Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Diamond no Ace: Second Season


Alternative Titles

English: Ace of Diamond: Second Season
Synonyms: Daiya no Ace: Second Season, Ace of the Diamond: 2nd Season
Japanese: ダイヤのA[エース]~Second Season~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2015 to Mar 28, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Mondays at 18:00 (JST)
Producers: TV Tokyo, Sotsu
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.481 (scored by 22,404 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1376
Members: 44,995
Favorites: 509

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2016
karlstein12 (All reviews)
Diamond no Ace, a name that might not be heard as frequently as other largely popular sports shows out there. And that has always dumbfounded me. A show doing everything right, also up there as one of the best in its genre, yet still never has broke through the locks and that is evident with the relatively small amount of members it has on MAL compared to other popular sport shows.

A collaboration of Madhouse and Production I.G., two of arguably the greatest ever studio's in this industry. With loads of experience behind them and even highly in the sports genre (Madhouse: Hajime no Ippo, One read more
Nov 24, 2015
AreyKyoya (All reviews)
Preliminary
This was my first venture into the baseball sports anime genre. I have never watched a single baseball game in my life and was never intrested in one until I watched Diamond no Ace. I expected it to some boring anime of a team trying to play baseball as hard as they can. But sometime after that Diamond no Ace was approved for 52 episodes for its first season and the it was being produced by Madhouse. So I thought i would give it a try and to my surprise Diamond no Ace is now one of my all-time favourite shows.

Story: 10 - Diamond no read more
Mar 24, 2016
stpltzn (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first time to write a review because I truly think that this anime deserves way more praise than it currently receives. In my circle of friends, I'm the only one who watched this anime because of the fact that the sport featured in this anime - baseball, is boring. But don't let that stop you since you'd be missing out on one of the best sports anime out there.

Story (10/10)
I give it a 10 because somehow, the story still grips me even if it does follow the same formula of the 1st season. (get the team to be stronger to get to read more
Dec 15, 2015
Joieeeful (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was quite excited to find that Diamond no Ace was getting a second season basically straight after it finished. Although the first few episodes were recaps, I found this sequel on-par with, or maybe even better than, the first season.

Story:
Just like the prequel, the story is nothing too unique. However, it is good to see competition between the main character and his rival, as they are on the same team. One of the things I like the most about sports anime is watching the players improve, this show certainly boasts this quality because the MC is far from perfect and neither is the read more
May 26, 2016
Taiphou (All reviews)
The 2nd season for Diamond no Ace keeps the hope of winning a ticket to national tournament alive!

Story: Like almost every sport anime I have seen the goal is very simple indeed. (Baby Steps, Prince of Tennis) Still the story keeps surprising by different factors which are common in real life, not everything can go as planned. This is exactly why Diamond no Ace gives this refreshing "slice-off" life feeling. Even though the story isn't that awesome, they manage to perform so well. Main protagonists are pitcher Sawamura Eijun, Furuya Satoru and catcher Miyuki Kazuya, but because of this is about baseball a team sport read more
Apr 4, 2016
Tyuzi (All reviews)
No spoilers...

You're probably thinking of an 8/10 a bit of a low rating, but I'm taking in the account of 5/10 being an average. That, I consider an exceptional score. I also currently follow MLB (Major League Baseball) and used to play baseball. I just want you to keep all that in mind.

I first thought the 2nd season will be like the 1st season, this was going to be a long drag and have a pretty cliche/predictable story. This is considering having to go through the previous season’s 75 episodes, but still enjoyed it enough for the nostalgia and epic moments.

Boy, I was so wrong.

For read more
Mar 29, 2016
ravengal101 (All reviews)
Starting this series was an impulsive decision while I was on a sports anime binge. I don’t regret it at all. Even though I’ve never watched a real baseball game and the sport is virtually non-existent in my country, I quickly grew to like it.

