Tokyo Ghoul: "Jack"

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Tokyo Ghoul: "Jack"
Japanese: 東京喰種 トーキョーグール【JACK】

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 30, 2015
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, HorrorHorror, SupernaturalSupernatural
Theme: SchoolSchool
Demographic: SeinenSeinen
Duration: 30 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 117657117,657 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #22142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #841
Members: 206,547
Favorites: 349

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 11, 2015
AsukaLangley (All reviews)
If only Tokyo Ghoul √A was this good...
This short OVA tells the back story of Arima who appears in the second season of Tokyo Ghoul, and was honestly a fascinating clip of the Tokyo Ghoul world. Although it is recommended that you watch both seasons of TG (Tokyo Ghoul) before touching this, I thought that it stood firmly as its own interesting piece, with a defined character.

To begin, I'll discuss the artwork, sound, and story as a whole. I would argue that the artwork has indeed changed slightly from the televised versions of TG, and it gave it a very different "atmosphere." For the read more
Oct 16, 2015
OtacoMan (All reviews)
"I always wanted to be like them. I wanted to be normal."

Tokyo Ghoul : Jack, an ova I have been anticipating since it was confirmed. And now that I finally watched, I want more, a lot more.

Story (9) : The story follows Fura, who belongs in a gang but then left it. One unfortunate day, he witnesses the murder of his friend by a ghoul of the name "Lantern". Wanting revenge, he and Arima start to go around killing ghouls hoping to find Lantern with the help of, Minami. There isn't much to the story, but it was quite interesting to know a little read more
Oct 8, 2015
nicwin (All reviews)
My first ever and very simple review of this OVA. All I can say is thank you Studio Pierrot, but I still don't forgive you for Root A. They did a 180 from Root A and did not butcher Ishida Sui's work at all!

Tokyo Ghoul: Jack's story, art, and characters are all beautifully adapted from the manga for our viewing pleasure. The OST is also completely brand new and fitting! You will not, I repeat, you will NOT be disappointed in by the Tokyo Ghoul: Jack OVA adaptation.

The only possible downfall is that it's only 30 minutes long! Overall enjoyment is 10/10.

P.S. No read more
Oct 18, 2015
OddManfiesto (All reviews)
*Minor Spoilers Ahead*


There is one word that describes the Tokyo ghoul Anime and that word is "Lacking" from the first season through the second season and now this OVA , Which is something disappointing since I like this series very much and the idea of it ,

The Story of this read more
Oct 19, 2015
Orineko (All reviews)
I feel that this OVA was a really well developed and had great depth of character and story. It felt like a bit of a let down since there was no Kaneki. But that still doesn't affect my review cause the characters and action was great without it.

I really liked the mood the Introduction of the OVA generated. It gave me a sort of "Japanese Hotline Miami" feel, which i loved.
Fight Scenes were action packed and full of tension.
I think conclusion was a great summary, which was also not a completely closed ended ending as it leaves room for other OVA's to develop.

T~T No Kaneki read more
Oct 18, 2015
Xonshiz (All reviews)
Might contain spoilers, So, read on your own risk.

Been waiting for this one to air and after watching, I'm somewhat happy. It follows younger arima and his 'High school' life time (he wasn't actually studying to get into college, but, to kill ghouls). Everything was just fine. There was enough romance, suspense (a little), mystery and action for a 30 min. ova.

They's packed so much in 30 minutes and I've loved it. Thank goodness it was nothing like ROOT A.

Although, I felt as if, the end was kinda rushed. Felt like they just ended it out of nowhere. So, I'm dissappointed a little for read more
Dec 29, 2015
IzashiNakamura (All reviews)
The tragic world of Tokyo Ghoul continues in this prequel focusing on Arima as the mysterious High School investigator. If anyone needed a reaffirmation that Arima Kishou was a badass "Jack" OVA is a pretty good refresher.

