Ookami to Koushinryou


Alternative Titles

English: Spice and Wolf
Synonyms: Ookami to Koushinryou
Japanese: 狼と香辛料

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2008 to Mar 26, 2008
Premiered: Winter 2008
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Studios: Imagin
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.341 (scored by 229,809 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #100
Members: 450,158
Favorites: 13,350

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 22, 2008
Ranivus (All reviews)
Wolf and spice can be summed up fairly easily. Be prepared for ALOT of dialog. In essence, its about a story about merchant trading during medieval times. A time when the word of the catholic church was more important than anything else and anyone else was deemed a witch or heretic. Since it is set in such archaic times it would be a perfect fit to have an anime about merchant trading.

Ever since i was in middle school I used to play video games with trading and how prices rise and fall from location to location and how supply and demand and even risk margins read more
Dec 5, 2014
Aereldor (All reviews)
This is a review of BOTH seasons of Spice and Wolf, but I have gone to great lengths to make it completely spoiler-free.

Personally, I believe Spice and Wolf's central theme to be a rephrasing of the saying 'Never judge the content by the cover'. The story is one of the most unique in anime, despite the presence of a naked wolf girl that would normally slap a bold 'FANSERVICE' stamp right across the middle. Spice and Wolf is inexplicable, to be honest. It's a medieval fantasy, but has nothing to do with swords and spellcraft, but rather trading and economics. If I try to explain read more
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
Preliminary
A show about a merchant and an incarnation of a harvest-wolf-god, set in a beautiful medieval world.
So, a merchant named Lawrence encounters the incarnation of the harvesting god - a wolf god at that. Her incarnation looks like a human except wolf ears and the tail to match. Then, he's supposed to accompany her to her home country in the north. On top of that, it's all set in a medieval setting. That's pretty interesting, if you ask me. It lays the base for a good adventure anime; which I definitely like.

This show doesn't have a vast array of main characters - it's mainly Lawrence read more
Jun 30, 2010
santetjan (All reviews)
A sensory description accompanied by fields of gold swaying as the west wind moves. A reference to a European legend so obscure most people living where the legend was current will have never heard of it, and well-used to boot. A depiction of change, of progress and of its accompanying alteration of people's perception. All in a preamble spoken in a soft voice.
How could this not turn out to be brilliant?

When discussing Spice and Wolf, the very title of the series is of interest. More particularly, the sequence of the words of that title. Whereas the Japanese original should have produced the sequence 'Wolf and read more
Mar 5, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf is a Supernatural, Romance, Adventure anime set in a sort of fantasy, European, Medieval world. The story itself revolves around a young travelling merchant (Craft Lawrence), who encounters a legendary wolf god, in the appearance of a cute girl (Holo/Horo) and they end up travelling together. However for those expecting plenty of wolf action or full-on romance may be disappointed. Instead it basically follows their journey from town to town, helping each other on complex business deals, whilst coming across major developments and dilemmas. Of course there are pockets of action & minor romantic developments but those don’t play much part until read more
Oct 17, 2008
KaminaKai (All reviews)
"Presented a whole new definition for anime. One of a kind story-plot. Intriguing character relationships."

Tired of action-based (shounen) anime? Want to try something more "wordy" for a change? Spice and wolf will be your ideal candidate in this case! Heavily driven by plot, Spice and Wolf require the viewer to pay 100% attention to the dialogues between characters. It is, however, important to note that the conversations between the characters were so well planned that one will hardly ever feel bored over the course of the series.

Skillfully constructed dialogues throughout the series resulted in a wonderful story full of joy and sorrow. While it can read more
Sep 1, 2013
xbobx (All reviews)
"We won't laugh until we get the money, we won't cry until we go bankrupt."

If one wishes to switch a bit from action and cute-girls-doing-cute-stuff series, and watch a more serious but yet funny and romantic story, this is the perfect choice.
The quote above, said from Lawrence to Holo, represents one of the main features of the anime: the mixture of an economics theme with slice-fo-life elements. From the surface, it sure seems pretty odd, but when you take a deeper look, you see it blend so well with the storyline that long conversations about price raising and market value -boring to many people- end read more
Nov 5, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Are you tired of action shonen series with a fighting tournament every 2 story arcs? Want to see something different? Anime has many different genres from which to choose: psychological drama, slice of life, echii comedy, sports, etc. How about something REALLY different? An anime centered around trading that mainly teaches the viewer principals of economics like inflation, buying on margin, and short selling stock? Spice and Wolf is a show so uniquely odd that I had a hard time convincing my friends that it actually exists. This is an anime so dialogue heavy and business oriented that it would likely get better ratings on read more
Jul 21, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Wolves are beautiful creatures to look at. You see them prowling around the woods with their pack and rule the territory that they claim as their own. There is no doubt that they have been the focal point in some anime shows over the years, but when have you seem them being used as an intelligent focal point in a show's narrative? Out comes Spice and Wolf, a tale that follows two of our heroes in their journey involving mercantilism, to convince us once and for all that you can pull off a simple concept and make something brilliant out of it.

Spice and Wolf sets read more
May 1, 2008
Tsumayouji (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've noticed that the vast majority of the reviews for this series are absolutely glowing, which is the reason I decided to give my input. After having watched it (save for that mysterious 7th DVD-only episode), I thought I'd write a review so that people with my tastes might get a little more perspective on the series.

