Doukyuusei (Movie)


Doukyusei -Classmates-

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 同級生
English: Doukyusei -Classmates-
More titles

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 20, 2016
Producers: Aniplex, Half H.P Studio
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Genres: Boys LoveBoys Love, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 1 hr.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 111214111,214 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #865
Members: 209,483
Favorites: 4,799

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 15, 2020
LonelyWave (All reviews)
DO NOT WATCH THIS

It really just doesn't live up to modern standards of progressive ethics. In fact, it just falls into all Yaoi content I've seen so far, just a infestation of zero consent and very close to just highlighting "rape" in a positive light.

When someone says "No!" that means no. This movie just throws that completely out the window in exchange for extremely weak character "progression". Their relationship goes from amazing to terrible in literally minutes. The movie forces drama as much as the writer probably wanted the characters to "force" each other.

AGAIN do not watch this. Its revolting and borderline disgusting.
May 28, 2016
leonsdead (All reviews)
Doukyuusei is a very simple romance story that will leave a big smile on your face.

Based on the very popular manga of the same name, this movie follows Hikaru Kusakabe and Rihito Sajou, two high school students of the same age, through their journey of self-discovery and their first love.

Story (8/10): Even tho this movie is good, the story isn't very deep or emotional. In real life first loves can be a very complicated thing, but not for these characters. The story flows as it should be, there's isn't a "dramatic twist" or a "love rival" or a "love triangle", this movie didn't need that read more
Jun 8, 2016
Sir-up (All reviews)
Reading the manga, a lot of stuff bugged me. Mostly how quickly the storyline just moved on. The characters and relationship didn't get time to properly develop or even be introduced well. The idea of this story was cute, but the way it was told turned the manga pretty shitty. However, in the movie they changed all of that. The creators stretched out all of the "soon-to-be-over" scenes, and ended up spending their time very well. This way it was easier for me to really get to know the characters, and for their relationship to build. They also managed to not stretch anything too far. read more
May 28, 2016
Katt_Cleo (All reviews)
You have no idea how long I've been waiting for this. I've been familiar with the source material for more than a couple of years and have read it over and again multiple times. I've even listened to the Drama CD more times than I would probably ever confess to.
I am what you would call "biased af".
So yeah, no effort to be objective here.

Simple story, "a boy meets a boy, they were in the blush of youth", but it is that simplicity that keeps it fresh and sweet without making it too mushy. The movie covers only the first volume of the read more
May 31, 2016
Seasonalanime (All reviews)
(Intro is spoilers sorry even then it doesn't take away enjoyment.)
Asking your teacher at an all boys school how two guys do it. Basically. Dating someone who's really popular and has good looks, Unlike you. Not talking about your future, and falling out. ⠀
⠀Where do I begin with Classmates?! (English title) Actually the plot isn't anything new, it's been dried out like a fruit. Even so if you put enough emotion and love into something it's bound to hit some heart stings!
The characters drove this movie till the end. If anything I'd like to say well done to Kamiya Hiroshi, for always putting in 100%. read more
Mar 30, 2017
NotCalc (All reviews)
Well, you can definitely say that Doukyuusei is aesthetically pleasing. The colours used for backgrounds are generally muted, but the characters are vivid. Expressions are adorably drawn and very clear through a distinct art style.

Music and sound are gentle and well picked to bring out emotions , so that in combination with the art means that moments lacking in plot-driven interest often make up for it through pure atmospheric value.

Really, it's good that the aesthetics can carry the movie, because the characters can be frustrating and the plot is feeble at best.

As this was the highest ranked shounen-ai, I entered thinking this would read more
Aug 8, 2016
cactusanime (All reviews)
I was really pumped when I heard there was a decent, cute BL anime movie coming out. I was a little disappointed. Not because it was bad, because by any means it's a decent flick, but because it was only merely okay.

I want to start off by saying I'm a (bi) girl, and I didn't check to see if this BL is aimed at girls or boys, but I think that all genders would be able to enjoy the movie.

The pacing seemed really off. It moved too slow and too fast at different moments, and I think it's because it's a movie instead of an read more
Nov 23, 2016
chelime (All reviews)
I was really excited about this anime. I heard great things about it, and having been monumentally disappointed with the BL genre in general, I thought that FINALLY a gem had been made.

Eh. Not really.

The thing is, when a story is entirely centered on romance, I want that romance to BLOW ME AWAY. If there's no bigger or more intricate plotline, I want the story to put everything it has into the relationship I'm being shown and really move me. I want poignant interactions, whether it's deep conversation or cute moments. I want to see them be charmed by each other, surprised by each other, read more
May 9, 2020
cracqueer (All reviews)
Very much enjoyed watching! A very light yet touching watch, a feel good movie for people who seek a little bit of youth romance. Just enough fluffy, chummy, lovey-dovey stuff to compliment the story.

-----
Story
The story of high-school romance that happens so suddenly. It all starts in the summer when the students have to perform a song in a choir. The musical prodigy takes a liking to the smartest kid in the class, and they start practicing together. The love grows, and then blooms at the end of the performance. The relationship continues as they struggle to finish their high-school year, with college/career options, university read more
Jun 29, 2016
blobfishRcute (All reviews)
To be honest i never actually thought i would like this when my friend recommended this to me as I was never really into the yaoi and romance genre. But I was wrong.

