Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai


Alternative Titles

English: SHIMONETA: A Boring World Where the Concept of Dirty Jokes Doesn't Exist
Synonyms: Shimoseka
Japanese: 下ネタという概念が存在しない退屈な世界

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2015 to Sep 19, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Genres: Comedy, Ecchi, School
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.491 (scored by 172,137 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #193
Members: 321,733
Favorites: 1,923

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 19, 2015
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
"What's the point of dirty jokes anyway if they aren't 'wrong'? They're appealing *because* they are wrong. They excite us *because* we have to be secretive. Because they're devilish, they shine. Because they're twisted, they entice us. That is why I vowed to become the 'devil' to crush this boring world where the concept of dirty jokes does not exist!" – Kajou Ayame

At first glance this may sound like a pretty stupid quote, but when you think about it there's a lot of truth behind it. In fact, Shimoneta as a whole functions in more or less the same way as underneath the hyperactive, wacky read more
Sep 19, 2015
StigmataSasha (All reviews)
"Nothing is disgusting....nothing" - Okuma, episode 12

Shimoneta and Prison School have got to be the dirtiest and lewd shows this season, or this year. But Shimoneta sucks and Prison School is far superior. Why do I say this about two shows that are about on par in sexual content? Well then, read the review.

Shimoneta's premise is that all that is lewd and sexual has been banned for over a decade, and any use of sexual things via words, or objects will get you into legal trouble. Now our 'heroes' are off to fight a war and take back the justice which is all that is read more
Sep 20, 2015
Stark700 (All reviews)
Every season, there’s usually one or a few series that you can’t watch with your family like your little brother/sister or parents. Keep that in mind if you plan to watch this show.

Now imagine this:
A world where anything lewd, obscene, or considered “sexual” is banned. And any attempts to practice such acts of obscenity can land you into jail. In Shimoseka, that’s actually a reality. The government has apparently imposed their laws onto the public to obstruct any sort of obscene behavior. This also apparently includes sex education so children can forget about learning the logics of pregnancy, sexual abstinence, and all that other read more
Oct 12, 2015
EroOu (All reviews)
Oh boy ,where do i start.. i'll just get this out of the way ,i'm not gonna talk about the underlying messages and all that ,ill leave that for someone else to do, and i won't compare it to other shows.

I'll be quick and straight to the point ,this show delivers what it promises which is just dirty jokes throughout the whole show and if you were expecting something else well ,i'm not really sure what you're doing watching it.

I won't talk about the story ,it's just there to hold the show together.
If you think otherwise, well everyone has their opinion, i won't judge.

Ok read more
Jan 10, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai was without a doubt one of the most unique comedy shows I watched and enjoyed during Summer 2015. It was full of energy and excitement, and most importantly a awesome and very memorable cast of characters.

There are lots of shows that have the dirty jokes in school setting however, Shimoseka's version of this differs greatly. Most noticeable it's more childish and immature with dialogue but the characters discuss mature content... however the once you get used to the character.. (mostly Ayame Kajo's) personality it really starts to grow on you. I noticed it's material, read more
Jan 14, 2016
IKira-n (All reviews)
"pornography
noun por·nog·ra·phy \-fē\
: movies, pictures, magazines, etc., that show or describe naked people or sex in a very open and direct way in order to cause sexual excitement"

Now why the fuck would I give you a definition of "pornography" at the very beginning of this review? Just to warn you about the fucked up shits this anime may have. So ye, WATCH AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Now that we have that stuff out of the way, let's start.

HEY! Have you ever thought "oh wow! Love To Ru's ecchi-ness would be great for a storyline that involves world were there is read more
Sep 19, 2015
Shadow159753 (All reviews)
Having finished all 12 episodes of Shimoneta, I have to say, this is one of the most pure comedy show I have seen in a long time. On the surface, Shimoneta is a show about rebelling against a system that banned all dirty jokes. Under the surface, Shimoneta is a show about rebelling a system that banned all dirty jokes. In other words it stays true to itself throughout the series, which is rare nowaday since most shows try to teach some nonsensical life lesson.

Story: First of, this is one of the most ridiculous premise I've ever seen for an ero-comedy. read more
Oct 25, 2015
Malhavok (All reviews)
Shimoneta is a vastly underrated anime that, almost expectedly, gets poor reviews from the very types of people that it skewers.

In 2015 we live in a society that is becoming increasingly intolerant to personal expression and freedom of speech and Shimoneta takes this trend and draws it to it's absurd and natural conclusion, demonstrating the oppressive nature of "Political Correctness" when it turns into censorship on moral grounds. The dystopian aspect of this show comes from the omnipresent police state that monitors and hence controls whatever it deems to be "lewd behavior". Almost hysterically, hardly anyone, including the people enforcing these laws, actually know read more
Sep 19, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
"One thing about terrorists... Even if we know we're going to fail, we must still tell dirty jokes!" - Ayame Kajou

(Ironic note: my 69th review.)

Finally, a self parodying ecchi anime! Why can't there be more of these out there? If the title didn't cue you in, this show is about the most middle school topic you can think of: cheesy sex jokes. The premise is that Japan's government is just a shadow government, taken over 16 years prior run by a bunch of overbearing prudes who seek to stamp out every trace of sexuality and obscenity from society. This group of children who were born read more
Nov 14, 2015
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Hello there. Do you love dirty jokes? I do, who doesn’t? I like my dirty jokes to go beyond the boundaries that many would consider to be the tipping point of how far jokes can go. There is an art to it that can make any of these jokes work when they are done with precision and finesse. Sometimes they are done with subtlety or not subtle in the slightest; both of which can be successful or a failure depending on how they are executed. Shimoneta fits the latter quite accurately to say the least. And when I say not subtle, that is taking it read more
Jun 6, 2016
Thunderfrog (All reviews)

Shimoneta and I have a love hate relationship.

