Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid


Alternative Titles

English: Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid
Japanese: ヴァルキリードライヴ マーメイド

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2015 to Dec 26, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: Genco
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Arms
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.321 (scored by 22,336 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #61802
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1199
Members: 61,413
Favorites: 227

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 9, 2016
busterbeam (All reviews)
This is, putting it simply, a softcore lesbian porn anime. It exists primarily to arouse the viewer; nothing more, nothing less. The story is simply an excuse for seeing sexy girls interact, fanservicey fight-scenes and borderline hentai scenes. The truth is, actual hentai anime tends to be stuck with very small budgets; meanwhile "softcore" anime can more often afford significantly better production values, as this anime shows, and I much rather enjoy a softcore show with decent production values over chicken-scratch "hardcore" OVAs.

The story of a bunch of girls being trapped on an island, the "Soul Eater, but with orgasms" premise of the action scenes... read more
Nov 28, 2015
Anthoniichan (All reviews)
Preliminary
FROM STUDIO ARMS.... COMES SOMETHING CALLED VALKYRIE DRIVE MERMAID..
Wtf did i get myself into... Well if u like boobs... and if u like yuri... and if u like magic fighting girls with guns and swords... and u like a show with "plot" but really no real plot...
THIS IS THE SHOW FOR YOU

"Story" 3/10
I really am not enjoying any of this.. There is no elements that seem to matter or show importance in the show... none of it really makes sense and I really think none of it matters... Just a 15 year old girl and a 19 year old girl make love (uncensored) read more
Jan 2, 2016
Juarez (All reviews)
This is lewd show for sure, everyone can read the description right? though I must admit, this one is not your average ecchi show, I think it is not exaggerated to label it borderline hen***. Is it bad then? that's up to the viewer to decide. personally I'll say this show is enjoyable, not because the perverted things, it has few good points too.

Story: 7/10
call me inexperienced, but I won't complain that much about this anime originality. the concept about human transform into weapon might have used in some anime. But combine it with other elements this anime has, I think this one is read more
Dec 27, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Studio Arms has a rather—shall we say—less than impressive reputation in the anime community. Although they have done numerous different types of shows in the past, the most prevalent one is action/ecchi... and I mean the very worst kind of it. If there is one company who seemingly has a full monopoly on bad ecchi anime, then it's Arms. I still consider Queen's Blade to be the single worst full-length anime TV-series I have ever seen, and my faith in the studio since then has been rather limited to say the least. And thus it is hardly a surprise that I wasn't exactly expecting much read more
Jul 24, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Picture a mermaid.

Most people imagine a beautiful woman whose lower body is that of a scaled, green fish. Maybe she can sing real swell and maybe she is longing for love. But regardless, she is two halves that make up an entire whole.

Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid is the same. Mermaid is one half sex and one half tale, making it one not-as-bad-as-you-may-imagine anime.

STORY

Anime has its fair share of strange premises; Mermaid’s premise gets added to this list.

A virus, the “Armed Virus,” infects women, granting them special abilities. Society deems these women dangerous, so they get sent read more
Jan 20, 2016
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Ecchi has never had a big presence in the widely niche genre that is Yuri, or Shoujo Ai as it’s more accurately called. Yuri has always been a genre that I’ve always leaned toward the “erotic” side than the actual “romance” one, only because most of the anime tend to be too sugarcoated with soap opera quality stories. That doesn’t mean that I think there can’t be any ones that are good, I just think yuri fans deserve better than Valkyrie Drive Mermaid if they want their “dumb ecchi anime.”

If I had to describe the quality of Valkyrie Drive Mermaid in a very short statement read more
Dec 11, 2017
DannieOne (All reviews)
This anime is something that woke me up!!!


This is an anime I really like, not because its "Yuri" but because the whole series is about protecting one of the mcs, and not only that, then the series is nice, because of the ecchi, romance, action. The action is really, really, really, something that can facinate you, and the ecchi, is kind of fun, but its hard to explain, the romance is something that is really strong, between the main charaters.

This is an anime that really is fun, but in a weird way.

You will like this anime if you like Action, romance, ecchi and weird yuri, read more
Dec 31, 2015
Volticar (All reviews)
For my anime reviews I am going to review the anime on the order of which you would experience while watching an episode of the anime that is being reviewed.

1.Art - The art for this anime was not very impressive. Wow that's a really negative thing to start of with, sorry. I'm just say that the art was super average as well as the character models. Now, that being said, there were some moments where the animation became strangely good.... like actually outstanding. I couldn't help myself when I saw some amazing CGI in this show. It was kinda weird. read more
Mar 13, 2017
davidescion (All reviews)
I did my best to do not spoil anything but is pretty much impossible not to but nothing major but you are warned
The first 8 episodes are more of an ecchi anime but in the last episodes it will be completly different; am I triggered by people that don't understand the story because they are too stupid? Yes, of course. What to expect? A pervy anime at the start and good fights at the end pretty much... Why do i think it is so good? Because the story is original [correct me if I'm wrong], but i wished more episodes like the last ones i read more
Mar 21, 2016
Nazo-The-Weeb (All reviews)
Here is my review on the anime Valkyrie Drive: Mermaid

This anime is a rather unique and exciting one, mixing multiple genre elements into something new. New characters are introduced in just about every episode with clear introductions in various types, ranging from slow and explaining to quick and brief. The artwork of the anime looks great with pale and vibrant colors, plenty of detail, and lots of deep lighting effects. The audio is also great, being deep and clear with absolutely to disturbance between voice and sound effect The anime comes with lots of epic, high-paced, combat which shows the weapons, abilities, and skills of read more
Jan 2, 2016
Sawt0othGrin (All reviews)
It’s a masterpiece!

