Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rosario to Vampire


Alternative Titles

English: Rosario + Vampire
Synonyms: Rosario and Vampire
Japanese: ロザリオとバンパイア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 3, 2008 to Mar 27, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.021 (scored by 255,504 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #36932
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #148
Members: 436,877
Favorites: 3,373

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 4, 2008
game8910 (All reviews)
Rosario + Vampire the anime is the adaptation of a manga of the same name, or at least, thats what it was supposed to be.

Story: I'm trying to best not to rip this show apart but bear with me, Tsukune is your unfortunate high-school male who has just been enrolled in a school he doesnt even know when his parents found an admission pass on the ground by accident. Little does he know is that the school is for monsters than hate humans and would prob kill any on sight. It is when he meets Moka, a beautiful girl who in reality is a powerful read more
Dec 14, 2008
KaminaKai (All reviews)
"Side tracked from its original story and ended up being a half-baked series."

Before we begin, let me drill this into your mind. Fan service; Fan service; Fan service; Fan service; Fan service! That's the theme for this anime so don't start having high hopes for an amazing story or what not (at least nothing in comparison to the manga original). Rosario + Vampire, like many manga-to-anime adaptation series, made fans screamed with joy at first, but only to have their hopes and dreams shattered bit by bit as the anime progresses. It is true that the anime's story plot deviates from its origin, but it read more
Apr 23, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)
Rosario Vampire is a typical male targeted anime filled with comedy, ecchi, and action. Typical school comedy with typical jokes associated with high school comedies. The "special" twist for this show would be that this school happens to be a school for monsters. To twist it even further, a human is accidentally accepted to the university and if he's found out he will literally be killed. Reading from the other reviews it appears that the manga had a "real story and plot." ...lets think about it for a second. How can someone take a story so serious about a boy trying to survive a monster read more
Jan 18, 2009
TheLlama (All reviews)
Preliminary
R+V is an ecchi anime that has been received surprisingly good in my eyes. I mean, the only thing that makes it different are the elements of action which have found their way into each episode. It starts out with Tsukune Aono, the typical ecchi wimp main. He is starting high school, and due to some strange circumstances he ends up getting admitted into a youkai academy. On his way there he bumps into gets bumped into by a beauty, who's actually a vampire. She's supposedly one of the beauties in school, so you know what's coming... yeah, she ends up befriending the wimp, and read more
Feb 13, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Rosario + Vampire is a typical Shounen, Supernatural, Harem, Romantic, Comedy about an average, human, high school boy (Tsukune) who couldn’t get into any private schools and was stuck going to a school for monsters. This may sound interesting but there’s nothing particularly special about this set-up, since it is just your average school Rom/Com but with monsters. What’s more is that each episode has some very predictable outcomes that get boring fast (monster appears, Moka transforms & sucks blood). So in the end, the weak and repetitive story turned this into a series that you can only enjoy once you turn off your brain.

There’s read more
Mar 3, 2010
Goombasa (All reviews)
Okay then, where to start? How about the fact that this was made by Gonzo. Now, before you go jumping down my throat, yes, Gonzo has made some really, REALLY good series, and are still making them today. However, they also have a very long list of bad shows they've produced as well.

This is one of those bad ones.

I walked into this one having read the first two volumes of the manga and knowing fully that there was only a 50/50 chance of this series being any good. Unfortunately, my gamble didn't pay off. The first thing that bothers me is the fanservice. Yes, the read more
Aug 17, 2009
alstore (All reviews)
I first read the manga to rosario+vampire. It was a wonderful to read threw it all. so when I heard it was a anime too, I hough I have to watch this....
Story:what the heck happen to 40% of the story plot? they either drag out esp. or skip entire story plot lines. these plot lines where imporant to! Like the art teacher. she was in the beging and the end too! how do you skip that? On the witches hill made my head hurt.that was also change at points that made no sense. the last of this horror story was the end. they tried to read more
Dec 27, 2013
wumbmasta (All reviews)
Rosario+Vampire Review:

Rosario+Vampire was one of the first anime I ever watched. Due to this, I hold this show very close to my heart and may have a positively biased opinion so excuse me if it shows through. However, after revisiting the show and re-evaluating how good it actually is, I have to say that this show is perfectly "meh."

Story - 4.5/10:
One thing that I have noticed MANY people complain about with this anime, is that it basically disgraces the manga. Both the anime and the manga have the same introductory premise of a high school boy named Tsukune accidentally being enrolled in a school for read more
Jan 14, 2008
lillockey (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am rather disappointed with this series. I've seen 2 episodes and I've noticed a recurring theme: FANSERVICE. This really irritates me. In my opinion it really pulls away from where the focus needs to be (which is on the characters). This series has a great deal of potential. However, with the overwhelming focus on T&A shots, There's no way for me to enjoy this. As a note, add 2-3 points to my "Overall" score if you really like fanservice.
Jul 19, 2010
deleteme234 (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying that the I love the manga Rosario + Vampire, written by Akihisa Ikeda; it is an amazing story that has high re-read value and plenty of entertainment. It is an unquestionable 10/10 for me.

Rosario + Vampire, the anime adaption, on the other hand is complete garbage and remains one of the biggest fuck ups in the history of anime.

The anime version of Rosario + Vampire takes out everything good that was in the manga (the story, meaningful character relationships) and replaces it with fan service.