~Story~

The story is actually fairly interesting and has a good foundation: a merchant happens upon the incarnation of a wolf God while conducting business in a small town. He promises to escort the wolf home to the north and off they go on medieval merchant inspired adventures. It's read more
May 9, 2015
TeslaFreak (All reviews)
I saw this anime because of a few recommendations online and several glowing reviews, however upon watching Spice and Wolf I have to wonder how old the writers of these reviews are that they can find this enjoyable. If you've read any other review on this show, you'll know it is praised for its "character depth" and its use of economics. Let me warn you ahead of time, I have seen puddles with more depth than these characters. They are extremely 2 dimensional, the dialogue might as well have been written by a junior high student, and the monotonous tone of the voice acting is read more
Nov 24, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
It's an anime about economics. And cheating out of economics with a giant wolf.

STORY - Seriously. It's a show about medieval economics and how the church influenced businesses at the time. The series thus involves a lot of talking heads, and there isn't a whole lot of action, making it a potential turn-off for people who dislike long-winded explanations. Despite this, there is an actual story beyond the educational rambling which, surprisingly, isn't really exposition at all. Spice and Wolf can almost be considered a semi-historical slice-of-life in that it follows the day-to-day activities of a traveling merchant... and his wolf girl companion. It follows read more
Dec 2, 2014
afrodizzy (All reviews)
In one word, spectacular.

Spice and Wolf is a long journey filled with heaps of dialogue and economics, just keep that in mind when deciding to watch it.

Story: Spice and Wolf is set in the medieval in a land that appears to take inspiration from European countries. Our story begins with the introduction of Kraft Lawrence, a travelling merchant who while on his way from town, is approached by the wolf goddess who goes by the name of Holo the Wise Wolf. Who asks to accompany Lawrence on his travels so she can return to her home in the snowy north. From here on out this read more
Feb 22, 2017
Hibbington (All reviews)
When watching this show I ponder on what it really means to “Falling into the Hype”.
It is naïve to think that when a show is popular that it doesn’t effect your mood going in.
But on that same thought is there a difference in “Falling into the Hype” and just seeking understatement on why something is popular.
I didn’t come into this show hyped but throughout this experience I was always search for that special something.
Something I never found. All I was left was this indifferent feeling.
When you are stuck in an indifferent feeling is a good indication that the show is average.
It read more
Mar 30, 2008
Smithy (All reviews)
Personally I did not especially enjoy “Spice And Wolf” for what it was originally advertised, its dealings and plots involving medieval economics. Those sounded promising but proved to be a bit too difficult for me to fully grasp and really enjoy. Sure, the various aspects of economy, trading and business were interesting and quite unique to see portrayed in an anime series like that, but in the end they did not seem to be able to bring it in such a way that it provided grasping plot material. The fact on most occasions they resorted to standard action events (double-crossings, betrayal, attack by wild wolves,...) read more
Apr 10, 2008
leonmcnicol (All reviews)
At first I was baffled what kind of anime is S&W and would it leave an impression on me when I watched it. Happily enough, it did and with a fresh genre that it introduced for today's generation.

Story: 10/10
Making a breakthrough using "economy" and "trade" as the main theme, it is a fresh approach that was injected to the mostly underrated medieval theme anime series without the fancy mahou or sword-and-damsels-in-distress approach. The story would be slow at first but will pick-up for most 1st time watchers.

Art: 9/10
IMAGIN studio did a great work in making this series to suit a medieval atmosphere for the viewer. read more
Feb 17, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Usually, when one thinks of fantasy, sword-wielding heroes and epic battles are the first things that come to mind. Indeed, these are the norm for the genre. While there are some great stories that fit into this description, such as Lord of the Rings, or Berserk (to name an anime), the genre can feel quite stale. In this sea of monotonous tales, Spice and Wolf provides a refreshingly different take on the genre. It is a charming, laid-back tale that treads in territory scarcely explored in fantasy: Economics.

Kraft Lawrence is a traveling peddler. Traveling from place to place in order to make a profit, he read more
Mar 29, 2014
jawnmewn (All reviews)
The driving force behind any action we take can be attributed to the profit as a result of said action. Whether that profit is tangible or intangible, our lives are loosely based on a "avoid punishments and collect rewards" mentality. Yet, it is strange. We sacrifice our health in order to acquire wealth only to spend that surplus to recuperate our well being. In that sense, it is seemingly irrational for us to work without pause in with the hope that our efforts will be handsomely rewarded.

However, people continue to do so, sweating tears and blood in the process. Ookami to Koushinryou, also known as read more
Nov 8, 2009
noteDhero (All reviews)
Spice and Wolf is a peaceful journey through a stylized, medieval Europe. The story follows Lawerence Craft, a successful merchant, as he travels a winding path North to take his companion, the wolf-god, Holo, back to the home she has nearly forgotten.

Art – 7
Artistically, Spice and Wolf succeeds in its panoramic intake of the various environments Lawerence and Holo travel throughout the series. The show is very drenched in the authenticity of its time, from the rickety wagons to the stone inns. The colors are mute wheats, somber blues, cloudy grays, and lots of brown, a palette that sets the show apart read more
Mar 19, 2013
Propu (All reviews)
Ookami To Koushinryou, also known as Spice And Wolf. Medieval culture, medieval economy, medieval legends, and a wolf, this is what Spice And Wolf is all about. An immortal wolf. An adorable, funny, sad, Wise wolf who loves apples and who loves to tease her companion. You will hardly forget of such wolf, and the more you'll know about her, the more you'll want to know about her.

Story: 9
I rated the story of this series 9 but... There is actually no story. The plot is about a medieval merchant, Craft Lawrence, who one night stumbles upon Holo The Wise Wolf. She seems to be a read more