Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sore ga Seiyuu!


Alternative Titles

English: Seiyu's Life!
Synonyms: That is a Voice Actor!
Japanese: それが声優!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2015 to Sep 29, 2015
Premiered: Summer 2015
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: Evil Line Records
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Web manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.081 (scored by 13,628 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #34622
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2175
Members: 37,896
Favorites: 64

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 1, 2015
chilon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Of the three meta-anime I've seen (Shirobako, Bakuman) this is my favourite. I like how they portray the reality of working life without resorting to anime tropes. In bakuman the typically super-asexual lead character plus relationship gimmick always seemed so unnecessary, what we have here is something more real, more similar to a slice of life. The three lead characters are suitably adorable in the way that people are adorable in real life, they have regular human flaws and worries. I think one of the things this anime does best is portraying the awkwardness found in any typical work environment, of course amplified by the read more
Oct 8, 2015
Tevron (All reviews)
Are you chasing a dream?
Futaba, Ichigo, and Rin are chasing their dreams to be Seiyuu, and it’s been an amazing journey. Sore Ga Seiyuu! begins mainly by informing the viewer about how voice acting works and various parts of the industry. If that’s your interest field, it will immediately pull you in. As the story progresses though, the drama and reality overflows out and it becomes beautiful. Futaba is a character that is relatable for anyone struggling to pursue their passions, and her story is both convincing and high caliber.

If you’re interested in characters that actually develop, and interesting plot, and music: Sore Ga read more
Aug 7, 2015
Yamato1945 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ever wonder what's seiyuu's life like? Well, here's an anime that can give you a full picture of it!


The story starts from a rookie seiyuu and progresses into a pro just like nozawa or tamura (as they already made an appearance). Its quiet interesting and funny. Art Its just ok, it reminds me of the lucky star art and wakaba girls. the ending song, quiet catchy Two are rookies, one is a normal, one wants to be an idol and another is already a pro since young?? thats basically just like the real life seiyuu's, Love it! the design is good. I basically enjoyed this read more
Dec 25, 2015
Tettsui (All reviews)
I didn't have high hopes for this anime at first. Like so many other slice of life anime, I assumed it'd be dull and uninteresting. I'm happy to say that I was wrong though.

I really enjoyed learning about the ins and outs of being a seiyuu. The characters were relatable, and I appreciate the fact that the trials and troubles of the characters were realistic.

The art is nothing to write home about, although I appreciate the wide variety of character designs. The music was alright and fit the overall feeling of the show, but I wasn't too impressed with that either.

If you enjoy educational read more
Dec 10, 2015
YakuKikyo (All reviews)
In short : A slice of life occuring in the world of seiyuu. To distinct from a show about voice acting. Read farther to understand.


Initial expectations :

A friend suggested this anime to me. Having seen a few episodes, she assumed it was informative about the voice acting job in Japan and as I was curious, I decided to watch it.

In a way, it is indeed informative, but in a very superficial way. Each new pieces of information are brushed over without taking time to actually elaborate and overall, it almost disappears after the first few episodes, only appearing from time to time. Which is read more
Nov 16, 2017
Yoppi (All reviews)
Sore ga Seiyuu! has a somewhat catchy premise: voice acting. Just as with a show about mangakas, Sore ga Seiyuu! offers the audience an interesting perspective on something many of us may have an interest in: and that is what goes on behind the presentation of anime (or many aspects of Japanese media in general - this show has scenes on narration, radio shows, and TV programs too!).

With this kind of premise, there are two directions the show can take: 1) a lighthearted and idealistic approach in which the dreamy, fun-loving, and fantastical experience of a seiyuu is explored OR 2) a more gritty and read more
Oct 11, 2015
MurasakiAmethyst (All reviews)
Sore ga Seiyuu! (or Seiyuu's Life), is a series made for people who wants to learn more about how being a voice actor is like, at least in Japan. As someone who got into the seiyuu fandom right before discovering this anime, it came out just about at the perfect time for me. It's a shame that this show is underrated and did not get much attention in the summer season, which is when it was aired, for the reason that there were a lot of other shows that caught viewers' attention.

The story focuses on Futaba, a novice seiyuu that has only two years read more
Oct 16, 2015
TrashDax (All reviews)
Is this considered meta humor?

Story:
We follow three young voice actresses on their way to become famous. Well, not that far, but we follow them a bit. Sore ga Seiyuu is a mixture between an "educational" anime about the voice acting industry and the life and (mis)fortunes of our heroines. It's definitely unique in its own way (though I haven't seen other seiyuu anime, so I can't really compare). What I really liked was the fact, that it's not all fun and rainbows and the girls have to deal with setbacks while progressing in accomplishing their goals. Even though it doesn't sugarcoat the seiyuu life, it read more
Jul 22, 2016
mikachu303 (All reviews)
while watching this series i couldn't help but feel relaxed. it was nicely paced and not an anime that felt like you had to put much metal energy into watching. the calm vibe went amazingly with the lighthearted sound and art style. it really felt like i wasn't pressured while watching it since it was so calming though i say it wasn't very intense or didn't require that much of my attention i really enjoyed the time that the characters interacted and developed together it gave of a warm feeling of friendship that wasn't as heated and fierce as a lot of anime.
i found read more
Nov 21, 2015
Zaku88 (All reviews)
We've recently seen shows about people farming, drawing manga, making movies, and developing games. It's about time we finally got one about voice acting. Sore ga Seiyuu is show about three early-career seiyuus, voiced by early-career seiyuus nonetheless, being shown the ropes and challenges of the industry while being mentored by veteran VAs, many of whom are cast as themselves! Though the show doesn't have anything particularly nice animation-wise and is practically a blatant advertisement for Gonzo at times, it is a unique and welcome break from the endless cycle of other high school-centric shows. For veteran viewers of anime, this show is particularly nice read more
Sep 27, 2015
Andrew729 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hey kids! Did you ever want to see what goes on behind the scenes of your favorite anime? Well...last year we had Shirobako, which I haven't seen, but seems to have had a higher budget. Even so, Sore ga Seiyuu might do in a pinch, although it only focuses on the voice acting aspects of anime production instead of the whole process.

I guess I'm showing my "power levels" here now when I say SgS is only the second manga I've read first before it was made into an anime; in this case a doujin by seiyuu Masumi Asano. I actually heard about it before I'd read more
Aug 13, 2015
CJ (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was disappointed Gonzo decided to go with this at first, instead of making Rosario + Vampire 3, but that is the sole reason why I watched Sore ga Seiyuu.
I realized how silly I was because Sore ga Seiyuu turned out to be a masterpiece.
The characters are hilarious, the stories are so in depth, and the music is very enjoyable to hear.
An overload of loli-kawaiiness has made this one of the most enjoyable animes this summer 2015 season. I recommend this to anyone who likes slow paced animes with cute lolis.
Give me lolis or give me death.
Oct 3, 2015
NewbieJun (All reviews)
This was a very interesting series!
I learnt a lot of things about Seiyuu's and their workplaces. It doesn't even stop there but we get to learn about their daily lives and we get to witness some famous seiyuus!

Short Summary:
This series follows the life of a rookie seiyuu who enters the world of professional voice acting.
Ichinose Futaba aims to become a well known seiyuu. She meets Moesaki Ichigo, another fellow seiyuu who aims to be an idol seiyuu. These two are joined by Kohana Rin, who is already a professional seiyuu; her debut being when she was 5, now living a middle school life while working read more