Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Denpa Kyoushi


Alternative Titles

English: Ultimate Otaku Teacher
Synonyms: He Is an Ultimate Teacher
Japanese: 電波教師

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 4, 2015 to Sep 26, 2015
Premiered: Spring 2015
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.981 (scored by 40,787 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #987
Members: 103,207
Favorites: 250

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 17, 2015
RiverRode (All reviews)
I had actually read a little bit of the Denpa Kyoushi manga before the anime was announced. I had only finished the first two volumes, but I was excited for the adaptation none the less. So, was my excitement well placed? Let's break it down and find out:

Story - 6
Kagami Junichirou is an otaku NEET with a bad case of YD, meaning that he can only do that which he Yearns to Do. His younger sister isn’t satisfied with that, so she forces him to take a job as a teacher. Unsurprisingly, Kagami is unenthusiastic about teaching, but if any of his students have an read more
Sep 26, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
You know, adaptations of a manga or LN are supposed to be good experiences. You get to see your favorite characters animated and voiced right before your eyes, and even watch a couple of your favorite scenes, which is always a little treat for fans of the show. However, there are times when you get those adaptions that you just...want to forget, permanently.

Story: The story of Denpa Kyoushi follows the tale of a man named Kagami Junichiro. As an otaku who is lazy as all hell, his policy in life is the concept of "YD" or "Yearn to do", where he only read more
Jun 3, 2015
ExpertBaka (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before I start I just want to say that everything I write is my opinion so take it for what it's worth

So before I watched this anime I had read about 50 or so chapters and really enjoyed it and was excited when I heard Denpa Kyoushi was being adapted to become an anime. What really got me hyped was when I heard Ono Daisuke voices Kagami and Asumi Kana voices Suzune in the promotion video because these two are my some of my favorite voice actors. Unfortunately these two didn't get cast for either of there roles and it was Kamiya Hiroshi and Matsui read more
Jun 16, 2015
Visceras (All reviews)
Preliminary
Denpa Kyoushi is an anime that follows the life of a teacher named Kagami with YD syndrome. YD is a disease that only let's him doing what he wants to do.

Seems interesting? Well it was .. until I figure out that this show is another show like Assassination Classroom, a teacher that is solving the problems of his students.

The plot doesn´t actually have anything developed so far, he is only there helping out teens but still is not that bad. The first few episodes and the last 4-5 episodes are being fun. I'm actually attached to this anime and has become one of read more
Oct 3, 2015
Jun98 (All reviews)
Now this series was very VERY interesting to watch.
Thanks to the series I now have a new acronym I use now.

Short Summary:
Kagami Junichirou was known as a physics genius when has was a teenager, even being published in "Nature".
However after college, he suddenly lost all interest in science and became a NEET. He devoted himself to his anime blog and collecting merchandises.
As somewhat of an excuse he claims to have a serious illness called "YD" which stands for "Yearn to Do" meaning that he can't do anything he doesn't want to do.
Worried about her brother's future, her little sister manages to get him a read more
Aug 9, 2016
PromiseKyun (All reviews)
One of the best anime,which I yearn to watch.
This anime totally changed my life and perspective of viewing the world.It inspires me to do something new.
This Anime is similar to Welcome TO NHK
Junichiro Kazami was known as a physics prodigy back when he was in high school, but now in his post-college years he's got a major case of YD – he claims he can only do something that he “yearns to do.”Junichiro Kagami, a NEET who used to be a theoretical physics prodigy (but only because he wanted to prove an Anywhere Door was possible), but would now rather spend his time fiddling away read more
May 17, 2015
an1m3n00b (All reviews)
Preliminary
I find this anime very enjoyable. While the artwork is nothing spectacular, it doesn't detract from it in any way. The story is likewise fairly cookie-cutter problem-student of the week. But it's fairly original. It's not a harem, moe or action anime. And it certainly has plenty of charm. Where it really shines is the characters. This show has a cast of very unique characters that don't really fit any archetypes. There aren't any dere's as far as I can tell. The protagonist, while certainly unique, can be a bit annoying with his precocious "YD" crap. Seriously, it just makes him seem whiny and immature. read more
May 18, 2019
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: An anime about a strange teacher helping his students that has some good concepts but is really rough in pretty much every aspect.

This is the story of a very irregular teacher managing to be very competent at helping his students grow and make their way past various problems that they're having. It's very similar to GTO, the main difference being that instead of being a delinquent the teacher is an otaku. I like this premise quite a bit as this results in a teacher using brains over brawn in dealing with problems, and I did like the character of Junichirou as well as most of read more
Dec 23, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

I was an elementary school student when I met the coolest teacher I have ever known. His name was Mr. E (the resulting sound that makes in this context is perfect). He was always smiling, laughing and joking with his students. He made learning fun and had a charismatic way of dealing with both teachers and kids alike. As an adult, I rarely see him nowadays, but on the occasions that I do, I always make sure to strike up a conversation, letting him know how grateful I am for the positive atmosphere he always carried read more
Jul 19, 2016
boooooooo (All reviews)
Preliminary
i don't get why theres so many low reviews about this, the anime is great very enjoyable its about this guy whos a genius whos also lazy and is a otaku but his sister gets a job for him cause shes worried about his future now i find this anime very entertaining and fun its quite funny aswell if you ask me but i highly recommend this.

story 8/10
Art 8/10
Sound 9/10
Character 9/10
enjoyment 9/10

overall score 9/10 this anime so fun to watch especially for those who like comedy and loves otaku anime characters lol i love it so if i were you id give it a read more
May 7, 2015
AnonymousChicken (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first time reviewing on an anime so please respect my opinions.

