Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Myself; Yourself


Alternative Titles

English: Myself; Yourself
Japanese: マイセルフ; ユアセルフ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2007 to Dec 26, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Maiden Japan
Studios: Doga Kobo
Source: Visual novel
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.281 (scored by 7875678,756 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #742
Members: 150,680
Favorites: 804

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2007
Sabaa (All reviews)
Okay, first of all, this is one of my first reviews so bare with me and don't hesitate to message me about what i should improve about, anyways lets get started shall we?

Story- When people look at Myself; Yourself's cover, they usually get the automatic reaction that its a typical harem anime with predictable outcomes, which is not true. Of course, if you totally dislike school life - romance animes then you shouldn't bother wasting your time watching a genre you do not like. Back on topic, the story basically revolves around friendship more then relationship between opposite sex, and let me read more
Dec 13, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Myself; Yourself is a Slice of Life, Romance, Comedy, Drama about a boy (Sana) who had to leave his home town and his friends, with his parents. Then 5 years later he returns to see that quite a bit has changed.

As this short anime series begins it is obvious that there’s nothing unique about it and that it is just the usual "visual novel" – to – "anime" adaptations that are released every season. The story begins normally enough by introducing the surroundings and the characters with their little quirks. There are also the typical Rom/Com clichéd moments that happen quite a lot (girl trips read more
Apr 23, 2013
WickedMind (All reviews)
I've had a lot of first impressions when I see an anime. Most of them end up being what I've had predicted while a few changes my perspective.

Myself; Yorself is an example of an illusion. Seeing pictures of anime high school friends in one picture always seem to look like a typical comedy, romance, shoujo or a harem anime. That was what I thought.

Story: 9
To be honest, I was part of the majority who thought "Myself; Yourself" was a harem anime. I've seen Myself; Yourself a number of times in different sites but the only reaction I usually get was "oh another stupid harem anime. read more
Oct 23, 2013
xelyak (All reviews)
“Human life is at stake, so you should at least improve your cooking first...”- Hidaka Sana
“I’m going to take a bath now. If you peek while I'm changing, I'm going to kill you, got it?”
– Hinako Mochida

Myself;Yourself is primarily a drama genre anime with little-to-medium romance.


The Story: 7/10
------------------
The anime starts with our male protagonist, Sana who has come back to his hometown of Sakuranomori, after leaving it 5 years before for the sake of his parents’ business plans. He is surprised to see that most things have not changed, until he meets Yatsushiro Nanaka, one of his best childhood friends when he was read more
May 5, 2013
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
Sadness, depression, times of complete darkness. Most of us have experienced at least one of these in our lives. The solution is finding ways to cope with it, or change it for the better.

Myself;Yourself. I've been planning on watching this for a while now, little did I expect to find such an intriguing anime worthy of being watched in a single day! Despite the few flaws in the show, this is what most dramas should be like. Romance, fights, a look into people's pasts, and a twist ending all make up an excellent drama.

To start off the review, let's go into the story. Sana is read more
Dec 27, 2007
Nezon (All reviews)
Myself;Yourself is a romantic comedy about a boy name Sana and his childhood friend Nanaka.

Story: The story is quite typical; a boy comes back to his hometown after 5 years, to see everything has changed. Although most of the story is predictable, there are some good twists to the plot that will leave you shocked most of the time. The story also goes through a small number of flashbacks to reveal more of the characters. The story loses marks for some of the unnecessary fillers. Although the series is 13 episodes, the producer has made a good job to wrap everything up.

Art: The read more
Jun 19, 2008
kamen9s (All reviews)
Myself; Yourself is the prime example of wasted potential. It opened strong and gave me high hopes for a good series, but it soon became apparent that it was going to go down fast.

The story was my biggest disappointment. It really felt like a series based on a visual novel, there was a lot of story, but nothing to really hold it together. The pacing of the series felt sluggish, a lot of the conflicts could have been resolved faster. It felt as though half of the series was dedicated to Hinako, the little girl, even though she had nothing to do read more
Dec 27, 2007
Shido_Tatsuhiko (All reviews)
Contrary to your average series, Myself;Yourself is unlike any other game to anime adaptations. First of all, the visual novel for the series wasn't released when the TV series had been approved, thus making impossible to compare it to a previous work.
I don't know what kind of visual novel M;Y will be, but if it's anything like the TV series, then it must be a great one. Sure, the settings and motifs are not unique, but, seriously, what is unique nowadays? The way the plot is developed is outstanding, save the number of episodes (I personally think 16 would have been perfect), as things may read more
Jan 21, 2008
PandaBoi (All reviews)
Warning before reading, keep in mind there is a degree of spoiling...although its not worth watching ;P

If your looking for an anime that is nice to look at...this is for u...if ur lookin for some romance...turn around and run...dont bother with this anime.

The Begining showed so much promise after the first episode I thought this anime was going to blow all other romance animes out of the water but as the episodes went by my expectations dropped time and time again...hoping that around the bend the two leads would actually develop their relationship as LOVERS.

The ending provided closure in the worst kind of read more
Jun 18, 2008
maybelletea (All reviews)
Myself; Yourself is the story of Sana and his four childhood friends, whom he gets separated with after having to move away. He comes back after about five years, finding some of his friends remaining the same, and others very much different. Though it might come across as a stereotypical harem, at a closer look much more is unfolded in the story. It’s a romance, but often steers towards friendship as well.

