Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Moyashimon


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Moyasimon, Tales of Agriculture
Japanese: もやしもん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 12, 2007 to Dec 21, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 22,571 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1529
Members: 53,369
Favorites: 230

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 31, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
If you're like me in that you tend to look for those quirky, odd, and oft times underrated anime, then rejoice, for Moyashimon: Tales of Agriculture may be right up your street.

The original manga, created by Ishikawa Masayuki, began serialisation in Kodansha's Evening magazine in 2004, and in 2008 it won the Tezuka Osamu Cultural Grand Prize as well as Kodansha's General Manga Award. The anime adaptation, directed by Yuichiro Yano (Mujin Wakusei Survive, Patapata Hikousen no Bouken), and produced by Telekom Animation Film and Shirogumi Inc, was released in October 2007.

The story takes place at an agricultural university in Tokyo (something which I'd never read more
Feb 7, 2008
psygremlin (All reviews)
Every now and again an anime comes along that restores my faith in the creativity of Japanese visual culture, especially given the number of sequels and game-based shows we seem to be getting lately. Moyashimon is just such an anime.

Besides the initial premise, which involves our hero being able to see, and communicate with, microbes, we're faced with a cast of delightful characters, from the leather-clad lab assistant, the saki-obsessed sempai and the rather odd collection of friends and co-students to the slightly insane (and dare I say lecherous) professor.

The first couple of shows might leave you feeling a bit like you've just sat read more
Mar 6, 2008
bjtdevera (All reviews)
This is such a nice break from epic fighting or sci-fi anime. This is just a short and sweet look at the life of an ordinary student with an extraordinary ability.

STRENGTHS:
1. Unique. How many other anime out there feature a kid at an agricultural college who can see microbes?
2. Interesting Characters. All of the main characters are interestingly eccentric, but not annoying, tiresome, or too over-the-top.
3. A nice, fun, sweet little story. It's not the funniest comedy out there, but it had enough laughs in it to make every episode a relaxed, enjoyable experience.
4. Ecchi-esque, but not ecchi at all. read more
Jun 19, 2008
Zeinzu-sama (All reviews)
Moyashimon is a textbook example of a show not living up to potential. A highly original concept and a very strong cast of characters ultimately let down by a poor plot and a crushing lack of urgency. It does get major plus points for having the balls to do something different, especially considering the anime environment at the time, rich in shonen action and school life shows.

There is no denying Moyashimon is a highly original concept, the story follows Tadayasu Sawaki who has the ability to see microbes with the naked eye, as he enrolls at an agricultural university. One of the read more
Jun 17, 2009
supermario23 (All reviews)
Jeez, talk about misleading. After stumbling upon this show with the funny-looking creatures headlining it, I thought it was a poorly done children's show or something. Even reading the synopsis didn't help improve my hastily conjured prejudgment of the series. But, after watching it, I have to say I was more than pleasantly surprised.


Moyashimon had an interesting premise. At first glance, you may think it as a run-of-the-mill school slice-of-life anime, or worse, a poorly done microbiology lesson packed into an 11-episode series. To tell the truth, there were times when the show could have gone all the way to either direction, but I'm read more
Mar 31, 2013
SchrodingersMatt (All reviews)
Moyashimon sports a basic but acceptable animation budget, and for the most part it handles itself just fine. The character designs could almost be called generic, but this is one of those rare cases where color choices make all the difference. The colors are toned down, almost a bit dirty-looking--perfect for an anime set at an agriculture university--but the character designs are still very easy on the eyes. Other than that, the animation is consistently fine, holding together when it needs to be serious and reserving its shortcuts for the sillier moments when they can be used well. Then there are the microbe designs, which read more
May 11, 2015
Kynov (All reviews)
If we’re talking about anime industry right now, we probably know what the characteristic of anime industry, one of them is making normal things into cute (girl) things. Moyashimon is one of the anime that use the characteristic, they change the appearance of microscopic organism like bacteria, into a cute chibi creature. There is nothing wrong with that moreover it makes us to see the microscopic organism in the different way and Moyashimon showing what microscopic organism are and how useful they are in our everyday life. In this anime, you’re not just watching for entertainment but also learning about microscopic organism in the read more
Feb 7, 2012
Aria34 (All reviews)
When I first heard about Moyashimon I was really excited. I thought the concept was quirky and interesting. But now I'm kind of wondering what my other reasons for finishing the show were other than 'it's only eleven episodes.'

The animation varies. It looks great in some places, okay in others, bad in some.