Story.

The premise that porno-terrorists survive in a post-porn Japan is a fun one. Picturing groups of young ones running around re-educating the Japanese in the ways of the pervent makes me chuckle inside.

The problem is that this greater story is rarely touched up. Many of the 12 episodes are based on recruitment. Others are on interpersonal relationships, but other than a passing mention, the plot at large goes both unexplored and unremembered, as well as unresolved.

This is an anime with great artwork that -could- have been much much more. There is some obvious creative thought that read more
Nov 1, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
Oh boy, hold on to your underpants for this one... Shimoneta literally means dirty joke, and you'll get more than both ears worth in this show. Whereas Seitokai Yakuindomo had a lot of implied dirty jokes, Shimonata literally doesn't hold any punches. Though I'm still not quite sure how this got on TV, expect everything in the ecchi drawing book from panties and upskirts galore to what can only be described as soft core porn with many smiley stickers on the screen.

The show is about, ironically, an idealized Japan where everything lewd is purged Fahrenheit 451 style; and where everyone is forced to wear bracelets read more
Sep 20, 2015
Scavrefamn (All reviews)
Shimoneta is Summer 2015's most prominent ecchi comedy series and has finally concluded its first season. It is very difficult to write an objective review of something as subjective as an ecchi comedy but in the case of Shimoneta it has an advantage that others do not; It has absolutely no plot.

Let's begin; It's a sex-comedy show established as being about a group of Naughty Terrorists that want to spread sex education in a world that suppresses all sexuality similar to what feminism wants to do in the real world but I digress. A totalitarian government exists and does not let people draw or say read more
Nov 4, 2015
matic12345 (All reviews)
Lately censorship has become completely unreasonable and an anime tackling this problem sounded promising, but oh how wrong it all went.

Lets start with the story.The anime takes place sometime in the future when Japan has banned all things “immoral”. Our main character Tanukichi Okuma has just transferred to the elite public morals school where he is quickly summoned to join the student council to help fight the terrorist organisation SOX that is fighting against censorship, but he almost immediately gets blackmailed by one of the council members Ayame Kajou, who is actually one of the terrorists, to join the terrorists and commit obscene acts.

Well the read more
Oct 23, 2015
CMonty (All reviews)
"Pornography does not create perversions, it merely arouses a pervert's imagination."

Shimoneta is the kind of anime that not everyone will like or enjoy by any means (obviously) as it is.. well.. crude as hell. It is intended for people who like shameless sexual humor, and that is it's target audience. Now my reason for giving it the score that I did is based mostly on my enjoyment of the series and it's over the top nature rather than it's plot and characters which are pretty average as far as anime goes. Now lets get into the meaty details.

Story: read more
Sep 19, 2015
gilberto-0102 (All reviews)
Shinometa came to me with an interesting synopsis "a world where everything obscene or perverted is prohibited and a group of sex-called terrorists SOX go around town doing perverted acts" well let's give it a good opotunidady was a great decision Shinometa was anime that I liked most this season,

For me this anime implemented a new way of seeing animes ecchis where censorship is put on purpose, amuses you.

Characters great strength of anime, Ayame Kajou was my favorite character every time he said over indecency to literally shit laughing.

Well I hope you have a second season but I hope there are rumors confirmed, would give read more
Mar 1, 2018
DannieOne (All reviews)
Don't dare you guys judge me! - DannieOne

This anime is not for children or ecchi haters.

I can say this is the first time I've watched an anime this ecchi with sounds and art. I've watched this anime with a friend through the whole thing and I don't regret watching this anime.

The anime is one of the ecchiest anime (Aki-sora is another thing) and one of the funniest. The OP is really funny and its one of the ecchiest anime OP to, but this anime was really enjoyable and I really don't regret watching this, but the best thing is that I watched it with my read more
Dec 22, 2015
Mike98 (All reviews)
So the first few times I saw this anime in the form of a few screenshots with jokes on a humour site I frequent I said to myself "This is stupid, this is exactly the reason people call anime watchers weebs..." and ignored it. But boy I was so wrong.
This is a piece of art when it comes to comedy. I truly am unable to remember when I laughed so much while watching an anime or a TV series.
Anyway now let's break it down in categories.

-Story: 8-
The story of this is well...just good. The action takes part 16 years after almost any trace of pornography read more
Oct 12, 2015
agiri_kun (All reviews)
Story 9
Art 9
Sound 10
Character 10
Enjoyment 10
Overall 10


This show isnt for everyone, it requires an open mind and heart. Let me tel you all why. Basically this show is one of that anime series that you cant watch with your family unless they are really open minded because the jokes are dirty and thats what the anime want to show.

The story starts with a boy (Okuma) who finally is aproved to a great school, but the problem is the school is one of the most rigid when it comes about morals. The context of the plot is that in Japan is prohibited to use dirty read more
Feb 9, 2016
Datrium (All reviews)
Shimoneta to Iu Gainen ga Sonzai Shinai Taikutsu na Sekai or A Boring World Where the Concept of Dirty Jokes Doesn't Exist. What a mouth full of a title, and this mouth is full of enjoyment.

Pretty much the general story line is, no dirty, sexual or pornographic items of all variety are removed, and the used of people choice of words and actions to imply these acts would be punished by extreme means. However, there is a group called S.O.X, which is made up of teenagers, whom want this to change and want to teach their classmates how to "combine" and other forbidden topics. This read more