Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

One Punch Man


Alternative Titles

English: One Punch Man
Synonyms: One Punch-Man, One-Punch Man, OPM
Japanese: ワンパンマン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2015 to Dec 21, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Mondays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Web manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.741 (scored by 615,925 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #9
Members: 909,194
Favorites: 28,240

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 22, 2015
Taz_ (All reviews)
Going back to One Punch Man, I really thought of something. Something that can make or break this show to several of its viewers. And that's the joke. The one prominent singular joke.

I'm not saying this is going to be a completely balanced review. And most of you might get upset over that fact, and even start to hate me for it too. And I can understand why. I would hate it if someone didn't provide both sides to the argument for my favorite show, but keep in mind that I am not authoritative force, and I cannot dictate how or what you should read more
Dec 20, 2015
MonsterLiebert (All reviews)
This is a complete review after watching all 12 episodes of One Punch Man.

**CONTAINS MINOR SPOILERS**

I remember when I was 8 years old, I used to be excited for a new Pokemon episode everyday. I used to run from school to my house so that I wouldn’t miss any single moment. Then as you grow up, such excitement starts to fade away. No matter how good a show is, only a few shows can generate such an excitement for a viewer. I never would’ve imagined that an anime would make me feel that excitement again at 20 yrs. And lucky for me, it aired on read more
Dec 20, 2015
Rkpandey (All reviews)
There are only two types of people in the world: one who absolutely love One Punch Man, and other who strongly dislike it for being too predictable. Now finally that the anime is over, I can review it properly.


Story: 8/10
One Punch Man is an action-comedy anime which tells a story about a man named Saitama who is 'a hero just for fun' in a world where monsters and heroes are quite common. He is quite overpowered and manages to kill anyone in just a single punch, which has made his life quite boring. Soon a new cyborg named Genos is introduced who is in read more
Dec 27, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
When it comes to comedies and parodies alike, there really isn't any sort of arithmetic equation or analytical evaluation needed to determine its value. To put it as simply as possible, it all boils down to a rudimentary question: were you kept amused and were you entertained?
If you said "no" then that's fine, there really isn't any need to justify that answer any further, same also applies if you had said "yes." You see, shows geared to keep you amused are that simple, the same way disliking or liking a specific genre of music doesn't inherently determine its worth to the next person to read more
Dec 20, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
One-Punch Man is pretty much exactly like what it sounds. We got a bald guy named Saitama who literally beats his opponents with a single punch. He is so powerful that throughout his life, he gets bored with the opponent he fights with. Because when a guy like him can beat up opponents with just one punch, it doesn’t get very fun right? Regardless, Saitama has a heart of gold and in this series, we follow his daily adventures as a hero, as the man who one punches his enemies.

In general, the series is actually a TV anime adaptation of the remake of the web read more
Dec 28, 2015
KeyboardKafe (All reviews)
After finishing this show I have concluded that it certainly lives up to its name. Oh no no, not the majority opinion of it, silly goose, I mean the actual show title, “One Punch Man,” because this show genuinely does only have ONE joke, and it gets old very, very fast.

Everything you need to know or possibly can know about this anime is in its title. The main character defeats every villain in one punch, but what else? That can’t possibly be it, can it? Well… for all intents and purposes, the show is indeed branded as a parody. But in order for us to read more
Dec 20, 2015
taichikins (All reviews)
Ever since I started reading the One Punch Man manga by Murata back in 2013, I couldn't wait until the day OPM actually got an anime adaption. When I heard Madhouse was picking up the project, my excitement grew ever so vastly. Now, after finally completing the anime, I can say without doubt, that I'm glad the adaption was done by Madhouse and no other.

One Punch Man tells a story of Saitama, an average man living an average life, with a... not-so-average hobby: being a superhero. There's something that sets this man apart from other heroes though. You guessed it: he tends to defeat read more
Jul 12, 2016
KUNYIT (All reviews)
Story: 5 (so-so only)
Art and animation: 9 (why? i'm anchoring my benchmark to Evangelion 2.0, Hellsing Ultimate, and Princes Mononoke, leading to score this anime to be near perfect, otherwise 10)
Sound: 6
Character: 6
Enjoyment: 9
Overall: 9.

One Punch Man is an anime dedicated for those, including myself, who value more on superb action animation-based quality while putting story-wise and characters on the least priority. Because they focus so much on its animation and art wise, it can lead to double-edge sword for some people. On one hand, great animation and art can rise more enjoyment while putting less effort on story and characters can dampen read more
Dec 21, 2015
nowa_ (All reviews)
One Punch Man is a comedy/parody shounen anime. Unfortunately it fails as a parody and it fails as a shounen.

The Comedy:
Saitama, the main protagonist, is really really strong, but he's also bored. He is so strong that he doesn't even get excited while fighting really strong opponents. That's the main joke of the anime, and if you don't like it, well, too bad, because it will be shoved down your throat every single episode. There's nothing much else to talk about him, it's basically all his personality.