Gonzo basically took one of the best mangas and COMPLETELY ruined it with fan read more
Jan 7, 2008
NightNLght (All reviews)
Preliminary
With one episode this series is off to a some what fast but descent start. Good points, very nice looking characters and well animated series. The girls are cute and you get to see their panties. Down side, you get to see there panties in every shot. I'm all for panty shots but there's a point where it gets old... :P The plot is pretty weak but then again it's hard to judge because there has only been one episode. I'm definitely going to keep watching and I won't discourage anyone from trying the read more
Feb 11, 2013
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
There is dumb fun, and then there is just plain asinine. Rosario + Vampire tries hard to convince us that it is the former, it tries very hard. The show is openly aware of how stupid it can get, and happily points out how dumb it is being as its main source of comedy. Unfortunately, this is not only a flimsy source of comedy that only occasionally works, it also makes it irritatingly evident that the plotting is shoddy and the characters are one-dimensional and poorly developed; plus that the show was made to blatantly exhibition girls' cleavage. This results in a fan-service comedy that read more
Mar 12, 2008
Darkflare (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's a good concept. Although it's been done many times, the quirky characters and their personality grow on you. Having read all the way to chapter 33 of the manga I can say this for sure; the story is changed in a way that removes the depth of the characters and situations. The real problem is the Fan service, there is far too much. This anime had so much potential in the first few episodes, then the excess of fan service obliterated the depth of the story.

From an artistic perspective the animation is of very good quality, the backgrounds are drawn very well and it read more
Jul 31, 2015
LucioSantos (All reviews)
I don’t even know where to begin to talk about this mess of an anime. Why this is such a popular anime is completely mind boggling to me. Is it because it’s trash? Is it because it’s just so much of a mess, it’s completely confusing everyone?
Essentially, this is a story revolving around a gary stu. The main character is less than mediocre, and as to why an apparently amazing vampire is in love with his ugly perverted, absolutely useless self is absolutely beyond me.
The other main character is of course a mary sue. She is loved by all, immensely powerful, confident, etc. As to read more
Dec 20, 2013
ok_ (All reviews)
Having officially read the Manga a couple of days ago I pondered why I originally gave this show a 9 in the past when in all honesty it is incomparable to the manga in terms of plot, character and wait for it ~ external character design.

But nevertheless both the show and manga succeeded in their own intended ways, both were done good so to say. Removing the manga out of this discussion for the sake of the review Rosario Vampire is a episodic series following a simple plot:

Mediocre guy who couldn't pass his HS entrance exams with no special talents gets admitted and sent read more
Mar 29, 2015
hardcase (All reviews)
Preliminary
A vapid, shallow exercise in brand promotion that offers little in the way of humor, or even titillation.
Yes, RtV, please regale me more about this unlikeable loser who somehow has multiple attractive girls fawning over him. And make sure to keep them chaste, it would be such a SHAME if this wish-fulfillment centered premise actually fulfilled anyone's wishes. Or made jokes that were funny. Or had characters that were likable instead of half-assed archetypes. The characters have no sort of synergy or chemistry with one another, only existing to pad out each episode's runtime with tired, predictable hijinks that elicit more groans than laughs. read more
Dec 22, 2008
webkid94 (All reviews)
Story - 6/10 (D): An average high schooler gets somehow transferred to a school full of Vampires who wear ridiculously short skirts.

Uh-huh, real inspiring plot, all right. This show should just be labeled as Yuri or Hentai. Those two categories have absolutely zero plot. Yet i gave it a six because it tried to make something out of it, i'll give it that. I can stomach the first few episodes, after that it's fanservice and more fanservice.

Art - 8/10 (B)
Well, for a really lame show, it still looks pretty, right?

Sound - 7/10 (C-)
I'll admit it, i'm hooked on Nana Mizuki's singing, including "Discotheque" for read more
Apr 7, 2012
schmuck (All reviews)
Wait Guys before before being a troll and hitting the 'Not Helpful' give it a chance.

This is AMAZING............... until was adapted into an Anime :/
What fans hate the most is when they turn their favourite amazing mindblowing series to just a good anime to watch in your free time.
I watched the anime first then read the manga, I ended up crawling into a ball and asked myself

'Do adaptions like screwing you over?'

I came up with the simple answer 'YES'

There are 2 people who do not enjoy this show they are:
1. Douchebags that watch ecchi and then bitch about fanservice
2. The Manga Readers (fair enough I read more
Mar 30, 2008
micrightnow (All reviews)
You would probably like this anime if you like comedy and real quick fighting scenes that last about 80 seconds long (most of the time) as long as you get over the fan service scenes.
I gave the story a 10 because its original and its very interesting how Tsukune Aono and Moka Akashiya trys to hide the fact that Tsukune is a human from Tsukune's other friends who have a crush on him.The plot is very well also.
I gave art/animation a 5 because the series have too much fan service in most of the episodes. But luckily, a few of the episodes don't have much read more
Jul 2, 2008
shinyslowqueen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I put Rosario Vampire on my list of anime that are simply so terrible that you can't stop watching them. A simple, average, puny, wimpy boy, played by Shinji Ikari, surrounded by gorgeous teen and preteen girls who all for some reason or another desperately want him in the pants. This theme has been done before and done to death, and the overabundance of panty shots (second in number only to Najica Blitz Tactics) just further pigeonholes this anime into the mediocre ecchi territory held by Steel Angel Kurumi and Ai Yori Aoshi.

So what sets Rosario Vampire apart? I can't read more