Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry
Chivalry of a Failed Knight
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Chivalry of a Failed Knight
Synonyms: A Chivalry of the Failed Knight, Rakudai Kishi no Eiyuutan, A Tale of Worst One
Japanese: 落第騎士の英雄譚《キャバルリィ》

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2015 to Dec 19, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: flying DOG
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link., Nexus
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, RomanceRomance, EcchiEcchi, FantasyFantasy, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.661 (scored by 271430271,430 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #158
Members: 477,167
Favorites: 5,701

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
In the seasonal anime approach, on every single one, we will receive once in a while an ecchi and harem with the battle tournament trope light novel adaptation, most likely from one, two or four of them, depending how many they announced in each said season.

The thing is, for most of the cases, people will go and judge based upon the cover and its setting, the synopsis, etc, even the source being based out of (which I personally find the generalization of the Light Novel Medium being judged upon the genre and setting quite annoying, ridiculous and quite stupid, assuming for a lot of read more
Dec 24, 2015
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
Rakudai Kisihi no Calvary is a show that does a hell of a lot more wrong than it does right, manages to fall into all the typical LN tropes, and still manages to have an incredibly fervent fanbase which thinks that somehow it is an original show which averts many tropes used in LN-adaptations. While I admit that the show manages more right than wrong in one or two aspects, it still manages to be an incredibly bland and generic LN adaptation in the eyes of almost anyone who is experienced enough anime. This review involves spoilers, but honestly no one should care about spoilers read more
Dec 19, 2015
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
I'll admit at first glance I also noticed it to be both visually and story related to Asterisk wars however as we all may know by now that Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry has more of a erotic, romance, ecchi genre's in it. While watching I found myself to be highly engaged into the action and battles scenes more than the story. I felt bad though because I personally felt that the story was weak. What I mean by that is I felt like there wasn't much of a "wow" or "oh my god how intense" moment in the story for me. I did however like read more
Dec 19, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry feels to me like an almost desperate attempt to be different. It intentionally utilizes perhaps the most overused setting and premise in the anime industry as of late, and then tries to put its own spin on it in order to make it stand out from the crowd. I say "attempt" however, because unfortunately it never quite lives up to its own potential due to having a tendency of not focusing on its own strengths properly, and thus indirectly making it somewhat generic in the end, even though that's exactly what it's supposed to try its hardest to avoid.

The story takes read more
Apr 7, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
To my loving father and family,

I’m sure you're well aware of what transpired yesterday, and I am deeply aware you're eager to know what up to that moment. I understand you, all miss me, and want to know what my life at school was like so far.

Despite what a lovely time I am having, it did not begin this way. When Ikki and I first met, it was embarrassingly rocky for the two of us, even upon getting to know what we each strive for. Some embarrassing incidents occurred that did not help our situations, especially when I met his sister for the first read more
Dec 20, 2015
Lyree (All reviews)
Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry - after reading the synopsis and seeing the cover, doesn't it make you think it's yet another uninteresting and low quality light novel adaptation about a "worst" student and his harem, taking place in a magic high school?
That's not exactly what Rakudai is.

The start might not be so convincing, but already after the first episode I knew I would stick with this anime till the end. What makes Rakudai stand out, is that it's really trying to be a little different. And the outcome is pretty good. At first, this is something we know very well already. We get our protagonist, read more
Dec 31, 2015
Goukeban (All reviews)
As clichéd and by the number as Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry presents itself, it also seems to be an anime that challenges its own status constantly. By looking at its plot summary and art direction, you would be forgiven to toss this series along with the generic crap that piles the charts of every season. With that in mind, what could be then a valid reason to give this show the merit of a review?

Well, I’m glad you asked, little voice in my head, let me explain.

Story and Characters

From any angle you look Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry (this one is quite the mouthful, I’m gonna read more
Dec 27, 2015
MozillaFennekin (All reviews)
Have you ever been disappointed by something that you didn't have high expectations of in the first place? If your answer is "no", then you have yet to attend a high school and/or watch Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry. Some time during the Fall 2015 season, I had gone about a month without watching any anime because reasons, and the only shows I'd been watching were two shows I knew about already and one that was somewhat of a recommendation; therefore, I ventured off into uncharted territory and picked this up, seeing that it was the most-watched show outside of One Hype Man and some sequels read more
Dec 19, 2015
Bikhal (All reviews)
This anime is a weird one for me. I mean on paper, it is not all that. It has generic story and generic characters. Nothing is new! There is also another similar anime that was airing at the same time, Gakusen Toshi Asterisk. Now, Gakusen is... umm to put it straight... bland. But I really can't pinpoint why Rakudai Kishi is at least twice as good than Asterisk.

My enjoyment level was so high that even I was surprised. If One Punch Man wasn't airing this season, I really would put this anime as my number one in pure enjoyment, not story wise, characters read more
Dec 20, 2015
TheGeniusBaka (All reviews)
SHITTY REVIEWS
-shamelessly presents-
Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry(sub)
**SPOILER FREE**

I decided to watch this as the director and the studio were the same that my most fav anime.

Story-The story is not very generik in my opinion.for example the MC is definitely sure whom he loves.The setting is interesting.the pacing is good in my opinion.but the story iself is little waek

Art-Nexus/silver link has done really good job on art.the fight scenes were great.the characters design is also nice.

Sound-The music is by the composer of Code Geass so it is really GOOD.The OP is really catchy.and every character's voice fit there character good.

