Dear Boys


Hoop Days

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Hoop Days
Japanese: ディア・ボーイズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2003 to Sep 29, 2003
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: OB Planning
Studios: A.C.G.T.
Source: Manga
Genres: DramaDrama, SportsSports
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.821 (scored by 88518,851 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #44702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3952
Members: 19,820
Favorites: 43

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 4, 2007
Bladeknight (All reviews)
Animation:
The animation was acceptable, but got worse towards the end. Eyes that didn’t match, weird or wrong faces (and why did the girls look so much like boys with long hair?). The background was plain. The basketball actions weren’t drawn very well, sometimes making you wonder what they were doing and half of the time you didn’t really get how they got past their defenders. As for the OP and ED, they were pretty bad.

Sound:
This was very well done. Most (not all) of the voices were really good and were nicely complementing their personalities. The sounds were what you would expect, not extraordinary read more
Oct 10, 2010
LonetoDeath (All reviews)
Apparently dear boys is a pretty good basketball show. But in terms of its animation, it is rather bad, especially when the boys bounces the basketball, it looks kinda out and fake. A short story but could be more detailed like slam dunk. There is said to be a season 2 but no exact release date about it.
Mar 16, 2009
Sapphire86 (All reviews)
Dear Boys focuses on the main characters and their emotions encompassed around the game of basketball. Hints of comedy and romance are noticed through out the anime. Watching this anime made me realize and appreciate how much more there is to basketball and in fact any team sport in terms of tactics, team spirit and abilities and a mere win or loss in a competition is the end result (though not necessarily a reflection of) after a long journey of physical and emotional challenge within the players.

The characters are well developed and each serves their purpose within the story. The animation though was read more
Feb 27, 2016
Damolisher (All reviews)
Hoop Days was an anime I wasn't expecting much going into. It doesn't have a particularly outstanding score here on MyAnimeList, it's not exactly a new anime and while it may have been my first proper sports anime, I had people left, right and centre telling me that sports anime in general aren't very good. On top of that, the voice actors in the English version were those who work for Blue Water Studios, Ocean Group's cheaper sister studio which isn't exactly known for quality dubbing outside of a couple of notable exceptions (i.e. G Gundam and Cardfight Vanguard.)

With that said, I was pleasantly read more
Apr 21, 2018
Reijo (All reviews)
At first I would give this anime a solid 10.. but after watching Slam Dunk, wouldn't anymore.

Story:
Pretty good considering it's still anime. Overpowered main character, a second strongest (captain) and three "scrubs" at first. Of course they get carried by Aikawa but in the end of anime, they still lose to their rival because of someone foul-out and the other one being too weak. Since they add Takashina and improve altogether in act 2 & 3, I give the story of anime an 8.

Art:
It's definitely the worst.. I guess Dear Boys rival with I'll/CKBC in a "Make viewer puke read more
Jun 13, 2013
Sai-chin (All reviews)
This anime is centered around basketball, where a team of 5 players try to prove their worth and skills and play the basketball they love, overcoming the many obstacles they had to face. Despite its many flaws, it was an enjoyable ride for me.

Art & Animation (5):

It was pretty obvious that the animation was bad. I do understand that this was made in 2003; but slam dunk was made in 1993, and i still think it had better animation than this. The faces get really weird at some scenes, and it didnt have a smooth flow; any basketball anime needs to have a read more
Jul 31, 2020
Umbra91 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have seen many basketball animes, Kuroko, Slam Dunk, Buzzer Beater, Ahiru no Sora, and this is by far the worst I've seen. The story is decent, the art and animation are low quality and the characters are simple. This anime tries so hard to be cool by including rap in the ending theme, and the opening tries to glorify basketball by sounding more extravagant. Other sports anime in the same genre are capable of being cool without even trying (Slam Dunk, KNB). This anime was aggravating to watch and very much unrealistic, knowing as much as I do about basketball I couldn't help but read more
Sep 4, 2020
Jay27_ (All reviews)
Dear Boys!

The concept of the anime Dear Boys sounds like those typical sports anime of 2000s decade. The main character, Kazuhiko Aikawa, is a transfer student, whose passion and enthusiasm helps to rebuild a high school basketball team which was struggling initially and was on the verge of getting suspended. The other major characters too were typical. There is someone who is always calm and quiet, then there is one short-tempered guy and the one who is a loner. However, Takumi Fujiwara's conflict with the coach looked like a fresh concept and then how the boys managed to convince the coach of the girls' team read more