*Contains NO spoilers*

Characters - 9/10
Its dynamic characters are Diamond no Ace’s (DnA) strong suit. They're all unique - in character design, personality, and purpose in the show. I fell in love with most of them from the first season and that never changed in this one. This show just has a knack for making you admire the players' efforts and camaraderie. read more
Jan 29, 2016
LuzuNatalia (All reviews)
Preliminary
S2 of Diamond no Ace isn't complete yet but I feel like I have watched enough to write a review. Generally, its as good and entertaining as S1. :)

The S1 cast remain intact but are joined by new teams and also new faces. In S2, some character developments are now more obvious than others, while the rest continue to develop slowly. Again, don't get frustrated here (especially with the main protagonist and some people surrounding him) because this is a more realistic anime and imo, the development of the characters steadily depend on their "persona" and their "experiences" ( I hope you get my point read more
May 9, 2017
ShadowProphet1 (All reviews)
6.5/10.
TL;DR Repetitive story, Poorly animated, repetitive visuals, very little depth to characters, horrible storytelling/the director is garbage, 120+ ep anime that could be done well in less than 60eps.

I urge people to watch this then watch Haikyuu. Learn what the difference between half assed anime garbage (Diamon No Ace) and a masterpiece of storytelling done in a extremely visually appealing form (Haikyuu). Enlighten yourselves.
-----------------------
This is so far into realism that it isn't even real anymore. They took almost no creative liberties with how they would show tension. Just alot of screaming, crying and red/blue auras.... what a joke. Way more episodes than most other read more
Apr 8, 2016
Meshi_chan (All reviews)
Following this series for two years, left me devastated when I knew my Monday will go on without a new episode of this series.

Ace of Diamond : Second Season has proven to me the art and meaning of Japanese High School Baseball or kokoyakyu since the story resolved around it. It was the continuation of the first season, when the boys and the new team struggles their way to perform in Koshien that they failed to do during the summer. The main drama of this season is somewhat more personal and we get to see and learn more about the bunch of old and new read more
Mar 22, 2016
Shounen_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note:
The review is targeted to the people who have not yet seen the anime at all not even season 1 cause I believe if you have seen season 1 then it’s kind of obvious that you would have craved for season 2. But if you belong to the rare species who actually have seen the season 1 and still wondering whether to watch this season or not then I would say please watch it if not better than equally amazing equally thrilling as the 1st season was. So I would keep the review as spoiler free as I can so that people who haven’t read more
Oct 24, 2016
CrookedPanther (All reviews)
Since you came to read the reviews of the 2nd season i assume you ve already seen the 1st. (if not, well you are a bit of an oddball)

The 2nd season starts off with the defeated team that didn't manage to go to nationals. At first, it's rather normal for everyone to be sad about the 3rd years leaving because they were all extremely interesting characters, and it makes you wonder, is the 2nd season gonna be good without them ? Well yes it is! Even though the about to retired 3rd years aren't at the scene much, read more
Sep 24, 2016
BernardHoover (All reviews)
This is my first time to write a fullest review,really I've been write the same review abuout before.but,I thought previous most contents wrong grammar so I deleted it.why I write first for this? it causes most so wonderous and unforgottable story.I ever thought that so difficult and boring to playing baseball.nevertheless,my view got changed while I completed it.so,don't you'd be missing out on one of the best sports anime here.

Story (10/10)
I give it a perfect score because it's always bring neatly-structured story.with forward plot,we have to still grips main problematics together with ascended story as first season like.notably while this season are lot of cliffhanger read more
Mar 31, 2016
eragon1man (All reviews)
There are no spoilers in this review. My rating system counts story for 30% of the total, characters as 30%, art as 20%, and 20% for the sound.

I give this anime a 7.1 and I'll tell you why. For those looking for a brief summary, skip to the “Overall” at the bottom of this review.

Story: 6

The story is literally about a pitcher who needs to overcome his yips (yes same exact thing as Major) in order to pitch and steal the ace number from his rival. I can’t really give the story a higher rating than 6 simply because it’s nothing read more
Nov 12, 2016
Seasonalanime (All reviews)
⠀⠀So of course I loved season two of DNA it's my 3rd favorite sport anime! And season 2 just made everything better, with Seido getting they're ticket to Nationals!
My favorite part of season 2 was when Sawamura stroke todoroki out, after 2 innings he hit it. Because it's showed how all that practice paid off, and it was the best feeling seeing Sawamura grow stronger! Overall Seido was still Seido which is the best Seido. Some of the upcoming new teammates were introduced but hardly having any screen time. I also had a bitter sweet smile watching the 3rd years graduate, bc read more