The reason why I didn't like the yaoi genre was mostly because of those highly unrealistic story lines. I know I know, "this is anime just turn off your brain and enjoy the show!!!". But seriously, in anime like sekai ichi hatsukoi and jinjou romantica, they act like the whole fucking world is gay and focus only on the romantic scenes between the protagonists to satisfy the fangirls. It's just basically like changing read more
Apr 10, 2021
Idontwantto2mal (All reviews)
Yes, I'm a homophobe (no), asshole, (I'm a member of LGBT and I'm interested in LGBT representation)but I'm sorry, I don't see the point in giving a high BL rating just for being non-toxic.
I want to praise art. It's a good styling with decent workmanship. You can see that the original style. There are no yaoi hands, characters that look the same as from a Chinese toy factory, no scary triangular faces like in JR and SiH. The colors are well-matched, and it doesn't look like a rainbow-colored glitter nightmare like in the LS.

The relationship of the main characters is not that someone molests someone, read more
Jul 3, 2019
matchamilkshake (All reviews)
I do not enjoy this movie as much as other people do, just because I found the pacing to be too quick. If this were episodes, I would probably enjoy it more than I do.

The story is not something new as if I have never seen it before, and the plot was predictable. Everything does not excite me as much as I do when I first watched the first few minutes.

This is just a typical light BL story, and everyone probably knows the drill. Characters meet each other, characters feel insecure, side character intervening, characters cannot be together, characters will be fine.

I do read more
Sep 3, 2021
Ram404 (All reviews)
This is just, an amazing movie. A good example of a queer relationship between two men not being sexualized and a natural one at that. As someone who is gay and is in a relationship with a guy, I find this movie to be realistic and in general enjoyable. This is totally going on my favorite anime list and I'm proud.

Before you scream rape on that one scene, by the way, he wasn't saying "no" because he was uncomfortable -- he said it because of what he heard and how he felt.

Everything about this was just outstanding, the art is especially beautiful and the read more
Aug 11, 2021
vicariousdreamer (All reviews)
In contrast with ActiveWave's review. if you judge a whole show within a minute of discomfort then that's simply straight-up moronic and overly sensitive. This anime is pretty wholesome compared to that gruesome ActiveWave's review. It was short, and it has very little information about the two characters but for me, the subtleties were enough. Their dynamic interaction was outstanding, it didn't bore me even if there are multiple time skips. It was cute and engaging all throughout. And no. there weren't any scenes that would "highly" discomfort you. Just watch it.

Reminder that you should watch the anime on your own and trust your own read more
Mar 25, 2020
Beckovitch (All reviews)
The build up of the story is quite simple, but is done in a clever way. The plot is compelling and sweet, and it doesn't drag on for longer than it has to.

Doukyuusei is one of my personal faves, but it's not perfect depicting it's lgbtq+ themes. Yes, it's far better than many other anime's at it but it still fails to treat queer relationships as normal. The relationship between the two leads feel very stiff sometimes, and the development in their relationship is mostly physical (even at the end it doesn't feel like the characters really know each other, despite having dated for quite read more
Jul 17, 2016
Nayuki_Minase (All reviews)
A very good movie to watch on a summer day. It's light, with a little bit of pain. The art is wonderful. I actually never read the manga of this movie, because I don't like to read things that make me sad, and I knew this story will most probably make me cry. But in the movie it was actually what added the deeper layer to it. It's a very simple movie, and watching it definitely made me think of "youth". Also a note that I believe is important: there are no homophobic slurs in this film. This film is about love between two people, read more
May 3, 2019
Waser (All reviews)
This is the type of movie you watch when you want to put a smile on your face! It's very sweet and all around a very pleasant movie to watch! The animation looked great (when the characters would run on screen they did look slightly wonky but that's fine) and the backgrounds were all very nicely done. The characters I really enjoyed. Also if you already watched the movie.. did you think it was weird how that teacher guy kissed the student and then nothing ever happened after that?? I thought that was kind of odd! I mean the teacher never got in trouble and read more
Apr 23, 2019
Mofuchi (All reviews)
Man this is like, my favorite movie ever. It is not the best anime movie I've watched but, it was beautiful and decent for an yaoi.
The OST just made cry so much, so pretty...
I love the couple and how they really care about each other, Kusakabe is so sweet and caring for Sajou, and a very interesting character. He had many girlfriends before but Sajou was his real first love, like, woah! So cute.
There isn't rape or lemon scenes and thats very good and kinda rare in this gender.
The art isn't perfect or detailed, but it's so simple and pretty, it suits perfectly the movie.
I read more
May 22, 2017
rebirthx (All reviews)
Art- 4/10. Probably (and controversially) the biggest con for me was the simple art style. Kusakabe's character design wasn't all too much to my appeal either, but of course, this all comes down to a matter of personal taste. Gradually, it started to bother me less and less as their personalities and emotions started to overpower their appearances.

Story- 6/10. Simplicity. It's something that could either make or break a film, but in Doukyuusei, it's what carries the story up. There's nothing special or outstanding to be found here, but this is a film that deals with feelings of first love, inner turmoil and a coming read more
Nov 25, 2021
Melty2807 (All reviews)
So this is not really a review, but a warning.
This movie was very promising, however it has dissapointed me a lot.
I was hoping for a film about love, while its just fetishization of gay people and non-con (non consent).
The mc, Kukasabe has no respect towards his love interest: he never asks for consent, and even after being told 'no' he doesnt stop.
In this movie its portrayed as something normal, or even attractive.
The art, music and design in this movie is really nice, so its easy to miss these harmful things.
If you decide to watch Dokyuseii anyway, please keep in mind what I said, and read more