It’s not a bad watch, but I certainly can’t say I loved it. The plot was a little hard to grasp on what it really was. Through the first half of the series read more
May 26, 2014
Demi_V (All reviews)
Friendship. Jealousy. Deception. Myself ; Yourself proves that you can present good elements for a drama and still be a failure. The show is misleading as it introduces characters facing solid dilemma but depends on dissatisfying deus ex machina to solve their problems or leave events incomplete altogether. The characters are weak and majorly lack development. It wastes screentime on irrelevant characters and scenes, causing it to rush and throw in last-minute sob stories. Basically, Myself ; Yourself is just another VN gone wrong.

Myself ; Yourself had interesting themes suitable for slice-of-life. It replaced cliché results one would likely expect from romance drama with unpredictable read more
Jun 10, 2013
SweetKiichigo (All reviews)
Friendships, reuniting, departure, all of these 3 make the theme of the story. This isn't a dating anime despite Sana being surrounded by girls because he never took the initiative or had interest in any of them other than Nanaka. Aside from that Myself;Yourself revolves around the importance of friendships and why they should be valued.

Story: The moment I saw the first episode I knew this would be a great anime. Story wise I liked it every aspect of it, but I do feel like Sana's background regarding his past was presented too late. Still every character made the story very good. The twins read more
Nov 21, 2008
Ceptryn (All reviews)
Watching Myself:Yourself is akin to meeting an awesome girlfriend at college, who's brilliant and reliable and reliable and made your first year a blast. Then, when you finally decide to bite the bullet and pay for a Holiday for two to Australia, she doesn't show up the plane. The anime is utterly brilliant for the majority of the season, but completely falls flat on the final two episodes where audiences expect the most.

M:Y is a high school romance/drama/comedy, with a tinge of mystery. The main character (Sana) leaves his group of best buddied on a five year hike, a returns to find that the girl read more
Dec 29, 2010
LadyReina (All reviews)
“So you see….I AM the murderer.”

- Azumanga Daioh


This is a strange little anime. There’s nothing inherently wrong with strange; Osaka is strange and weird and wonderful. The people of Myself Yourself are strange and creepy and painful.

On the day that Sana is to move away from his friends, we are given snapshots of each of them as they were once upon a time. Cheerful and soft-hearted Aoi bakes a cake, and smudges the icing with her tears. Shuri knits a mitten, a single one, offering it to Sana in the midst of an affectionate altercation with her twin brother, Shuu. Shuu gives Sana a read more
Jun 8, 2010
Reksho (All reviews)
When someone dares to show his face in his hometown after five long years of absence, it is okay to slap the guy as hard as you can in the face. And with that, the intensity of the story is set.

Myself ; Yourself follows our hero Hidaka Sana who is a teenage boy with no extraordinary skills. He actually wears fashionable clothes, has one of the sweetest male voices on the planet and is caring for all of his friends. But that’s it, he’s just a guy in a T-shirt who pretty much is your average student sitting in the same classroom as you are, read more
Nov 27, 2016
Jaguar-chan (All reviews)
Eh... I expected worse.

This show is not generic. It may seem like one, but you can tell that when you watch it that they're really trying to do something else with the whole high school romance thing. It is however very forgettable.

Let me just address the art first. I see a lot of people in the reviews praising how well the backgrounds are and how well the characters are animated. In my personal opinion, the backgrounds were fairly good, but nothing special. I barely paid attention to it. The characters are not animated in any special way. It's just typical anime animation. I did not read more
Jun 29, 2015
Daidus (All reviews)
Seriously, I wasn't expecting anything from this show, I went in and dove deep with very low expectations. To my surprise, this show ended up VERY entertaining.

Do NOT be fooled by the anime opening. They do not play music, nor are they super happy all the time. This shit gets epic, so don't misjudge it.

This isn't a harem, or a slice of life, nor is a romantic comedy: This is drama: The type of drama where you will see girls cry. Heck, even the guys. What surprised me was the fact that I thought it was many of the above categories, but OH BOY read more
Jul 9, 2015
Colorist (All reviews)
Yeah, another great romance anime. Wohhoo!: Oh crap their missing the romance seen again

Story:9/10
Myself Yourself has one of the best stories i have ever seen in an anime and i was impressed at how it caught my attention through out the episodes. They had a hard boiled plot that added an theme of mystery and child hood trauma. I would always feel for each character anytime they would go through a problem and that was one of the key things that got me hooked to this anime. I did read some reviews that pointed this anime out as one of average but i highly disagree. read more
Jul 5, 2008
natsuocosplay (All reviews)
This is my very first review, so bare with me. :)

When I saw the cover of Myself; Yourself, I thought it looked like it would be a very cute anime with a lot of romance and good artwork. But it ended up being a lot more than that. It dealt with a lot of life issues, and although some of them seemed a little far-fetched, the way the characters interacted and helped eachother through the trials was very uplifting. But I do think it was a little too dramatic at times, like a japanese soap-opera.

Story: The first couple episodes had a cute story but I read more
Jul 18, 2008
xdzzz (All reviews)
This anime is my all time favorite romance anime at this time and probably will still be my favorite for a long time. The overall package that Myself; Yourself has to offer is what makes this anime great. After watching the series through TWICE, I'm ready to evaluate it thoroughly.

Story.

*slight spoilers about the plot*

Myself; Yourself starts off with a boy named Sana who decides to return to his home town from when he a young child in middle school. The story is heartwarming and sweet yet as the series progresses it turns very serious. I like this story because unlike other romance/harem animes, there aren't read more