Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Chaos Dragon: Sekiryuu Seneki


Alternative Titles

English: Chaos Dragon
Synonyms: Red Dragon War
Japanese: ケイオスドラゴン 赤竜戦役

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2015 to Sep 17, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Thursdays at 22:30 (JST)
Producers: Sotsu, TOHO animation
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Silver Link., Connect
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 5.771 (scored by 29,620 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #86572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1145
Members: 84,313
Favorites: 118

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 21, 2015
ThunderClap448 (All reviews)
I'm sorry Chaos Dragon, but you just didn't manage to attract me.

First off, the animation. It would be really good, if it weren't for the CG. It's overdone, and useless. The Bollock lord of Sheet mountain.
(On the other hand I'd be a really nice person, if it weren't for my personality)

Story: CD has a lot of focuses, which some people might think of as it is diverse and combines "good" elements of each genre, but how i see it is that it doesn't have a bloody focus, and without a focus, it gets really boring really fast! Doesn't have consistent comedy, story, characters or actually, read more
Sep 18, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
If there can be one thing said about Chaos Dragon as a whole, I think that would be "I'm glad it didn't get delayed"- because thank God, it's finally over.

Chaos Dragon... what an interesting idea- taking a DnD-based game called "Red Dragon", played by four industry persons and some dude named Simadoriru: Gen Urobuchi of Madoka, Fate Zero and Psycho Pass fame, Kinoko Nasu, creator of the Fate series, Ryougo Narita, who wrote Baccano and Durarara, and Izuki Kogyoku, another author
... and turning the story into an anime. While not an original idea, ("Record of Lodoss War" was the first) it's still one that read more
May 10, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Legends speak of a show that is considered to be one of, if not the absolute worst show of 2015. A show with such incompetent direction and CGI that frame rates slow down in the very first scene. A show with such uninteresting characters that their deaths are a loss to no one in the audience. A show so edgy and poorly written that it can only cause "darkness-induced apathy".

You know what they say about legends. There's always some truth to them.

*Spoilers for Chaos Dragon*

When you hear about an adaptation of a gaming session involving the likes of Gen Urobuchi of Fate/Zero and Psycho-Pass, Kinoko read more
Sep 17, 2015
Jakerams (All reviews)
Now that Chaos Dragon is over I'll be sure to tell the truth about this series.


Chaos Dragon is a very interesting series not because it's good or unique but because it's hard to predict how it could get worse and worse each episode.
But since you could go on for hours about how terrible it was I'll just make a pro's and con's list.



Pro's : The concept itself was interesting and
Some of the less important main characters were fairly good characters.

Con's: Horrible writing, terrible lead character, barely read more
Sep 18, 2015
Wasshio (All reviews)
On every season I pick up over 44 series the summer season. LITTERALLY. I picked 44 in total. For the most part for me summer was alright, with a few bad shows. Few good, at little great, but also Silver Link delivering shows like their works this season like Fate/Kaleid and their winter work Yuri Kuma which was an anime original series. The phrase of "In Silver Link we trust" is a very common word for them because they barely make any terrible series. Their weak points are making anime original series to be honest. One of the only series I remember that was horrible read more
Nov 4, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
I don’t think anybody really thought for even a second that Chaos Dragon was actually going to be good when they saw the team attached to the project. Interesting, maybe. Fun to joke about. But definitely not good. I mean anime in general has always been worse in regards to the kitchen sink approach than Hollywood films and AAA video games, and considering that the only thing these supposed “talented” people like Ryogho Narita and Gen Urobuchi contributed to this project was making up the characters whilst leaving the story writing to a guy who’s written nothing but black holes since the 80s - and read more
Sep 20, 2015
somaisbatman (All reviews)
Despite all the big-name people working on this show, Chaos Dragon was laughably bad and quite possibly the worst show this season.

Story: 4/10
The country of Nil Kamui was a country, until they got invaded and their allies didn't help. Additionally, their guardian, Red Dragon, didn't help. This is the backstory that gets repeated at the start of every episode, and man, what a lame setup it is. It's very basic stuff for a high fantasy anime, and there's very little worldbuilding. It also doesn't help that the opening potentially spoils who's gonna be dead by the end of the show.

Art: 4/10
Generic at best, atrocious at read more
Apr 14, 2016
Quadrillion (All reviews)
Chaos Dragon redefines the word "underrated". If you don't know what I'm talking about, try pondering on it.
DEEN makes a bad adaptation of Fate/Stay Night and no one bats an eye... Silver Link. and Connect make one of the best mobile game adaptation and everyone loses their minds.
What sets me off about people is that they constantly complain about this show only because they compare it to some other anime and blame it for not exceeding their expectations only because " ITZ GEN UROBUCHEE AND KINOKO NASU LULZ LULZ".

Is this a Fate/Stay Night anime? Does it have any similarities to be likened to it? read more
Sep 18, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
"The name of our country is Nil Kamui. One day, a sudden invasion by the country Kouran invaded the small island country and plundered a third of the land. Our allies, the country of D'natia defended their settlements where they kept their bases and kept silent. The two great countries eventually carved away the land like meat of a sacrificial swine. The guardian of the country, the Red Dragon, attacked its people. Imperial Era 3015, September, our country was no longer ours..." No joke, this is said at the start of EVERY episode for Chaos Dragon. (Now that read more
Oct 21, 2015
animeBee1ver (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, okay...

I'll just start by saying that this one is for 8-10 years old kids. Or around that age. or people that is early or new to movies/stories.