The sound is good; the voice actors are talented and they do a good job while the background music was nothing special.

Getting past the 'how is buying a super-special aphrodisiac, advertized as something will turn your intended target into a sex slave that will not be able to resist you, read more
Mar 30, 2009
Unregistered00 (All reviews)
"A potential that has been wasted"

That is how I should sum up Moyashimon. It has a good grip on comedy but there's not enough of it going through the whole 11 episodes. There's some educational elements injected here and there but the lessons didn't attract my interest both in whatever they're teaching and the story itself. What did interest me is it's difference in whatever was being subbed at the time. Let's see, it's called "Tales of Agriculture". Yes. It sounded boring but it did pique my interest.

The simplicity in both art and sound works for the anime for some odd reason. Almost everyone can read more
Feb 2, 2010
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Rare ideas are few and far between. That sentence was redundant, and this one explaining it is supercilious. But at the same time, had I not said either, the concepts wouldn't have been introduced to your mind.

Moyashimon works in a similar way. The idea behind the show is simple, innovative, and original. A first year university student is capable of seeing microbes and micro-organisms (even viruses), distinguishing them, and even picking them out. The art design of the microbes was cute, fun, and gay (I use that term under the classical definition), and the character that went along with the microbes was entertaining. The show read more
Apr 6, 2014
vigorousjammer (All reviews)
Moyashimon is a lighthearted show, one that doesn't take itself too seriously. At times it was interesting, and enjoyable, yet at other times it made me question why I was even watching it.

Like any slice-of-life anime, I feel the characters are the most important aspect, and the characters in Moyashimon are all written fairly standard. They're very much based around your standard anime archetypes... yet, most of them also have a specific trait that props them up, differentiating them just enough to keep them from being overly generic. Still, this only makes them slightly more interesting... changing them from one-dimensional characters to two-dimensional characters.

The story read more
Jan 15, 2010
Splendiferous (All reviews)
In its everlasting quest to turn everything it possibly can into an anime of some sort Japan has now created a slice of life anime based around the ups and downs of a young man attending Tokyo's Agricultural University.

Rating stories in slice of life animes are somewhat pointless, save rating the concept. The concept here is undoubtedly unique, I have yet to see, or even hear about another anime centered around agricultural shenanigans. The story basically comprises of Sawaki and his other first year friends attempting to fit into university, and meeting a delightful cast of characters along the way. There are small dashes read more
Aug 14, 2016
VanVeleca (All reviews)
I had no idea what to expect when starting Moyashimon
I kinda heard alot but also not
No one talks about this show,yet it's still very popular i guess

Souemon,The magic main protagonist who can see bacteria becomes a scientist or something in a college university gymnasium about farming
Hazuki oikawa,the girl
Aoi Muto,the traveler
Kei Yuki, the one farmer dudebro that was bored with being a normalfag and becomes a Goth lolita
the brew bros,the one that want to make illegal alcohols
Haruka Hasegawa, The best girl
and keizo, best proffesor

Yeah it's a good show,it's a kinda boring slice of life but with an really interesting concept
if you ever want to make read more
Oct 17, 2012
Paulwillson26 (All reviews)
Having an anime about microbes is a strange concept yet Moyashimon makes it work. Mainly because of its strange a wonderful cast. When an anime gets the characters right it shows.

The story is based around Sawaki who can see microbes which look more cute and cuddly than what they do under a microscope. Sawaki joins an Agricultural University with his friend Kei where he meets a motley crew of strange individuals which includes his professor and his graduate student, the violent yet insecure, Hasewara who is probably the most interesting character.

Anyone who has been to or is at university will identify with Sawaki as he read more
Oct 25, 2010
skankfish (All reviews)
The initial idea for this series is very good, and the designs for the microbes are intoxicatingly cute (and still litter Japan).

However, the story for this series is dismal, the pacing is wrong and the episodes are disconnected thin excuses for narratives. The story goes nowhere and is forced to rely on it's characters, all of which are weak bar the microbes, which get nowhere near enough screen time.

I'm biased; I think slice-of-life is a waste of my time, but to be honest I wasn't expecting some run-of-the-mill coming-of-age life-decision-making cutsie univeristy trash when I read the synopsis.

Really dissapointing use of a great idea.

I liked read more
May 11, 2013
gwern (All reviews)
_Moyashimon_ is a great concept, with a disappointing execution. The bacteria element is almost completely unused or used in completely trivial ways, and while the spring festival was a very funny pair of episodes, the rest is just bland or like the protagonist's cross-dressing friend, unexplained and unmotivated.