Honestly, I wasn't planning on watching this anime so when I finished watching some of my anticipated anime of the season, this just came out. And I totally got hooked up with it. Sure there may not be some romance in it (despite the fact that it's in the genre), but that won't stop me on watching it.

The story sets out with Junichirou Kagami, a NEET who gave himself up on being a pro otaku. His little sister worries about him because she wants him to do something in his life so read more
Sep 15, 2016
Shingster (All reviews)
First of all i only managed to read the first volume of the manga but i found that i liked it as i found the story to be amusing. When i heard about the anime adaptation i was looking forward to seeing it.

The overall story is actually similar to another franchise that of GTO
in that both revolve around talented individuals who are unconventional and have unique traits that are recruited by a school to help teach at a school.
Here the trait truly is unique as the main character is both an otaku and
a genius.

For an anime that is adapted from read more
Dec 20, 2016
sleekstad (All reviews)
This is my own opinon, you dont have to agree with me.
I'll just straight to the point.

Story 6/10
The story is not well adapted. Truly boring adaptation.

Art 4/10
Well i'm not expecting much but they should be better than this. Very dissapointing work from studio like A-1 Picture.

Sound 2/10
Suzune's voice actor is a huge turn off. Her voice is too annoying. Too high pitched and terrible executions resulting in terrible dialogues.

I'm not gonna comment anything about the soundtrack, It's average.

Character 3/10
Character design is not consistent. Character's voice actor is terribly choosen. I'm talking about Suzune's voice actor of course.

Enjoyment 2/10
I really can't enjoy the whole series. read more
May 1, 2016
ranma314 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Denpa Kyoushi is tedious to watch and become more of a pain then a pleasure when your watching through it. It tries to use tropes such as finger snapping and starting a lesson, which all boil down to nothing. The characters are bland and I could care less about the story because there is none. It is average to watch but not a real priority.

If you want a good anime about a teacher then watch Great Teacher Onizuka a much better use of your time. The "Lessons" your taught are condescending at bland. I've learned more lessons from Hentai then this show. Is it really read more
Oct 24, 2015
-Usagi (All reviews)
Story 7

The story revolves around Kagami Junichiro, a NEET; a person who doesn't do productive things, also he has a "YD" well basically it is a disease that let you do what you yearn to do. In short he gives effort to what he wants only, if he doesn't like it he wouldn't bother, but there is more than him being a NEET and having a YD actually in his teenage years he was renowned as a physics genius for unraveling a theory of the "Anywhere Door" in Doraemon. His little sister Kagame Suzune forced him to work in his alma mater/graduated school as a read more
Jun 21, 2017
royzaa7 (All reviews)
The Elder Teacher's Uncategorized ...

Denpa Kyoushi has a somewhat unique plot, tells of an otaku named Kagami Junichiro, in fact a concept like this has often been used by predecessors although the premises are discussed differently, such as: Oreki Houtarou; Sora-Shiro; Light Yagami. The differences that underline Kagami Junichiro with other perfectionist characters are professions, comedy nuances, and flexibility. Kagami Junichiro works as an otaku physics teacher, why is my physics teacher otaku? Because formally he is a physics teacher, but almost all the scenes show the fact that everything he taught is always related to manga, games, anime, etc., sounds unreasonable, but quite imaginative read more
Nov 24, 2016
OklahomanSailor (All reviews)
I've read the manga before watching the anime and it's kinda good.But then i watch the anime and i'm disappointed.The anime is suppose to be an improvement to the anime but then we have this.

For the story,it was interesting at first.But there's no plot.It's just a teacher solving students' problem in creative ways.The whole story is just the same old thing and it's maybe interesting for the first few times,but not the rest.It'll be better if you pretend that this is a series of short stories.Because most of the characters only appears in one or two episodes then they become random passers.The good thing of read more
Jun 22, 2018
Rangeewa_Wimansa (All reviews)
The story follows Jun'ichirō Kagami, whose sister Suzune is angry at him because of his complete disinterest in the real world. As Jun'ichirō is interested in nothing but anime, manga and games, Suzune forces him to go on a job as a physics teacher substitute at the same high school from which he graduated. Jun'ichirō proves himself a capable and hardworking teacher who comes with unorthodox methods based on the seemingly useless knowledge he obtained as an otaku to teach and motivate his students.
unfortunately this time I have to blame to "MAL". MAL has a quite good ranking system but this anime rank is low. read more
Oct 17, 2015
ShySorcerer (All reviews)
Hey everybody, this will be my review for Denpa Kyoushi. I didn't much like this anime, hopefully i can touch on some points to tell you why without giving away spoilers.

Story 5

Denpa Kyoushi doesn't have much in the way of story. The overall story is about a young man who has a condition called "YD", which only allows him to do what he yearns to do. We follow this man as he journeys to find what he actually yearns to do.

The rest of the story is split into mini stories. These mini read more
Dec 20, 2015
serene-grace49 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First thing in my mind is 'it will well to watch' since I really hooked with the theme and seiyuu, (well main seiyuu is Kamiyan). Enjoying first and second episode, but in the third episode I didn't really know, why I have the imoutou of protagonist. And after looking for 5 episodes, I dropped it.

I hyped because the theme is 'otaku's genius' and saw first episode was epic. But next story just so bland. I don't know because it's seiyuu, since I know that Rena Matsui was graduated member of idol, or just me because my preference.

I hope in the next work, they can upgrade read more