Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aoharu x Kikanjuu


Alternative Titles

English: Aoharu x Machinegun
Synonyms: Aoharu x Machine Gun
Japanese: 青春×機関銃

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2015 to Sep 18, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:46 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.271 (scored by 70,102 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #668
Members: 151,397
Favorites: 1,134

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 19, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
I don't think I've ever seen an anime with as many blatant plot holes and as much inconsistent writing as Aoharu x Kikanjuu. Now that doesn't mean it's the worst anime ever made (it definitely isn't), but it has a huge amount of wasted potential due to its weak story, horrendous characterization, and the fact that the author is seemingly completely clueless about how airsoft works.

Initially the anime feels like something quite similar to Ouran Koukou Host Club as the protagonist is a girl (Tachibana Hotaru) crossdressing as a boy who ends up becoming indebted to a popular guy (Matsuoka Masamune) who works as a read more
Sep 18, 2015
JackieNinja (All reviews)
Aoharu x Kikanjuu is a action, comedy, shounen genre anime about a girl named Tachibana Hotaru mistaken for a boy. This anime has personally exceeded my original expectations since the first episode. Just a quick warning this is my first review.

Story: 9/10
The story mainly follows Tachibana Hotaru's point of view. The episodes have a smooth flow in them, it always kept me on my toes(engaged) and loves making me scream at the screen for another episode. As everyone might know this anime is being compared to 'Ouran High School Host Club’ and I have to say I agree. Aoharu x Kikanjuu really does have read more
Sep 18, 2015
Errour (All reviews)
Aoharu x Kikanjuu is those stories that may be hit or miss, for some it might be annoying, for others it may be the start of something good.

I fall in the later category.

It may be annoying because there's no development of characters, for me Tachibana Hotaru is a promising main character, but there is a lack of background story, or intentions, that make her character quite annoying or plain. For example her sense of justice would be enjoyable if there would be a reason behind it, a story to tell us why this character think that way, but, as the story progress, it tell us read more
Sep 19, 2015
TenkaKuro (All reviews)
I first started watching Aoharu x Kikanjuu simply because I thought the art was beautiful. I had no idea what it was about at all.

And thus, I can easily say that the art is one of the best points of the series (in my opinion), along with the soundtrack.

After the first (few) episodes, I was surprised to see that I actually enjoy a series with 'survival games' as its theme/plot/however to call it.

Story 8/10
In my opinion, the story itself could be much better if the pace were slower. If the actions, games and such were more detailed, with more depth.
Still, I liked the read more
Sep 20, 2015
Dag4444 (All reviews)
Blah blah, Ouran High School Host Club, blah blah. I haven't even seen that one, so I don't care and went in expecting nothing. That aside, Aoharu x Kikanjuu is one of the worst anime I've seen in a long time. I cannot say anything good about this one.

The story follows main character Hotaru Tachibana, a reverse trap with a strong sense of justice. Hotaru is put under the impression that her friend Kanae was treated badly at this host club she visited. She goes to investigate and gets into a survival game (airsoft gun fight) with the place's owner, Masamune Matsuoka. The place gets read more
Sep 20, 2015
psychoalchemist (All reviews)
Meet Hotaru Tachibana, a girl with a strong sense of justice. She is easily mistaken for a boy, because of her broad shoulders, short hair, and confrontational attitude. She has an altercation with a host named Masamune Matsuoka, who mistakes her for a boy. In order to pay for the damage she caused, she joins his survival game group, Toy Gun Gun. The only problem? Girls aren't allowed!

I believe the best way to describe Aoharu's issues in a word is: disorganized. There's comedy, but this isn't a comedy anime. There's some drama, but this isn't drama or tragedy anime. There's a cross-dressing female, but this read more
Oct 3, 2015
Joydu (All reviews)
I've seen a pretty mixed bag with reviews of this show, and I thought I'd give it my two cents as well.

Story 8/10- It initially drew me in because of the whole Ouran-esque premise of the cross dressing, the host club, etc. However, that really only is in the first few episodes. After that, the story revolves around the three main characters forming and team and playing survival games. I don't really have an issue with this, other than the fact that the ending was pretty bad, and didn't match the quality of the rest of the show. It left me with a lot of read more
Sep 19, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
When I watched this show I was actually expecting to be the generic action series but with a gender bend character or lets say a trap as the main character. A trap is nowadays common in the anime industry, but does that mean they're bad? Not exactly. But then again Im talking about the show not the trap itself. We're talking about the show. Anyway Aoharu x Kikanjuu might be one of those series that people would either drop because of its generic synopsis or watch because of the story and progression.

Let's begin. Before I start I might spoil somethings out in the anime, read more
Oct 9, 2015
Koutsuna_sama (All reviews)
The first thing i noticed when i came to the page for aoharu x kikanjuu is thet there are surprisingly high rated reviews about this anime
now the best i can do here is keep it short and just start off with some redeeming points for the show

1) art
the art while not especially good or anything does not fall below the average mark
and the only reason i decided to watch the anime was because of the display photo if it on anicha*t

2) animation
again not great but has a couple of the moments in the show as well as the end part of the read more
Sep 19, 2015
Revenir (All reviews)
Aoharu x Kikanjuu proves yet again how easy it is to take an interesting idea and stuff it full of unnecessary complications.

Story and Characters:
The story starts as Tachibana (actually a girl) mistakenly accuses a guy of seducing his, I mean her, friend. As compensation he has her join his airsoft team. Other than the strange fact that Tachibana never cares to correct people as to her gender, everything starts out okay. But this later becomes an unnecessarily large conflict when it's state the team MC join doesn't take girls.

