Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro


Alternative Titles

English: Neuro: Supernatural Detective
Synonyms: Private Evil-Eye Nougami Neuro, Demon Detective Nougami Neuro
Japanese: 魔人探偵 脳噛ネウロ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2007 to Mar 26, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: VAP, Shueisha
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.701 (scored by 21,277 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1633
Members: 52,747
Favorites: 558

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 9, 2009
nubson (All reviews)
Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro... perhaps one of the weirder animes I've seen. However, this anime hit my taste buds right on! Honestly, I'm a big fan of detective fictions, main characters that are seen as intelligent, and overall weird motifs and this anime is PERFECT for you if you agree with any of the above.

Story:
Overall, the story is enjoyable, and not one second was disappointing. The plot was nothing too intense, so those of you looking for drama might think this is faulty. The plot definitely pretty mild compared to other animes such as Death Note, or Code Geass, but the main idea for read more
Apr 15, 2008
Monkey_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Story:
Basically a demon detective, Neuro, comes to the human world from hell and teams up with a girl, Yako, whose father was murdered. Basically the story is then done is a mostly episodic manner, that is every episodes, sometimes every 2-3 episodes, are a new case. But as you progress through the cases and the episodes, you witness a lot of growth with Yako and in the end the mystery of her father's death is obviously resolved. The cases aren't really always that great and are usually pretty easy in terms of solving and predicting, but there's some nice ones, and either way, the cases read more
Feb 18, 2008
kickass331 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can't see why people would think this show is bad at all.

It's animated by the same studio that did Death Note, it's incredibly unique, and it's fun to watch.

The manga volumes I have read are incredibly random, but incredibly entertaining and genius, and although the Anime is quite dumbed down and rearranged, there have been no fillers; Although the story has been changed quite a bit.

The show has sadly been one of the series to not be subbed regularly, I was glad when catchphrase picked it up and they did it well, but then they slowed down. Now I'm watching Ainex's releases and they read more
Nov 25, 2015
ShySorcerer (All reviews)
Overall Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro was enjoyable, however it wasn't what I was expecting.The tags being Comedy, Demons, and mystery along with the synopsis saying things like "As a demon, he must not make his presence noticed by the humans as it is the law in the human world" and " a demon who feeds on mysteries and puzzles, who comes to the human world to feast on the mysteries offered by humans who release negative energy from their planned crimes", we can expect a detective show with some demon shenanigans. That premise sounded interesting to me so I went in read more
Apr 17, 2008
Purjoloek (All reviews)
Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro is a 25-episode anime based on the ongoing manga with the same name. It's original run lasted between October 2nd, 2007 and the 25th of March, 2008 (on Japanese television, of course).

The genres include: shounen, supernatural, comedy, drama and mystery.

Let's get started then.

Story: 10
The story of Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro is very original. A demon from hell (Nougami Neuro) who feeds on riddles and mysteries has run out of food, since he ate all the mysteries in hell. Therefore, he decides to leave hell and travels to the human world. There he finds Katsuragi Yako, who is deeply saddened by her read more
Apr 15, 2008
kin-chan (All reviews)
Story: Very original. I’ve never seen anything like it before. Sure, there’s lots of anime that have a demon and average human as the main characters, but in Neuro it’s done in a unique way. Plus, the mysteries aren’t just solved -- they’re consumed. With each progressive episode, the mysteries get more complex and violent -- and so does the relationship between Neuro and Yako. There’s a good balance of seriousness and comedy.

Animation: It’s nothing special, but not a totally horrible mess either. It may fluctuate from high quality to low quality a few times per episode, but it’s not distracting.

Sound: The opening and ending read more
Jul 16, 2015
HomuraM (All reviews)
I started watching this anime only because I had nothing else to do. But now that I've finished it, I am SO happy that I decided to see it. Frankly, this anime left me begging for more. My only complaint with it is that I wish it was a bit longer. Its totally unique and different from any anime that I have ever seen and is truly one of a kind. If you want an anime that is funny, mysterious, cunning and just a little weird all in one, then this is exactly what you are looking for.

STORY:
The plot isnt too intense, and does read more
Jul 31, 2008
DaBigD (All reviews)
"Hannin wa...Omae da!"

Story: "So here we are with another detective story" is what I'd like to say, but that would be a lie. Not all detective stories have an uberly powerful demon came from hell in search of mysteries because it has eaten all of the mysteries in hell. The story progresses in episodic nature, slowly developing in the way, and finally climaxing in the last few episodes. The ending wasn't the best i imagined (left many open doors,) but it allows a continuation for the series, so it's fine by me.
10/10

Art: Have you noticed how black, gray and white were the primary colors read more
Dec 7, 2018
littlebat12 (All reviews)
Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro

It is an anime produced by Madhouse that aired from October 2, 2007 until March 25, 2008. It has as genres, Mystery, Comedy, Demons, Supernatural and Shounen.

Story:
Being an anime of related genres, like Mystery, Comedy, Demons, Supernatural and Shounen, is VERY unique. Basically, the story revolves around two main characters, Katsuragi Yako, a high school girl who starts getting excited about solving mysteries (in Anime, later read more
Nov 21, 2012
PorcupineHead (All reviews)
This anime is not really easy to describe. At first you might think that it's just poor man's detective Conan, but I would describe it as a mix of Conan and Soul Eater.

I started watching this anime by an accident, because i really liked the opening by Nightmare, the ending is boring though. The soundtrack is full of great and memorable tracks, but voice acting doesn't stand out except Neuro's. Now the animation seems weird and out of place at times, it's above average.

