Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Death Note: Rewrite


Alternative Titles

English: Death Note: Relight
Synonyms: Death Note Director's Cut: The Complete Ending Edition Special, Death Note Special, Genshisuru Kami, Visions of a God, L o Tsugu Mono, L's Successors
Japanese: ディレクターズカット完全決着版 〜リライト

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 31, 2007 to Aug 22, 2008
Producers: Shueisha
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 52 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 56,683 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #852
Members: 122,097
Favorites: 560

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 6, 2008
5hreddy (All reviews)
[Since writing this review originally, the two specials of Death Note Rewrite have been merged, this review refers to the first episode: Genshisuru Kami]

For all those who've seen the main TV series, this special episode is essentially a summary of all the events leading up until the end of L's arc in the overall story.

Story (8): Nothing new really. It simply takes the events of the main TV series and compresses it into the space of a little over 2 hours. I gave it an eight simply because it is essentially the overall story line which I was already familiar with. At first, I was read more
Jul 17, 2009
Venneh (All reviews)
Preliminary
Death Note Rewrite: The Visualizing God aired on Japanese TV on August 31st, 2007, and was produced and directed by Madhouse and Testuro Araki, respectively.

Death Note Rewrite is pretty much a recap of the first twenty-five new episodes compressed into two hours, with an alternate ending and a few minutes of new footage in the Shinigami realm added.

How much value you'll get out of it really depends on whether or not you've watched the series previously before going into this. If you're like me, and have seen the entire series leading up to this, then you'll find this pretty useless, read more
Oct 27, 2009
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Due to this being a review of the second of two specials which condensed the entire 37 episode TV series into roughly four hours, I'm going to skip describing the story and covering what all semi-decent reviews of the TV series should by default, such as art/animation and sound. If I covered those aspects, I might as well be typing a review for the TV series instead. As I type this, I'm assuming the readers will already by familiar with Death Note, though I will hold back in order to avoid revealing all to those not in the know.

-----------

First of all, don't assume I hate read more
Aug 29, 2014
ImTheRhetorician (All reviews)
Before I begin, I want to say that i'm not basing this review on the movie itself, i'm basing it on what it did differently from the anime. The reason being that the two movies are identical to the anime itself and there are no drastic changes.

If you've watched Death Note you'd know it's a spectacular show, one of the best Anime's out there. The movies don't change that at all, if anything the movies further show how good the series is, as well as fixing some things for the better. If you haven't seen the series, i recommend watching it because it's well worth read more
May 27, 2010
yuudaiikanata (All reviews)
okay.. death note rewrite.
part 1: Visions of a God
from what i gathered from its title, i thought it'd be something different but it was not (see synopsis) but nonetheless, it was nice. i kind of regarded it as an overview of DN. i was kind of interested only because of the new character but there wasn't any development either. the story stops right after L and Watari died.

it's pretty much the same DN, only compressed. which leaves us now to just one question: should you watch it? uhmm... let's just say you wanted to rewatch DN.. then i'd rather watch the rewrite. other than for read more
Feb 19, 2012
lakshika (All reviews)
People who loved Death Note are sad because an epic anime came to an end. But for those fans, this anime movies (OVA) are like music in their ears and chcolate in their mouths. And I'm one of them. I have missed L and if you watch this, you won't regret it ever. Everyone is back in this. The music is great - it makes you want to stand up and cheer for L or Light - it's your call. Also, fantastic background sounds. The art is very smooth and clear. It makes you beg for more. The English dub actors make a memorable performance read more
Sep 14, 2012
Anyanka (All reviews)
Preliminary
Part 1 is the story of a boy who had delusions of creating a world of only good people (as if!) - that is why he used the Death Note to eradicate those that do not conform to his ideal. And guess how he judges good and bad? the TELLY! Brilliant eh?

When he got cornered and released from the clutches of the demon, he suddenly turned docile, doe-eyed, compassionate, eager... WTF! it lost me there.

At least L was a saving grace. Or maybe Part 2 will redeem the show.
Apr 2, 2012
ramimanify (All reviews)
Well what should I say and where should I begin
Death note is one of the fewest Anime out there that can really make you believe in the brilliance of Animated shows for real

A serious show that is without extra needless fillings, not something you can find that easy

From plot to characters to art to soundtracks
it truly is the ultimate Anime, because by the end of it the viewer is guaranteed to be left with quite an impact

Aside from all the flattery I would say that what really makes Death note a masterpiece is its ability to make you think (and forcefully) you can never let read more
Jan 23, 2013
nightwindzero (All reviews)
If you watched the full Anime Series, watch the first and last 3 minutes of each volume. That is the extent of the newness in these volumes and I saved you at least 2 hours of your life. You are welcome.

If you didn't watch the full series, very calmly take these back to the store and get your money back then watch the full Deathnote series online or on netflix.
I promise that is a better investment of your time then watching these first or even at all.

I bought both volumes for $5 each and they look great on the DVD shelf, but that's really the read more
Jan 20, 2014
jayjaybernil (All reviews)
Deathnote rewrite is the summary of th deathnote series but I can say that I enjoyed this more the the series and here's why.

Story:
The story is identical to the main series as it is the summary. But what I like about it is that only the important parts are tackled. I think that the main series actually contains parts that just make the series longer. The good thing with the summary is that it is intense right from the start and it avoided the boring parts of deathnote.

Art:
The art is improved a little bit from the main series. What I like from deathnote is their read more
Nov 12, 2016
BeemoMan (All reviews)
As you may know, Death Note is one of the most popular and one of the best animes of all time, and it's always the best choice to start watching anime. But since it's not the actual show, I'm going to write a review on this recap of the original anime.
Right off the bat, If you prefer watching recaps instead of the actual show (because you don't have enough time to watch the actual show) THIS WILL NOT BE THE RIGHT CHOICE.
Since there are 2 episodes, I want to start with the first episode Visions of God.
Story (6): Nothing is changed really. Except, there read more
Mar 23, 2018
Keita2014 (All reviews)
Those two movie long "episodes", the anime Death Note is shown us once again. Death Note is one of the best anime series of all time, for it presents a deeply unique and compelling story rivaled by few.

Story: The story is unique. A notebook falls from the sky, and the human who writes a name in it is capable of killing the individual pictured in his mind. This presents the viewers with a highly debatable theme based on morals and justice. Yagami Light, who obtains this power to kill, utilizes it in hopes of creating a utopia in which he is god. Criminals, and only read more
Aug 15, 2017
longfellow (All reviews)
Spoiling a masterpiece by chopping it up into clips instead of watching it for real. It does have about 10 seconds of new footage, but it isn't worth re-watching the show in such an incomplete manner. You would be better off just waiting a while until you've forgotten some of the show and are ready to watch it again, and then just get the full experience.

Youtubing the ~20 seconds of new footage is probably a better approach than watching these, if you want to be able to see everything.

You could argue "well I don't have time to watch the complete Death Note, so I'm better read more