Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu: Waga Yuku wa Hoshi no Taikai


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Legend of the Galactic Heroes: My Conquest Is the Sea of Stars, LoGH: My Conquest Is the Sea of Stars, Legend of the Galactic Heroes MOVIE (1988)
Japanese: 銀河英雄伝説: わが征くは星の大海

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 6, 1988
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Artland, Madhouse
Source: Novel
Duration: 59 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.011 (scored by 13,756 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2784
Members: 23,913
Favorites: 38

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 27, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
"Perhaps man is a creature that must fight until the last one is dead."

The antithesis of George Lucas's Star Wars, Legend of the Galactic Heroes: My Conquest is the Sea of Stars begins with a lengthy credit crawl that doesn’t treat the space opera genre as a joke and doesn’t talk down to the viewer, but instead invites you along to a gentleman's philosophical pondering on the nature of man and war.

Afterwards a brilliant white ship approaches a spherical fortress in space and a character quips, "but damn it’s small," again in direct opposition to Lucas's own trite: "Look at the size of that thing!" read more
Sep 22, 2009
nicepants (All reviews)
I know we have all had this conversation with ourselves: "Self, do I really want to watch Legend of Galactic Heroes? It is 110 episodes of admittedly slow, dialogue-heavy old anime. Is this something I really want to get into?"

This is the answer MCitSoS was made to answer. This is the pilot for LoGH, the first meeting of Yang Wenli and Reinhard von Musel. One hour of a lot of what is great about LoGH. Smart dialogue, engaging fleet battles, and Yang and Reinhard being two ballsy dudes.

This isn't just for those who want to get into LoGH, though. For those of us who have read more
Dec 7, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Thanks to the constant nagging of my friend razortongue, I've finally decided to give Legend of the Galactic Heroes another shot with its prequel film: My Conquest is the Sea of Stars. To my understanding, this was actually the pilot for the entire franchise and as far as pilots go, this was definitely a strong start. At the same time, I feel like I should provide a fair warning to anyone who's interested in tackling this massive beast. I'll say this right now: Legend of the Galactic Heroes is NOT an accessible franchise in the slightest. There are no scantily-clad princesses held hostage by giant read more
Aug 11, 2011
kajia (All reviews)
"Legend of the Galactic Heroes: My Conquest is the Sea of Stars" is the prelude to the "Legend of the Galactic Heroes" main series. It focuses on the fateful first encounters on the battlfield between Yang Wenli and Reinhard von Lohengramm.

Lohengramm, with his vast ambitions and Yang the reluctant soldier form an interesting contrast. They're almost the polar opposite of each other, but in many ways they are similar. There's a sense that the two men are destined to become great rivals, and what makes the movie fascinating is the anticipation it creates for the future.

Yang and Lohengramm aren't the only characters seeded in this read more
Jun 20, 2015
Ronin-dono (All reviews)
The story involves leadership, and exploration of collective capacity from a great mentor, and have elements "political" involved since it is an anime based on wars, as well as the introduction franchise comes to remembering with phrases like, " THE HUMAN HISTORY IS A WAR HISTORY "," PROGRESS IS SON OF WARS ".
The evolution of the plot focuses in this elements and for several moments indicates that a large barrier between some great leaders like Musel and other commanders of enemy ships to come.
Art has classic style characteristic of the old animes however the features are better defined and beautiful, the animation is good, just read more
May 13, 2010
CSRaghunandan (All reviews)
Most people tend to ignore this anime just because it is OLD and is a huge series but they dont know that they are missing one of the best space operas ever made. Unlike most of the space operas there isnt any aliens or any other Technologically advanced super intelligent extra-terrestrial species other than Humans and it also dosent have any super advanced technologies like we see in star trek or any other space operas.Soo if u want too see an anime which has super powered mechas blowing everything in its path then this is not the anime for you.

This is a must see before read more
Jan 5, 2019
SupremeLord (All reviews)
For anyone not in the know, Ginga Eiyuu Densetsu is basically the most highly regarded Space Opera as far as animes are concerned. While it was technically Uchuu Senkan Yamato that started the genre, it was this show that defined many of the tropes you would see in it. To this day its impact on the genre can be felt, enough so that in 2018, a remake by Production I.G. was made.

However before I cover the Space Opera in its entirety (I’m still rewatching it as of writing this) I have to review the story that started it all off. An adaptation of an anecdote read more
Jun 10, 2013
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
Critic’s Log – Earthdate: June 10, 2013. Review #49: Legend of the Galactic Heroes: My Conquest is the Sea of Stars.


If one were to say that the history of Mankind is the history of War, few would disagree. If there is such a thing as “progress” in Mankind… no one can say that “progress” was not born of war. Perhaps Man is a creature that must fight until the last one is dead. In war, great amounts of blood, tears, and knowledge are consumed and many people’s dreams and ambitions crumble. In any age, there are people that want to change the world. But only read more
Apr 11, 2016
Mortal-Peace (All reviews)
So far, this is the only 90's anime I've watched (bar one piece and pokemon)
The music is something to be astonished at as it can be uplifting during tense situations and ataractic during calmer moments.
The character designs are nothing to marvel at but in a series like this, simplicity is to its benefit.
The art overall is much above my expectations including ship designs, however the actual battles leave me in a state of confusion, what with bullets lines flying about all over the place, its difficult to determine which ships belong to which fleet, and hence which side is winning.
The opposing factions stars are interesting read more