Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Starmyu


Alternative Titles

English: Starmyu
Synonyms: Koukou Hoshi Kageki, High School Star Musical, Starmu
Japanese: 高校星歌劇[スタミュ]

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2015 to Dec 22, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: C-Station
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 9,345 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #31872
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2038
Members: 26,406
Favorites: 225

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2015
komasan (All reviews)
It's an immensely enjoyable ride with this series. It's a relatively simple story, but it's easy to follow and it's a fun watch. The series composition is amazing in that I always feel satisfied after watching because most times it contains drama within the episode and also balances it out with lighthearted moments. It never gets too heavy even while you are emotionally moved by plot developments.

I first decided to try out this series because I saw a composer that I like was doing the soundtrack. Honestly this show wouldn't have attracted me otherwise since I like watching anime with action or romance, so I read more
Dec 20, 2015
delaneysloane (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series is by no means an amazing masterpiece that will blow your socks off into another dimension. At the same time I think this anime has some good qualities that make it worth the watch.

Sound: 7
It's a singing anime so there are a ton of songs in this series. Although some songs aren't all that great, some are pretty enjoyable. Sadly, these songs actually added to my enjoyment of the series in a rather shameful way. Most of the transitions between singing and real live is so ridiculous, its comical. The transitions just fail terrible, making it pretty hilarious.

Art/Animation: 6
I've seen better and read more
Dec 30, 2015
Kileymik (All reviews)
Story: 5/10
Generic. The story involves 5 boys who have auditioned and been put into an idol group within their school and must compete to be placed into the music department. This means they’ll be evaluated on their performance growth to see whether they could make it in the schools official elite musical.
Generally, you would assume this would mean competing against the other groups of performers for a place in the department. While this is true, it’s only to an extent. Ive counted over 20 different groups, and we only saw one group besides our main group ever perform, which they only did twice. This read more
Dec 25, 2015
somaisbatman (All reviews)
Ludonarrative dissonance is a pretentious term from 2006 game reviewers that refers to a game's narrative clashing with its gameplay. Having watched "Starmyu", formerly referred to as "High School Star Musical", I believe that this term should be co-opted for things outside of video games, such as animation.

There's a certain point in the final episode where the titular Stardust Team claims that they will host their final performance in an avant-garde way. You see, that's sort of the overarching story of this show. The musical team of our 5 main characters likes to perform in unconventional ways - challenging the standards of their school ensnared read more
Aug 23, 2017
ohkeiji (All reviews)
the only enjoyable thing about this show was making fun of it. my friend and i literally came up with a new backstory for the main character because he was so painfully boring and bland. he was like an unseasoned chicken breast-- he was that bad. he wasn't talented!! he sucked!! there was nothing about his character that i liked. he's probably the worst main character i've ever seen in an anime.
the four others in the main group were fine. they were really only defined by one or two things/traits, but they were better than the main character, who i hate with a fiery passion.
the read more
Jul 3, 2016
SixZeroSeven (All reviews)
I am a quite big fan of music anime and handsome anime guys so it's a given that I would like this anime.But I don't think you would regret watching this even if only to laugh at the boys' weird dances(and songs) that pop out of nowhere.

Story(7/10)

At first I didn't know what I was getting myself into,I just knew there would be music so that was enough for me.The story isn't all that new and was fairly predictable but it still was entertaining.
The main character,Hoshitani once saw a boy dancing when he was in middle school and it captivated the protagonist so much that he read more
Apr 25, 2017
SmileychanEmily (All reviews)
Starmyu - An enjoyable and funny, yet slightly cringey and weird show.

After watching the TV series imagine-nation, you can learn a few things about the show and art.

Story: 7/10
It's a weird show, but it's quite funny. It's a bit predictable, but still entertaining enough to keep you engaged till the end. You'd like to see what happens to the characters as they story continues, and the complication comes along. There isn't much to describe here, but even so, I think the storyyline is good.

Art: 6/10
Please don't get me started on the art. I'm sorry, but seriously. The main characters' appearances look alright, but honestly, most read more
Dec 23, 2015
NoonebutMark (All reviews)
It is the japanese version of High School Star Musical

Story:

This anime is so enjoyable with simplistic story and conflict. There's episodes that focuses on each characters with their solo performance. Every episode fleshes out the development for each character but they never truly change.