Story/Character:
Having read the manga prior to the anime adaptation I have to admit the story was captured quite well. Aside from a few events out of order and expected dialogue differences nothing felt out of place. The only thing that I would have changed was less foreshadowing someone's "true identity" and a little more development between Arima and Fura. It felt like their commitment to each other was a read more
Aug 16, 2016
SimplyCosmo (All reviews)
Arima is a boy shown in Tokyo Ghoul √A and he is mainly what this OVA is centered around, along with a few other likable characters.

The production value for this OVA is spectacular. The artwork, animation and sound are all "√A1" and while they differ from the actual anime series, it is a good change. I felt immersed from the first opening shot of the city and streets. I was given the sense of atmosphere which I desired going into something Tokyo Ghoul related.

Character development is done well for a 30-minute runtime. However, one thing that bothers me is that Arima is a tad bit read more
Jan 31, 2017
Abs0 (All reviews)
Art: 9-9.5/10 Character designs are eye-pleasing and there is a decent amount of detail (e.g weapons, clothing etc could be seen clearly). Not quite "insanely awesome" like I would say for Kara no Kyoukai (the original 7 movies not the abomination that came later) or say Mardock Scramble or a lot of other anime, but still looks pretty damn good.

Animation: 9-9.5/10 There are a few very well animated scenes that would frankly put most animated movies to shame. I'm talking about the arima vs minami fight at the end of the episode. The character animation for minami was simply drop-dead gorgeous when she revealed read more
Dec 8, 2020
robert788 (All reviews)
Tokyo Ghoul: "Jack" (2015)

Well for a side story I must say pretty confidently it was great. The storyline was a nice easy running ghoul story with a very relatable story from Uruka Minami who is super cute in all ways. If the main show kept this sort of pacing it would have soared even higher.

The art is a great standard and very much the style of the show.

The sound was nicely selected and gave a really good side story vibe even.

Characters are developed off the main story of course which is great. Aki is the weakest of the characters that matter since read more
Oct 30, 2020
gamgween (All reviews)
English version:
The story is basically about the youth of Arima Kishou, showing how he was such a prodigy and powerful since as younger. In the other hand, I think that te lack of development of the characters of this OVA make us don't care about them, like, they can die and we're just to stay like "oh, no, what a shame...".
Btw, they don't explain why Arima is how he is, if you wanna know it, you've gotta watch "Tokyo Ghoul:re" (good luck, you're gonna need).
Lastly, I really enjoyed the graphic design, the sound effects and the animation, they're pretty pretty good. In general, that's far read more
Jul 4, 2021
KonokoAsada (All reviews)
Story: It felt nice to be given some background for new characters—like Kishou Arima who was introduced only at the end of the Tokyo Ghoul Root A series—through an OVA. You don't get the characters' full story though, and the plot itself remains mostly a plain police-detective story. To end in a positive tone though, I would say that it had some well crafted elements of surprise with respect to the development of certain events.

Characters: None of the characters impressed me! Both Taishi Fura and Arima seemed really promising, but I was not given enough background for either of them, nor has the plot read more
Jun 28, 2021
Hence_Nothing (All reviews)
The main character is really likeable. It expands a lot on someone I didn't care or know much about in the main series. I don't often come across an anime where delinquents are portrayed sympathetically. In this they are. You are quickly made to realize that they're just goofy kids, theyre not a stereotype. There's a really interesting parallel to the way the way deliquents are described, as "deserving" of the bad things that happen to them, and the ghouls. I think it's also interesting how Tokyo Ghoul, which is largely a story about persecution, could easily have framed the ghouls as completely lacking humanity. read more
Jul 14, 2021
Mikes_list (All reviews)
I give the story a 9/10. A pretty good origin story. There were some small problems I had with the painting of a picture for the audience that contradicts what we learn later, but besides that, it was pretty good.

I give the characters a 10/10. There were some good characters here too. For this episode, everyone had a solid personality and different motives that all made sense.

I give the art an 8/10.

I give the sound an 8/10.

I give enjoyment a 10/10. This episode had a constant, steady pace and was just fun to watch.

Overall, I give 'Tokyo Ghoul: "Jack"' an 9.5/10.