Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Doukyuusei (Movie)


Alternative Titles

English: Doukyusei -Classmates-
Japanese: 同級生

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 20, 2016
Producers: Aniplex, Half H.P Studio
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 35,862 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1213
Members: 74,325
Favorites: 1,749

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 28, 2016
leonsdead (All reviews)
Doukyuusei is a very simple romance story that will leave a big smile on your face.

Based on the very popular manga of the same name, this movie follows Hikaru Kusakabe and Rihito Sajou, two high school students of the same age, through their journey of self-discovery and their first love.

Story (8/10): Even tho this movie is good, the story isn't very deep or emotional. In real life first loves can be a very complicated thing, but not for these characters. The story flows as it should be, there's isn't a "dramatic twist" or a "love rival" or a "love triangle", this movie didn't need that read more
Jun 8, 2016
Sir-up (All reviews)
Reading the manga, a lot of stuff bugged me. Mostly how quickly the storyline just moved on. The characters and relationship didn't get time to properly develop or even be introduced well. The idea of this story was cute, but the way it was told turned the manga pretty shitty. However, in the movie they changed all of that. The creators stretched out all of the "soon-to-be-over" scenes, and ended up spending their time very well. This way it was easier for me to really get to know the characters, and for their relationship to build. They also managed to not stretch anything too far. read more
May 31, 2016
Seasonalanime (All reviews)
(Intro is spoilers sorry even then it doesn't take away enjoyment.)
Asking your teacher at an all boys school how two guys do it. Basically. Dating someone who's really popular and has good looks, Unlike you. Not talking about your future, and falling out. ⠀
⠀Where do I begin with Classmates?! (English title) Actually the plot isn't anything new, it's been dried out like a fruit. Even so if you put enough emotion and love into something it's bound to hit some heart stings!
The characters drove this movie till the end. If anything I'd like to say well done to Kamiya Hiroshi, for always putting in 100%. read more
May 28, 2016
Katt_Cleo (All reviews)
You have no idea how long I've been waiting for this. I've been familiar with the source material for more than a couple of years and have read it over and again multiple times. I've even listened to the Drama CD more times than I would probably ever confess to.
I am what you would call "biased af".
So yeah, no effort to be objective here.

Simple story, "a boy meets a boy, they were in the blush of youth", but it is that simplicity that keeps it fresh and sweet without making it too mushy. The movie covers only the first volume of the read more
Mar 30, 2017
NotCalc (All reviews)
Well, you can definitely say that Doukyuusei is aesthetically pleasing. The colours used for backgrounds are generally muted, but the characters are vivid. Expressions are adorably drawn and very clear through a distinct art style.

Music and sound are gentle and well picked to bring out emotions , so that in combination with the art means that moments lacking in plot-driven interest often make up for it through pure atmospheric value.

Really, it's good that the aesthetics can carry the movie, because the characters can be frustrating and the plot is feeble at best.

As this was the highest ranked shounen-ai, I entered thinking this would read more
Aug 8, 2016
cactusanime (All reviews)
I was really pumped when I heard there was a decent, cute BL anime movie coming out. I was a little disappointed. Not because it was bad, because by any means it's a decent flick, but because it was only merely okay.

I want to start off by saying I'm a (bi) girl, and I didn't check to see if this BL is aimed at girls or boys, but I think that all genders would be able to enjoy the movie.

The pacing seemed really off. It moved too slow and too fast at different moments, and I think it's because it's a movie instead of an read more
Nov 23, 2016
chelime (All reviews)
I was really excited about this anime. I heard great things about it, and having been monumentally disappointed with the BL genre in general, I thought that FINALLY a gem had been made.

Eh. Not really.

The thing is, when a story is entirely centered on romance, I want that romance to BLOW ME AWAY. If there's no bigger or more intricate plotline, I want the story to put everything it has into the relationship I'm being shown and really move me. I want poignant interactions, whether it's deep conversation or cute moments. I want to see them be charmed by each other, surprised by each other, read more
Jul 17, 2016
Nayuki_Minase (All reviews)
A very good movie to watch on a summer day. It's light, with a little bit of pain. The art is wonderful. I actually never read the manga of this movie, because I don't like to read things that make me sad, and I knew this story will most probably make me cry. But in the movie it was actually what added the deeper layer to it. It's a very simple movie, and watching it definitely made me think of "youth". Also a note that I believe is important: there are no homophobic slurs in this film. This film is about love between two people, read more
Jun 29, 2016
azureDrag0n (All reviews)
Doukyuusei is for sure, like, the cutest and beautiful anime/film that I have ever seen.


When you think of yaoi or shounen-ai, especially with the amount of animes of this kind already exist, it is easy to think of what to expect from future animes about it. There is quite a lot to be problematized and many of these animes are "queerbait" so there's a lot of thing that they try to sell us because it have a queer content. What I'm trying to say is that here, I saw an anime RICH in a youthful romance without it wrong or that problematic, understand?

What caught my read more
Jun 29, 2016
blobfishRcute (All reviews)
To be honest i never actually thought i would like this when my friend recommended this to me as I was never really into the yaoi and romance genre. But I was wrong.