Art:

The art is very common and sometimes it gives out a cool scene but I can't help but look at some deformed character parts.

Sound:

Every episode is full of numbers by each of the characters ala High School Musical and even though there's no unique beat and catchiness in it, I love how it gives the characters a personality.

Character:

The characters are common, you read more
Dec 21, 2015
Minster122 (All reviews)
Enter the next coming of UtaPri! Or what it was suppose to be, I think. This one is just another in the singing anime trend that's been going on. Well, with the rise in popularity of the voice actors, I'm not very surprised.

StarMyu is a bit different from UtaPri since there is zero romance (and lots and lots of bromance). Kind of to the point where I think it borders the shounen ai genre, but I like to think of it as guys who are extremely close friends. Yes.

Story: 5/10
The story itself is pretty cliche. It follows that group of failures/ oddballs that are read more
Jun 18, 2017
breathlesstao (All reviews)
After watching all twelve episodes, I find Starmyu highly overrated at its current average score of 7.09. The story and the setting being clichés I wouldn't mind, after all what can one expect from high school slice of life? Even if it is flavoured and we have a music academy instead of a regular school this time - that's really where its specialty starts and ends.

From the very start I've had the feeling that the anime suffers from a bit of an identity crisis: the main cast is supposed to be a bunch of musical students, but pretty much all we ever see them do read more
May 29, 2017
SuiteUnicorn (All reviews)
I absolutely love Starmyu despite not getting into it easily at first, but I'm glad I finished it. I enjoy it more now that I went back and re-watched the series.

Story 6/10
Very basic setting. The main character admires a highschooler watching him dance at an outdoor stage and decides to enroll in the same school and department as him, despite forgetting his face. It follows a linear storyline, nothing too complicated which is a good thing.

Art 3/10
I like the character designs and most of the art was okay. The animation isn't great though, especially during the musical scenes which simply made it read more
Feb 22, 2017
xisue (All reviews)
When I first saw STARMYU introduced in 2015 I actually thought, "oh? another boys idol anime, name is kind of lame and these characters look a bit generic." Because I usually don't enjoy idol animes as much, although I think they are great to watch just for fun. 2 years later, I found my initial thoughts completely wrong and enjoyed the series so much I watched it twice for the first time.

A lot of people seem to compare this to UtaPri, which can be true at times but I think the overall tone of the anime is drastically different from how UtaPri presents itself. read more
Jan 7, 2016
Utsusemi1 (All reviews)
Let me start by saying I watched this all in one sitting and if that isnt some indication that I even remotely enjoyed myself than you're thick-minded ways aren't welcome to this review.

In saying that - my enjoyment was only to some aspects of this anime. Straight to the point - the character bonds, some of the songs and the anti-climatic disasters (lol) and thats really it.

Take away the singing and all thats left is a bunch of males training to be actors. Or was it musicians? Or Dancers? Either way, I won't pretend theres much of a story here. 5 boys - the protagonist, read more
Dec 31, 2015
toraishi (All reviews)
Alright, this is my first review and I am only doing it because I felt like this anime hasn't gotten enough attention and I will do anything for that to change.

First off let's make it clear that this series is not AMAZING, not by itself neither for the genres it falls into. But it's not bad either, and I'm seeing it get tons of low ratings in other sites. People aren't even giving it a chance.

Story: 5/10
The story's without a doubt the weakest point of the anime. It's generic, nothing special. A group of 5 failures trying to prove the world that they can actually read more
Dec 29, 2015
RuiAizawa (All reviews)
The songs were amazing! It's very enjoyable, good story line and overall i recommend it to people who like Utapri or Music. The singing was very good, The voice actors for Tsukigami and Kuga had good voiced when singing the Ootori Countdown!~ Overall i rate it a 10/10. The main points of this anime was probably friendship or working hard to achieve your dreams and goals. It focuses on alot of the Starmyu characters and talks about their past and why they decided to tryout for the star team. There's a lot of competition between team Ootori and team Hiragi, well, that makes it hilarious!