Now that that's said, It would be justifiable to state that this is going to be the most annoying, frustrating series i would have to endure if I was forced to finish the series.
It may bring justice if the viewers that is targeted, clearly, by the anime is doing the review, but sadly, am not one of those.

The story starts in a world so different from earth, where flying beasts breath fire, rocks, air(?), water, or any element read more
Sep 22, 2015
loveyuri (All reviews)
I usually don't write reviews on anime but seeing how low the rating for this anime was, I had to write a review. When I watch an anime I tend to watch animes with a rating of 7 or higher, but looking at Chaos Dragon with a rating of 6, it had me put it off for a while until now(finished it in 2 days).
Also, I'm not a picky watcher so I tend to like most animes even if the anime got a low score.

**I might have a little/small spoilers, hopefully I won't**

The anime in my perspective was a decent anime. The story wasn't read more
Oct 9, 2015
yumekix (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first, I was incredibly excited for this anime because the plot sounded so amazing and had a lot of potential. However, my enthusiasm died rather quickly as I ventured deeper into the anime.

First of all, the main character is mainly useless, other than being granted the power of the Red Dragon and whining every now and then, and he can't do anything except sacrifice others at the extent of his own sanity to unleash his powers. Other than this, he is completely useless. I don't even know why he became the main character when even the side characters held more power and potential read more
Oct 28, 2015
CrimsonBlazee (All reviews)
Story: the story was generally confusing. Like who was doing what, where was everyone. The story seemed to be a victim of overthinking-syndrome.

The art would have been alright if it weren't for the CGI dragons. It was jarring and took from the enjoyment. This contracts to Madoka Magica, where the differences in the styles actually complimented each other.

The sound - well, the OP was the most redeeming part of the anime. That and the art for it.

Character - I actually preferred Lou and some of the other background characters because most of the other mains had flat personalities.

I ended up watching the entire thing purely read more
Feb 9, 2017
lazyking88 (All reviews)
I honestly can't see why this anime garnered so much hate. It's actually pretty engaging and I found the characters to be pretty interesting I like how it feels like a wuxia novel with the story centering on One big journey. Ibuki has a power that really not common at all : he's been cursed by a powerful red dragon and must kill his friends in order to gain great power. It would of been best if he only had to use it once or twice since it can get depressing to see deaths that could of been avoided read more
Sep 20, 2015
StigmaStarzzs (All reviews)
Guessing from reading other people's reviews and opinions on this anime, some must be thinking. 'Really? A seven? It was so bad.' Well, this is an unpopular opinion review. I think that this anime is okay. Then again, as long as the quality, not consisting of 200+ episodes and the plot are okay, I'll take it.

Story (7/10):
The story is pretty basic, a young king receives a power from a dragon, blah blah blah. To me just because it is a basic idea doesn't mean it isn't a good story, it's just not as unique as most stories.
No one pooped on Kaichou we Maid-sama for read more
Dec 17, 2015
KomanoOhta (All reviews)
Preliminary
Chaos Dragon was SOOOO Frikin' bad that I just had to drop it half-way through. The plot is incredibly bad and generic, the artsytle is way too linear and every episode was just a little more of the exact same thing over and over again. I swear I almost fell asleep in the second episode. The characters suck ass, they don't even make sense and the animation, oh my god the animation is super basic with some shitty 3D models arround. I swear when I saw this thing's trailer i just couldn't help but save it in my "to watch" list but GEEZ when it read more
Sep 20, 2015
Rawrzz03 (All reviews)
High expectations and a huge disappointment...

Story: 3
By the end of the series I think I finally got the story, which is in fact not a good one. This Red Dragon destroyed Nil Kamui, a small country which is now invaded by Kouran and D'natia, the neighbour countries. Ibuki, the MC, holds Red Dragon's power: every time he kills one of his friends, he gains great power. Now, you see, this idea is pretty shitty because:
1. It creates pointless drama
2. It predicts the death of the other characters
3. At some point, it becomes annoying because you see the same thing happening over and over again.
Back to read more
May 2, 2017
TheFlashmaster (All reviews)
I don’t think anybody really thought for even a second that Chaos Dragon was actually going to be good when they saw the team attached to the project. The plot is pretty simple to explain, but that’s actually its biggest problem. It’s so simple that Chaos Dragon tries to distract us from that fact by over complicating everything to the point that we have nothing to focus on, and when you do, you’re too embarrassed to spell it out for the audience. There’s this red dragon guarding this generic fantasy land who has gone mad, and the only one who can stop him is this read more
Dec 10, 2015
Minster122 (All reviews)
So I got really pumped looking at who was involved in making this piece.... and then got disappointment.

At the beginning, I thought, "oh wow this is a new idea" and I was in for a trip that would make my heart break apart at the seems. I was wrong since the story that followed it was nothing like the opening episodes of the anime. The story was bland and rushed, there was all the character development happened in the last episode of the series... the only good thing about it was the art.

The anime itself would have been a bit more enjoyable if there had read more
Aug 24, 2017
kassnicxo (All reviews)
okay, SO. Not the best anime's ive ever watched.

We start out completely thrown into a battle, and the main dude "Ibuki" the one who is supposed to be crowned king after his family's death must kill the ones close to him to protect the rest. LOL WHAT?? that is a terrible pretense, what a life of sadness and loneliness.

Next, we begin to meet all these new characters that are in search for the red dragon, who went "mad" and I dont even feel like it was that long of a time they were all together (perfect strangers at first) and yet they talk about all read more