Kamisama Hajimemashita: Kako-hen

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 神様はじめました~過去編~

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 20, 2015 to Aug 19, 2016
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: DemonsDemons
Demographic: ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 30 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.371 (scored by 6288062,880 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1285
Members: 132,895
Favorites: 818

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 4, 2016
Sumirerireri (All reviews)
To speak about this OVA it's important to acknowledge first of all the huge difference between the manga of Kamisama Hajimemashita and it's anime adaptation. The adaptation has never been completely faithful to the manga, and the same happens with this OVA. If you haven't read the manga, this OVA is just a great addition to the anime. However, if you already read the manga, you won't be able to help feeling a little disappointed.

The OVA is very well done, just like the regular anime; good art, good cast, good rythm, good everything. The love between the main characters is reinforced and some read more
Oct 3, 2015
Joydu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before I start, this is my first review, so it might suck. Also, I've read the manga volumes that this four part OVA covers, so take that how you want to.

Story 9/10- At the time of writing this, only the first of the 4 OVAs have been released. Like I said before, I've read the manga, and I really love the story. I think that this animated version will do a good job of pacing, if the first one is anything to base my judgment on. Can't wait for more!

Art 7/10- I felt like the art wasn't as sharp as the actual show is, read more
Jan 12, 2016
Weeboo_Forever (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, i know the anime hasn't finished yet, but i have read the manga so i know how much i love it already and if you have an issue with this review just go to the next one. It is hard to talk about it without giving anything away, but ill do my best!

Story: 10/10.
This was my favourite part of the anime AND the manga so far. It shows everyone how Tomoe doesn't remember anything about Yukiji and Akuraou anymore. Nanami is forced to back into the past to help Tomoe survive by stopping an ancient contract between him and a mysterious fallen god. In read more
Dec 28, 2015
1928384756 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm a big fan of this anime series, and have read the manga, so I know what happens throughout these four episodes. On one hand I'm happy to be able to continue this series, but on the other I'm not sure how this will span out considering in the manga it is the part of this series that is the most romance filled , and so spreading it through only 4 half an hour episodes may feel rushed. Hopefully not.

Although, the story that comes along with this is really fun and sweet to watch, especially if you've watched the past episodes in the first and read more
Oct 12, 2019
AppleIceCream (All reviews)
Between season 1, season 2 and the OVAS, Kako-hen is my favourite. In a shoujo anime feelings are important and these 4 episodes didn't let me down.
The problem with time-travelling is that sometimes it almost looks like the creators are trying to seem smart. They try to build a web but that web ends up full of plot holes. This time-travelling little story on the contrary was simple and concise. And when I say simple it is in a good way.
There were some little things that weren't exactlly 100% explained but if we start thinking we can easily feel the gaps (and there are read more
Dec 9, 2016
Cindy_ASI (All reviews)
I fell deeply in love with all the episodes of Kamisama Hajimemashita from Season 1 to 2 to its OVA version. I love the development of the two main characters; from enemies to friends, and eventually, to lovers. Unlike, the many animes that I have seen, the streak of independence, wit, kind-heartedness, positivity, and charm in Nanami was a welcome change from the dimwitted and damsel-in-distress qualities that female leads in this genre have been stereotyped with. Same with Tomoe, who, though initially had difficulty wearing his heart on his sleeve, still managed to overcome the usual cold and steely demeanor, which often characterized anime read more
Sep 16, 2017
killuafanatic294 (All reviews)
It was so good I actually cried. (Rarely cries when watching tv shows or movies)

End of story.

I really don't want to spoil anything but this really is the sole reason I was willing to continue with the story and read the manga. The TV show arcs are a little too "slice of life" for me. I'm the type of person who likes watching love stories that have A LOT of life or death drama and those in which the girl kinda "changes" the evil male protagonists.

Hence I'm kinda a fan of the Hunger games XD. ALSO, AI TO MAKOTO, a manga from the 70s read more
Aug 11, 2021
Odd-yssey (All reviews)
TW: S*xual assault.

I have other issues with these OVAs but my main one is that everyone talks about this anime, and no one ever mentions that in Kako-hen they make the romantic interest an abuser???? He literally 100% was going to r*pe the protagonist and that is never acknowledged by the characters afterwards????????

Only writing this because I wish I had been told before I decided to watch it.

I am just so tired and done with content, specifically content whose main audience is young girls, making light of -and even romanticizing- s*xual abuse.

Gross and unnecessary.



Below is the rest of my review because they won’t let me read more
May 23, 2016
Ilyania (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well first of all, all i can say about this anime is AWESOME OMG!! LOVE IT SOO MUCH!!

*ehem* okay. Since the first time i came to know about Kamisama Kiss, i can't stop reading it. I even blame Julietta Suzuki for making it so long for me to wait for another chapter.

About the storyline, i give it 10. So outstanding. Even tough i myself know that this anime have a romantic storyline which is just the same as the other shoujo manga/anime. I just don't know. Kamisama Hajimemasita just has a special place in my heart after Tales of The Abyss. Its conflict, the romance, read more
Nov 22, 2016
vhOtaku (All reviews)
First things first, don't expect to feel "satisfied" with the ending after watching this. Reading the manga is so much better in terms of furthering the plot with Nanami, Tomoe, and Akura-ou.

I'm somewhat disappointed that this was an OVA rather than an actual season, but despite that...and the long wait between each episode (I waited basically forever for the fourth episode to come out), the watching experience was enjoyable.

Story: 10/10
I don't dislike anything about the plot in the OVA. It truly wrapped up the main focus of what the anime was alluding to: Tomoe's past with Yukiji. It answers many questions and read more
May 3, 2021
makotoplz (All reviews)
[Spoilers ahead, don't read unless you've finished this completely]

These 4 episodes of OVAs undoubtedly, for me, carry this whole show. Ignoring the fact that S2 introduced the character of Kirihito (aka Akuraou) and never continued on that story, these 4 episodes were peak for me.

Don't get me wrong, I liked Season 2 and Nanami's development as a God, but we FINALLY got to see Yukiji properly. Well, not really Yukiji, but you know what I mean. The romance in this was so so good, I wish it had been a whole season instead. I feel like they could've made another season with 12 read more
Dec 2, 2020
nc5681 (All reviews)
I'm going to assume you've watched season 1 and 2 before reading this.

This OVA hands-down made the whole series for me. The series is beautiful overall, but this OVA made cheer for Tomoe and Nanami so hard.

Story 8/10

You finally see the back story of Tomoe and Nanami. I love the concept of time travel here and how everything seriously tied together so neatly!

Art 10/10

Beautifully drawn. I love how Nanami and Tomoe are drawn. Additionally, the scenery and everything just transports me right into feudal Japan. Just beautiful!

Enjoyment 8/10

I really loved watching Tomoe fall in love with Nanami. Such a heartwarming (although idealistic) story. But read more