Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid
Japanese: ヴァルキリードライヴ マーメイド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2015 to Dec 26, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: Genco
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Arms
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, EcchiEcchi, FantasyFantasy, Shoujo AiShoujo Ai
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.141 (scored by 3539435,394 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #74212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1315
Members: 96,301
Favorites: 350
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 9, 2016
busterbeam (All reviews)
This is, putting it simply, a softcore lesbian porn anime. It exists primarily to arouse the viewer; nothing more, nothing less. The story is simply an excuse for seeing sexy girls interact, fanservicey fight-scenes and borderline hentai scenes. The truth is, actual hentai anime tends to be stuck with very small budgets; meanwhile "softcore" anime can more often afford significantly better production values, as this anime shows, and I much rather enjoy a softcore show with decent production values over chicken-scratch "hardcore" OVAs.

The story of a bunch of girls being trapped on an island, the "Soul Eater, but with orgasms" premise of the action scenes... read more
Nov 28, 2015
Anthoniichan (All reviews)
Preliminary
FROM STUDIO ARMS.... COMES SOMETHING CALLED VALKYRIE DRIVE MERMAID..
Wtf did i get myself into... Well if u like boobs... and if u like yuri... and if u like magic fighting girls with guns and swords... and u like a show with "plot" but really no real plot...
THIS IS THE SHOW FOR YOU

"Story" 3/10
I really am not enjoying any of this.. There is no elements that seem to matter or show importance in the show... none of it really makes sense and I really think none of it matters... Just a 15 year old girl and a 19 year old girl make love (uncensored) read more
Jan 2, 2016
Juarez (All reviews)
This is lewd show for sure, everyone can read the description right? though I must admit, this one is not your average ecchi show, I think it is not exaggerated to label it borderline hen***. Is it bad then? that's up to the viewer to decide. personally I'll say this show is enjoyable, not because the perverted things, it has few good points too.

Story: 7/10
call me inexperienced, but I won't complain that much about this anime originality. the concept about human transform into weapon might have used in some anime. But combine it with other elements this anime has, I think this one is read more
Dec 27, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Studio Arms has a rather—shall we say—less than impressive reputation in the anime community. Although they have done numerous different types of shows in the past, the most prevalent one is action/ecchi... and I mean the very worst kind of it. If there is one company who seemingly has a full monopoly on bad ecchi anime, then it's Arms. I still consider Queen's Blade to be the single worst full-length anime TV-series I have ever seen, and my faith in the studio since then has been rather limited to say the least. And thus it is hardly a surprise that I wasn't exactly expecting much read more
Jul 24, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Picture a mermaid.

Most people imagine a beautiful woman whose lower body is that of a scaled, green fish. Maybe she can sing real swell and maybe she is longing for love. But regardless, she is two halves that make up an entire whole.

Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid is the same. Mermaid is one half sex and one half tale, making it one not-as-bad-as-you-may-imagine anime.

STORY

Anime has its fair share of strange premises; Mermaid’s premise gets added to this list.

A virus, the “Armed Virus,” infects women, granting them special abilities. Society deems these women dangerous, so they get sent read more
Jan 20, 2016
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Ecchi has never had a big presence in the widely niche genre that is Yuri, or Shoujo Ai as it’s more accurately called. Yuri has always been a genre that I’ve always leaned toward the “erotic” side than the actual “romance” one, only because most of the anime tend to be too sugarcoated with soap opera quality stories. That doesn’t mean that I think there can’t be any ones that are good, I just think yuri fans deserve better than Valkyrie Drive Mermaid if they want their “dumb ecchi anime.”

If I had to describe the quality of Valkyrie Drive Mermaid in a very short statement read more
Aug 12, 2019
Yuri-Crusader (All reviews)
"""""" spoiler warning""""""




The first time I watch this I dropped it before the first episode was over,I called it ugly fucking rape anime with no soul heart or noting just breast and sex,,,,,Then when I picked it up again I realised that I have never been more wrong in my life.This is my review on an anime I first hated but then it became one of my most loved anime ever!!



Mamori wakes up on an island afraid and all alone with only the crabs at company ,Sen early age Mamori have known she is not a normal girl she is different!! The Island is run read more
Dec 31, 2015
Volticar (All reviews)
For my anime reviews I am going to review the anime on the order of which you would experience while watching an episode of the anime that is being reviewed.

1.Art - The art for this anime was not very impressive. Wow that's a really negative thing to start of with, sorry. I'm just say that the art was super average as well as the character models. Now, that being said, there were some moments where the animation became strangely good.... like actually outstanding. I couldn't help myself when I saw some amazing CGI in this show. It was kinda weird. read more
May 25, 2020
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Soul Eater: ECCHI EDITION

Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid's first impressions and what LA got out of the first couple of minutes was a softcore ecchi yuri anime, after watching the entirety of the anime, it's a softcore yuri ecchi anime that happens to have interesting characters.

Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid "plot" structure for the most part has a pretty in your face introduction as to what is in store for this kind of anime, a calm before the storm of a rather laxxed bulk middle and finally a major plot takes centre stage for the finale. As for character developments within this plot well...let's get into it and as read more
Mar 21, 2020
JimJamZimZam (All reviews)
This show has no meaningful plot and is solely built on the idea of using fan service to push the story forward. With characters having minimal backstory with almost no compelling information revealed about them, the only role literally becomes creating these weirdly aggressive make-out scenes that are dripping with shallow sexual tension; there is practically nothing to make these characters memorable, or worth investing any kind of emotion in.

