Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dance with Devils


Alternative Titles

English: Dance with Devils
Japanese: ダンス・ウィズ・デビルス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2015 to Dec 23, 2015
Premiered: Fall 2015
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 23:30 (JST)
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.691 (scored by 19,525 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #46562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1365
Members: 47,553
Favorites: 345

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 15, 2015
Rosiero (All reviews)
Preliminary
What an absolute waste of a neat concept. This is a musical, which fits rather nicely with the dark, supernatural setting. Unfortunately, the actual story is the worst kind of harem schlock, with a vapid, uninteresting main character and potential suitors that range from vaguely unlikable to horribly creepy. None of them even appear to be interested in Ritsuka, said main character, but only follow her because she may or may not possess some important knowledge involving a magic book.

The plot goes absolutely nowhere, with each episode involving somebody trying to woo Ritsuka and her blindly falling into whatever trap they set, even after multiple read more
Dec 23, 2015
Agil-san (All reviews)
Dance with Devils caught me by surprise. I typically prefer stories with characters being the main focus of the show, how they develop and how they deal with the problems presented to them. Although, I've always had a soft spot for reverse harems ever since I watched Amnesia. As I picked up this show, I expected it to be just like any other reverse harem where 4 or 5 men fall in love with the same girl who so happen to all know each other. Dance with Devils isn't as simple as that. There is a reason why everyone is 'after her' and there is read more
Dec 24, 2015
MagicalMahou (All reviews)
The reverse harem genre is not one I particularly dislike. When decently executed and well developed, we have a show that can leap bounds with its potential. I had this same hope with the harem genre. Big surprise, I lost my mind after the hundred thousand and eleventh panty shot and gave up on it entirely. But by then, I still had high hopes that the reverse harem genre could possibly be a more fruitful experience than actual harems. I hadn't seen many shows in the genre but from the good things I've heard, I stood firm on my ground, ready to explore!

That was until read more
Dec 24, 2015
Mystifire (All reviews)
Dance with Devils is a great example of a "reverse harem" done right. I will admit that going into Dance with Devils it doesn't appear to be much different than the average, but this was easily the biggest surprise of the season! No it's not perfect by any means, but if you're looking for something unique in the genre, then you've come to the right place!

~Story: 7/10~
The story follows a girl named Ritsuka and her run in with the members of her school's student council, who aren't exactly who they seem to be on the surface... Ok let's be honest given the name and synopsis read more
Dec 23, 2015
-Heika (All reviews)
I really love this anime, since I'm someone who likes musicals, reverse harems, and... hot anime guys.

Story: 9
An ordinary girl's life changed when she found out that this mysterious "grimoire" resided in her. Her mom was kidnapped by a vampire. These demons offer help to find her mom, but basically harasses her for 7 episodes. But, all in all, it's pretty decent.

Art & Character: 10
Beautiful. The characters are basically a work of art. Even now, I still find it difficult to choose JUST one guy. The character designs suit the personalities of the characters very well. They are all unique and very distinct. The character read more
Aug 23, 2016
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Dance with Devils describes itself pretty well. There are devils and there is dancing. Less dancing than devils but still.

I cannot speak much about devils. (I have already talked at length about the Divine Comedy.) As for dancing, I also cannot speak much. There is one detail about dancing, however, that will always stick with me: my father’s “signature move.”

He told me that, if you cannot dance, or if you want to but want to avoid embarrassment, you simply do the “cabbage patch.” It is rather simple, really. Make fists out of your hands. Put read more
Jan 1, 2016
KamiKurayomi (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Dance with Devils...where do I even begin? I'll try to keep this as short as I can.

First of all, before I even watched the series, NO WHERE in any synopsis or description did it say that this was a musical and the songs were absolutely dreadful and cringe worthy. The story, without the terrible display of reverse harem, had potential but the first half of the series focused on devoting full episodes to develop the characters of the love interests. This was executed so poorly and it was embarrassing to watch. EVERY episode about the love interests were the same structure, but read more
Dec 23, 2016
yoite27 (All reviews)
story: 7

The story itself wasn't bad. It wasn't the most original either but it was tolerable. What annoyed me the most was the songs in the most ridiculous time. You could be watching the most serious, intense battle and they decide to show their feelings by songs? Really?

Art: 8
The art was good. Typical good looking bishies which is the only reason I watched the anime. But may be the setting could have been better.

Character: 1
No development in the characters. The main protagonist was the worst. The weakest protagonist I have seen so far in all the animes I have seen. In the last read more
Oct 8, 2016
MariaZM (All reviews)
I can't tell how much cheated I feel.
Throughout the whole anime the main character has been nothing more than a silly that anyone could deceive, and she was like nothing matters really.
Also, Lindo diserved so much more at the end. To me, he was the best character. I can't say much more, but except Lindo, the music parts (I laughed a lot in these parts, and enjoy them) and the art... This is not much worth your time. AT ALL.
I recon that it has its moments, but I think there are better animes out there. And romances. I am still wondering why Rem read more
Dec 23, 2015
Utsusemi1 (All reviews)
This is pretty enjoyable, I won't lie there. The story follows a pretty clichèd display of Devils vs Vampires but who ever gets sick of that!? Am I right!??

At first, the singing caught me off guard, I'll admit, but then i got a good giggle out it and by the end I was tapping my foot when they sang. In saying that, I couldn't take this anime seriously whenever they sang lol. I still however, wanted to know what would happen, predicable as it was, and just how they would develop the ending and triumph over onii-sans daddy complex.

