Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Neon Genesis Evangelion


Alternative Titles

English: Neon Genesis Evangelion
Synonyms: Shinseiki Evangelion
Japanese: 新世紀エヴァンゲリオン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 1995 to Mar 27, 1996
Premiered: Fall 1995
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 18:30 (JST)
Licensors: ADV Films
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 298,804 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #40
Members: 514,076
Favorites: 34,279

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 14, 2007
Archaeon (All reviews)
Since so many people have requested this over the years and as there's a new system in place I'm adding my 2009 review for this series which was originally posted on my blog here on MAL. The 2007 one was written in response to the obtuse fans that were here at the time, and it will remain after the review as removing it completely would serve no purpose.

It's also a reminder to me of something important.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Neon Genesis Evangelion is one of the most debated animes in history. Some would argue that there are numerous hidden messages in the show, while others argue that it simply read more
Sep 28, 2007
CitizenGeek (All reviews)
Note: this review is spoiler free.

Hugely experimental and wonderfully unique, Evangelion is a roaring success.

The basic, initial, plot goes thus: a 14-year-old boy named Shinji is called to NERV (an organization charged with defending mankind from extinction, no less) by his estranged, seemingly cold and calculating father. There, his fathers' first words are an order to pilot an immense robotic machine, the titular Evangelion, and fight against the monster that's attacking Tokyo-3, the city under which NERV has it's headquarters. These illusory 'monsters' are called Angels and are seemingly invincible - traditional weaponry, even in the year 2015, has minimal effect upon them. Only the read more
Aug 8, 2015
ChristopherKClaw (All reviews)
People have been fighting over the merits of Neon Genesis Evangelion since its conception, engaging in an endless bloody war to decide whether or not the series is a masterpiece or overly-pretentious filth. Writing a review for Evangelion is pretty much just adding fuel to the fire, giving one side or another some extra ammo with which to demolish the opinions of the opposition. For that reason, I've decided to do something different with my Evangelion review. I'm actually going to write two reviews, one heralding Evangelion as a masterpiece and the other condemning it as mediocre bilge. I've put my full effort into both read more
Apr 27, 2013
Lemmy7003 (All reviews)
Evangelion is widely considered one of the most influential anime created in the 1990's, if not of all time. It is extremely well known for it's brave attempts to turn the mecha genre on it's head, it's deep character development, and it's unorthodox storyline. Created by acclaimed studio Gainax, and written by both praised (and sometimes hated) writer Hideaki Anno, Evangelion has been called a masterpiece by anime fans. Does it deserve this praise.

Simply, yes.

Story: One of the most well known aspects of Evangelion is it's story; it is simply unorthodox, as it does the process of not feeding all of the story the viewer; read more
Apr 22, 2015
kasigah (All reviews)
I realize that I'm likely painting a target on my face with this one, but here goes. Please read to the end, as my recommendation may surprise.

The biggest sin of NGE, in my opinion, is wasted potential. Be warned, I'll be touching on spoilers here, though I'll try to avoid any actual plot developments.

Story: 5
The story of NGE actually starts off rather strong. Eldritch abominations are attacking the world (primarily Japan), and only might mechs known as Eva-Units can defeat them. The only catch, only certain children can pilot these mechs, and doing so requires mental synchronization with the machines (in other words, if the read more
Sep 15, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Time to travel back to the mid 1990s and evaluate one of the most influential anime of the last quarter century! Evangelion was once hailed as the deepest anime to ever exist. The random references to Gnostic Christianity, Jungian psychology, cross shaped explosions, and inclusion of classical music was seen as the very zenith of intelligence in anime. Eventually this caused a massive backlash and much like its fellow 90s hit, American beauty, internet critics attempted to push it off the pedestal and into the mud. It became all the rage to bash Eva for being pretentious and even the writer/director, Hideaki Anno, said that read more
Dec 12, 2009
Plun (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion has been known to divide audiences. And despite its love for giant robot battles and generous use of fan service, Neon Genesis Evangelion is unarguably one... of the most influential sagas in modern anime. In the history of anime no series has sparked more debate than Evangelion. For every viewer who's enthralled by its mix of classic anime action, convoluted philosophy, psychological angst, and religious imagery, there's another who finds it pretentious and ponderous.

If you are unfamiliar with Neon Genesis Evangelion and have yet to watch it for the first time, you're in for a real treat it truly is an emotional read more
Apr 26, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
One of my absolute favorite things about this anime is how they have implemented lots of references to old religious symbols and characters; and how it's all done. They make the series into something more by doing this; it gives it a unique feel that I still haven't seen in other series.

The story itself is made up of pure awesomeness. It has a mix of mecha (which of course includes action), slight romance, and psychological elements, and especially the latter. It progresses nicely as the episodes pass, and we get to see more back stories, more psychological struggles, and lots of neat fighting. The read more
May 31, 2015
ThatRazorGuy (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion is one of the most well known anime of the 1990s. Whether someone recommended it to you or you happened to read the name in passing, Evangelion is a name that’s impossible to escape if you’re a part of the anime community. However, with its fame also comes controversy. The show has got to be one of the most divisive anime ever made. Many love it and consider it to be one of the greatest anime to come out of the 1990s and others consider it to be a pretentious mess with irritating characters. Well based on the score I’m pretty sure read more
Aug 31, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
This was a rather tricky programme to review. Great pains were taken to avoid spoilers so if you're a fan of Eva, please don't take umbrage with me for not going in-depth with certain areas. If you happen to dislike Eva or feel that it's overrated, I'd still encourage you to read through this entire review. Feedback is greatly appreciated, as always. On another note, this review will NOT cover Evangelion's religious symbolism at all. I tried to in earlier drafts of this review, but they just made the review much longer and more tedious than they needed to be.