Yako Katsuragi is a generic and useless main character and the only interesting thing about her is her appetite which puts Luffy, read more
Jun 9, 2016
ThatEmoGuy-_-Xen (All reviews)
Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro is equal to or even better than Case Closed. I was really thrilled when I read this, since I consider CC to be one of the best (if it isn't THE best) mystery anime out there. It's better than CC, they said. You'll love it, they said. Sadly this joke of a mystery anime failed to meet my expectations. Instead, it stumbled to it, all in its drunken glory, expecting me to accept and love this series.
If you're a fan of mystery and you're planning to watch this, then don't. As a mystery lover myself, the biggest mistake the anime read more
Mar 26, 2008
finishedwiththis (All reviews)
Preliminary
Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro is not a bad series. It is also not one of the best series out there either.
In a lot of ways, I view this series on an equal footing with Jigoku Shoujo. Some episodes are extraordinarily good while other episodes lack.
Some of the mysteries in the series early on, much like Jigoku Shoujo's first cases, are very bland. Once you dive into the main plot, the series does start to liven up.

In all honesty, it is the characters that make this series and not the story so much. The story comes as a sort of read more
Jan 19, 2010
PushingIdeas (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well.. So far I completed only 16 episode from all 25, but I just have to write this review, 'cause:

I just can't understand Why so great scores for that anime? I see here only 8, 8, 8 even 10? In mine opinion it not deserve even mere 6.
well- The cases about that demon detective - Nougami Neuro sometimes are not too bad. This anime is pretty light also, but I find the humor in here just horrible and it ruin my mood (of course- that have a reflection of my scores for that anime). If this anime was made more serious or.. with other kind read more
Apr 7, 2015
animated-fangirl (All reviews)
Preliminary
**Some Spoilers but not enough to ruin the show***

This anime is a very interesting one. To properly watch this anime and enjoy it, one needs to start at around episode 5 skip 6 then continue to episode 7 on, and probably skip episode 15 as well. Nothing will be missed since this anime has a different mystery every episode.

The show is set up in a very Scooby-Doo mystery like fashion. You only meet around two or three characters per episode and the first person you meet is always the villain. However, the show is somewhat dark in the aspect that someone is always killed. read more
Dec 12, 2014
min1230 (All reviews)
I thoroughly enjoyed all 25 episodes of this anime. The mystery solving and murder cases reminded me of the Detective Conan series- even the story structure! Maybe that's why I enjoyed watching it~

Story: 9
For me, the story was great! It wasn't the most original plot.. However, it was interesting and kept me on my toes the whole time. To be honest, the set up is quite similar to Detective Conan. Neuro is like Conan- the person who's actually solving all the cases. Then there's Yako who's like Mouri Kogoro- the person who's taking credit for the cases. Finally, there's Sai who's practically Kaitou Kid. However, read more
Apr 9, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
Right off the bat you should know the anime doesn't cover the full series but is the anime worthy of a gateway into its manga? From the author of Assassination Classroom, Neuro: Supernatural Detective follows the episodic lifestyle of Yako; a girl who is accompanied by a demon from hell, Neuro. Each episode deals with murder cases where Neuro solves the case in order to fulfill his hunger for mysteries. As an added bonus, most murderers transform into demons representing their ugly personality.

Most of the anime is just this but manages to make some appeals. For instance, the anime took some liberties in rewriting read more
Apr 13, 2016
gwern (All reviews)
Supernatural mystery. In the episodic format, demon Neuro Nogami drags a highschool girl from murder mystery to murder mystery, solving it easily (often with a deus ex machina from the '777 Tools' - thankfully, there are not actually 777 mysteries in the series) and puppeting the girl to accuse the murderer, who supernaturally transforms into the symbol of their motive and attacks Neuro, who defeats them and 'consumes their mystery' by draining them of life force. The approach is similar to the earlier _Night Walker_ and the later _UN-GO_.

The animation & art are unremarkable and somewhat offputting: very dull flat color palette, blurry washed out read more
Oct 22, 2011
Queen_Stars (All reviews)
This series is something different...
One of those rare series's that comes along once in a while and manages to entertain without relying on the same old acceptable writing tool - infact, it actually turn the conventional up-side-down.
How often do we have:
- Comic violence dished out on a female by a male?
Pretty much never, but we do within this
- How often is comic violence nessessary to a plot?
Rarely - yet in this case, it is very nessessary (training from hell)
- An anime that doesn't hype up sexualisation to keep the viewers interested?
Rarely, yet within this series, there's - no ecchi and ecchi read more
Jun 8, 2008
Jello (All reviews)
Majin Tantei Nougami Neuro- A series about a girl who lost her father in a murder, or as the police report it, a suicide. This girl is Yako. She is one of the main characters in this series.
Story- The story is very unique, though it gets a little repetitive. The story has it's twists and it's comedy moments, along with it's depressing moments. In the beginning, it's hard to keep up with because it starts further along in the series, and jumps back a few times to show the father's murder and to show where Yako met another main character. Besides a few flaws like read more
Jul 14, 2010
SoulCross (All reviews)
Nougami Neuro, a demon from hell who eats mysteries, not your typical detective-anime in many ways.
I've always liked this type of animes because of the suspense and because of
how brilliant the characters are at discovering cases, but this in particular because , well, its a badass demon that eats mysteries!

Story 8/10: There's not much of an on-going story at first, since at the beggining each episode is like a mini plot, where there's a new mystery/criminal for neuro and yako to unravel.However, it get better after 5 episodes,where Neuro begins to encounter new rivals with extremendous abilities that turns the story upside down involving entire read more