The reason why I didn't like the yaoi genre was mostly because of those highly unrealistic story lines. I know I know, "this is anime just turn off your brain and enjoy the show!!!". But seriously, in anime like sekai ichi hatsukoi and jinjou romantica, they act like the whole fucking world is gay and focus only on the romantic scenes between the protagonists to satisfy the fangirls. It's just basically like changing read more
May 22, 2017
rebirthx (All reviews)
Art- 4/10. Probably the biggest con for me was the simple, non-digital art style. Kusakabe's character design wasn't all too much to my appeal either, but of course, this all comes down to a matter of personal taste. Gradually, it started to bother me less and less as their personalities and emotions started to overpower their appearances.

Story- 6/10. Simplicity. It's something that could either make or break a film, but in Doukyuusei, it's what carries the story up. There's nothing special or outstanding to be found here, but this is a film that deals with feelings of first love, inner turmoil and a coming of read more
Mar 8, 2017
shiroamane (All reviews)
Doukyuusei (同級生) is what every shounen ai (or yaoi) story should aspire to be. The story is brought to life by the incredible voice acting, soft and bright art style, and relatable themes shown in the story.

Story: The story was great, and while it was cheesy and rather simple, I feel like that was the point. The more complex the story is, the harder it is to relate to the story, and I think the point here was to show how a typical high school relationship between boys in Japan may go. It is easy to relate to, but it isn't so plain that there's read more
Mar 2, 2017
Thisisalladream (All reviews)
This film absolutely blew me away! It manages to achieve more in it's 1 hour run time than most high school romances do in there entire series. What's more is that it leaves you more connected to these characters than the majority of anime in general. The wispy art style works to the films benefit as it shows through the characters very expressive facial expressions as well as giving it a great beauty right from the get go. While this is shounen-ai it certainly doesn't pander to the fudanshi and fujoshi audience. In fact anybody can enjoy this film as all it is, is a read more
Dec 24, 2016
acotede (All reviews)
IT’S CUTE! It’s really cute.

Doukyuusei delivers a quaint story told in several sections, each developing the central relationship. While the story is simplistic, the characters are carved out in a way that highlights the charming animation style while engaging the viewer. I was afraid that it would feel equally rushed as the manga, but the writers diminished parts of the source material that I didn’t like and brought everything that I enjoyed about the original story to life. The music blends with the emotions of the characters using soft guitar, and the animation is gorgeous. The story doesn’t try to be more than anything read more
Oct 9, 2016
EveningArcher (All reviews)
The movie was so simple that it will blow your mind while watching it..

It was the simplicity of the movie that will make you finish the movie.. though the ending was (no spoiler) so so so ughhhh... so ughh that you will want the continuation of it. To all my co-shounen-ai and yaoi lovers, I hope you will understand what I feel.

Another thing is that the art or the graphics of the anime was simple yet enchanting. enchanting in a way that it so simple that you it to be a live action. Their gestures and contact with each other makes you want them to read more
Aug 6, 2016
Tenko_Shimura (All reviews)
This anime is really an easy for originalest watch shounen ai and talking about first love between guys and I really like it.

Very funny anime and have a normal limit of romance here.

Hope they will be toghter and they are will found that they are falled inlove for real.

Hope for "to be continue" to see them more some years still love each other but with more interesting story, I mean to not just love each other but there, in the other scene with wedding or they are didn't see each other for really many years, to be more emotion there on your face when you read more
Jun 5, 2016
numbersixes (All reviews)
Felt like I had to write a review because I really enjoyed this. It deleted. So this is going to be a little concise. (Note: I haven’t read the Doukyuusei manga.)

Story: 8 for Very Good

The issues brought up in this were typical for teenagers. What stood out were the characters' responses. The emotions and reactions made sense. The progression was logical.
The script especially shines in this one. One memorable instance that I liked was:
Hikaru: “Was I cool?”
Rihito: “I dunno.”
This just seemed like something teenagers would say, not long speeches from John Green novels. So the story and the progression of the plot made sense to read more
Mar 5, 2017
MissChopin1 (All reviews)
NO SPOILERS
If you are like me with anime, If you dont mind to watch a boy's love stories, if you like modest, simple, natural, elegant, etc... then i would recommend you this.
I am not going to tell you this is a yaoi anime (because when i think in yaoi i always think in something more... hard)
The Story its simple, two male classmates who meet because one of them has some problems with reading music (he need it for the school) and the other one helps him.
The art, I love this kind of art, the style and everything. Like i said, i LOVE modest animes.
The read more
Oct 26, 2016
Utako-senpai (All reviews)
This review contains a small spoiler, that's actually not really a spoiler though.

To be honest, I've never really tried any shounen ai anime, as I'm more attracted to the opposite version. But I wasn't disappointed when I watched this movie yesterday.


Story (8/10):
The story revolves around two boys who fall in love with each other. They try to keep it secret, but people found it suspicious that a popular guy in a band suddenly became so close with the class nerd. As the story goes on, their relationship becomes more serious. There are two things that bug me, tough.
1. Sajou got kissed by read more
Nov 17, 2018
Mamurasuzume (All reviews)
The story was cute yet simple. It didn't need any dramatic scenes for it to be interesting and that's what made the movie so perfect.

The animation was so pleasing to the eyes and it's one of the reasons why I fell in love with the anime.

Kusakabe and Sajou's lovestory was so heartwarming and adorable I was legit squealing every time they kissed.

Not only that but the music was a great touch to the movie and it fit into the scenes so well.

Overall, I recommend to anyone who just wants a feel-good movie in which the characters and deeply in love with each other.