Unfortunately the show becomes less about airsoft and more about the ridiculous drama and conflict between read more
Jan 5, 2018
SempaiKami (All reviews)
I'm Japanese so I noticed but, uhhhh, I hate to break this to you all but the title of the anime is subbed wrong. It's actually called Seishunn X Kikanjuu, Say-Shun. Seishunn (青春)means adolescence. The direct/Khun Yomi pronunciation of seishunn (青春) is Ao Haru because ao--> 青 means blue and 春ー> means spring as in the season. BTW aoHaru don't make sense in Japanese and it's not a word. So the translators did a bad job subbing the title. Makes sense right? because Tachibana(the MC) is still like around 16~17 meaning She's still in her adolescent age. And throughout the story she is introduced with read more
Aug 2, 2016
Kadrian (All reviews)
At first, I was like, another weak girl anime? But actually, the girl is a tomboy and as you venture further into the anime, you might even forget that 'he' is a 'she'. It has great action scenes, even though it is fake gun game but it has the atmosphere of a real gun battlefield.

It is something like Ouran HighSchool Host Club.

It has really great action scenes and heart-warming moments, and of course, heart-breaking moments. But the ending is really happy, FYI.

Well, Please do give it a try if you are on the fence about this anime. It has great arts that is read more
Sep 19, 2015
MurasakiAmethyst (All reviews)
Overall rating: 8.2/10

A lot of people might compare this series to Ouran High School Host Club, for the reason that one of the main characters is a host. However, the focus of AoHaru x Kikanjuu is on survival games--not on a host club. Instead, it focus on three characters and how survival games contributes to their progress throughout the series (and beyond): Hotaru Tachibana, Masamune Matsuoka and Tooru Yukimura--the members of a survival game team, Toy Gun Gun. (Yes, I know what you might be thinking: their naming sense can definitely improve...)

***Just a warning: What I mention in my review can be considered read more
Sep 19, 2015
icetly (All reviews)
SPOILER FREE REVIEW:

If you are looking for a short, funny and enjoyable anime, with simple art and nice backgrounds, you should consider watching this anime.

Story (6 out of 10): The beginning may seem like Ouran Host Club, but that's really just the first episode. The story revolves about a high school girl Tachibana Hotaru, who got drawn into the world of survival games by her two neighbours to repay a debt - the twist is that her two team-mates don't know that she's a girl (girls are forbidden in their team).
If you want an anime with a deep and spectacular story, this might read more
Jan 27, 2016
Canaan (All reviews)
Eleventh Review....Aoharu x Kikanjuu!

This series was introduced to me by a good friend of mine, she knew the type of anime that I am into so she suggested I watch this one. About a Girl pretending to be a Boy in order to be on a Shooting Team - Toy Gun Gun.

At first I was a bit iffy in the idea that the girl pretends to be a boy, however I watched the first episode together with my friend and I absolutely loved it. I loved the fact that Hotaru (The Main Character) still has her friend and it shows us a bit read more
Dec 6, 2015
anilee0510 (All reviews)
A surprisingly enjoyable series that is less plot driven and more character driven. The story wasn't terrible but it also wouldn't have been as engaging had it not been for its wonderfully interesting cast of characters. While I found Hotaru extremely off-putting initially, especially her use of illeism, eventually I grew to tolerate her and even found her somewhat endearing by the finale. Others I loved right off the bat: Yukki and Fujimon are hands down my favorites. One I can relate to so well, the other is basically a giant puppy.

You pick up early on that AxK thrives on being extreme. At times, read more
Sep 21, 2015
animedork95 (All reviews)
Aoharu x Kikanjuu is a fantastic anime. It is an awesome gender bender, an awesome sports anime, and an awesome friendship story. I feel like a lot of people ended up not liking this anime because they based their opinions off of the first two episodes and then were shocked with the turn it made once it really started in the 3rd ep. I want to clarify-- this is not Ouran High School Host Club with machine guns. There IS a host club in the beginning, there IS a girl who wears pants instead of a skirt, she DOES break something and initially is forced read more
Aug 25, 2016
dakotasapphire (All reviews)
There comes a time in every anime viewers life when they come across something seemingly unique and are compelled to watch it. Either through stunning visuals, or an interesting synopsis, we dive into an anime world knowing full well it might just end up being 'meh.' Right, so here I arrive with this anime, Aoharu x Kikanjuu.

Story: It was a 'good' story. The whole premise of them becoming the best in Japan at survival games was interesting, and kept me in it for the long run. What I didn't like is how they kept speeding things up further than they'd need to, they squished a read more
Aug 6, 2016
Tenko_Shimura (All reviews)
I liked that this anime about something different at sports with thats guns but I just hated that this girl (Tachibana Hotaru) can't just to say her group that she is a girl and its really pissing me off.

I just liked the guns and it characters because only characters as Midori Nagamasa and more saves this anime from the my top 3 worsest anime.

Many emotions do not saves this anime which is a shame.

And I think that everyone can watch this anime but just to love the characters and guns, shame for the story.

Hope for more interesting story for the future.
Aug 3, 2018
Sir_Burnt (All reviews)
This is actually my all time favourite anime

Biggest reason is the characters.
The relationships between the characters are well thought out and meaningful, incredibly relatable in my opinion. Even the antagonists have their own meaningful backstories and justifications on their actions.

The comedy is also really well done, the whole anime managed to make me sad and happy at the same time.

As someone who likes airsoft, the anime does a good job at capturing the mood of an airsoft game, a lot of it is dramatized, but I don't mind because it adds action and excitement to the show.

Overall, I love this anime/manga, after watching the read more