Ookami to Koushinryou


Spice and Wolf

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Spice and Wolf
Synonyms: Ookami to Koushinryou
Japanese: 狼と香辛料

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2008 to Mar 26, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Studios: Imagin
Source: Light novel
Genres: AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy, HistoricalHistorical, RomanceRomance
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.281 (scored by 299657299,657 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2382
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #140
Members: 617,016
Favorites: 16,146
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 22, 2017
Hibbington (All reviews)
When watching this show I ponder on what it really means to “Falling into the Hype”.
It is naïve to think that when a show is popular that it doesn’t effect your mood going in.
But on that same thought is there a difference in “Falling into the Hype” and just seeking understatement on why something is popular.
I didn’t come into this show hyped but throughout this experience I was always search for that special something.
Something I never found. All I was left was this indifferent feeling.
When you are stuck in an indifferent feeling is a good indication that the show is average.
It read more
Nov 4, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

One of the strangest feelings that people often experience is yearning. Wanting to see one more time your late mother, hoping to get that perfect job, wishing to experience what the world has to offer; everyone has dreams and aspirations. And what's amazing is that they come in all shapes and sizes. Spice and Wolf Season One is a story filled with such yearning, yearning for money, for home, and especially for each other, and is a wonderful beginning to a memorable tale.

STORY

S&W1 stars Lawrence, a traveling merchant who, one night, comes upon a wolf-girl named Holo. She read more
Aug 31, 2020
Hellschwarz (All reviews)
It's probably because it's older, but I don't consider this show to be "good":

- The pacing is slow

- There is a lot of dialogue, but very little worldbuilding in it

- By episode 5 nothing has happened

- Holo always has to remind everyone that she's "Holo the wise wolf" even if it is not important at all


No seriously. There are 10 minutes of Dialogue in every episode that have no real substance. If you want to show that Holo is attractive and how to change coins you could do that in 2 sentences and draw holo more attractive, and not have 12 Min of one read more
Aug 8, 2019
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
When you hear the two words "Merchant" and "Business" what do you think of? I think of boring. However, Ookami to Koushinryou was a show that influenced me to think of those two are entertaining. Spice and Wolf is a really thrilling anime that can pretty much be summed up as "Merchant". The story is about a merchant travelling around and doing business with other people with his partner, a woman that is actually a wolf.

Despite the fact that the story can be easily summed up. The show is full of entertainment and no matter how much they talk about business, it's still fun. read more
Nov 14, 2010
DreamerofDreams1 (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf is a wonderful tale that about the relationship and adventures of a merchant and a wolf-goddess. It is very well written, set in a very interesting time-period, and has great meaning to it. The story is a good one, with just the right twists and turns, and all the right developments a story needs to turn into something you will enjoy or at least be slightly intrigued by.


Story 10/10- The story is one you have heard of several times,perhaps even in your bedtime stories. A normal person meeting a wolf-girl. But this story is different from most stories told like this, and read more
Jan 6, 2014
Simonian (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf is a curious little piece of fictional work because it makes you think and that's not something one would expect from a romance themed series. It touches upon a wide variety of topics - currency, business, animism and even the attitudes and base, primal, desires of human beings. Moreover it does so with surprising grace. Not once did I think that the plot presented here was superficial or lacking in substance. That said however, Spice and Wolf is not a masterpiece as there are a few blemishes on its otherwise well thought-out plot.

In short, the story follows a young man named read more
May 1, 2013
Raptor1221 (All reviews)
(read before marking help full or unhelpful)
(this show has dub suggestion by me over sub. Dub has better dialog translation and Holo sounds older than 15, as she should)


A wise man once said that it is not the destination, but the journey that defines us. The journey of life if you will. And no other show I have watch has shown me this more than Spice and Wolf. Spice and wolf is the story of a travelling merchant named Lawrence during what appears to be the enlightenment era in Europe. This Merchant one day finds a naked women in his cart(hair censored ftw). Who read more
Mar 1, 2016
Inkwave (All reviews)
"Understandably overrated"
“Lazy and arrogant adaptation of much better source material”
“Perhaps written by Lawrence himself, since it values potential profit over good writing”

It seems that, in art, there are certain works or artists that are viewed with such overwhelming and universal positivity and affection that speaking out against the said work automatically means one has bad taste. For example, it's okay for anyone to bash Justin Bieber, but the moment you say one thing negative about the Beatles, you are instantly branded a bratty teenager with terrible taste in music; people may even accuse you of being a Bieber-lover.

Spice and Wolf no doubt holds a read more
Sep 16, 2011
LeCousin (All reviews)
Well, I think it is time for me to write my first English review.

When you imagine a medieval fantasy anime, you think of knight, dragon, mage and Legolas. Well, Spice and Wolf don't has those. In fact, Spice and Wolf approach the ''med fantasy'' with a very unique direction: economics. Instead of war, fight and magic, the action of Spice and Wolf revolve around trade and currency. So, expect many dialogue. Especially since romance is very important here.

Story:
Lawrence Kraft is a travelling pedlar who come back in the village of Pasloe. Unfortunately for him, the village is in the middle of a pagan read more
Jan 4, 2015
Alnime (All reviews)
This is a somewhat spoiler review which I will mention when I get to the section, so my short, spoiler-free opinion is that, if you want to see a well-written female character, not just in anime but in every type of visual medium, try it.