Character-I really loved the characters of read more
Dec 19, 2015
Volvagia (All reviews)
I will be honest when we had an incestuous moment with the main lead's sister early on I rolled my eyes, but, after that, I was shocked at how quickly this anime cut the bullshit on the normal "will they won't they" crap you usually get from anime. It's nice to see a functioning relationship in anime for once between the leads.

The female lead Stella also seems like a rational human being, rather than the quirk-filled characters we usually get. She is the princess of a country and thus carries some regal bearing but surprisingly is not stuck up nor a pushover. IT's a read more
Dec 19, 2015
GodsApprentice (All reviews)
Looking for an insanely well animated anime with an underestimated, very strong MC with serious romance going on where the MC actually gets together with the girl he loves? Then this is THE anime you MUST watch!

Every episode is filled with a 100% guarantee of enjoyment! Every episode is also a continuation of the previous one, which makes understanding the story very comfortable. That, combined with the super high quality animations is a sure joy to enjoy!

The MC has been through a lot, which shows during the entire anime. The MC has shown incredible feets but also not so incredible ones. Why is a strong read more
Dec 20, 2015
LoomyTheBrew (All reviews)
Word Count: 1735 words (5 pages double spaced)

*Spoiler Free*

[Why should you watch this?] Because it’s the biggest breath of fresh air to the high school battle harem genre in quite some time.

[What should you expect?] Awesome fights, a romance that actually goes somewhere, a very likable and respectable MC, a fantastic red-hair tsundere, a great cast of characters, a straight forward story, some decent villains, and some good fanservice here and there.

[Where can you watch it?] You can watch it legally on Hulu (I wish they could have shared it with Crunchyroll or even Daisuki, but oh well!).

-------

Introduction (skip this section if you just read more
Dec 19, 2015
zedriccoil (All reviews)
By far the underdog of this season, Rakudai Kishi no Cavalry exceeded my expectations. The weak and generic start can put off a lot of people. Where as many will simply discard it as another addition to the list of ever growing bad harem anime.
But that will be a grave mistake, because amongst the bad shows the good ones get disregarded.
Such is the case with Rakudai Kishi.

Story wise, it does not do much different, a school setting where students are called Blazers and they battle in selection matches to be selected in the Nationals. Nothing new here, the change arrives with the introduction of read more
Dec 19, 2015
ixaa (All reviews)
Here's my review of Rakudai Kishi no Calvary. I tried my best to make it short, had to actually cut a lot of stuff out (it's still kind of long) but I didn't want to drag it out.
Story {8}:

The concept of Rakudai Kishi no Calvary is not unique. We've seen it a thousand times before actually. It's a magical school series where students fight against each other in an elimination round style to prove that they're the best in the school. Main Character, who always has a crowd of girls around him for some reason, is labeled one of the worst fighters but is read more
Dec 19, 2015
shoniki (All reviews)
First of all, why i liked the anime: I watched it with my father and both of us enjoyed it, great animation and outstanding battles, the characters may be a bit cliches and i dont know, i've seen a lot of animes that have a lot of swords but i specialy liked this one, the light novel has great art too thanks to Won, Stella and Shizuku are so cute and Arisu is a great charachter too, the opening theme is epic and its 3 different versions made you hype while you watching it, the ending theme is a bit weird it gives me a read more
Dec 20, 2015
-ShadowClaw- (All reviews)
I was going to give this an 8/10 but those last 5 minutes i had to give it a 9...HAHA one of the best of the fall.

Also i am happy to see so many comments saying that this series is far better than they thought it would be ...even those who find it bad admit..it is far better than most other battle tournament, ecchi, romance series.

The key ingredients that makes this series far better than the rest are: The Romance Development, The Character Development and breaking a lot of the genre's cliche.

I am doing my part and getting this when Sentai releases it...i hope it read more
Jan 1, 2016
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Sometimes there is one aspect to a show that can save it from pure mediocrity. It may not try to propel it into the status of "classic" or "greatness", as there are still other aspects to it that are either okay or bad, but it can still garner it some admiration for trying. Rakudai Kishi no Calvary has the distinction of being one of these shows. As much as my expectations were shrouded in apathy when I started, by the time I was halfway through Rakudai, that apathy dissipated from just one aspect of it that kept me coming back.

The aspect I'm talking about in read more
Dec 19, 2015
CallmeMarik (All reviews)
Greetings fellow Otakus! :3 I'm Marik and this will be my spoiler free review of the Fall 2015 anime: Rakudai Kishi No Cavalry, I'm going to split this review into Five sections: Story/Plot, Characters, Art Design/Animation, Music/Soundtrack and then my overall thoughts on this anime. Let's go ahead ;P *Disclaimer* This is my opinion on the anime and as such if you don't share the same thoughts as me on anything within the review feel free to let me know and we can discuss and share our opinions in a civilized fashion, also I'm open to any constructive criticism but please no negative comments or read more
Dec 20, 2015
Anime4Rays (All reviews)
Keep in mind this review is my first review in a long time, so bear with me please. Anyway let's start my review of an anime that is completely underrated, and wrongly compared to another anime this season known as Gakusen Toshi Asterisk.

Story(8)
Cavalry tends to come off as an anime that'll be your typical magical school, harem "Romance". But Cavalry breaks that mold, and creates a real romance. One that doesn't leave you upset by the end *cough* *cough* Asterisk *cough*. The story follows Kurogane Ikki(MC), as he struggles to prove to his family, who constantly attempted to sabotage him, that he can do anything read more