The last thing I want to read more
Jan 22, 2015
MadScientist001 (All reviews)
Overhype, thy name is Evangelion.

Since I started watching anime, it seemed that all anybody could do was talk about how amazing this show is. In a sense, they're right. When one watches this show, they must see it through a lens of how revolutionary Evangelion was at the time, and how largely it influenced anime. However, this review isn't about that. This review is about how enjoyable this anime is to watch. Evangelion is well-written, full of symbols, and smartly deconstructs the mecha genre; however, it is pretentious, at its best underwhelming, and at its worst a complete waste of time to watch.

Let me preface read more
Nov 6, 2014
TrevorSwift (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion is one of the most iconic anime's in existence. For two decades NGE has been heavily endorsed and internationally touted by young and older anime viewers alike complete with impressive numbers by any standard on MAL. Watching NGE is an overall enjoyable experience and within a few days of finishing the series I felt myself missing several characters and even the OP. However, I did feel throughout watching the entire show that the reception it has received with these lofty ratings and rankings should be taken with discretion.

The show, I feel, is one that is best appreciated by the group. If you read more
May 9, 2010
nategator (All reviews)
Hugely experimental and thankfully unique, Evangelion is a roaring failure.

Yeah, there might be spoilers but I'll try to stay away from them.

After watching several series, I finally ran across something that I actively disliked. Maybe if you are a (shudder) person who enjoys a nice bit of Camus to go along with your nightshade cocktail, you will really dig this series. Otherwise this one is going to be painful.

STORY: Evan starts off moderately interesting. For some convoluted reason a teenager is the only one who can pilot a super-mega-awesome-gigantor-robot for some convoluted reason. We've seen it before -- it allows the read more
Jun 8, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
"Endeth mine life, f'r I hast committ'd the sineth of watching Neon Genesis Evangelion." - karlstein12 2k15.

You ought to be living under a stone all this time if you are reading this review in order to understand or what is Neon Genesis Evangelion. It's a show every anime fan knows of.
Although I've known this show for quite a while I needed the help of the Internet and some dank ironic meme pages to go an actually give it a shot.

NGE starts off like almost any other typical Mecha anime you see these days but soon transcends all the barriers any anime at the read more
Jul 1, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion is perhaps the most popular anime of all time, trumping the majority of anime franchises, and is often considered to be the best anime of all time. Needless to say, it isn't. Not even close. Although it certainly had the potential to be, it just didn't live up to it. Which isn't to say Evangelion is bad, no. Evangelion is actually very good in many, many ways. The problem is, it counteracts this by having some horrible problem in another way.

The premise of Evangelion is set in 2015, set 15 years after the apocolypse, or "2nd Impact" wiped out half of humanity. read more
May 31, 2015
SNKFanboy (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion is the worst anime I've ever watched, and let me tell you why. First of all, the character development. Shinji remains stagnant throughout the entirety of the show as a scared little boy, with no balls. He never comes to realize the responsibility he has, and instead simply acts immature for the sake of seeming realistic. Asuka is an arrogant bully suffering under a depression after having a messed up childhood; and Rei is more of a robot than a character. Other side characters like Gendo and Misato do receive some nice backstories however, that doesn't help the weak main cast.

The story read more
Jun 18, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion is probably familiar to most of you. It's a well-known series from Gainax written by Anno Hideaki. It's also an anime I never got all the way through before this point. I tried several years before I wrote my first review when I was watching a bunch of anime because they had Hayashibara Megumi. I got through Nuku Nuku, Blue Seed, Saber Marionette, the Slayers, Love Hina, Bakuretsu Hunters and some others. Evangelion was the only series I couldn't get through. The characters annoyed me more than any cast I'd ever seen and the story was pants. In the end I got read more
Sep 11, 2013
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
Neon Genesis Evangelion.
Just by saying that name, almost any anime fan will go into an extremely cautious silence. The weight of that series, among fans and haters alike, cannot be underestimated, as it's influence on the anime industry and anime fans is enormous; chances are that even if you hate the series, you can't deny it's positive influence on the anime industry, considering that chances are that you may even have something that was influenced by this series on your favorites, even if you immensely dislike the series in question.

Now, my opinion is a fairly different one from the vast majority of people who watch read more
Feb 6, 2007
AJRocca (All reviews)
When I first heard about Neon Genesis I was expecting a no-brainer of an action-packed mecha anime. Something along the lines of say Gundam Wing or old school anime like Mazinger Z, with a battle-a-new-monster-every-episode type structure. Don't get me wrong it has all the elements that made those types of anime enjoyable (i.e. its still has something of a monster every week element), but it has has so much more to it than that.

Basically the story is set up as follows: It's 2015, Ikari Shinji is a wimpy little kid called to Tokyo-3 by his father (Ikari Gendo). Shinji's relationship with is father is read more
Sep 2, 2007
Polaris (All reviews)

STORY:
Neon Genesis Evangelion... one of the most controvercial animes of all times, with legions of determined fans and legions of convinced haters this is one anime that hasn't gone by without leaving some feelings behind and so how can we not recognize it's value.

There are a lot of guys that say Evangelion was a great mecha/action anime for it's time but the confusing and boring ending and the fact that Sinji is a very weak character pulled down the anime... in my opinion they just didn't get the show at all... that is the beauty of NGE, the story is to deep for some read more