Akagami no Shirayuki-hime


Snow White with the Red Hair

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Snow White with the Red Hair
Synonyms: Akagami no Shirayukihime
Japanese: 赤髪の白雪姫

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2015 to Sep 22, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Genres: FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance, DramaDrama, ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 194996194,996 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #275
Members: 405,188
Favorites: 5,108
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 9, 2015
NakeBenihime (All reviews)
Shirayuki, why are you so special and so loved by everyone you meet? This is the question I cannot help but ask with each episode I watch of this anime. The specialness of this very bland, boring, ordinary girl with a supposedly unusual hair color just goes way too far. If I'm not feeling it, then why are all of these idiots in her world?

Those who claim this anime sidesteps the usual shoujo anime tropes couldn't be more wrong. It falls awkwardly and unawares into most of them and sloshes around in the ditch water like a pig wallowing in its own filth. We have read more
Sep 21, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Roses, tomatoes, and human blood. What do these all have in common? If you guess their color, then you would be correct. A certain girl with noticeable red hair also exists in a fantasy world where the colors of red decorates its colorful storytelling. Akagami no Shirayuki-hime (Snow White with the Red Hair) isn’t exactly a Disney tale where there’s just prince charming or Cinderella shoes. Rather, this show is what I’d envision as a unique fantasy story of vibrant coloring.

Adapted from the manga of the same name written and illustrated by Sorata Akizuki, the series focuses on a young woman named Shirayuki. She is read more
Sep 20, 2015
samui26 (All reviews)
There are anime series which excel because they have an original story (Clannad After Story, Stein's Gate and Madoka Magica) and there are those which soar due to well-written characters who carry an otherwise generic story. Akagami no Shirayuki-hime may be dismissed due to its straightforward nature which seems to religiously follow the shoujo genre but a deeper look reveals its characters that defy the tropes which makes it special.

Story: 5/10

The legitimate weakness of this series is that its story does not stand out. We were introduced to Shirayuki, a girl who ran away from her home because their prince wanted to make her a read more
Sep 21, 2015
Eniie (All reviews)
This review will not contain any spoilers regarding the series.

Story:

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime's story is straightforward and simple, it's concept and how it is formed is something that is very common with the demographic that it resides in. So in that regard, it is not something that has not been seen before. Despite it being so simple and straightforward, it gives the feeling of being magical and soothing. How the events unfolds towards the character is incredibly seamless.

While it may follow the specific tropes that come from the demographic, it tries its best to either break the trope and become surprising or execute it in a read more
Dec 8, 2016
morphinup (All reviews)
I’ve tried watching this anime twice now. The first time when it came out I got up to episode 5 before I stopped. The second time I decided to watch all the way through, because I rarely disagree with anime that are rated highly on myanimelist. I go through the anime on this site that are highly rated, when I'm wanting to watch an anime and have no idea to watch. This is actually the first time I have disagreed with the overall good rating of a show.

I don’t get the hype. At all.

Sometimes, even if I don’t like an anime, I can see read more
Dec 21, 2019
SynthwaveCrusade (All reviews)
Akagami no Shirayuki-hime, the story of one Mary Sue and one Gary Sue, a tale of love and dreams, a story that Panders to the generic fanbase of 12 year old girls, the boring and uninspired tale of Snow White with red hair.

[Story-3/10]
Lets cut straight to the chase, Shirayuki-hime is the same thing I've seen in a thousands of different movies, anime, books, games whatever medium of entertainment you could ever indulge in, there is always going to be a Shirayuki-Hime, its been done to death, the nice prince and the peasant girl vice verse, while I would love to say that this show is read more
Nov 18, 2015
Ancrath (All reviews)
Okay the score is a little low but this is based on my opinion so everyone who's seen this and really liked it please put your knives down...
Story 3/10: the main reason for the low score was the story, I had high expectations for this anime when I heard about it, a girl that has to run away from her kingdom because the prince wants her and all that, but when the anime aired I realized that the first episode was the only good one. It wasn't bad, it was just boring! I found a complete lack of plot, and the only thing it had read more
Sep 23, 2015
NaraClan (All reviews)
I am reviewing this show after the final episode that aired a few days ago. Akagami no Shirayuki-hime, translated to Snow White with Red Hair in English, was a romance anime running in the summer anime season of 2015. It was the only romance anime running in the season, or at least the only noticeable anime to have romance as its main genres. This I believe is the reason the show got the kind of views that it did, as it was the only choice this season for the romance enthusiastic.

Let's get started.

This time around there will be four categories that I will score read more
Oct 1, 2015
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
I'm not gonna lie: the anime industry isn't what it used to be. Now, I don't mean to sound like one of those crotchety old people who say "back in my day things were much better!" However, there's no denying it: anime now just isn't as good as it was years ago. True, there were some duds, but creators back in the 70s, 80s, and even 90s were able to churn out many episodes of whatever the heck they wanted, loved doing it, put a lot of effort into them, and as a result, many of them are well known and beloved, with some titles read more
Oct 2, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Like many Shoujo shows, they are sweet. Sweet as in they are sugar coated in ingredients that entices people who easily go for anything similar to its flavor. Not that people who follow Shoujo are easy to impress, but it's a genre that many akin to when they do not want a complex story or complex characters. There are some exceptions to this and become classics in their own right. However, there are others that try to do this formula, such as Akagami no Shirayuki-hime, and come across as painfully average in the process.

When I say that it is average, or just borderline okay, I read more
Oct 10, 2015
KaiDestinyz (All reviews)
Before I start, I'll have to disagree with megaan about some of the points mentioned, and that giving this anime a score of 4 is the biggest insult in anime history.