The art is fine, but wasted on scenes of soft-core porn, and the backgrounds are dull in most situations, so even if the battle scenes have some decent to mediocre choreography, it is made irrelevant by read more
Dec 11, 2017
DannieOne (All reviews)
This anime is something that woke me up!!!


This is an anime I really like, not because its "Yuri" but because the whole series is about protecting one of the mcs, and not only that, then the series is nice, because of the ecchi, romance, action. The action is really, really, really, something that can facinate you, and the ecchi, is kind of fun, but its hard to explain, the romance is something that is really strong, between the main charaters.

This is an anime that really is fun, but in a weird way.

You will like this anime if you like Action, romance, ecchi and weird yuri, read more
Mar 21, 2016
Nazo-The-Weeb (All reviews)
Here is my review on the anime Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid

This anime is a rather unique and exciting one, mixing multiple genre elements into something new. New characters are introduced in just about every episode with clear introductions in various types, ranging from slow and explaining to quick and brief. The artwork of the anime looks great with pale and vibrant colors, plenty of detail, and lots of deep lighting effects. The audio is also great, being deep and clear with absolutely to disturbance between voice and sound effect The anime comes with lots of epic, high-paced, combat which shows the weapons, abilities, and skills of read more
Feb 25, 2019
captjoe213 (All reviews)
Welcome to another of Robert's Too Late Reviews! I really gotta work on making sure they're actually late, instead of being half-way recent. Anyways, this time we're going to be talking about the dubbed version of Valkyrie Drive Mermaid. Be sure to check the synopsis, because I'm to be working directly off those details without repeating them. To make the short of it, this show is a good looking mess, with all kinds of convenient things thrown in and blended with some of the most unrealistic representation of the female form I've ever seen. Right now, the character Meifon would be taking bets on if read more
Jan 2, 2016
Sawt0othGrin (All reviews)
It’s a masterpiece!

I do mean that, in a sense. Of COURSE this anime is lackluster in the grand scheme of things but that isn’t what’s important here. What matters is that I went into this series expecting to drop it after the first episode(I try to give everything I watch 3 episodes unless it’s just horrible, I was expecting Valkyrie Drive to be horrible) but what I got was a strangely drinkable sexy-action anime with plenty of light hearted moments and humor to boot. I’m not really even that interested in these kinds of action series either but Valkyrie Drive is uniquely charming.

The 5 out read more
Jul 17, 2020
Adele666 (All reviews)
Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid is an Yuri, ecchi, action anime. It is produced by Arms. It is about a 16 Year old named Mamori, who is contaminated with a virus, being sent to an Island with simular girls like her.

The show had decent pacing. The way that the story is written allows it to have a lot of fanservice. In the first 2/3's of the show, it is episodic, but then the they ended the show with a boring plot involving Mirei, the second main character and Momaka, the main villain, which ends the show with a boring fight. Anyways the fight had all the standard read more
Apr 24, 2020
HanariShizuka (All reviews)
Look i'mma be honest about this anime
I started watching this cause someome told me it was awful and they bet me to complete it
And it's fine i guess, i don't mind ecchi i don't mind bad stories like this, it was in a ''Is that bad is funny'' category, the animation music and character design is good even if most of the girls show her boobs 90% of the time.

But then the new plot hit, and i hated all of it so fucking much.
Is not just the fact that this was really sudden i didn't mind at the start, but when that blue haired girl read more
May 27, 2016
josmaker2mk (All reviews)
Preliminary
What will you find on this show?

TITS. In Every colour, shape, and size, imaginable.
And very bizarre relationships among women in general. This thing has'nt a single drop of history, it's like the writter and the director would had crapped in your head until your brain melted out.

Had not i seen this thing.... i probably would be happier. It's still better than Mars of Destruction, but this is one of those thing which for the extreme danger that it represents for mankind, the world and the fabric of the reality itself....and should be hidden next to the ark of the covenant, the grail read more
Mar 13, 2017
davidescion (All reviews)
I did my best to do not spoil anything but is pretty much impossible not to but nothing major but you are warned
The first 8 episodes are more of an ecchi anime but in the last episodes it will be completly different; am I triggered by people that don't understand the story because they are too stupid? Yes, of course. What to expect? A pervy anime at the start and good fights at the end pretty much... Why do i think it is so good? Because the story is original [correct me if I'm wrong], but i wished more episodes like the last ones i read more
Mar 8, 2016
Hellhelper (All reviews)
If you are looking for funny yuri with lots of ecchi, I mean what is there not to love? I had a blast watching this, maybe cause I took it for what it was. I never expected a GREAT plot or the emotional aspect to the whole yuri aspect, and I really enjoyed it.

After watching stuff like Strawberry panic, I dont know if I want to put them in the same category, as their purpose and style is totally different.

Tho, if you want action, cool battles, ecchi yuri girls on the edge of hentai I dont think you'll be bored with this one
Oct 5, 2019
KiraiEternal (All reviews)
First of all, this ecchi is different from the normal ones: it's a yuri, a lesbian anime. Reading this maybe let you mind that this just make things even better, but in fact, occurs the opposite. Without a male character, the empathy that leads to the pleasure of a ecchi doesn't exist too(obviously,
this fact doesn't apply to womans). So, this does not make it exactly bad, just makes it better suited for a more especific public .
Judging another aspects, all we can say is average(nothing bad, nothing good), except by the protagonists and the ending. With this in mind, it's almost read more