche but, in this sequel it has a certain degree of development, where we see, the break up of the Blessing Software group, that starts when Utaha graduates and when a new girl, Izumi arrives as one girl leaves, what adds to my rating was seeing Eri leave the group and this is where Mr. Ethical starts to contemplate as he struggle to move on without the read more
Jun 24, 2017
wisnunugroho21 (All reviews)
The best harem anime i have watch. At first, you will thought it is only mainstream harem anime, with bad romance and a lot of service. But trust me, it only for introduction. The main story appear in season 2.

The story is very well build, with a plot twist in climax part. But it is very important for characterization. Don't doubt about art and music, because it produced by A-! Pictures

So, if you'r looking harem anime, i absolutely recommended it. Although it is not the best, it is veeerrryyyy good romance comedy drama Anime.
.
.
.
.
also, i will tell you that 3 ship that sail in read more
Jun 23, 2017
MetalTsundere (All reviews)
Harem's aren't really my genre, because I guess guilty pleasure but for some reasons I find myself enjoying this season and so I'll tell you why, his is just a personal oppinion though.

Plot

While season 1 focuses on the Harem plot where girls just goes around with out otaku Tomoya, this season is quite different, for me aside from the harem it tells us how hard it is to create something, we can see the casts suffer from slumps and rejected ideas and although we've seen this in other animes I still find it well executed.

The Romance are stll there, nothing really new but I do read more
Jun 22, 2017
linkuan (All reviews)
That ending kiled me ;-;

This long-awaited (for me) second season was into so much doubt within the comunity because of the filler moments in the fisrt one. However, this demonstrated that A-1 Pictures can make good anime once in a while.

As I haven't read any of the original light novel I'll be reviewing the series as it is by itself. A generic eviroment and setting with unique characters and weird but still natural development.

In the first season I just watched it because I was going into harem stuff. But the fact that the main heroine was Megumi since ever made me think harem anime aren't read more
Jun 24, 2017
Strainn (All reviews)
I am new to anime, but so far as i live i only interested in watching a Action, Sci-Fi, and genres related to that, i didnt watch any love=comedy or harem anime because its boring? really i cant stand watching an "everyday life" of someone, why dont u just do it in real life? but this one is an exception i dont know you all veteran think but this anime draw me to watch it from season1 to 2 and i hope it get season 3 as well as i dont want the story to be end so soon (23 eps included season 1 but, read more
Apr 11, 2018
Cpman (All reviews)
I have a hard time really coming to terms with the impact that this anime left on me after watching it. I've been gracious to a lot of anime over my time watching, but nothing has ever been the completely 10 out of 10 that Saekano Flat ended up being. The first season was good, and I expected more of the same...and got something a lot better. I don't really think I've ever watched something western or otherwise, whether is be a cartoon or live action product, that had a story that looked as good as it was told.

I didn't know I had been craving read more