By far the best thing about this anime is Holo the wise wolf. In fact, I enjoyed the character so much I had to coin a new name: a 4-D tsundere. Her character and aura revolves around mischievousness--and it's genuinely exciting to watch. Why? because, even as a watcher, sometimes you don't actually know if she has an ulterior motive or read more
Jun 17, 2008
seraphjei (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf review: By John Kim

Prerequisite: There is nothing I love more than being pleasantly surprised by anime, and Spice and Wolf delivers on all fronts, even managing to excel in some areas. Spice and Wolf certainly has captured my heart, and with a collection of memorable characters, charming and witty dialogue, and beautifully detailed scenarios, Spice and Wolf is a definite step ahead of most anime and deserves to go down in the books as a classic, if not a genre breaking show.

Story: Ah, the world of merchants and business. Set in a medieval-type world, Spice and Wolf, doesn’t have the most read more
Nov 30, 2013
Shintai (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf is an interesting series to say the least. Despite being a romantic comedy, a genre that typically inspires audible groans whenever I am subjected to it, this series actually manages to avoid many of the annoying pitfalls found in this genre. The tale of Lawrence and Holo, our protagonists is one that took me by surprise and showed me that this genre still has life.

Firstly, the art and animation in this series is fairly adequate. Particularly, the backgrounds are done very well done and definitely do well in breathing life into the world. You can also tell that this is read more
Dec 23, 2014
Reimei-Chan (All reviews)
"Loneliness is disease that could lead to death, they might as well be the same thing."-Holo

When I first heard of Spice and Wolf, I didn't really have much to expect from the show. The people who watched the show were praising the crap out of it. So I was expecting at least a watchable show. When I sat down to fully watch it, I was amazed how attached I was to the show. It got me like a tornado and attached like glue. This show just knew what genres I loved, mainly romance, drama, and fantasy and made them even better then the average show. read more
Jun 22, 2019
thelivingtunic (All reviews)
I was told to watch this anime from a friend, because they told me it was "so good" and one one of their favourites.

After watching the first season, I've personally dubbed this "Generic: The Anime". The characters have about as much life in them as cardboard cutouts. The dialogue, of which there is a LOT (it makes sense being that it's about merchant trading and finances) is clunky and feels forced a good chunk of the time. There have only been about three moments where I've actively KIND OF wanted to know what was going to happen, and likewise those are about the only three read more
Sep 15, 2018
Falco2424 (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf is an impressively charming tale of politics, economics, and romance. However, that was not the reason I watched it. It was recommended to me for its characters. To be more specific, the main reason I watched Spice and Wolf now is that Holo was Sudostef’s (my favorite internet personality, RIP) number 1 favorite character. Given that he placed Holo above Asuka was a really, really big deal. I have Asuka as my number 1 and can’t imagine a character topping her. Anyways, onto actually talking about Spice and Wolf.

Spice and Wolf is a breathtakingly beautiful anime. The art style, character designs, read more
Mar 15, 2013
Koopsas (All reviews)
A friend of mine once told me that a show lives or dies on its characters, and while this statement may seem rather self explanatory, it’s shame to see just how often such a fundamental part of a show can be left in the dust to make way for other aspects to receive more polish. While I do appreciate and admire said other aspects reviving polish, it goes without saying but regardless as to how much time is spent making some action sequence the most eye poppingly vibrant array of colours to ever be put into film, I generally won’t find them all that interesting read more
Jan 6, 2014
popapop2 (All reviews)

I now remember how I got to know the name Spice and Wolf, I think I was looking around for another anime's sequel or something when I stumbled on it's name, and then again I saw it's name. Seeing it like this and good words after it I decided to pick up the series and begin watching, what I found was one of my favorite anime of all time.


The story is wonderful, it deals with economics that can sometimes be hard to follow, romance, comedy, being alone, relationships, politics, drama, and other things as well. The story holds you tight as you sink deeper read more
Jul 25, 2012
DeSwitch (All reviews)
Craft Lawrence was an ordinary merchant until he came across the pagan wolf deity Horo, disguised as a cute wolf-girl. In exchange for assisting him in his work Horo asks that he take her with him to see the world and to go home. Lawrence has no idea what he's gotten himself into, but accepts his fate to travel with her in search of himself and their fortune together.

Story & Characters (8/10)
Set in the fictional renasanse world, the story follows a girl Horo who is a sage wolf and a guy who is a merchant named Lawrence.
These are some of the good aspects of the read more
Apr 13, 2015
newblet (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf is a series that I didn't expect much from. Little did I know, this would become one of my all-time favorites.

I think most of the reviews are spot on when they say this is a story about the characters. Although the plot line of economics and spice trading may seem dull, the characters and development are true masterpieces.

Holo is a character that you won't find in any other series and makes this series a masterpiece. Words cannot describe how brilliant her character development is. The interactions and progression of her feelings are on a different level, where the two MCs read more
Sep 2, 2019
Watame (All reviews)
In a nutshell (tl;dr):

Humanity enjoys deceiving and showing its superiority over nature. In Spice and Wolf, farmers no longer pray to the caring Goddess Horo, because they know how to control harvest without her help. Horo became really sad, but could not abandon the village that she had promised to protect long time ago. One day, however, she is freed by a wandering merchant named Kraft Lawrence. The merchant knew that there was only one person with the name Horo and after a little test, the man agreed to travel with the witty Goddess. Spice and Wolf will take you in a wonderful journey of read more