Outside of Saitama the humor is pretty much hit or miss. It's funny, because this is supposed to read more
Dec 20, 2015
PompousPhoenix (All reviews)
Preliminary
"I am here to attend the supermarket sale and have fun....and I'm all out of coupons"


To be honest with you, I've been bored with anime for quite a while now. Sure, I've been watching some anime but it's mostly restricted to anime that have already finished or are over 10 years old.
So, naturally, when I heard about One Punch Man, I brushed it off as more of the same old sh*t that's been airing for the past five years. How wrong I was....
Now, after waiting patiently for over 81 days, I have come to put an end to all the ridiculous criticism that read more
Dec 30, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Goddamn, last season was heavy on the shonen/superhero stuff, wasn't it? Seraph of the End: Battle in Nagoya. Ushio and Tora. Noragami Aragoto. And of course, the most popular one of them all, One Punch Man. It's going to be difficult to find something new to say about each of them, but lord knows I'm going to try my damndest to do so. Might as well start with the one that got everyone's attention, even if not for all the right reasons. I mean it's a giant understatement to say that I wasn't the only one who watched One Punch Man, but it's also a read more
Dec 21, 2015
Mantaren (All reviews)
(•ㅅ•) Hello! This is my first attempt on an anime review, but I will try being clear, honest and descriptive. This review is based on my personal views and opinions towards anime series, as well as my personal preference around style, aesthetics, genres and type of anime. I have just finished watching all 12 episodes.

Story: 3/10
There is no story, there's just a main character who lives in a world full of extreme hazards, which he can overcome and stomp on just because he extensively worked out. This anime is pretty much the definition of a comedy that lacks any other purpose. The whole concept is read more
Dec 21, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
With One-Punch Man finished airing, there is one thing anyone can agree on, and that is how split the community is about the show: there are people who absolutely love it, considering it the pinnacle of their experience, and others that consider it to be very bland and boring, with terrible humour. Now the question is whether these opinions on the show are justified or not, and naturally it is, on both sides. Is One-Punch Man overrated? Yes, it is. But is it mediocre, bad? No, in my opinion it is not, it's an enjoyable anime with fantastic animation and action.

~Story~

The premise of One-Punch Man read more
Feb 2, 2016
whytehfnot (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series is one thing, one simple thing...

SPECTACULARLY OVERRATED

Overall - this series has a lot of potential, a comedic parody of shouen anime. However, the execution of this series is very poor.

Story - There is little to no discernible story line it seems, and whatever is there is needless drawn out and fraught with cliche, that more or less parody shouen story-lines, but without providing any actual comedy. Basically turning into a shitty version of what they are trying to make fun of.

Art/Sound - Only redeeming element of this anime, the art style is fantastic and it comes with a very good audio quality, the read more
Dec 25, 2015
AndrewVeloz (All reviews)
Every year there is at least one particular show that receives massive coverage for whatever reason.In 2015, without a question was One Punch Man's year in the spotlight and for good reason; the initial premise of One Punch seemed to be a goldmine, for it was thought to be a clever,satiristic view of the shonen and action anime that has been dominate since the last decade.
So then, with roses thrown before the curtain is raised, does One Punch Man live up to its potential ? Without even a sigh, no would be the answer.
The biggest flaws that Opm suffers from are the counter read more
Mar 16, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
One Punch Man was a fairly popular anime from the tail end of last year. It was based off of a webcomic by One, which has also been adapted into a manga. The anime came from Madhouse, which could be good or bad and there's no real way to ascertain which it is just because it has a lot of fans. After all, some of the worst anime I've seen have had pretty substantive fan bases. Then again, just last week I reviewed Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex: 2nd Gig, which was both popular and really good. So, let's take a look and read more
Dec 28, 2015
Lindle (All reviews)
Jesus christ, calm the fuck down. It's a pretty good anime. It is neither the greatest nor the worst thing to ever be produced, contrary to how most people seem to be treating it.

It's a shame that such a disclaimer is necessary, but there really only seem to be two kinds of people when it comes to One Punch Man - those who consider it a cancer on the anime industry, and those who worship it as though it were the second coming. And while, in all honesty, this would probably not be as hyped as it is if it weren't the only thing coming read more
Jan 15, 2016
Akafection (All reviews)
“Saitama”, I guess that name often heard by all of the anime fans out there including me this lately. Well, that makes sense because this anime One Punch Man that adapted from a manga remake by Yusuke Murata and originally written by ONE has caught a large attention through it series. As most people knew, there’s pro and contra that shows up among anime fans out there about this show and because of that, I feel that I have to watch this no matter what. And now I finally did it so I’m gonna present this review of me for this anime. For more 20 read more
Dec 20, 2015
Vehemor (All reviews)
One Punch Man is an action comedy anime. If you expect deep meening, you're done. If you expect horror or something meaningfull, you're watching the wrong anime.

If you know wha you're about to watch and you are happy with it, OPM is awesome. It has humour, strange characters, a simple story and lots of meaningless action.

Story: 10/10

Saitama is strong. And being the strongest is boring. Going through life looking for someone stronger or at least entertaining is a funny concept, specially when no one actually knows how strong you are.

Art: 10/10

Pretty, tidy and clorfull. Can't expect a lot more, but the fight scenes are really read more
Dec 26, 2015
BugEyedSamurai (All reviews)
(First Impression)
"A superhero who can beat any villain in one punch?
this is going to get really old really fast.."

(Episodes Later)
"I'm feeling the hype"
*At this point I'm hooked watching episodes the day they release*

(After Season Finale)
*Searching google for Season 2 release date*
"I have a strange desire to shave my head bald"

The show has extremely simple plot; yet they managed to stretch it throughout 12 episodes in a way that you question life, learn lessons and respect a bald guy who isn't your grandfather.

Fight scenes contain fantastic animation quality and themes that vary from comical to epic. I didn't like the opening song at read more