I do mean that, in a sense. Of COURSE this anime is lackluster in the grand scheme of things but that isn’t what’s important here. What matters is that I went into this series expecting to drop it after the first episode(I try to give everything I watch 3 episodes unless it’s just horrible, I was expecting Valkyrie Drive to be horrible) but what I got was a strangely drinkable sexy-action anime with plenty of light hearted moments and humor to boot. I’m not really even that interested in these kinds of action series either but Valkyrie Drive is uniquely charming.

The 5 out read more
Dec 3, 2017
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
"Soul Eater with Tits- Some random guy in the comments of the 1st episode"

What a weird but awesome fucking show. I came for the Yuri but stayed for the tits.

The Quote " Soul Eater with tits isn't half wrong either. This show gives off a big feel of Soul Eater and Kill La Kill. With a school structure kind of similar too Kill La Kill and people turning into weapons and wielders like Soul Eater. This just has lots of tits.
~~Spoilers~~

The first episode or two are so fucking confusing, Nothing is explained and the viewer has no idea what's happening besides Boobs flying read more
Oct 24, 2017
DanevsAnime (All reviews)
The premise of this show is absolutely absurd and is an excuse for the anime to be a softcore porn. That being said, if you accept the fact that you are in fact just watching porn, it is actually executed pretty well. The plot arcs in the show are rather generic, but are executed well enough to keep you interested. The characters interactions with each other are often incredibly sexual, but in many cases they have deep or thoughtful conversations about the tasks and issues at hand without it sounding like an excuse to get to the next girl on girl scene. The girl on read more
Aug 19, 2017
jgames111 (All reviews)
Valkyrie Drive is the fan service show I always wanted. An all girl cast who are all lesbian, fighting each other and ripping each other clothes. This is too good to be true. That being said is it smart, HELL NO! Is it dumb fun at least, HELL YES………...Okay more like sort of, except the last episode which was AWESOME. Let get to the review.

Plot: The basic plot is the fact they exist a diseased call arm, with a liberator and extar, where the liberator can turn their partner extar into a weapon by basically making them orgasm and only girls get the disease. When read more
Mar 8, 2016
Hellhelper (All reviews)
If you are looking for funny yuri with lots of ecchi, I mean what is there not to love? I had a blast watching this, maybe cause I took it for what it was. I never expected a GREAT plot or the emotional aspect to the whole yuri aspect, and I really enjoyed it.

After watching stuff like Strawberry panic, I dont know if I want to put them in the same category, as their purpose and style is totally different.

Tho, if you want action, cool battles, ecchi yuri girls on the edge of hentai I dont think you'll be bored with this one
Apr 28, 2017
virus_mal (All reviews)
Here is my honest opinion.

The reason I'm watching this is for the soft-core borderline hentai Yuri where girls orgasm to the point of transforming into weapon kinda stuff,
throughout all the episode, all I can think about is ass and tits. Then after episode 8 things started to get kind a a bit interesting, especially about the story plot.
Here is where the story told you a little about the secret of the island and the organization behind this, and also Shikishima Mirei's past history.

After that, the battle went a bit intense and the story keeps me a bit interested about what is going to be unfolded.

The read more
Apr 14, 2017
GoGoTsukiko (All reviews)
Nobody can complain about the smut in this anime. It's not a secret. You know what you're getting when you watch it. If you're okay with lewdity, fine. If you're not, don't watch it. It's very simple. There are no surprises in that department and no need to include it in detail in this review. So I won't.

If you're okay with lewdity and tempted to watch this, I feel you should be forewarned. The main character is a whimpering annoyance. Her squeaky, cutesy, nervous, whiney voice WILL grate your last nerve. Guaranteed. read more
Dec 29, 2016
Hellsdomain (All reviews)
This hentai had a surprising ammount of plot. To be real though, this anime is far from being yuri porn. All extreme nudity and sensuality aside, what you end up with is an anime with an enjoyable myriad of characters, each with their own flaws, and a story that had me thoroughly enthralled the whole time. Despite the ending not having all the romantacism that I was eager for, it was enough to satisfy and leave me with a warm feeling. All in all, if you can get past the "plot" you can enjoy a truely good anime.

Also that opening is fire.
Dec 19, 2016
YuiSenpaii (All reviews)
Started for the yuri, stayed for the plot.

Story: 7

Premise is interesting enough.

I started watching this for the guilty pleasure, but the immersion took me in, and at the least, it provides literary enjoyment as well. Some characters I have sympathized in the beginning turns out to be antagonists, and in the end I sympathized with antagonists I never thought I would.

Ending has a madoka-feeling too.

Art: 8

If you're looking for lots of yuri kisses, here you have more than enough.

Sound: 8

The only complaint I have is the awkward breast sounds, but the voice actresses and the ending theme are a blast to listen to.

Character: 7

The idea read more
May 27, 2016
josmaker2mk (All reviews)
Preliminary
What will you find on this show?

TITS. In Every colour, shape, and size, imaginable.
And very bizarre relationships among women in general. This thing has'nt a single drop of history, it's like the writter and the director would had crapped in your head until your brain melted out.

Had not i seen this thing.... i probably would be happier. It's still better than Mars of Destruction, but this is one of those thing which for the extreme danger that it represents for mankind, the world and the fabric of the reality itself....and should be hidden next to the ark of the covenant, the grail read more