I am impressed that, while overflowing read more
Aug 21, 2016
smmshelby (All reviews)
[SPOILER FREE REVIEW FOR THOSE WHO WANT TO READ BEFORE WATCHING]

Just when I thought that I couldn't find another reverse harem that I liked, a recommendation popped up on my YouTube account. "Dance with Devils episode 1". I had heard things about this show being bad so I was hesitant when clicking it. After watching the first episode I needed to continue watching more because all I could think was "Whats going to happen next?". As you can tell by my 10/10 rating, this show was AMAZING in my opinion. However, this anime has just a little higher rating than my favorite reverse harem, Amnesia. read more
Feb 26, 2016
VegetaOver9000 (All reviews)
Dance with Devils in a word: Ridiculous

The whole time, I was laughing so hard at how random and ridiculous it was. Imma be blunt right off the bat, it was not a good anime, but I had a lot of fun watching it with my friend because we made fun of it the whole time.

It starts off pretty normal and then all of a sudden the main girl starts singing on her way to school and I'm like "Lol, wut." Then she gets called to the 3rd library (2spooky4me) where all the hawt student council demon guys are lurking about in their free time read more
Nov 28, 2016
DaBird_O_Prey (All reviews)
This anime had some really good things going for it. Overall i found it very enjoyable, excluding the weirdly out of place songs that were thrown into the anime. The story was definitely nothing special, seen it a few times now. But surprisingly it was well enough done that I wanted, and did, keep watching. This was kind of like a not quite as good version of vampire night. The art was decent along with the music. I honestly don't have a good explanation why i found this anime as enjoyable as i did, but thats it, it was simply entertaining to watch. The biggest read more
Jun 24, 2016
_Barn22 (All reviews)
This anime for me was hypnotic. All the time I was watching it I was thinking, these characters are all just broody, fallen hot boys that have little development (but they are all different to one another), yet they are hot and I need to keep on watching this anime.
The lines of dialogue weren't the best, but I wanted to marry the voices!
The story is a classic damsel in distress sort of thing but very fleshed out for something that just wanted people falling for hot lads really.
The art was very nice, not the best but good enough to make all the lads in this read more
Mar 13, 2016
xgreeneyednekox (All reviews)
…Why do I even trust Rejet anymore?





That is enough to express myself, right? You guys don’t need any more clarification, right? Right?!…

….No? You do?

Well…FINE! Let me put on my reviewer-glasses and give this a try.

Story - 3

I’ll be serious and straightforward here; I can’t generally really find anything redeemable in Dance with Devils, at least when it comes to the plot, mostly because it tends to suffer from the same problems that Diabolik Lovers had. And by that I do not mean the guys treating the heroine like a Masochistic-Blood-Pack-On-Two-Legs, not entirely at least, but it’s all the plot points put together that just read more
Feb 19, 2016
crys-chama (All reviews)
I like the musical concept of the anime, the music and melody are mediocre but it's unique nonetheless. Sure there are shows that's focused on singing and music but I don't think I've seen a "Disney Style" musical anime. Some of the song numbers are so cringey it's hilarious. I watched all 12 episodes just for the fuck of it to be honest. I didn't expect to enjoy it.

The story has already been done before, there's not much originality with the plot. But then again, it's the same for most harem and reverse harem anime.

I'm just glad that the main protagonist, Ritsuka is read more
Jan 22, 2016
genesic123 (All reviews)
It's no masterpiece,but it's no where near as bad as some of the "objective reviewers/critic"would make it out to be.

One good quality for the anime is it's musical concept.Every character has a musical montage to flesh them out,it is a pretty cool idea honestly.

Sadly there is not much else to say about this.

The plot is about finding a special power ,vampires and devils a trying to find it.And the girl is the answer.

The main heroine is a self insert,a girl version of a typical harem lead.She always goes into danger no matter what,just out of curiosity.

Sure the devils in this series have cool powers,but when read more
Jan 10, 2016
AikoChin_ (All reviews)
Dance with Devils really surprised me in a positive way. First of all I need to say that Im no big Harem fan, because in my opinion its always the same: weak or no story, weak and unrelatable main character.. I had a very bad opinion of Harems after watching Amnesia etc.. But anyways I wanted to give DwD a chance since a friend of mine requested it
Forget all the bad things about Harems, Dance with Devils is totally different! You have a great mainstory and great characters. The main character, teenage girl Ritsuka, has a strong personality and stays true to herself until the read more
Dec 31, 2015
Starlitblueskies (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story had potential but it's just another pathetic otome game turned anime. Plus points for episode 5 with the shitty Cantonese, however since the translators (and I mean very few people can understand Cantonese properly these days) didn't translate that part, it was a waste. But good pronunciation, since it IS FROM AN ANIME. Props to the Seiyuus. Back to the point, who the hell puts a musical element? LIKE full blown american musical broadway style sort of thing into the anime? It was the most interesting add on, but also the cringiest thing I've ever heard. There was potential and I didn't find read more
Oct 31, 2016
KuroYume-96 (All reviews)
I'd like to start this review by discussing problems that anime which are based on otome dating games have. I'd like to, but this wouldn't be fair (doesn't mean I won't do it :P) for the simple reason that, unlike for example 'Amnesia' or 'Diabolik Lovers', 'Dance with Devils' isn't based on an otome dating game. Don't worry, there is a 'Dance with Devils' game out there. But here's a fun fact: it was released a few months after the anime has ended.
Why on earth did this surprise me this much? Because 'Dance with Devils' reminds me A LOT like an anime based on a read more