High☆Speed! Movie: Free! Starting Days


Free! Starting Days

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Free! Starting Days
Synonyms: Free! Movie, High☆Speed!: Free! Starting Days
Japanese: 映画 ハイ☆スピード! -Free! Starting Days-

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 5, 2015
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SportsSports
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 1 hr. 50 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.871 (scored by 3507835,078 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1905
Members: 78,940
Favorites: 230

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2016
_Launi_ (All reviews)
Story:
High Speed gives a closer look into the lifes of Haru and Makoto before they go to Iwatobi High (Anime Series), so it's not necessary to see the anime before, but can be also seen as an addition to it. At the start of the movie the story goes on rather slowly, but with a lot of funny scenes, that made me laugh more than once. The watcher gets to know the new characters Ikuya and Asahi and also can recognize the ones, already shown in the anime like Kisumi or of course the main characters Makoto and Haru. After this the stoy goes on read more
Jul 30, 2016
Sir-up (All reviews)
Oh my god, you have no idea how long I've been waiting for this. Honestly, I was actually very worried about this movie. I didn't think that Free! really needed a prequel since there are so many flashbacks from elementary school in the anime show (which is taking place during high school), so we already knew a good amount backstory for Free!, but it was actually very interesting to see what was going on between elementary and high school.

Man, the story. I did keep my expectations low. Or, I didn't really expect anything at all (neither positive nor negative stuff) and I ended up being read more
Apr 28, 2016
imjusthungry (All reviews)
High☆Speed!: Free! Starting Days is a solid movie that will likely be enjoyable to fans of the TV anime, and potentially even those unfamiliar to the franchise as a standalone coming-of-age film.

The story, while nothing exceptional, is solid. There is a degree of repetitiveness among the two seasons of the anime and this movie in terms of main themes and sources of conflict, and if this movie's other elements weren't so well-done I wouldn't have enjoyed it as much as I did. Fortunately, that's not the case. The movie had uncertainty about the future, family drama, and, as this is Free!, friendship being its main read more
Jul 29, 2016
kalim432 (All reviews)
This is a 10/10 for each category.
Story:[9.7/10]
The story was a prequel to my favorite anime:Free!.I loved how we got to explore their past selves and how they got to bound to be a team.The story was solid overall and the pacing was good.My feelings died completely after I passed 57 minutes when the so called feeling trains begun.It had a clear start,their middle was full of drama and struggle and it was taken out of our everyday life with the ending having the message that,a friend can get you through thick and thin.

Art:[10/10]
The art was beautiful,something I appreciated always about the Free anime.

Music:[10/10]
read more
May 31, 2021
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
This is the prequel movie to Free! the sports anime based on swimming. To be honest, the story is only fair, and that's because I just could not identify with or really love some of the overly emo characters. Many times I felt like slapping the main character to "get over it" as it's frustrating to see his terrible life choices. This also applies to 2 of his 3 friends. I suppose it's realistic because teenage boys aren't exactly known for their practical nature, being level headed or having good decision making skills, where they choose to do something not tainted by their emotions and read more
Jun 20, 2017
smolbeanaria (All reviews)
Welcome to "High☆Speed!: Free! Starting Days" where this adaption of the light novel doesn't really cover the content in the light novel at all.

In this anime adaption, the story covers our lovely boys, Makoto and Haruka as they have graduated from elementary and are now entering high school. They meet friends mentioned in the original anime, like Kisumi Shigino, and those not mentioned in the original, Asahi Shiina, and Ikuya Kirishima (though I swear I've seen Ikuya's green hair in the original anime somewhere). From there, these four boys play out their story as they join their middle school's swim club.

Story ~5~:
The story didn't read more
Aug 2, 2016
numbersixes (All reviews)
If you've watched Free! Iwatobi Swim Club and Free! Eternal Summer, you've watched Free! Starting Days.

(I also rated this movie 6 for Fair, but then changed it to 7 for Good after seeing that others' reviews were largely positive. There were good things about this movie and it would be ridiculous not to point that out.)

Story: 3 for Poor

And this is why I'll say Free! Starting Days was a reconstitution of the anime series. The plotlines were the same.

An injury - Sousuke's shoulder
Damaged relationship with a sibling - Rin and Gou
Makoto's damaged relationship with swimming - Haru's damaged relationship with swimming
A scene with Asahi read more
Dec 20, 2019
11chadwick (All reviews)
High☆Speed!: Free! Starting Days is a prequel to Free!. Prequels are usually made to give more context to the characters and explain why they were the way they were at the beginning of the main show. This movie does not add anything to the first season at all and was made to give context to the third season of the show, which is the worst season. If you ignore the third season, this movie is not worth watching. The colour palette isn't as bright and cheerful as the show and has more calm and subdued colours to fit the tone of the movie. The animation read more
Aug 19, 2018
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Normally, I don't watch prequels or extra material that belongs to any given anime, but I just love Free! so much that I had to give this a go. And it was amazing.

The place where Free! shines is in it's character work. I'm usually hesitant of prequels because I can't find much value in them. After all, how can there be interesting development if you already know the outcome? This movie changed my views on that. Makoto and Haru's relationship is probably the perfect example. In this movie, there is a good amount of tension and stress between them, which is very interesting to watch read more
Jul 17, 2017
haniyeszer (All reviews)
Maybe okay?

That's my opinion on High Speed: Free! Starting Days...

To be honest, I watched this movie without watching the Free! series... I ended up watching this movie because it is said to be the prequel of the Free! series...so I thought it does not matter whether I watch or not the Free! series...

Overall, I think this movie is a slow-paced one... If I'm not mistaken, the story only got interesting halfway towards the end... Generally, it focuses on teamwork... but every member of the team have their own problem which consequently affect the teamwork.

What I like about this movie is the animation. For me, the read more