Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

High☆Speed!: Free! Starting Days


Alternative Titles

English: Free! Starting Days
Synonyms: Free! Movie
Japanese: ハイ☆スビード!Free! Starting Days

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 5, 2015
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 1 hr. 50 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.001 (scored by 19,005 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1859
Members: 46,810
Favorites: 200

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2016
_Launi_ (All reviews)
Story:
High Speed gives a closer look into the lifes of Haru and Makoto before they go to Iwatobi High (Anime Series), so it's not necessary to see the anime before, but can be also seen as an addition to it. At the start of the movie the story goes on rather slowly, but with a lot of funny scenes, that made me laugh more than once. The watcher gets to know the new characters Ikuya and Asahi and also can recognize the ones, already shown in the anime like Kisumi or of course the main characters Makoto and Haru. After this the stoy goes on read more
Jul 30, 2016
Sir-up (All reviews)
Oh my god, you have no idea how long I've been waiting for this. Honestly, I was actually very worried about this movie. I didn't think that Free! really needed a prequel since there are so many flashbacks from elementary school in the anime show (which is taking place during high school), so we already knew a good amount backstory for Free!, but it was actually very interesting to see what was going on between elementary and high school.

Man, the story. I did keep my expectations low. Or, I didn't really expect anything at all (neither positive nor negative stuff) and I ended up being read more
Apr 28, 2016
imjusthungry (All reviews)
High☆Speed!: Free! Starting Days is a solid movie that will likely be enjoyable to fans of the TV anime, and potentially even those unfamiliar to the franchise as a standalone coming-of-age film.

The story, while nothing exceptional, is solid. There is a degree of repetitiveness among the two seasons of the anime and this movie in terms of main themes and sources of conflict, and if this movie's other elements weren't so well-done I wouldn't have enjoyed it as much as I did. Fortunately, that's not the case. The movie had uncertainty about the future, family drama, and, as this is Free!, friendship being its main read more
Jul 29, 2016
kalim432 (All reviews)
This is a 10/10 for each category.
Story:[9.7/10]
The story was a prequel to my favorite anime:Free!.I loved how we got to explore their past selves and how they got to bound to be a team.The story was solid overall and the pacing was good.My feelings died completely after I passed 57 minutes when the so called feeling trains begun.It had a clear start,their middle was full of drama and struggle and it was taken out of our everyday life with the ending having the message that,a friend can get you through thick and thin.

Art:[10/10]
The art was beautiful,something I appreciated always about the Free anime.

Music:[10/10]
read more
Jun 20, 2017
Verria-Nichole (All reviews)
Welcome to "High☆Speed!: Free! Starting Days" where this adaption of the light novel doesn't really cover the content in the light novel at all.

In this anime adaption, the story covers our lovely boys, Makoto and Haruka as they have graduated from elementary and are now entering high school. They meet friends mentioned in the original anime, like Kisumi Shigino, and those not mentioned in the original, Asahi Shiina, and Ikuya Kirishima (though I swear I've seen Ikuya's green hair in the original anime somewhere). From there, these four boys play out their story as they join their middle school's swim club.

Story ~5~:
The story didn't read more
Aug 19, 2018
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Normally, I don't watch prequels or extra material that belongs to any given anime, but I just love Free! so much that I had to give this a go. And it was amazing.

The place where Free! shines is in it's character work. I'm usually hesitant of prequels because I can't find much value in them. After all, how can there be interesting development if you already know the outcome? This movie changed my views on that. Makoto and Haru's relationship is probably the perfect example. In this movie, there is a good amount of tension and stress between them, which is very interesting to watch read more
Aug 2, 2016
numbersixes (All reviews)
If you've watched Free! Iwatobi Swim Club and Free! Eternal Summer, you've watched Free! Starting Days.

(I also rated this movie 6 for Fair, but then changed it to 7 for Good after seeing that others' reviews were largely positive. There were good things about this movie and it would be ridiculous not to point that out.)

Story: 3 for Poor

And this is why I'll say Free! Starting Days was a reconstitution of the anime series. The plotlines were the same.

An injury - Sousuke's shoulder
Damaged relationship with a sibling - Rin and Gou
Makoto's damaged relationship with swimming - Haru's damaged relationship with swimming
A scene with Asahi read more
Jul 17, 2017
haniyeszer (All reviews)
Maybe okay?

That's my opinion on High Speed: Free! Starting Days...

To be honest, I watched this movie without watching the Free! series... I ended up watching this movie because it is said to be the prequel of the Free! series...so I thought it does not matter whether I watch or not the Free! series...

Overall, I think this movie is a slow-paced one... If I'm not mistaken, the story only got interesting halfway towards the end... Generally, it focuses on teamwork... but every member of the team have their own problem which consequently affect the teamwork.

What I like about this movie is the animation. For me, the read more