First of all, to state that the characters' personalities are outright flat and that their conversations with each other are boring already showed glaring flaws in the review. Akagami no Shirayuki-hime is not your typical anime nowadays that over-dramatize everything to invoke humor/or just to bring a point across.

This anime focuses on its more relaxed nature and keeping its innocence. It's like giving a bad review/score for a romance anime because it doesn't read more
Aug 23, 2018
Tomm01p (All reviews)
"Most shoujo female protagonists tend to be weak, so let's make ours the strongest willed person to ever walk across this god-forsaken world."

I guess this was roughly the general idea when creators were coming up with the premise of Akagami no Shirayuki-Hime. And I'd gladly support that under normal circumstances. Having a female character who doesn't blush every three minutes does spark a lot of interest and promise in an otherwise very average piece of fiction. Sadly enough, the show is not able to capitalize on its strong premise and instead gives us a world full of empty characters and meaningless emotions. Which is a read more
Sep 21, 2015
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: Shirayuki(Hayami, Saori), a strong-willed girl with exceptionally rare red hair, led a normal life as a town herbalist in the kingdom of Tanbarun until her beauty attracted the attention of the first prince Raji (Fukuyama, Jun) who requested that she become one of his concubines. Unable to outright refuse his demand due to her social status, she fled the kingdom and had a chance-encounter with a stranger by the name of Zen (Osaka, Ryota) who, after curing him of a poisoned apple meant for her, is discovered to be the second prince of the kingdom of read more
Jul 10, 2019
Midnight-clown (All reviews)
I'll tell you the problem in the first episode. You see it , you've seen the whole anime .there is NO change I'm their characters ,story, relations that's what's the problem
Also shirayuki is supposed to be a very different and against all the stereotypes (so ironical) but you find her doing what literally every disney princess do
As you can get from the name of anime (snow white with red hairs) ..she is special because she have red hairs( special enough I guess , whole first EPs is about it ) and SO ,prince raj wants her for that. She had 2 choice go to prince read more
Jul 29, 2017
PakiUSA (All reviews)
STORY: 7/10
CHARACTER: 10/10
ART: 9/10
SOUND: 9/10
ENJOYMENT: 9/10
OVERALL: 8/10

Like everybody else I was expecting a Snow-white anime but was surprised at the misleading title or so I thought since the MC’s name Shirayuki translates to Snow-White! In addition, the 1st episode drops a few hints from the original show too. Shirayuki’s flashy red hair gets everyone’s attention including the Prince of the country (Prince Raj) who intends to make her his concubine! Shirayuki escapes and meets with Prince Zen who happens to be the 2nd prince of the neighbouring country and that’s where the story progresses. She accompanies with Zen where she practices to become a skilled read more
Mar 1, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

(As supplementary material for this review, please refer to my writing on the similarities of this anime, Shirayuki and Snow White Similarities, found here: http://thechuunicorner.com/2016/01/04/shirayuki-and-snow-white-similarities/)

“Mirror, mirror, on the wall. Who is the fairest of them all?” This iconic phrase is most often credited to the animated, Disney-made film Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. That is actually a pretty difficult question to answer, no matter what is being compared.

I would consider myself a big Disney fan. I like Goofy and Donald – mostly thanks to my extensive time playing the Kingdom Hearts series – but read more
Nov 30, 2015
HabitPlays (All reviews)
Akagami no Shirayuki-hime follows Shirayuki a beautiful red head girl who lives in a town called Tanbarun was she was raised and grew up living. In this town she worked in a herb shop where she made medicines and remedies. Until one day the king of Tanbarun was looking for a beautiful bride the most beautiful girl in his kingdom and one of his guards mention a women with red hair which is very rare in there country. So him being the king and wanting to have a item that most people don't have he sends his guard off to snatch her up she gets read more
Jan 5, 2016
MAND4 (All reviews)
Red hair - most commonly referred to as the hair color of the perfect girl, at least for me. It is indeed special, so special actually that, according to this anime, it warrants the attention of not only one, but two princes! You don't believe me? Yeah, I don't believe myself either. Or this anime while we're at it.

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime is an odd specimen of anime - mainly because it's rather average in both the story and characters, yet it still somehow captivates you. By all means, it's nothing special, but it still somehow etches itself in your mind and makes you think read more
May 14, 2019
ramenpucci (All reviews)
Over hyped. Tries hard to be pleasing but ends up being beautifully animated but utterly forgettable. There is no plot. It was incredibly boring to sit through, even though I enjoy romance!

The beginning episodes really pulled me in: Episodes 1-4, 8, and an episode before that somewhere in the middle that revealed Zen's memory of his older brother.

I came into this anime expecting something it to be action driven, based on the exciting premise. I sort of knew it was a romance anime, but I didn't expect it to settle into a slice of life/standard shoujo type romance.

Prince Zen stood out more to read more
Aug 11, 2020
Aryale (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are many controversial opinions about this anime and the storyline.
I'll tell you one thing though.
This anime makes unique yet cliche and unoriginal possible.

I was in awe when watching Snow White with Red Hair. All the characters are so lovable. Prince Izana, Zen's green haired friend, Lord Haruka, Obi, etc. They are all antagonists at some point, but yet again they are human. It is impossible for me to hate them. Everyone has their faults.

Hmm, what else... well how about the mc;
Shirayuki is the beautiful girl, who is a target since she has unique red hair.
Lets pause for a moment.
Red read more